Williamsburg, OH
Williamsburg Community Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #19
4 / 515ft.   3 / 515ft.   3 / 515ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #19 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
The Burg

2-4    6/30/2013   7/1/2013
Review By: Chainchaser
Played: 36  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course seems to have taken a beating in the past in reviews and for me that is not that relevant as I did not play it then. Right now this course is in great shape.
It has some decent concrete tees and some ok flymats in the woods.
It can make you feel good about your game and bad all withing a few holes. This is a fun course and with the extra TLC that it is getting lately is the reason I am giving it a 3.5. The effort definitely needs to be rewarded.
With a good combination of wooded and open holes this course can definitely challenge and intermediate player but is still ok for a semi beginning player. The park itself seems to be packed but the course is not overcrowded at all so you generally can move through the course rather quickly.
The last hole is a great place to air it out and i always like that about a course that you at least have one hole to let it rip.

Cons: Need new signage and can be a bit confusing if it is your first time playing.
Hole 15 is really unneeded but that is a personal thing because I don't like those short straight downhill shots. You could eliminate it and the course would still be a 3.5 in my book.
Going from 8 to 9 can be confusing. Nine is to the left up the path as you aproach the basket on 8. Also 15 to 16 can be tricky just go across the bridge and look for the next tee on the right.
Other Thoughts: This course is a definitely a fun one. We as a family travel 45 minutes to play it just because we enjoy it so much. Hopefully with a little more work and some new tee signs along with next tee sign you will see this course become a legitimate 3+ course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Split Personality Fun

5+    4/13/2012   4/13/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 147  Reviewed: 116  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the nicest course in Clermont County, Ohio (East of Cincinnati). But then again, there are only three, with a new one being finished this summer (in Goshen). The other two are nine holers.
W'burg's first 8 holes have concrete tee pads, as do the last 4 [edit: the other seven are now flypads!]. The tee markers are some of the best I've ever seen: a graphic representation of the hole stamped in durable (PVC?), with distances -and elevations!- clearly marked.
Williamsburg starts with open field shots which at least use the hill elevation, then runs alongside the woods & a small river/stream, ducking a few holes in that have to finish to the right. Then it has a long (535') 'lane' hole, and a pretty neat 8th hole that forces you to risk the ravine in front of the basket 281' away through the sparse trees, and the chance of going in the drink.
The fun starts on hole 9 (Lower) and 9 (Higher) -I'll talk about that later--, where you go steeply uphill and 'into the woods', with an excellent variety of challenges up there, from a 90 degree left turn with a mando, to a short uphill ace run (if you can sneak past the obstructing trees), to a meadow 300 footer with a guarded basket at the end, and then to a tree nicknamed Karl who tries to swat down your effort to reach #15, and the steepest drop shot in town, before you finally exit the woods on #19 (the 18th hole you play…wait for details). You finish alongside and then across the outfield of the baseball diamond, where the big arms can stretch out and show 'em off a little.
So, a good mix of hole types, shots and distances, with a couple of chances at aces for everyone, and a couple that challenge even the Open players to deuce.
The park is usually uncrowded, has a nice kiddie playground, a picnic shelter, sand volleyball, restrooms, drinking fountain and pop machine, plus excellent hiking opportunities in through the woods, and near the river. Each tee has a bench, and trash cans are available. There is really little trash around, and the dedicated 'locals' do a great job of keeping the fairways clear, and the underbrush in check.
Cons: "The Drop" steep downhill #16 NEEDS some stairs put in for safety. I've been told they're trying to get the local Boy Scouts to take that on as a project. I don't go up to play the hill shots when it's really slick, but this upgrade would likely get me up there then, as well. This rating will go up at least a half point with a safer way to get up & down the hill.
Some of the baskets are a little unforgiving/worn down: I've heard the phrase "You got 'burged" when my disc fell out.
Finally, the hole numbering is confusing (see below).
Other Thoughts: I've taken to naming the holes, and always recording them as 1-9L,9H,12-20 (which totals 19). My names are descriptive for rhbh throwers: 1 mando anny, 2 flag raising, 3 open slopin', 4 pathside, 5 lo branch, 6 woods entry, 7 the lane, 8 riverside, 9L pathside, 9H cross-hill bridge, 12 the hyzer, 13 shorty, 14 the meadow, 15 tree guards, 16 the drop, 17 creekside, 18 the return, 19 anny fields, & 20 big arm finish. Play here once, and see if you like these names.
There is talk of adding holes to get to 21-24 or even 27. There are some ideas which could put a hole after #9L which would solve the numbering confusion for now.
Overall, this is a real great course when it's dry, and a 'diamond in the rough': well worth the trip from other parts of town!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good Day out

1    8/21/2011   8/21/2011
Review By: cambo
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 30.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some open holes and lots of tight hilly holes also. A few possible ace holes also. Some water in play if rained recently.
Cons: No tee pads on many holes. Hole 14 is a cool hole going down steep hole but can be Treacherous. They need steps or something going down that hill. Maybe think twice on wet or snowy days.
Other Thoughts: Over all a good course. A few mandatory shots. Just needs updated a bit..

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Work in Progress as of 4/11/09

1    4/11/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: Andy Hlavac
Played: 35  Reviewed: 20
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has decent challenges and great scenery. Once you get into the woods holes (7 and beyond), the course improves tremendously. Also, two signature holes really impressed me. I cannot remember their numbers (and they may change anyway because the holes are being re-designed). One of these holes ends with the pin on top of a hill, with dramatic, panoramic views of a valley stretching out in the distance. The other is a short (175 ft.?) hole that rolls straight down a steep incline. A river runs about 40 ft. past the hole, and you have a great view of that as you tee off.
Cons: The first six holes are boring. They are straight across a field, about 190 - 230 ft. each, with no real obstacles.

Also, the course in currently being rearranged, so the flow is confusing. Many holes have two numbers on them: an old blue and yellow wooden number, and a new plastic tee sign which shows the hole's layout and distance. Once all of the holes are finalized with the new tee signs, the confusion shouldn't be an issue.
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely worth a visit, even if it's confusing at the moment. Just wander around and play as many holes as you can find (it's really not THAT difficult, just not as easy as navigating your familiar home course).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.