Disc Golf Store
Bowling Green, KY 
Lover's Lane Park Share
Uploaded By: Boostman Hole #6 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 370ft.   3 / --   3 / 370ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Excellent Casual Course

1    9/19/2013   9/19/2013
Review By: Fluxell
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a great course for a beginner or intermediate player. A mix of short and long holes with some subtle elevation changes and some trees makes for a great course without the risk of losing a disc on almost every hole. The course was also very well maintained and easy to navigate.
Cons: More advanced players _might_ find the course a bit too easy.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great stop on way to Louisville

1    9/22/2012   9/27/2012
Review By: ricklev
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Really nice grass for a disc golf course. I'm used to Florida's sandy courses, so this was a real treat. You can play while on vacation, and your clean sneakers will remain clean.
-Attractive
-Signage was very good.
-Cows next door to a few holes. I consider this a plus (even with the cow smell). It was fun to hear moo'ing while driving off the tee.
-Good variety of shots, with mostly trees, rocks, and hills for difficulty
Cons: -Wind (or is that a Pro...you decide). I always have a tougher time in the wind. Since I was on vacation, I only had 1 disc with me, and it was the wrong one. I'd bring more to this course next time.
Other Thoughts: A pretty course with nice variety and great grass. Easy to get to from the freeway, it's a really nice place to stop on your way to Louisville or Nashville. Fun.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Top 3 in Bowling Green

5+    10/17/2011   10/17/2011
Review By: brettricewku
Played: 62  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great place to work on your distance. Multiple drives to be worked on here, not just straight shots here. Also multiple routes can be taken on each hole. Strategic trees make you alter your shot. Plenty of birdies if you play your drive right, but can also have bogeys if you throw an errant drive or the winds are rolling.
Cons: No benches are here on this course. Hole 10's tee pad needs to be replaced. Really minor things.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the 3 best courses in Bowling Green. Fun course to empty your bag on many holes and it's fun to do the parking lot challenge on hole 18. Definately has to be visited if you are in the area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Just Beautiful.

1    12/22/2009   12/22/2009
Review By: lschrock
Played: 38  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 13.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Such a gorgeous course. Really well maintained with a good mix of shots ranging from long and open to short and tight. Good, rolling elevation change through light woods, and rolling open hills toward the second half of the course. There are rocks that line a few holes for OB, that provide a really nice touch. There are opportunities for all kinds of shots, too. Really is a well designed, well taken care of course, that doesn't seem to have too much foot traffic. Provides a good variety of range, too. There may be a slight advantage for bigger arms out here, but there are plenty of shorter finesse shots. They put cedar chips around the baskets, too, it really is a nice touch. There are well defined lines on all the holes, and if you hit your line, your shot should work out.
Cons: No benches, no hooks for bags, no restrooms. I can't complain about this course much beyond that, because it's just nice. I like to play around water, and there's none here.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play course. If you come to BG to play gold, make sure this is one of your stops.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wide Open

1    8/9/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: SharpshootersDiscGol
Played: 18  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.1 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A very well maitained course with little foot traffic on the day we went...maybe because it was almost 100 degrees out. Hole one is wide open and the course dips in an out of the trees on the front nine. Layout forces you to use all your shots and play the way it's laid out. Back nine holes are pretty much wide open and if you have a big arm you can really air it out up there....well defined tee pads and course signs from tee to pin..was a little mad to see hole six's sign ripped off at the bolts...baskets are all in excellent condition.
Cons: Not very much shade....but i really didn't care too much...other then that the only thing i can say is maybe some benches and trash cans laid out around the course would be wonderful.
Other Thoughts: Be aware of the ground hog on hole 10...thing came hard charging at me after almost landing a drive on him...ask for pics and i will send them to you...love the course and would make it a def. if you are in the bowling green area.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Bowling Green DG gem

1    5/25/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As others have said, absolutely the cleanest DG course/park I've ever seen.

All concrete tee pads, plenty of length and in great shape. Discatcher baskets in very good condition. Tee signs are all present and very nicely done. Course map PDF file is also very nice. Bathrooms as well as other typical park facilities are present an in nice shape.

Some open flat holes where you can really let it rip, nice for stretching out your arm. Also it's always nice to see several holes you can pick up a deuce with if your drive is true.

Course has double loop pattern for both nines, that start and end in a common area, well thought out layout.

Can be played pretty quickly if you need to since it is in a very compact area, and there is not much terrain or vegetation to slow you down. Looks like it could get pretty busy during peak use.

My memorable holes:
1 - Dead straight let 'er rip. Fun to really let it fly once in a while without trees intimidating you.
3 - Neat anhyzer around the trees, down then back up to the basket on the slope, challenge for a par.
4 - Sadly my only deuce of the day, and certainly not on the easiest hole. Try a hyzer and hope you can get through all the trees to the basket.
8 - I mention this one because I ALMOST aced it. About a foot high and left. Definitely an ace-able hole, not quite as simple as it looks at first, have to use some s-curve to hit chains.
9 - Fun little anhyzer…wait I mean big anhyzer. Or make that a lot of anhyzer on a short hole. If you can park this one I applaud you.
12 - Have to "S" it to get around the big tree. Almost deuced it but my bad putting skills prevailed, sadly.
13 - Long with trees shaping your shot, slightly downhill then back up to the basket on the slope. They say play a pro par of 3, but man I think it's hard to hole out a 3 on this one..
18 - Throw a nice long fading hyzer, and you should be looking at a deuce if you get it right. Nice end to a lovely course.

Cons: Not really challenging. I am by no means an excellent player, and I only had 3 bogies, and even had a deuce. Not that I hate writing down 2's, but I almost 3'd or better on every hole. But overall good use of the available land.

I don't really care for playing next to a somewhat busy road for hole 12, but it's not too bad, just don't turn your disc over horribly.

Other than that, there really isn't much negative to say about the course.
Other Thoughts: My rating of a 4 is based on the fact that the course is fun, but really lacks the challenge of a strong course. The fact that it is SO clean and SO accessible (just a couple miles off of I-65) bumps it back up to the 4-disc range.

If you're in Bowling Green, definitely hit this one up if you have the time, and then go visit its sibling down the road a couple miles at Kereiakes Park.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 I'd take my Lover to this Lane

1    2/4/2009   2/4/2009
Review By: bdamcat
Played: 24  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The layout was excellent and the holes were placed perfect for someone like me to have a really good time. And that's what really counts. This course was really clean and well kept. The parks dept already had the clean up done (tree's, limbs, etc.)from the ice storm that was the week prior.
Cons: Only thing I can come up with is what an above member already stated they need a restroom.
Other Thoughts: I really loved this course and it is a favorite of mine. I'll be going back every chance I get when I come back to BG.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/18/2005   12/18/2008
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Visually, this is a beautiful course. There are gently rolling hills, with nicely maintained plush grass, and mulch spread around each basket. The course is kept clean and there is no shule. There is a practice basket near the parking lot and hole 1. Every hole has good concrete tee pads, good tee signs, and good DISCatcher baskets.

Design wise, it is a fun course to play for all skill levels, with a good variety of shots and distances playing between and around the trees throughout the course. It is the ideal course for newer players to learn on, because no hole is too difficult, there is no water, and the visual appeal of the course is just outstanding.
Cons: There is virtually no shule, so this course is kind of easy for experienced players. As mentioned by others, the planted trees on the back holes will require several more years before they become true obstacles. Being in a soccer complex, parking and traffic can get very crowded during games. The course could probably use more benches. The last time I was there, they had 1 porta-potty near the practice basket, but that was the only sign of a nearby bathroom.
Other Thoughts: I have only played this course once and I usually do not like to review courses that I haven't played recently since joining this site, but the beauty of this course has stuck in my mind every since I first played this course 3 years ago. Photos help, but I can still picture most holes in my mind even as I am writing this review. I would not consider this a technical course, but there are enough trees that it can not really be considered an open course either, although there are a few open holes. If your looking for a challenge, then this course may not be for you, but if your looking for some fun and a great disc golf experience on a beautiful course, then I would highly recommend paying this course a visit.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great playability

5+    12/6/2008   12/6/2008
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 60  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is tremendous - it is well maintained and has excellent signage.

The layout of the front 9 makes good use of the land, with the first shot being a 400+ foot crush. Many of the baskets are protected by large mature trees. Accurate drives can allow you to shoot well on the front.

The back 9 plays a bit longer with a few good opportunities to crush a drive.
Cons: The infamous wind.

Park gets very crowded when soccer matches are in session.

The back 9 doesn't quite hold of up to the front 9 in terms of layout and shot variety.
Other Thoughts: A great choice for a relaxed round or a tournament setting. With a few extra teepads or pin placements, this course could be even better.

Big arms will be able to shoot under par without too much trouble, but it still appeals to amateur players. This is the kind of course that you will want to play more than once - and it is a great compliment to the shorter and more technical courses in BG (Keriakas and Hobson).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Another Lovely Course in BG...

2-4    11/22/2008   11/22/2008
Review By: dobbins66
Played: 85  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Front 9 is a nice mix of a few open holes and holes tucked around mature trees in a beautiful park. Back 9 is mainly open with just a few trees. Plenty of holes to throw a driver but no extreme distance holes. Easy course to walk and navigate with gentle elevation changes and well maintained fairways.
Cons: Back 9 not quite up the the standard of the front. A few more trees would be great and there are a few young trees that will eventually mature and come into play more.
Other Thoughts: Good use of the space and young trees planted to help with the long term growth of this course. I consider this the 2nd windiest course in the area(behind White Park), The wind can really bite you if you aren't careful. Highly recommend playing here if you are in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.