Cincinnati, OH 
Woodland Mound Park Share
Uploaded By: sisyphus Hole #12 (Taken 8/2014)
5 / 320ft.   3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  not worth the time!

1    8/18/2011   8/18/2011
Review By: Chain Smoker Rpm
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/4/2012
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Not many pros to this small course, other than the fact that there is a disc golf course to play for the kids in the area.
Cons: Course is short, fairways cross each other and baskets are easily confused as to which hole it actually goes to. length of holes are wrong, and the pars are too high.
Other Thoughts: will not be playing this course again because it's simply not challenging enough to enjoy.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Vintage Course

5+    5/19/2011   5/19/2011
Review By: clyderandall
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Course offers a great challenge for new to intermediate players. Its location adds to a fun layout of woods and hills. A few holes offer a fun challenge throwing over a creek from one hilltop to another.
Cons: Cages are a bit outdated and some tees are cracked.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Steady Ed Classic

1    10/27/2010   11/4/2010
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Woodland Mounds is located in a very nice park that offers a lot of amenities and some great views of the Ohio River. The course itself is very well maintained with the tees, baskets and fairways kept in good, if dated, condition as well as free of trash and debris. Although the course is short almost every hole offers multiple lines to the basket giving you a chance to practice all of your shots. Again while overall being a short course there are a handful of holes that play over 300 ft and give you a chance to open up a little bit. This is a Steady Ed course which nowadays translates mostly into a great beginner course with lots of ace opportunities. This course has mostly open fairways but offers a couple of nice holes that play over creeks and through gaps in the trees.
Cons: Short. I played all but 3 holes with a putter and was 9 down (all holes as a par three). Every single hole is aceable. Course par itself is a little bit silly. There are par 4's that are under 200 feet. This course was definitely designed for mid 80's era discing. I would suggest disregarding the course pars and playing them all as par 3's. The asphalt tees were in pretty poor shape but you don't need too much of a run up here so that's good. There is a 6 ft asphalt circle around every basket that makes no sense to me at all. I cannot figure out what good this circle is doing other than ripping up DX plastic. If you miss a fifteen foot putt get ready for a notch on your disc. As I was playing disc golf around the Cincinnati area I was surprised to find that this was the only course in the area that I played that had more than two groups on it at the same time. In fact this course was packed. I think there was a group on every single hole all at once with more coming and going all the time. With how closely the holes are laid out (another con) this made for discs being sprayed all over the place. It is very important to keep an eye on your surroundings and where you disc is heading. I did not hear even a single yell of "Fore" the entire time. Navigation is not too difficult after you find the first hole. Since the course is packed you can just follow the group in front of you. This is good since at any given point in time you can see most of the baskets. This is a pay to play course also. It is 2 dollars to enter the park or 5 dollars for an annual pass.
Other Thoughts: I cannot get my head around how crowded this course was. The previous afternoon we played Mt Airy and the place was completely empty. Early in the next morning we played Banklick with two other groups on the course followed by Idlewild that we had all to ourselves. But Woodland Mounds is packed everyday? Very strange. One side note that all though there were plenty of one-discers on this course everybody seemed very nice and having a great time. It was nice to see such enjoyment for disc golf. My friend and I played our round with two local guys that we met there (both one discers, one with a Magic and the other with a Wraith, odd mix) and they were super cool and helpful. Woodland Mounds was a very fun little course to play but with such nice courses elsewhere in the area I think I would head back to them before coming here again. This course seems like a great place to introduce people to disc golf and I hope that it keeps getting people hooked.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great For Beginners

1    9/1/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: Ben17
Played: 62  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The one main thing i like about this course is how easy it is to get around. Where the pins are located the have dirt around it to stop the disc from skipping. There are two bridges here to cross that become very helpful. This is definately not a challenging course at all. I finished well below zero as should everyone who plays this course. The course gets alot of use which can be good but can also be bad. The course is very well taken care of. The lawns are mowed often and the tree limbs are also cut often. It is located in a very nice park with lots of facilities there for ou. Right behind the parking lot they have a very nice overlook of the ohio river, and of the rolling hills of Kentucky. If this isn't a great view of a city then i have no idea what is.
Cons: The asphalt launch pads are not as nice as you would think. I would actually have prefered just plain old dirt over this. It really knocks you off of your game. The baskets were a little bit cheap, you could tell. When you are here try as hard as you can not to go into the woods. These are the thickest woods that i have ever seen. I can guarantee you that if you go deep into the woods you most likely are not coming out. The tee sign is not even noticeable. When i went there on the first hole i didn't even know where to throw, until a man told me where to go. The sign is actually on the ground. Alot of the sign has faded, so it is hard to see what the par is and that sort of stuff. There are baskets located all over the place. You look into an open field and ou can see like five baskets. But many things make up for that.
Other Thoughts: When you come here make sure that it is early in the day. This course gets loaded with people around five or six o'clock. When you look one way a disc is flying at you and then another is coming at you the other way. It is very chaotic when its busy. One thing you need is money. Unfortunately this is a pay to play course. It is only two dollars for a daily pass so its not that bad. Also one main thing that you need while here is bug spray. The flies and the bugs are everywhere. I had many bites the next day. Thats just about all that you need to have a fun day at Woodland Mound.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Not recommended for beginners

5+    6/20/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: HallOfFreedom
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Lots of variety. Each hole is noticably different from the last. Well-kept
Cons: I would not recommend this course for novice players. Many of the holes are so close together that only the straightest shots can keep from crossing into another hole's area or into the dense foliage. The thick woods with small, deep valleys easily conceal miss-thrown discs.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nostalgic but Easy

5+    4/2/2010   4/2/2010
Review By: UC_Bearcat
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course was designed by Steady Ed Headrick the Father of Disc Golf. Great place to learn or take your family. Most people play par 3 for every hole. If you are a well seasoned player you can go here to show others how much you rock.
Cons: This course is heavily played. At 3:00pm on a weekday you can count on all of the high school kids. From 5:30pm to Dusk on a weekday you can count on everyone with a 9 to 5 job. There are no shot corridors to create challenge but there are some well placed trees that occasional force a curving throw. I have learned to use my approach putter for most of the holes now.
Other Thoughts: Play this course for aces, because all the distances are reasonable. I've aced about half the holes in my lifetime and had about 5 or 6 that hit chains and bounced out. On a typical trip you will normally hear someone yell on another hole you can't see and can tell that they must have aced or come close. Most people play this course because it just brings back good memories. But If your an advanced player from out of town I don't know that I would go here unless I was doing the Steady Ed Headrick Disc Golf Tour or something like that.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Woodland Mound

5+    7/7/2009   12/22/2009
Review By: richardmmill
Played: 48  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nicely kept. A good amount of elevation change over creek beds. Nice concrete tee pads. A few blind shots. Mostly short holes a few medium, plenty of ace chances. Most fairways are open but there are plenty of of trees through the course. Fairways are grassy rough is thick wooded areas. There is a nature center by parking where you can get score cards. Weekly doubles event is fun.
Cons: Flow can be a bit confusing and blind shots are very confusing since hole are close together be sure to walk up the fairway the first time you play to see the hole you are shooting for.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    9/12/2009   9/13/2009
Review By: StopLightWarrior
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Woodland Mound has a nice variety of holes from short to long, some blind tees and elevation changes.
Relatively compact to get multiple games in quickly.
Some wide fairways allow for multiple throwing types and disc travel patterns.
Cons: Over generous par! The first 3 hoels are par 4's and can all be reached with a putter. (ive done it.)
Some hole locations have changed but the plaque at the pad is the same so distances are bit off for a few holes.
A county park pass costs $5 for a year which isn't bad if you live local but there is a $2 daily pass option for a visitor but paying non-the-less is no fun.
Other Thoughts: Overall a nice course for a quick round somtimes as little as a half an hour or so. The easy par is confidence inspiring but heart breaking when you play elsewear.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My home course

2-4    8/1/2009   8/2/2009
Review By: TheTennesseeFireman
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Well-conditioned. All tees and baskets look new (though updated tee signs would be appreciated). Brush and weeds are never a problem.

- Excellent beginner/intermediate course. Straight shots are nearly always rewarded, but creative shotmaking will also shave strokes off your score.

- Good natural beauty. Several holes play over creeks with significant elevation change. Just over the hill by the nature center, you are met with a spectacular view of the Ohio.

Best in the area. On this side of the city, its at least a 30 minute drive to a high-caliber course (Mt. Airy, Lincoln Ridge, Idlewild).
Cons: - Too confined. Some of the holes might as well share fairways.

- Too short for experienced players. All 18 of these holes are aceable. A pro might only need to break out his driver once on this course.

- Too crowded. As much as I like playing with other people on the course, this course will often draw young children who are easily frustrated by the game.
Other Thoughts: As most people will not be making long distance trips for this course, the charge to enter the park is negligable, and locals should go ahead and get a county parks pass. Overall, slightly above average.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Woodland Mound

1    7/21/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: NatiBuckeye
Played: 26  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great Ace Race course.
The Course is very easy to navigate.
Some very good tree and pin placements that make an otherwise easy deuce harder to obtain.
Some holes play over a creek or through small gaps in wooded areas.
Very good for new players and you will hear many people playing course par.
Very nice water fountain and facilities close by.
Cons: No variation in shots, every hole can be thrown dead straight.
Several of the fairway and baskets play directly into other fairways and it is very easy to get hit by a disc.
Tee's are an assortment of lengths.
Some baskets are crooked or higher off the ground for no reason.
The concrete around the baskets make good shots skip away.
The tee pads signs are old and the distances are not right.
Pay to play, although if you live in the area its not a big deal because it gets you into several other parks as well.
Other Thoughts: This course is normally very popular. This leads to alot of new players playing and can frustrate some. Also the holes all play very close to each other and it makes it very easy to get hit.

The park itself has alot you can do besides play disc golf. It is a very family friendly atmosphere and a great place for families to go. Close by is a very scenice view of the Ohio river as well as a small amusement park and water park.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.