Bowling Green, KY 
Lover's Lane Park Share
Uploaded By: Boostman Hole #12 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 325ft.   3 / --   3 / 325ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee Sign



Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

1    5/18/2014   5/18/2014
Review By: broseberry1808
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good open course. Well maintained. Grass seems to be cut regularly. Easy to navigate from one whole to the next.
Other Thoughts: I only played 9 holes the day I visited this course, but I am looking forward to returning to play the entire 18 holes soon.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Home field

5+    3/14/2014   3/14/2014
Review By: Yeahrightman23
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course for beginners.
Virtually no chance of loosing a disc.
Well manicured.
Easy to find. Convienent.
Cons: Not challenging - of course I still haven't gotten a hole in one. No wind breaks, on a slightly windy day you will feel it. that is really the only thing about the course that is challenging.
Other Thoughts: Me and my buddies work close enough that we can play the front nine at lunch and do so regularly. If you are out there between 11:30 and 1 on a weekday you'll probably see us. Because it is open and not incredibly challenging, it is great for beginners.

The big tree in the middle of the back nine can eat your disc if your not careful. Hit the giant hole in it and it will fall down into the tree 8 or 10 feet. if you played this course and pulled an orange groove out of that tree, it is mine, hit me up.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Let It Rip...

1    4/28/2013   4/28/2013
Review By: dad_of_dg_junkies
Played: 31  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/24/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first thing I will say about this course was the access to this park was very easy. It is only about a mile off of I-65 in Bowling Green. The park itself is VERY VERY nice. The beautiful landscaping is nice and the grass is well maintained. (lots of actual grass and very few weeds)

The course itself would be considered as gently rolling. The concrete tee-pads are in good shape and the signs are in good shape, easy to find and accurate. This course does favor a player that can drive the disc 320 or more. You will need to get loose before the first tee. The baskets were also in pretty good shape.

Hole 1 is a dead straight 405' that just begs for you to launch it.

Holes 2-8 are lightly to moderately wooded holes that offer a good test of shotmaking while providing ample opportunity at making birdies.

Hole 9 is a very short par 3 that is a HARD turn to the right. There is a mando on this hole that required a very hard turn (rhbh) or big (rhfh) fade. Very tough hole for a rhbh.

Hole 10-12 are back to the lightly wooded holes where long drives will provide chances at birdie.

Hole 13-18 are very open and relatively flat. There are a few trees and at least 1 area of o.b. in this section of the course, but there is an out (safe area) on just about every hole.

Even though this course is pretty long, it didn't seem to overly favor the longer arms. My playing partner and I have very different games, but we both wound up with our usual scores as compared to par.
Cons: Even though I absolutely loved the first 12 holes, 13-18 could use a few more obstacles to make this a Top notch course.

I don't remember any low ceiling required shots.

Two other things that I found missing were benches and water. They may have been there, but I didn't find them.
Other Thoughts: I will absolutely be back to play this course again. It does provide some challenges for the technical player while also providing the big arms several chances to let it fly. I really enjoyed the scenery of the park. Well worth the hour drive each way.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Got a controlled 350+ drive?

2-4    3/9/2013   3/12/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 160  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The quaintly named Lovers' Lane park disc golf course is situated in the lightly rolling front quarter of a large park otherwise dedicated to over a dozen soccer fields (some lighted). Holes that range from 225 to 500 feet (most in the mid 300's) combine with voluminous parking to make this course an easy add to the annual Bowling Green Ams, where the occasional winds can influence shot selection.

Awesome concrete tees, huge park trees to define lines, and no underbrush add to a creative course layout to let the Intermediate to Advanced disc golfer really show off their distance drives. During tournament play, the clean rock lined drainage areas are used as out of bounds to force even more control of said drives.

The flow of the course is mainly intuitive because it is so open: you usually only have to look for the nearest tee sign from the basket you just completed. Starting by the shelter at the left front corner of the (first) parking lot, you angle out 400' across the open field, then hit a couple of annies (rhbh) - hole 2 being a little contrived, and hole 3 feeling longer and tougher than its stated 285' - before reaching two of the prettiest holes on the course. Hole 4 drives over a rolling valley to the other side, and 5 comes back the other way with more trees and rocks to 'worry' your shot. The next really interesting shot might be the #9 mando anny that now has a tarp instead of the less attractive chain link seen in the picture. At this point, you're back near the shelter, so you might want to catch your breath, because the back nine feels quite a bit longer.

Hole #10 is lengthy, and you'll need to keep your drive low or to the left of the tree 150 feet out. 11 and 12 basically parallel each other, before crossing the entry drive for the lengthy hole 13. #14 shoots between a pair of large pines, and the 500' #15 ends all the way across the field to the left of a gorgeous, huge tree (wish I knew my tree species!). 16 & 17 work back to the main driveway, which you cross to take on the sweeping hyzer finish on 18. Overall, when you finish Lovers', you'll have loosened your arm up a bit more than some of the other, wooded, technical courses in town.

The (Innova disc catcher) baskets catch very well, but do have the dreaded chastity belt at the top, which I manage to clank only on what should be 'gimme' birdie putts! Tee signs (as seen in the pictures here) are decent: they show the primary line to the basket, as well as some of the obstacles to avoid, and appear to be fairly accurate for this course.
Cons: For a relatively lengthy course (almost 6000'), there are surprisingly few benches near the tees (though I did note two or three picnic tables along the course). There aren't a lot of other activities inside this park for non-discing members of the family to stay entertained (though it is right next door to an elementary school, so their playground might be accessible?). And depending on the season and the way the wind is blowing, the extensive cow pastures lining the southwest side of the course can be, shall we say, 'aromatic'.
Other Thoughts: This course will force a typical Rec level player to make good upshots and putts to keep hitting par 3's, while the longer armed players at intermediate and above have a good chance of putting together a number of birdies: it just depends on who has an accurate 320-350' drive in their bag.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good start

1    12/30/2012   12/31/2012
Review By: DG addict24
Played: 28  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/26/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There were a few holes early that were in some trees, where if you missed your line you would be scrambling to make par. Other than that the course was pretty open. One thing it definitely had going for it was length though. With an average hole length of 330, and multiple holes in the 400 ft range you could throw it hard and let them fly a lot. The course was in good condition with sinage, teepads, and baskets all being good. The place itself was nice and the grass was amazingly green. (it was strange) It was just a nice park with a pretty good disc golf course.
Cons: Too open, some of the holes got repetitive, and honestly if I lived here I'd stop after 12 and start over again. The last few holes were just out in a field and decent length. But they really had no character and they got to be boring. Also there's a cow pasture running along one end of the course, and lets just say it wasn't the greatest smelling thing the world had ever known.
Other Thoughts: The first 12 holes I really enjoyed, and actually if the open holes stopped at about 15 that would have been fine too, and the course was definitely a 3.5 if not a 4 at that point. But it just got boring. Overall it was a nice park with a nice course but it doesn't deserve as high reviews as it's gotten in my opinion.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

1    3/30/2012   4/4/2012
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 109  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tee signs-excellent
Tee pads-excellent
Course Flow-great
Landscape-excellent
This course was beautiful. The grass is very lush. Mature trees give you a classic park feel. 2 personalities on this course. Front 9 a little more technical, back 9 a little more open. Rolling hills through the course give it some character. Maybe not a challenging course but a chance to work on a lot of skills
Cons: Not many. The back 9 can be a little redundant but it was fun. Some of the front 9 fairways come close to other fairways.
Other Thoughts: A must play in Bowling Green, the aesthetics are too much to not appreciate.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    4/2/2011   4/4/2011
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide selection of shots
open and wooded
very clean park
baskets are in great condition
short and long holes
makes throwers throw different shots to score well
long and short holes
one of the best in the area
Cons: there is not really a lot that could change to make this course any better.
maybe benches and more trash cans.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Lovely Course

2-4    4/11/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.2 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lover's Lane is a very pretty course that features groves of hardwood trees and gently rolling hills over nice green grass. The course is very seperate from the other parts of the park so you do not have to worry about non discers.

The design of the course really makes the most of the gentle elevation changes on this property. There are only 3 or 4 holes that play flat. The design also brings the trees into play as much as possible requiring at least a minimum of shot shaping while allowing most holes to be thrown either FH or BH. Even in the mostly open back nine there are some trees to contend with as well as some thoughtful OB to add difficulty. Lover's Lane offers a pretty decent variety of hole length with a few nice short ace runs all the way up to a 500+ long bomber. Both the front and back nines loop back to the same point.

This course has a nice easy flow to it. This is helped by the bright yellow Discatchers (in great shape) and the tee signs at each tee.

There are very nice amenities at this course. A practice basket with distance markers, bathrooms, water fountain, pavilion near #1, benches and garbage cans. The course itself is also very well maintained with the grass mowed regulary and some nice mulch around the baskets to prevent wear.

This is a great course for beginners up through advanced.
Cons: This is really not an overly challenging course. There ae not any holes that really make you stop and think about your throw. If you can drive in the 300' range you can drop some pretty low scores here.

The tee's are beginning to show quite a bit of wear. Cracks are beginning to form and erosion around the tees are increasing.

The back nine is a little boring. Without the trees of the front nine the holes are a little repetitive.
Other Thoughts: I played this course during the 2010 BG Ams and I had a lot of fun. The course is really well kept and is enjoyable to play. With the amount of short, woods courses in the BG area this is a nice change of pace. I think Lover's Lane is another nice course for the area. I am planning on playing the 2011 BG Ams and I hope I get to play it again.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 A quick and fun course

1    11/21/2010   11/22/2010
Review By: johnnyfoodstamp
Played: 25  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice signage/benches/big trash cans at most holes. New sweet baskets. Very nice flow and easy to navigate. Creative use of OB. Beautiful course.
Cons: Fairways very close to each other and in some cases a bit of overlap could be cause for concern.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course. It was a bit repetitive but I believe the addition of rock OB's and landscape added to the overall enjoyment of the course. I think the course designer did a very nice job making the best out of the land available. And beautiful Kentucky bluegrass the whole 18 holes!

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Some trees but not many

5+    7/27/2010   7/27/2010
Review By: weeman
Played: 223  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Large teepads on all holes. Slight elevation changes on each hole with the front nine playing through and around a large grove of trees. Younger trees are starting to come into play now, shaping the routes to the baskets nicely. Most holes with defined lines have multiple routes that can taken if you're creative enough to look at it outside the box. The back nine is more wide open with a variety of distances to be covered. Overall several holes are aceable and others are shots were you can really let them fly and still not be close to the basket.
Cons: Some teepads are cracked, which may affect footing but I didn't find this to be a big issue. Also on several of the teepads, the surrounding dirt is being washed away which will eventually lead to fracture of the concrete. On any given day the wind can be fierce on this course and can greatly affect shot selection. I find the course to be between beginner and intermediate friendly. With the length and lack of tight lines, I find this course geared more towards this range of player. More advanced players shouldn't have much trouble achieving low scores here.
Other Thoughts: Fun course over all and quite scenic. I've found with past experiences out here that during soccer tournaments on the other portion of the park, overflow traffic parks in the middle of number one's fairway. So beware and considerate of others during those times.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.