Bowling Green, KY 
Lover's Lane Park Share
Uploaded By: Boostman Hole #10 (Taken 4/2009)
4 / 390ft.   3 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket



Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    7/3/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: kdos
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: First thing i noticed about this course was that it was maintained very well. mowed grass through the whole course. there are signs at every tee, and clear tee pads. rolling hills and trees are the main obstacles. very clean and easy to navigate
Cons: some holes are too close to each other sometimes requiring having to wait for someone to finish the hole ahead of you first.
Other Thoughts: recommended if you are in the area or even an hour away

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/10/2009   6/28/2009
Review By: caney44
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The course is laid out great. It is hard, but it is fun at the same time. Its a real clean park and well taken care of, and everyone out there is real friendly.
Cons: Needs a restroom and when the trees get grown on the back nine it will be a whole lot cooler on ya so you can cool down
Other Thoughts: Probly my favorite atm but I haven't been to but a handful of course's atm

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for all.

5+    6/27/2009   6/27/2009
Review By: SARRS
Played: 33  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.6 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The front nine is great, and they there are lots of good shade tree's. They do a good job keeping the grass mowed as well.
Cons: Back nine is long and no shade tree's. If more tree's are grown on the back nine in a few year's it would get better.
Other Thoughts: The road right next to it can suck some times.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.


2-4    4/5/2013   5/26/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/25/2013
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is your typical parks course set on gently rolling hills with several trees, but it is one of the nice parks courses you can play. The course is well-kept, and it is frequently played. There is a spacious parking area. The park itself and course are very easy to find. It has a large and detailed course map on the kiosk between tees #1 and #10. The tee signs are detailed and colorful, and the sign posts/bag holders are easily visible from the previous basket. You do end up back at the parking lot after #9 and #18 so there is a definite front and back 9. I really like the mulch surrounding the basket on a couple of holes; I wish all the baskets had that.

There is a good variety of hole length, a little elevation in play, and lots of trees to avoid. There is no undergrowth so finding discs is super easy even if you miss your lines- a bonus for newer players.
Cons: Only a few minor cons: The overall course layout is questionable in places- some of the holes/tees are really close to each other, on other holes the walk to the next tee can seen unnecessarily long, and twice you almost backtrack. There is only a portable toilet as a restroom at the course. The quality of the back 9 drops off a little from the front 9. Grass can be thick at times in the summer if they have not mowed.
Other Thoughts: The front 9 is more wooded and the back 9 is a little more open. (I prefer the front 9 as it is a little more interesting.) There is some variety in shots required (straight, right, left), but most holes have multiple options. Overall this course is not too difficult. There are obstacles but usually plenty of room to recover from errant drives. There are couple of longer holes (400'+ range), but nothing ridiculous, most of the holes are in the normal 250'-350' range.

The course has a high rating, but I personally would not put it ahead of several other BG courses (like Keriakes and Hobson Grove). This course seems to be popular, and justifiably so, as it is an excellent place for the average casual player or a family to play a quick round and work on all aspects of their game (and it is definitely a top course if this is what you are looking for), however the experienced disc golfer may not see this course as a 4.0 as it might be viewed as too easy or worthy of only one or two rounds before getting bored. Although, you can't go wrong by deciding to play a round or two here, but be sure to play the other top courses in Bowling Green as well.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A Bowling Green DG gem

1    5/25/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As others have said, absolutely the cleanest DG course/park I've ever seen.

All concrete tee pads, plenty of length and in great shape. Discatcher baskets in very good condition. Tee signs are all present and very nicely done. Course map PDF file is also very nice. Bathrooms as well as other typical park facilities are present an in nice shape.

Some open flat holes where you can really let it rip, nice for stretching out your arm. Also it's always nice to see several holes you can pick up a deuce with if your drive is true.

Course has double loop pattern for both nines, that start and end in a common area, well thought out layout.

Can be played pretty quickly if you need to since it is in a very compact area, and there is not much terrain or vegetation to slow you down. Looks like it could get pretty busy during peak use.

My memorable holes:
1 - Dead straight let 'er rip. Fun to really let it fly once in a while without trees intimidating you.
3 - Neat anhyzer around the trees, down then back up to the basket on the slope, challenge for a par.
4 - Sadly my only deuce of the day, and certainly not on the easiest hole. Try a hyzer and hope you can get through all the trees to the basket.
8 - I mention this one because I ALMOST aced it. About a foot high and left. Definitely an ace-able hole, not quite as simple as it looks at first, have to use some s-curve to hit chains.
9 - Fun little anhyzer…wait I mean big anhyzer. Or make that a lot of anhyzer on a short hole. If you can park this one I applaud you.
12 - Have to "S" it to get around the big tree. Almost deuced it but my bad putting skills prevailed, sadly.
13 - Long with trees shaping your shot, slightly downhill then back up to the basket on the slope. They say play a pro par of 3, but man I think it's hard to hole out a 3 on this one..
18 - Throw a nice long fading hyzer, and you should be looking at a deuce if you get it right. Nice end to a lovely course.

Cons: Not really challenging. I am by no means an excellent player, and I only had 3 bogies, and even had a deuce. Not that I hate writing down 2's, but I almost 3'd or better on every hole. But overall good use of the available land.

I don't really care for playing next to a somewhat busy road for hole 12, but it's not too bad, just don't turn your disc over horribly.

Other than that, there really isn't much negative to say about the course.
Other Thoughts: My rating of a 4 is based on the fact that the course is fun, but really lacks the challenge of a strong course. The fact that it is SO clean and SO accessible (just a couple miles off of I-65) bumps it back up to the 4-disc range.

If you're in Bowling Green, definitely hit this one up if you have the time, and then go visit its sibling down the road a couple miles at Kereiakes Park.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 I'd take my Lover to this Lane

1    2/4/2009   2/4/2009
Review By: bdamcat
Played: 24  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The layout was excellent and the holes were placed perfect for someone like me to have a really good time. And that's what really counts. This course was really clean and well kept. The parks dept already had the clean up done (tree's, limbs, etc.)from the ice storm that was the week prior.
Cons: Only thing I can come up with is what an above member already stated they need a restroom.
Other Thoughts: I really loved this course and it is a favorite of mine. I'll be going back every chance I get when I come back to BG.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/18/2005   12/18/2008
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Visually, this is a beautiful course. There are gently rolling hills, with nicely maintained plush grass, and mulch spread around each basket. The course is kept clean and there is no shule. There is a practice basket near the parking lot and hole 1. Every hole has good concrete tee pads, good tee signs, and good DISCatcher baskets.

Design wise, it is a fun course to play for all skill levels, with a good variety of shots and distances playing between and around the trees throughout the course. It is the ideal course for newer players to learn on, because no hole is too difficult, there is no water, and the visual appeal of the course is just outstanding.
Cons: There is virtually no shule, so this course is kind of easy for experienced players. As mentioned by others, the planted trees on the back holes will require several more years before they become true obstacles. Being in a soccer complex, parking and traffic can get very crowded during games. The course could probably use more benches. The last time I was there, they had 1 porta-potty near the practice basket, but that was the only sign of a nearby bathroom.
Other Thoughts: I have only played this course once and I usually do not like to review courses that I haven't played recently since joining this site, but the beauty of this course has stuck in my mind every since I first played this course 3 years ago. Photos help, but I can still picture most holes in my mind even as I am writing this review. I would not consider this a technical course, but there are enough trees that it can not really be considered an open course either, although there are a few open holes. If your looking for a challenge, then this course may not be for you, but if your looking for some fun and a great disc golf experience on a beautiful course, then I would highly recommend paying this course a visit.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/26/2008   12/18/2008
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 8.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Lover's Lane Disc Golf Course is the cleanest, most well-maintained course that I have ever played. The course sports DISCatcher baskets that are in very good condition. All holes have level, concrete tee pads and accurate up-to-date tee signs.

The course has a great layout that loops back to start after the front and back nine. The holes are well spaced with no crossing fairways. There is no foliage or over-growth to speak of at Lover's Lane. The grass is always cut, and the park is always very clean.

The course is set over gently rolling mounds and hills in an adequate stand of tall, mature trees. The visual appeal of this course is phenomenal. A small pavilion with a picnic table and trash receptacle is located at the start of the course. Although Lover's Lane is not a long course, it will provide ample challenge for the recreational and intermediate players.

The holes are strategically placed in and around the trees in the park, making for a nice variety of shot types, approaches, and putts. The players that throw 400+ probably won't have much of a challenge here, but can certainly enjoy the beauty and layout of the course, and appreciate what it has to offer. There are minimal elevation changes on the course, but the holes are designed to take advantage of all that the grounds have to offer.

I wouldn't say that there are one or two memorable holes in particular, but the course as a whole will be a positive and unforgettable experience. This is a great place to bring new players when introducing them to the sport.

The holes range from 225ft-500ft, with an average of 330ft/hole. The course has plenty of room to throw just about any type of shot that you would want to throw, hyzers, annies, rollers, etc. There are several open tee shots that where the average player can launch a drive off of the box, but the more experience players will most likely be throwing mid-range and putters. The opening hole is just over 400ft, and the 15th measures right around 500ft, but the rest of the holes are mid to upper 200's and lower to mid 300's.

Although there are trees and other obstacles to navigate, there are no tight, technical holes on the course. There are plenty of parking spots in the large, paved parking lot. I will typically see other groups playing when I am there, but I have never seen it crowded. There is a practice basket for warm up located near the first tee. This course, and many of the courses in Bowling Green have mulch around the base of basket, which adds slightly to the visual appeal of the course. Holes 14-17 are pretty much wide open at this point, but there are some younger trees that will increase the challenge of the course as they mature.
Cons: There are no restrooms at the course. Lover's Lane is actually a soccer complex, and I would guess that there are public restrooms available near the soccer fields, but I honestly don't know if they are locked when soccer games are not in progress. That's about it for the cons of Lover's Lane. It has been a while since I've played here, but I don't recall any benches or trash receptacles on the course.
Other Thoughts: This is the first course I played in Bowling Green, and I always go back and play here every chance I get. A great course, definitely a must play when coming to the BG area. It is also located close to another one of my favorite courses in BG, Keriakes. I'm guessing here, but these two courses are within 5 miles of each other. This course is used for multiple events held annually in Bowling Green, and is typically part of the rotation schedule for the Bowling Green NT event held annually in the spring. Lover's Lane has been used as the "Final Nine" of the Bowling Green NT Event. Check it out!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great playability

5+    12/6/2008   12/6/2008
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 63  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is tremendous - it is well maintained and has excellent signage.

The layout of the front 9 makes good use of the land, with the first shot being a 400+ foot crush. Many of the baskets are protected by large mature trees. Accurate drives can allow you to shoot well on the front.

The back 9 plays a bit longer with a few good opportunities to crush a drive.
Cons: The infamous wind.

Park gets very crowded when soccer matches are in session.

The back 9 doesn't quite hold of up to the front 9 in terms of layout and shot variety.
Other Thoughts: A great choice for a relaxed round or a tournament setting. With a few extra teepads or pin placements, this course could be even better.

Big arms will be able to shoot under par without too much trouble, but it still appeals to amateur players. This is the kind of course that you will want to play more than once - and it is a great compliment to the shorter and more technical courses in BG (Keriakas and Hobson).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Another Lovely Course in BG...

2-4    11/22/2008   11/22/2008
Review By: dobbins66
Played: 85  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Front 9 is a nice mix of a few open holes and holes tucked around mature trees in a beautiful park. Back 9 is mainly open with just a few trees. Plenty of holes to throw a driver but no extreme distance holes. Easy course to walk and navigate with gentle elevation changes and well maintained fairways.
Cons: Back 9 not quite up the the standard of the front. A few more trees would be great and there are a few young trees that will eventually mature and come into play more.
Other Thoughts: Good use of the space and young trees planted to help with the long term growth of this course. I consider this the 2nd windiest course in the area(behind White Park), The wind can really bite you if you aren't careful. Highly recommend playing here if you are in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.