Williamsburg, OH 
Williamsburg Community Park Share
Uploaded By: sisyphus Hole #17 (Taken 10/2015)
3 / 221ft.   3 / 221ft.   3 / 370ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
A nice course off the beaten path

1    8/21/2016   8/22/2016
Review By: UFM82
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Played this course with a foursome and we all had good things to say. It starts off to my liking; open, easy holes that let you get warmed up before heading into the woods. Definitely a plus in my book. Pros:
1) Most holes have signs, some are missing. Signs that are there are good, showing distance and elevation change. Somebody took the time to do it right the first time but they need to be looked at again.
2) Concrete tee pads are good unless wet/muddy. Then they are slick. There are a couple pads that are turf- they worked great.
3) Lay-out was good and the next tee was as expected on most cases. The middle of the course was confusing add some signs got moved but we figured it out and played on.
4) Course is quiet, scenic, challenging but not overwhelming and the round was excellent. I'll make the trip back for certain.
Cons: It is right next to the East Fork of the Little Miami River and the water table is high. That is, soft areas, standing water and mud were abundant. Water next to a couple holes is very close by and we lost a disc when an errant throw went right off of 9 and it wasn't very far off right. You have to be careful. Baskets show some age and several were not straight, chains have rusted and some were bent but they seemed to catch well.
Other Thoughts: This was my first trip to The 'Burg and it won't be my last. Really liked the layout of the course as I was able to loosen up on the first holes. A course map somewhere would have been good to have and definitely wear shoes with bite. This is no walk down a smooth path. Lots of ravines, hills, rock and downed wood make this a rigorous trek if you veer off the narrow path. Someone local takes time to manage the course a bit as rocks/timber was placed in areas for the benefit of the players. All in all a nice course that just needs a tweak. Could be a 4 on my scale with a little attention.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun course in a nice town!

5+    11/1/2014   11/12/2014
Review By: GMcAtee
Played: 342  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has a little of everything: open, wooded, elevation, water.

Fun course that's easy to find with food nearby. Locals have taken a lot of pride fixing up the course adding drainage, stairs, and flymats on the hill holes.
Cons: The only con is the numbering. If it's your first time, you will get confused. Some of the signs have three different hole numbers on them.

Going from 16's basket to 17's tee you pretty much have to walk by the creek hole's basket (#?)
Other Thoughts: I would give this course a 4 if the signage/numbering got fixed.

Don't throw your favorite plastic near the creek! It will be lost for good after bouncing off a tree. Once saw a kid cry over it. Great hole!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The Burg

2-4    6/30/2013   7/1/2013
Review By: Chainchaser
Played: 41  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course seems to have taken a beating in the past in reviews and for me that is not that relevant as I did not play it then. Right now this course is in great shape.
It has some decent concrete tees and some ok flymats in the woods.
It can make you feel good about your game and bad all withing a few holes. This is a fun course and with the extra TLC that it is getting lately is the reason I am giving it a 3.5. The effort definitely needs to be rewarded.
With a good combination of wooded and open holes this course can definitely challenge and intermediate player but is still ok for a semi beginning player. The park itself seems to be packed but the course is not overcrowded at all so you generally can move through the course rather quickly.
The last hole is a great place to air it out and i always like that about a course that you at least have one hole to let it rip.

Cons: Need new signage and can be a bit confusing if it is your first time playing.
Hole 15 is really unneeded but that is a personal thing because I don't like those short straight downhill shots. You could eliminate it and the course would still be a 3.5 in my book.
Going from 8 to 9 can be confusing. Nine is to the left up the path as you aproach the basket on 8. Also 15 to 16 can be tricky just go across the bridge and look for the next tee on the right.
Other Thoughts: This course is a definitely a fun one. We as a family travel 45 minutes to play it just because we enjoy it so much. Hopefully with a little more work and some new tee signs along with next tee sign you will see this course become a legitimate 3+ course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Day out

1    8/21/2011   8/21/2011
Review By: cambo
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 33.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some open holes and lots of tight hilly holes also. A few possible ace holes also. Some water in play if rained recently.
Cons: No tee pads on many holes. Hole 14 is a cool hole going down steep hole but can be Treacherous. They need steps or something going down that hill. Maybe think twice on wet or snowy days.
Other Thoughts: Over all a good course. A few mandatory shots. Just needs updated a bit..

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Work in Progress as of 4/11/09

1    4/11/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: Andy Hlavac
Played: 35  Reviewed: 20
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has decent challenges and great scenery. Once you get into the woods holes (7 and beyond), the course improves tremendously. Also, two signature holes really impressed me. I cannot remember their numbers (and they may change anyway because the holes are being re-designed). One of these holes ends with the pin on top of a hill, with dramatic, panoramic views of a valley stretching out in the distance. The other is a short (175 ft.?) hole that rolls straight down a steep incline. A river runs about 40 ft. past the hole, and you have a great view of that as you tee off.
Cons: The first six holes are boring. They are straight across a field, about 190 - 230 ft. each, with no real obstacles.

Also, the course in currently being rearranged, so the flow is confusing. Many holes have two numbers on them: an old blue and yellow wooden number, and a new plastic tee sign which shows the hole's layout and distance. Once all of the holes are finalized with the new tee signs, the confusion shouldn't be an issue.
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely worth a visit, even if it's confusing at the moment. Just wander around and play as many holes as you can find (it's really not THAT difficult, just not as easy as navigating your familiar home course).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.