Bowling Green, KY
Lover's Lane Park Share
Uploaded By: ambroze Hole #5 (Taken 1/2009)
3 / 275ft.   3 / --   3 / 275ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Very nice open course

5+    9/13/2008   11/14/2008
Review By: jgentry
Played: 47  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has large concrete pads a great signs. The course is easy to fallow and in a very well kept park. The course is in an area set aside pretty much for only disc golf. It has a lot of long holes with some huge mature trees being spread throughout the course. It is very pleasing to the eye and a great course to get out there and rip some long drives. There is a decent mix of short holes as well and the trees that are there are used very well.
Cons: The holes on the other side of the street are too open. They have young trees planted but it will be several years before the efect much. The course is also not protected from the weather and it tends to always be windy (not really a bad thing, just be ready for it). Several of the holes are long but it is still an easy course to play. There are very few holes that a good play will not make a 3 on without a massive screw up.
Other Thoughts: This is a great place to go play in Bowling Green. Really pretty park and just a nice place for a fun relaxing round. It's a great change up from a course like Keriakias right down the road.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Just okay

1    9/1/2008   9/1/2008
Review By: WillA
Played: 28  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 3.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The signage is excellent and the course is very well maintained. There are a lot of holes where you can just reach back and throw hard.
Cons: Porbably too wide open as a result it can get kind of boring. Not really a con but with the lack of trees it can be breezy.
Other Thoughts: At times it feels like you are just out in a big field throwing discs because it is so wide open. It's a relatively easy course and sometimes that's what you want to play. Imagine Kereiakes but flatter and with half the number of trees.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Loving life at Lover's!

1    8/2/2008   8/8/2008
Review By: buzzinb
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/10/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Outstanding course that is well laid out and nicely maintained. Good mix of wooded/open holes that offer something for everyone. Hole #4 requires a well placed shot that must stay below an intimidating, horizontal branch from a giant oak tree while sweeping back uphill untill finally hyzering back around a cluster of trees near the basket...one of my all-time favorites! That branch actually came down about a year ago :-( Still a fun hole, just not as challenging.
Cons: Very busy road can alter drive selection on holes 7, 12 and possibly 13. A popular course that can get really crowded on weekends and afternoons.
Other Thoughts: One of the main reasons to play BG! Only a couple of miles from Kereiakes which makes the temptation of double-dipping these great courses too good to resist!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of my faves

7/26/2008   7/28/2008
Review By: upfromtheashes
Played: 39  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 9.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I've never played a course that was better maintained. Just beautiful. Among the longer courses I've played, which is welcome as I like to stretch the arm a bit. Good variety of hole distances and lines. Elevation comes into play on a few holes.

Top-notch signage, good teepads.
Cons: Holes 13-17 don't have the mature trees that the other holes do. Trees have been planted, but at this time they are still fairly small and most of them are not incredibly effective as obstacles.
Other Thoughts: I will play this course every time I get down to Bowling Green. It has become one of my favorites. Another reviewer suggested a double dip of Lover's Lane + Kerieakes. I second the motion!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Attractive course, worth a stop

1    3/11/2001   6/11/2008
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2011
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is maintained very well in an attractive park. There is no schule and it is easy to navigate. There's a bit of length to appeal to advanced players, but nothing to cause frustration for rec players.

Good signs and tee pads. Plenty of opportunity to crush.
Cons: Not a lot of technical challenge. Not much to think about strategically.
Other Thoughts: Remember: Don't be a dirty disc golfer. If you pack it in, pack it out!

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

6/5/2008   6/5/2008
Review By: ChrisULM
Played: 14  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course. It looks like a ball golf course which is quite impressive. It isn't too difficult which makes for a fun round.
Cons: I would have liked to see a few more trees on some holes to add to the difficulty of the course.
Other Thoughts: This course is only minutes away from Kereiakes. I would suggest playing them both back to back!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Open course

3/30/2008   4/13/2008
Review By: Crawdaddy
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.7 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: LOTS of openness. Great course for the strong ripper. Big distances. Holes 1-12,, & 18 play on one side of the park entrance lane; 13-17 on the other side. Good for either backhanders or flickers.
Cons: Length can cause a jam during a tourney waiting for a group to clear out .
Other Thoughts: Fairly easy to follow the course. Big wide open area. Very well kept. Kudos to the parks maintenance people.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf is for Lovers

3/29/2008   4/10/2008
Review By: gcrussell4
Played: 120  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played this course at BG Ams 2008 and it was in absolutely prestine condition. The course is set in a slightly hilly park with trees coming into play on most holes. There are not really many tunnel shots as the trees tend to act as lone obstacles, but they still make you throw a good variety of shots to be successful. Most holes will not penalize a bad throw much more than just forcing you to take a three instead of putt for a two as there is little "rough" to speak of.
Cons: Several holes' fairways are close enough that errant shots could result in some people didging out of the way. I myself had to do a Matrix move when I heard someone on the next tee yell "FORE". The only other con I can think of is if you are really looking for a long challenging course, it probably isn't for you. Many more finesse and control shots then big bombers.
Other Thoughts: This is a beautiful course in a beautiful area in one of DG's meccas. Disc golf is for Lovers!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 favorite BG course

5+    1/19/2008   2/28/2008
Review By: skottyb
Played: 47  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 15 Years
This review was updated on 3/1/2010
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Favorite BG course, well maintained, excellent layout. I love the windy days. The course flows well throughout a nicely groomed course. This is one of those DG courses that feels like its in a ball golf setting. There is just enough mature trees to keep it interesting in the wide open layout. Putting generally comes into play a lot as well as a nice upshot game. This is the one true Bowling Green course where I feel wind always seems to come into play.

A nice shelter house is located next too hole 1 and hole 10, I wish more courses had the layout aligned like this.
Cons: Cops, not that we were doing anything wrong but on the back part of the course a cop was sitting there watching up play the entire time. I don't think he thought we were doing anything wrong, maybe just taking a break to watch some disc golf, who knows. On hole 17 I hit the basket off of the drive and he honked his horn, that was when we realized he was just watching. Keeping it safe Bowling Green.

Another con would be the back part of the course, I feel it will needs another 15-20 years too really grow up too its potential. A lot of the trees are still younger and were planted for this very purpose, I feel once these grow up it will give the course a much more appealing look.

Also, more benches would be nice.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely one of my favorites in Bowling Green, I love how you can play this course, and drive 5 mins and play a course that is of the same caliber. You really have done it the right way Bowling Green.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

8/5/2007   8/8/2007
Review By: Braldar
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: A fun and not too difficult course. Great for beginners and still enjoyable for seasoned players.
Cons: The fairly busy road that runs close to holes 7-12 is being expanded, making it easy for players (especially south paws) to send a disk into traffic. Be careful.
Other Thoughts: The front nine has a nice wooded area for some fun accuracy play and the back nine is open so you can let it rip. Holes 13 -17 are located across the entrance drive. It took me a few minutes to figure that out my first time.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.