Cincinnati, OH 
Woodland Mound Park Share
Uploaded By: sisyphus Hole #15 (Taken 8/2014)
3 / 266ft.   3 / 266ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Home Course

5+    7/10/2014   7/13/2014
Review By: runves3
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short course. I believe around 4400ft. Its almost a mile walk. I am no pro, but I play the entire course as a par 3. Great for a beginner, took my dad who never played before, he threw a +5 and +4 (using par 3's). Nice field across from course to warm up or practice new discs.
Cons: Pads need to be upgraded/replaced. Some are bumpy/grooved. The hole pads are blacktop, so a good toss could land you 30ft. from hole. No practice tee. Most people, if not busy use 18 basket as practice from 1 tee. Not as challenging now that the creek,bridges, and some fairway trees are gone. Not well marked. (see Other Thoughts)
Other Thoughts: Just a walk in the park. The gift shop has discs to purchase. I rarely use a driver here. On a good day I don't use it at all. DON'T SKIP HOLE #8. Its easy to skip. After hole #7 going uphill turn around from basket to go to #8. Hole #9 is the par 3 around tree.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good beginner course

5+    5/29/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: pmorgan1214
Played: 27  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very well designed and very simple to follow. Mainly for the casual disc golfer to even the beginner. They have done a lot of changes to this park over the summer of last year. The biggest change is between hole 10 and 17. There is no more creek and bridge their. they covered with dirt and now it is a nice grass walkway. Also their is a lot less ash trees on the couse. Has made this course a lot easier. There is no real signature hole on this course just a small 18 hole course. The longest hole is 340 ft and the shortes is 140 ft.
Cons: There are a few cons on this course. since this is a beginner course their is a lot of high school kids and new players to disc golf. Be careful of them throwing. they have no control and may hit you. i have seen it happen. Also they have no etiquette. A lot of new players will not let a single player through even if they have a group of 6. The tee pads are very broken down here and need to be replaced. Also when it is wet they are slick and you will slip and fall. They have cracks in them that will mess up your throw if you are not paying attention. Also the baskets are all encirled with concrete. so a good shot that hits this pad of concrete will skip 20 feet past the whole.
Other Thoughts: Overall i would say woodland mound is a begginner course and if you are looking for a quick bit of fun or looking to test a new disc this is the course for doing that. I would recomend playing this course with some friends if you are a looking for only a 1 or 2 hour time window to get in 2 rounds.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/26/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: Bonks
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A fun course to take your family to for a family day.
Good course for rec players and beginners to play since the longest hole is about 340ft with most averaging in the 250-275ft range.
Good course for better players to work on their putter/mid range game.
It looks more open than it really is, you will learn to throw with accuracy here.
If you go during a weekday during the day you should have no problem getting multiple rounds in without and wait.
The grass is usually pretty well taken care of.
Cons: Asphalt tee pads - get very slick when it rains or snows, especially hole 11 for a few days after a rain. Some are cracking and others are uneven from the back of tee to front.
Some of the fairways run right along side each other so you need to be aware of flying discs at all times.
On weekends and in the evening during the week this course draws a good crowd so expect some kind of wait even if only a few minutes.
The tree next to hole 4's tee pad is starting to take over part of the tee pad now and may interfere with your throw.
The trees on the right side of hole 10's fairway are growing out and really make this a tough/tight throw compared to what it used to be.
If you do lose a disc here don't expect to get a phone call to get it back if your number is on it.
Other Thoughts: With any Hamilton County Park you're going to need a park sticker, either $3/day or $10 for the year.
Lots of stuff to do in the park(park, splash park, nature trails, nature center, shelters for picnics, camping) for the whole family besides just the disc golf course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

My 'home' course

5+    2/9/2012   2/9/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 163  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/5/2013
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Relatively scenic, short course for players between beginner and intermediate levels, situated in a great suburban county park just southeast of Cincinnati.
The course plays back along a couple of ridges, away from the ball fields and mini kids' water park, across from a nice nature center and view over the Ohio River.
I really enjoy the three shots around 300' across ravines, with #10 being fairly tight.
Good use of elevation, and generally excellent maintenance of the fairways, though the rough can get thick in the summer (they cut it way back late last fall).
There is a fun factor for less experienced/casual players, which means there are usually witnesses if you manage your first ace here (I haven't got one...yet!).
Cons: More experienced players, and definitely the big arms, won't find much challenge here, so the overall ratings are a little low for what the course deserves. Oh, and par really shouldn't be over 3 for any hole here, even for rec players.
Generally well maintained, but the ravine bridges need some firming up, and the asphalt tee pads are getting a little run-down (sometimes slick in shaded areas). The hillsides near tees #2, #3, and #11 can get pretty muddy and slick in the fall/winter.
Layout does get a little congested, and it can get relatively busy here.
Other Thoughts: Hamilton county park passes are $3/day, but only $10/year with coupons and access to all the parks, including several area DG courses.
Though a beginner, I've played nearly 40 rounds here, plus 30 or so on a dozen other area courses. This is my first review.

Update 4/5/13 (now with about 120 rounds here, and nearly 600 on 101 total courses):
The Lorax didn't save the trees at Woodland Mound. Nearly two dozen trees were cut down this winter (Emerald Ash Borer?), removing many from fairways where they had defined your lines (like on holes 10, 12, 15, 16, 17 & 18), making the Mound and even easier play. This also means that when the course gets crowded with young guys who throw tomahawks on every hole, the odds of getting hit by a high speed driver on a relatively short hole has increased.

Despite the fact that the Park has gone to the trouble of removing the first bridge (on hole 10), and replacing it with backfill over a large drainpipe, I fear that fewer and fewer of the more experienced and helpful DG'ers will want to bother coming here.

In all, I would say Woodland Mound has become an easier course, but because this will also make it more, not less, dangerous, I had to drop my rating by a half point.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Steady Ed Classic

1    10/27/2010   11/4/2010
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Woodland Mounds is located in a very nice park that offers a lot of amenities and some great views of the Ohio River. The course itself is very well maintained with the tees, baskets and fairways kept in good, if dated, condition as well as free of trash and debris. Although the course is short almost every hole offers multiple lines to the basket giving you a chance to practice all of your shots. Again while overall being a short course there are a handful of holes that play over 300 ft and give you a chance to open up a little bit. This is a Steady Ed course which nowadays translates mostly into a great beginner course with lots of ace opportunities. This course has mostly open fairways but offers a couple of nice holes that play over creeks and through gaps in the trees.
Cons: Short. I played all but 3 holes with a putter and was 9 down (all holes as a par three). Every single hole is aceable. Course par itself is a little bit silly. There are par 4's that are under 200 feet. This course was definitely designed for mid 80's era discing. I would suggest disregarding the course pars and playing them all as par 3's. The asphalt tees were in pretty poor shape but you don't need too much of a run up here so that's good. There is a 6 ft asphalt circle around every basket that makes no sense to me at all. I cannot figure out what good this circle is doing other than ripping up DX plastic. If you miss a fifteen foot putt get ready for a notch on your disc. As I was playing disc golf around the Cincinnati area I was surprised to find that this was the only course in the area that I played that had more than two groups on it at the same time. In fact this course was packed. I think there was a group on every single hole all at once with more coming and going all the time. With how closely the holes are laid out (another con) this made for discs being sprayed all over the place. It is very important to keep an eye on your surroundings and where you disc is heading. I did not hear even a single yell of "Fore" the entire time. Navigation is not too difficult after you find the first hole. Since the course is packed you can just follow the group in front of you. This is good since at any given point in time you can see most of the baskets. This is a pay to play course also. It is 2 dollars to enter the park or 5 dollars for an annual pass.
Other Thoughts: I cannot get my head around how crowded this course was. The previous afternoon we played Mt Airy and the place was completely empty. Early in the next morning we played Banklick with two other groups on the course followed by Idlewild that we had all to ourselves. But Woodland Mounds is packed everyday? Very strange. One side note that all though there were plenty of one-discers on this course everybody seemed very nice and having a great time. It was nice to see such enjoyment for disc golf. My friend and I played our round with two local guys that we met there (both one discers, one with a Magic and the other with a Wraith, odd mix) and they were super cool and helpful. Woodland Mounds was a very fun little course to play but with such nice courses elsewhere in the area I think I would head back to them before coming here again. This course seems like a great place to introduce people to disc golf and I hope that it keeps getting people hooked.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great For Beginners

1    9/1/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: Ben17
Played: 62  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The one main thing i like about this course is how easy it is to get around. Where the pins are located the have dirt around it to stop the disc from skipping. There are two bridges here to cross that become very helpful. This is definately not a challenging course at all. I finished well below zero as should everyone who plays this course. The course gets alot of use which can be good but can also be bad. The course is very well taken care of. The lawns are mowed often and the tree limbs are also cut often. It is located in a very nice park with lots of facilities there for ou. Right behind the parking lot they have a very nice overlook of the ohio river, and of the rolling hills of Kentucky. If this isn't a great view of a city then i have no idea what is.
Cons: The asphalt launch pads are not as nice as you would think. I would actually have prefered just plain old dirt over this. It really knocks you off of your game. The baskets were a little bit cheap, you could tell. When you are here try as hard as you can not to go into the woods. These are the thickest woods that i have ever seen. I can guarantee you that if you go deep into the woods you most likely are not coming out. The tee sign is not even noticeable. When i went there on the first hole i didn't even know where to throw, until a man told me where to go. The sign is actually on the ground. Alot of the sign has faded, so it is hard to see what the par is and that sort of stuff. There are baskets located all over the place. You look into an open field and ou can see like five baskets. But many things make up for that.
Other Thoughts: When you come here make sure that it is early in the day. This course gets loaded with people around five or six o'clock. When you look one way a disc is flying at you and then another is coming at you the other way. It is very chaotic when its busy. One thing you need is money. Unfortunately this is a pay to play course. It is only two dollars for a daily pass so its not that bad. Also one main thing that you need while here is bug spray. The flies and the bugs are everywhere. I had many bites the next day. Thats just about all that you need to have a fun day at Woodland Mound.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Not recommended for beginners

5+    6/20/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: HallOfFreedom
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Lots of variety. Each hole is noticably different from the last. Well-kept
Cons: I would not recommend this course for novice players. Many of the holes are so close together that only the straightest shots can keep from crossing into another hole's area or into the dense foliage. The thick woods with small, deep valleys easily conceal miss-thrown discs.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/8/2009   4/14/2009
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Course Maintenance-
Every hole has concrete tee pads, the signs are in the ground and show both pin placement and hole distance. Also the baskets are in good condition and have concrete "greens" around them.

Course Navigation-
It's pretty much impossible to get lost here. The course flows from hole to hole very well, and all the holes for the most part are in the same area.
Cons:
Hole Variety/Course Layout-
Besides a few unique holes, most of the holes are short, wide open, straight on throws. A few fairways are close to other ones and you may have to watch for people throwing at times.
Other Thoughts:
Course Atmosphere-
The course is in a nice park on a big hill that overlooks Kentucky and the Ohio River. There weren't too many people playing when I was there.

-This is a short fun course that you can play for aces on every hole! This is a great course for beginners to learn the game at.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good to learn on, score well

6/30/2008   8/8/2008
Review By: crandellfamily
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 10.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good course to learn on. The park surroundings are wooded, but almost all the holes have a relatively wide landing area - very few tight gaps to shoot through. The holes across the creek - 10, 12 and 13 especially, are among the best. Very easy to find each tee and hole - if you catch this course on a light day, it's the quickest 18 I've come across. You can often see families on the course. This is where my 12-year-old son fell in love with the sport.
Cons: Long has taken on a new meaning. This is a short course - all sorts of pars are marked on the tees, but it makes most sense to play everything as a par 3. Experts would be mad about making more than two on most of the holes. No multiple tee options, so there's no way to increase the challenge. No real doglegs. There's no significant uphills (not that I mind too much) and there's only one real downhill shot. The course is too compact to make much use of elevation changes. #9 is one of the shortest holes I've seen on a regulation 18 hole design. Only 135 feet, with a huge tree to force your approach very low - kind of like having to get through the tunnel in putt-putt. There's often several groups on the course - then again my family contributes to the congestion, and we don't really mind. You will have to wait for people throwing back toward you on the shared/adjacent fairways.
Other Thoughts: Since it's part of the county park system, the only cost is the annual county-wide parking fee - five dollars for a sticker that lets you in to all of the parks. As long as you have decent aim you don't need to choose often between hyzer and anhyzer, or forehand-backhand options. After playing lots of extremely tight woods courses, this plays almost more like a regular golf course - the trees are mainly a factor if your shot drifts off too far.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Woodland Mound Park DGC

5+    10/12/2001   8/6/2008
Review By: jedwards
Played: 24  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 24.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/27/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great 18 holes course with a variety of hole types.
-Baskets - OK condition considering the age of the course.
-Tee Pads - Blacktop tee pads provide for great traction.
-Great variety of lengths. Some short and some long, requiring use of all your different shot techniques.
-Course is not connected with any other parts of the park so you don't have to worry about joggers/walkers.
-Markers - Markers are pretty easy to understand and stated distances seem pretty accurate. It is easy to navigate from hole to hole due to the layout.
-Parking - Parking lot is right across from the first hole and there is plenty.
Cons: -Pay to play. However, the cost is low and it is well worth the extra few bucks to get the yearly pass.
-Park gets very crowded on weekends. Best time to play is during the week, the earlier the better.
Other Thoughts: I have not played this course in years since relocating but I still consider it my "home" course. I played my first disc golf here and it is a great course to learn basic shots.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.