Bowling Green, KY 
Lover's Lane Park Share
Uploaded By: Boostman Hole #11 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 245ft.   3 / --   3 / 245ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee Sign



Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Bombs Away!

2-4    5/19/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: discgolphinmafaukner
Played: 28  Reviewed: 13
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lover's Lane is a mostly open disc golf course in Bowling Green, KY. The fairways on this course are the best fairways I have ever seen. I could sleep on the grass in this park every night. The course loops around back to the parking lot after hole 9 and again after 18. The distance is great on this one, so bomb away all day! There is a shelter house near holes 1 and 10 which is a great spot to take a break. There is a little elevation; I would say just enough to keep it interesting.
Cons: The course is mostly open which allows the wind to do whatever it wants to your disc. The park could also use a bathroom, more benches, and more trash cans.
Other Thoughts: I mentioned the wind as a con. It seems like every time I play this course the wind is HOWLING! That being said, I'm beginning to like playing in the wind. I only consider it a con because most people do not like wind. I play this course every time I head down to Blowing Green.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

One of the best courses...

5+    8/19/2012   5/22/2010
Review By: UKfan
Played: 45  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2012
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is likely my favorite course. It is well designed with clear lines to the baskets. The baskets are placed relative to the trees in such a way as to make the holes more challenging. In comparison to most technical courses, it is a relatively open course with a moderate number of trees and a few holes with almost no trees. Despite the length of some of the holes, I highly recommend this course to most beginners. This is a very well maintained course. In the 3 years that I have played this course the trees on the six more open holes across the road have really matured. As a result, the holes across the road have become more challenging. Over time this will be an even better course.
Cons: The direction of the holes and baskets could be a little better marked. For example, the first time that I played this course I did not realize that #13 required you to cross the road. Some of the teepads are not close to the prior basket and require you to walk backward or away from the last basket.
The course is a little long for a relative beginner like me. If some of the holes were par 4's that would have been better for me. However, that should not discourage anyone. I just wish courses would have label some holes as par 4's more often.
Other Thoughts: I really love this course. The design and maintenance of this course are the reasons that I rate it so highly. I also give it an extra half or full disc because it is one of my personal favorites. I have to drive 2 1/2 hours to play this course.
One day I played it after it had after it had rained all day and for the prior two days, but it drained very well.
This is a really well maintained and clean course. There are bathrooms located nearby at the soccer complex.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Day in the Park....

5+    4/30/2010   5/2/2010
Review By: big shot dobbs
Played: 26  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 18.4 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I have played this course close to 500 times since it was built....Lovers Lane gets better each year, as it matures. Fun course...especially if you can throw a 400ft spike hyzer consistantly:) Give this course 10 years, and those spike hyzers will become long turnover roc shots....I can't wait!! I love to practice at Lovers, because it's easy to navigate.....no rough.....good baskets......good pads signage, and one of the best manicured Kentucky bluegrass fields you will find!!
Cons: Not much here.....except holes 13 to 18 need time for trees to define fairways.....which will be awsome in 10 years.....
Other Thoughts: I love Lovers:) It;s a great place to practice, hang out, and get your confidence up. If you visit BG.... Play Kerieakes and Lovers in the morning (under 3 hours easily)....eat lunch, stop by Disc Golf Shop and More/KY Disc Golf Hall of Fame, on the way out to Holler in the Hills, for an epic afternoon round!! Now that's a Disc Golf vacation!!

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    4/11/2010   4/15/2010
Review By: gkeberhart
Played: 36  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/22/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First of all this is a well maintained course, it is in great shape and the BG people make sure to keep it that way. the course is very well laid out and changes distances frequently making you utilize different discs and shots off the tee at all times. some shots are shaped the same, but rarely if ever were they performed on back to back tees. Trees were healthy and acted as great obstacles.
Cons: Hole #10 had a pretty rough tee pad. it was a little rough to throw from but manageable. as is with most of the courses I have played in BG there really wasnt a great place to use the restroom or get water that was close to the course. they did have a fountain near the start of the course but the stream wasnt very strong making it rough to fill a container up. There was also a pretty rough manure smell from the adjacent farm on some of the holes, at times it really made it tough to breathe
Other Thoughts: it was secluded and away from the park which was nice as it kept you away from childern and people that dont understand the dangers. it was generally quiet and very colorful. fun course with some elevation but the scenery really made it a great course to be at. Make sure you put this one near the top of your list as it isnt super difficult but still enough of a challenge to have a great time.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A walk in a park...

1    4/3/2010   4/3/2010
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very, very, clean. Mostly grip and rip holes. Easily accessible from the major interstate nearby. Easy to navigate with pretty decent signage (One hole's sign was missing completely; and some of the others had typical hoodlum damage as well; but were still professionally constructed).
Cons: It's a walk in a park in that every inch of the place is mown grass. Most of the tree's cannot be more than 25 years old; or the few mature one's typically do not even come into play. Aside from #15 (500 footer), the rest of the holes were in the 250-350 range where a RHBH anhyzer or RHFH hyzer can get you within birdie range. Several of the tee/fairway placements are right alongside others; so the chances of getting plunked with a disc are fairly high compared to more heavily wooded/wide open courses.
Other Thoughts: After playing the nearby Holler in the Hills DG course earlier in the day, playing the Lover's Lane course was simply a letdown of epic proportions. While this would be a good course to go and practice gripping/ripping, the fact of the matter is that it's not technically challenging enough to be of any real assistance in prepping for most highly rated, technically difficult courses. Still, I've played many far worse courses.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not my kind of lover but still a good course!

1    2/4/2010   2/5/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 704  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice discatchers in good shape. They are all very visible because most of them are in the open, but the yellow band helps spot the basket if it is tucked behind a basket.
2) Dry creek and a couple of low collection areas are done very well with large cobbles. These are treated as OB and I think they do a nice job making what would be a drainageway or a low wet area to look better than if left natural.
3) This course has a good amount of distance variety. There are a few shorter holes under or around 200' and then there are a good amount of holes between 250-300 and even the 500'+ hole #15.
4) This course has a nice easy flow to it that many courses lack. It may be easier to figure out because it is more open than tightly wooded, but the balance of holes and walks between holes is done very well.
5) Mulch has been placed around baskets where the compaction would have the ground as bare soil. I always appreciate this little effort of having mulch in these bare ground areas, especially where everyone walks!
6) Nice signs with Hole #, Par, distance and a simple diagram. The diagram could be better but it has all of the info on them. They are consistent in their design and are on nice tall 4x4 posts. It actually helps navigation.
7) The turf is in good shape in the wide open areas. The areas where the fairways have a decent amount of tree coverage are lacking in density in areas, but there are almost no places on this course that are totally bare and muddy.
8) There are no real safety issues as the course has tees far enough away from baskets that there shouldn't be any dangerous run-ins with discs. The course is set on its own away from the other activities of the course so there likely will be no issues with other park users.
9) There are a few picnic benches throughout the course but none of them are really close to the tees. They would be well used during slow tourney rounds but it isn't likely that they get much use unless the course is extremely busy. There is a shelter and a sign with the course map at the beginning of the course. There also is a portopotty right near the first tee. Plenty of garbage cans on this course. It isn't every hole but close to every other hole. This will certainly help keep this course very clean.
10) This is a nice park that is gated and closed during evening hours. This definitely helps cut down on crime and vandalism. There is a major soccer complex and other activities but I did not drive through the whole park to see the other features.
11) There is a nice balance of open and moderately wooded holes. There really are no dense woods but there are enough trees on enough holes to make it feel more wooded than it is. This is perhaps likely due to the basket placements forcing some real specific shots and some serious accuracy.
12) This course is very beginner friendly because it is mostly open. There are enough trees to force the beginner to make shots but there are not too many shots that will frustrate them or cause them to take huge #'s like so many wooded courses will do.
Cons: 1) The tees are great overall but the one on Hole #10 is all busted up. The corners are collapsing and it actually is a little bit of a safety concern.

2) #6 tee sign is missing. The post is still there, but the sign is missing.

3) The erosion around the teepads is evident like it is on most courses. This is a circumstance that I think is more avoidable than people realize. It would be no big issue to trench out around the concrete and put mulch around every tee. If the tee areas were on a slope then they could be easily built up with timbers.

4) Diagrams of each hole could be better done. There could be a little more detail and would help greatly in deciphering the obstacles. It isn't horrible because there are not a ton of trees, but I always like to see a detailed diagram and then look at the hole and try and decipher how far the avenues are.

5) I truthfully would like to see some more trees on this course. They did the best they could to use the land they had sure, but it is less of a course because of how open many of the holes are. It is another classic DG course with spotty trees and some rolling KY slopes.

6) There are a not a lot of shots required here. There are mostly straight shots, and many of the holes allow for multiple lanes. You can pick the easiest shot for you and throw it. There simply isn't enough analysis needed here and that is one of the things I love doing in DG . . . analyzing each hole and figuring out my lines.

7) Course is lacking challenge. The wooded holes are not TOO difficult and the biggest challenge on the course is the added length. It would be easy for someone with a 300-350' drive ability to shoot low rounds out here. So for me a 225-275 thrower, it is a little mudane throwing 1 50'-75' upshot on so many holes and it just doesn't feel as enjoyable as other courses.
Other Thoughts: There is enough for the course to be slightly above average because it is designed well and has generally good maintenance and good facilities, but the lack of dense woods and dramatic elevation changes have this course locked in at a 3.5 disc rating. There isn't much they could do to make the course better than it is except a little more maintenance. With some better turf, improved tee sign diagrams, and a solution for the erosion issues this course could be a 4, but it simply does not live up to the other 4's I have played without these issues. It was fun don't get me wrong I just think it could be improved slightly to get it up to its max of 4 discs. There is enough challenge here to shoot around par or so, but most of the challenge is due to the distance and not shot shaping requirements. I would come back and play this course again, but only because my score was higher than I feel it should have been. I would get bored playing this course over and over, but as I have already said it is well designed for the property. As someone before me said I am doing this course a favor giving it a 3.5 instead of a 3 but it simply is clean, well designed for the property, fun, and is very well maintained. I cannot knock this course too low because I didn't have as much fun as others. It simply didn't present enough of a challenge for me to give it any higher of a grade, but the maintenance and evertyhing else are too good for me to give it a 3. Normally I give courses ratings based on my likeliness to return, but this course is simply a bit of a hybrid of my normal rating style. I feel I have represented enough int he review to explain this though. I imagine playing this course in summer with all of the nice lush turf and the trees leaved out would also be muh better than playing in the winter and when the trees have no leaves. That is another reason it has received an extra 1/2 disc rating from me from where I would have normally reviewed it.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Wind... Bomber Holes... BG KY.

2-4    4/8/2008   1/16/2010
Review By: ChrisWoj
Played: 107  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 9.4 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There isn't a lot of elevation available, but the course does a decent job of making use of it. The wind can be a pro, when it comes to adding a challenge to the course. It is designed to be a very fun play - like most of the Bowling Green, Kentucky courses. There is nice variation in the hole distances. Additionally - it is easy to navigate, the signs are as well done as anything around (easy to read, simple, and straightforward). Overall it is very well kept up.
Cons: I can't be too enthusiastic about Lovers Lane. It does what it can with the property - but the bomber holes feel tweener length (10, 13, and 15 specifically). The wind can be aggravating, of course, but hasn't been when I've been out there. The biggest issue I have is the lack of true variety in sort of shots and the way that the elevation is used. It feels like it could have been used more effectively - you throw across valleys instead of from top to bottom or bottom to top. A design that played along the valley's slopes could have been more effective.
Other Thoughts: I understand that this is one of the original Bowling Green, Kentucky courses, and a lot of people have a lot of love for it - but I honestly feel like I'm doing it a favor rating it a 3.0 instead of a 2.5. I have fun on the course, which is the primary reason for that bump... but I don't feel like it is as good as the other courses in the area - Kereiakes, White Park, et al.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Just Beautiful.

1    12/22/2009   12/22/2009
Review By: lschrock
Played: 38  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 13.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Such a gorgeous course. Really well maintained with a good mix of shots ranging from long and open to short and tight. Good, rolling elevation change through light woods, and rolling open hills toward the second half of the course. There are rocks that line a few holes for OB, that provide a really nice touch. There are opportunities for all kinds of shots, too. Really is a well designed, well taken care of course, that doesn't seem to have too much foot traffic. Provides a good variety of range, too. There may be a slight advantage for bigger arms out here, but there are plenty of shorter finesse shots. They put cedar chips around the baskets, too, it really is a nice touch. There are well defined lines on all the holes, and if you hit your line, your shot should work out.
Cons: No benches, no hooks for bags, no restrooms. I can't complain about this course much beyond that, because it's just nice. I like to play around water, and there's none here.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play course. If you come to BG to play gold, make sure this is one of your stops.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wide Open

1    8/9/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: SharpshootersDiscGol
Played: 18  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.1 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A very well maitained course with little foot traffic on the day we went...maybe because it was almost 100 degrees out. Hole one is wide open and the course dips in an out of the trees on the front nine. Layout forces you to use all your shots and play the way it's laid out. Back nine holes are pretty much wide open and if you have a big arm you can really air it out up there....well defined tee pads and course signs from tee to pin..was a little mad to see hole six's sign ripped off at the bolts...baskets are all in excellent condition.
Cons: Not very much shade....but i really didn't care too much...other then that the only thing i can say is maybe some benches and trash cans laid out around the course would be wonderful.
Other Thoughts: Be aware of the ground hog on hole 10...thing came hard charging at me after almost landing a drive on him...ask for pics and i will send them to you...love the course and would make it a def. if you are in the bowling green area.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/27/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well this is a really fun course indeed. One of the more obvious characteristics is its openness which is more pronounced on the back nine. The grass is well kempt and has virtually no areas with shule to eat your disc. "Aceable" holes are peppered among a layout that should be enjoyed by players of all skill levels.

The front nine plays through gently rolling hills among mature trees. There is a fair amount of variety in terms of shot types. You'll find the pins set in strategic places and offers a fair amount of difficulty. Four and five have some gravel lined drainage areas that add some OB risk for a change too. Number nine has a chain link fence that enforces the mandatory route and is really unique and is a pretty neat addition.

As mentioned, the back nine is more open than the front. The holes are not considerabley longer in terms of length but they do seem to play that way. You can stretch it out a little if you have a big arm. Wind is also going to be more of a factor on the back as well. There are some patches of trees here and there and the baskets are tucked in pretty well to keep the challenge alive when possible. Eighteen is a 340' hyzer shot that leads you back to the parking lot and highlights the course's fairly good layout in general.

The amenities are pretty nice too. Concrete tee pads and really nice tee signs are always a plus. The informative kiosk with a picnic table at the intersection of holes one and ten is a nice addition too. It really highlights the separation of the front and back nine. The Discatcher baskets are in great shape and are also accentuated by mulch laid around some of them. There was a rarity there too, a CLEAN port-a-jon by the parking lot.
Cons: I guess the biggest con would be lack of challenge. That is not to say that it is overly easy but locals/regular players could probably wear this course out rather quickly. It's not that the course is overly repetitive but seasoned players are not going to bogey very often.

The road on the back nine can be a little distracting.

Some benches and trashcans scattered around would have been nice.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a very fun course. It is certainly one of those courses that will have you wanting to come back and play again. Out of the courses I've played in the Bowling Green area this one of the ones I enjoyed most. It is very clean, safe, and really has a great disc golf atmosphere. If you are in the area I highly recommend playing Lovers Lane. Enjoy!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.