Cincinnati, OH 
Woodland Mound Park Share
Uploaded By: sisyphus Hole #2 (Taken 8/2014)
4 / 210ft.   3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Busy, but Fun

2-4    7/20/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: esc1
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 0.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Quick 18
+Lots of ace runs
+Park right next to course
+Clean park
+Low chance of losing a disc
Cons: -Tee pads are terrible to be honest
-Lacks trash cans
-Always crowded
-Concrete surrounded baskets
-Too compact
Other Thoughts: Concrete surrounding baskets would have been better suited replacing the tee pads. This the the most crowded course I have been to yet. There are a lot of casuals and immature teens that frequent here. Have to watch out on some of the holes that are next to each other. You can leave your big drivers at home unless you want one for hole 4.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Home Course

5+    7/10/2014   7/13/2014
Review By: runves3
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short course. I believe around 4400ft. Its almost a mile walk. I am no pro, but I play the entire course as a par 3. Great for a beginner, took my dad who never played before, he threw a +5 and +4 (using par 3's). Nice field across from course to warm up or practice new discs.
Cons: Pads need to be upgraded/replaced. Some are bumpy/grooved. The hole pads are blacktop, so a good toss could land you 30ft. from hole. No practice tee. Most people, if not busy use 18 basket as practice from 1 tee. Not as challenging now that the creek,bridges, and some fairway trees are gone. Not well marked. (see Other Thoughts)
Other Thoughts: Just a walk in the park. The gift shop has discs to purchase. I rarely use a driver here. On a good day I don't use it at all. DON'T SKIP HOLE #8. Its easy to skip. After hole #7 going uphill turn around from basket to go to #8. Hole #9 is the par 3 around tree.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Troll's Review

5+    8/6/2013   10/4/2013
Review By: Eric troll Biscuits
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 26.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I guess on a good note, its short. I used to be an Eastsider, so I've played here a lot, and have met some very nice people.
Its in a nice county park and there is other things for your family to do while you play
Cons: Its a little tricky of a lay out
very popular
its changed some over the years, who drained the creek?
Other Thoughts: Adam Jones has installed a nice course on the East side, about two years ago, I'd recommend that one over woodland any day

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good beginner course

5+    5/29/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: pmorgan1214
Played: 26  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very well designed and very simple to follow. Mainly for the casual disc golfer to even the beginner. They have done a lot of changes to this park over the summer of last year. The biggest change is between hole 10 and 17. There is no more creek and bridge their. they covered with dirt and now it is a nice grass walkway. Also their is a lot less ash trees on the couse. Has made this course a lot easier. There is no real signature hole on this course just a small 18 hole course. The longest hole is 340 ft and the shortes is 140 ft.
Cons: There are a few cons on this course. since this is a beginner course their is a lot of high school kids and new players to disc golf. Be careful of them throwing. they have no control and may hit you. i have seen it happen. Also they have no etiquette. A lot of new players will not let a single player through even if they have a group of 6. The tee pads are very broken down here and need to be replaced. Also when it is wet they are slick and you will slip and fall. They have cracks in them that will mess up your throw if you are not paying attention. Also the baskets are all encirled with concrete. so a good shot that hits this pad of concrete will skip 20 feet past the whole.
Other Thoughts: Overall i would say woodland mound is a begginner course and if you are looking for a quick bit of fun or looking to test a new disc this is the course for doing that. I would recomend playing this course with some friends if you are a looking for only a 1 or 2 hour time window to get in 2 rounds.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Woodland Mound

1    5/4/2013   5/5/2013
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 65  Reviewed: 43
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A good 18 hole course, with lots of strategically placed trees, and a bridge, many elevation changes.
Cons: Park can sometimes be crowded, can loose a disc in the woods if your not careful.
Other Thoughts: A very well done 18 hole course, with plenty of challenge to it.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Woodland Mound

1    8/17/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: cdorman
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great for beginners as the holes are short and pretty wide open. Gret for short game work. Love the "greens around the Hole with arrows pointing to the next tee box.
Cons: The wooded area that doo not come in to play much are hard to get through to find errant throws. The teeboxes are asphalt and not very flat and on wet mornings can be VERY SLIPPERY.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course just old and the pars on the holes are easly made.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/26/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: Bonks
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A fun course to take your family to for a family day.
Good course for rec players and beginners to play since the longest hole is about 340ft with most averaging in the 250-275ft range.
Good course for better players to work on their putter/mid range game.
It looks more open than it really is, you will learn to throw with accuracy here.
If you go during a weekday during the day you should have no problem getting multiple rounds in without and wait.
The grass is usually pretty well taken care of.
Cons: Asphalt tee pads - get very slick when it rains or snows, especially hole 11 for a few days after a rain. Some are cracking and others are uneven from the back of tee to front.
Some of the fairways run right along side each other so you need to be aware of flying discs at all times.
On weekends and in the evening during the week this course draws a good crowd so expect some kind of wait even if only a few minutes.
The tree next to hole 4's tee pad is starting to take over part of the tee pad now and may interfere with your throw.
The trees on the right side of hole 10's fairway are growing out and really make this a tough/tight throw compared to what it used to be.
If you do lose a disc here don't expect to get a phone call to get it back if your number is on it.
Other Thoughts: With any Hamilton County Park you're going to need a park sticker, either $3/day or $10 for the year.
Lots of stuff to do in the park(park, splash park, nature trails, nature center, shelters for picnics, camping) for the whole family besides just the disc golf course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 I like it

5+    7/3/2012   7/4/2012
Review By: robertpaulschehr
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a fun course to practice throws, part of the Hamilton county park district so 10 bucks a year, good elevation changes on holes and varying distances
Cons: Without map you are throwing blind, disc goes into woods disc is gone, course gets crowded expect to wait on people and duck
Other Thoughts: I have lost several disc in the woods here

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

My 'home' course

5+    2/9/2012   2/9/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 160  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 4/5/2013
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Relatively scenic, short course for players between beginner and intermediate levels, situated in a great suburban county park just southeast of Cincinnati.
The course plays back along a couple of ridges, away from the ball fields and mini kids' water park, across from a nice nature center and view over the Ohio River.
I really enjoy the three shots around 300' across ravines, with #10 being fairly tight.
Good use of elevation, and generally excellent maintenance of the fairways, though the rough can get thick in the summer (they cut it way back late last fall).
There is a fun factor for less experienced/casual players, which means there are usually witnesses if you manage your first ace here (I haven't got one...yet!).
Cons: More experienced players, and definitely the big arms, won't find much challenge here, so the overall ratings are a little low for what the course deserves. Oh, and par really shouldn't be over 3 for any hole here, even for rec players.
Generally well maintained, but the ravine bridges need some firming up, and the asphalt tee pads are getting a little run-down (sometimes slick in shaded areas). The hillsides near tees #2, #3, and #11 can get pretty muddy and slick in the fall/winter.
Layout does get a little congested, and it can get relatively busy here.
Other Thoughts: Hamilton county park passes are $3/day, but only $10/year with coupons and access to all the parks, including several area DG courses.
Though a beginner, I've played nearly 40 rounds here, plus 30 or so on a dozen other area courses. This is my first review.

Update 4/5/13 (now with about 120 rounds here, and nearly 600 on 101 total courses):
The Lorax didn't save the trees at Woodland Mound. Nearly two dozen trees were cut down this winter (Emerald Ash Borer?), removing many from fairways where they had defined your lines (like on holes 10, 12, 15, 16, 17 & 18), making the Mound and even easier play. This also means that when the course gets crowded with young guys who throw tomahawks on every hole, the odds of getting hit by a high speed driver on a relatively short hole has increased.

Despite the fact that the Park has gone to the trouble of removing the first bridge (on hole 10), and replacing it with backfill over a large drainpipe, I fear that fewer and fewer of the more experienced and helpful DG'ers will want to bother coming here.

In all, I would say Woodland Mound has become an easier course, but because this will also make it more, not less, dangerous, I had to drop my rating by a half point.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A One Discer

2-4    7/13/2005   9/16/2011
Review By: Stizall
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: None to share with others or at least help anyone want to play this course
Cons: Lots of confusion on the tees to which basket to throw at. So short you could play this whole course with a putter on pro par and still go negative
Other Thoughts: Not worth the gas money

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.