Olathe, KS 
Prairie Center Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #15 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 304ft.   3 / 304ft.   3 / 304ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee: OB water short. Second tee for straight over water position has since been added to the left.



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
very nice course

1    6/21/2014   6/21/2014
Review By: t55dude
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent course for all players. Front 9 is very easy to follow and the flow is perfect. Back 9 is longer and more difficult. I love the multiple tee pads, giving players of all level the chance to enjoy the course. Great use of the entire park. Fixing in and out of the other athletic facilities, while for the most part not in the way. The second hole island set up was awesome and the only water shot has tees set up for players with the big arms and small arms. Kids can just skip the pond and start right on the other side.
Cons: Back nine is hard to follow. Holes 8-9, 10-11 and 16-17 are very long walks with no signage to point the way. Hole 10 runs right along the parking lot and when the soccer field is in use, cars park on grass making the pin at the end of tree line a tricky play. The multiple pin placement hole were hard to figure out since they were not consistent. One hole played a another b and others c. Fairway grass from 12-16 was not mowed and was mid calf high.
Other Thoughts: Considering it was my first time playing this course, I was very happy that a course that was this big and covered such a big area was so easy to follow. I went on a Saturday morning so the park was in heavy use, soccer, baseball and party's in the pavilions, with the exception of 10th hole, was very easy to play away from. If I lived in kansas I would definitely make this a regular course to play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice fun course with a good amount of trees

1    8/17/2013   8/17/2013
Review By: Musicphan
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed this course - I'm a beginner and found it challenging without being too hard. I did not throw the water shot... can't afford to lose a disc right now. Little bit longer than some of the courses I've played but its fairly level ground so an easy course to play.
Cons: Water shot tough for a beginner.
Other Thoughts: Enjoyed it enough I put it on the "return play" list

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Trivial front, but oh so complex back

2-4    6/5/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: SuperRocky
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Open but challenging front nine. Lots of potential birdies, few easy. Extremely challenging back nine. Several long and complicated holes that play beautifully.
Cons: Tall grass and brush in parts of the back nine make losing discs relatively easy. I didn't lose any, but my playing partner lost three.
Other Thoughts: Relatively muddy. Lots of puddles and mud holes.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Great KC Course

1    2/23/2012   2/24/2012
Review By: GlobStar
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course setup. Good Signage. Well maintained. Variety of play styles available here.
Cons: No complaints from me!
Other Thoughts: Been playing for about 5 years now and I can't believe I just came across this course. If you can make it out there I say go for it! Total fun!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Prairie View

5+    9/15/2011   12/7/2011
Review By: mindoveryou
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of trees to create tunnels and challenging fairways. Well maintained pads, signs, and baskets. Easy parking and access. Multiple pin placements allow for radically different play with each basket movement. This course encourages a variety of shot selection for any player; rollers, tomahawks, and forehand shots will be necessary to maximize your score on this course. Open prairie, an old xmas tree orchard, a lake, and ball fields all work together to keep this one interesting.
Cons: It plays slow on the front nine due to shorter layouts and hard-to-avoid trees, but speeds up on the back nine. Restrooms are onsite but rarely open, and water fountains never work.
Other Thoughts: Tee #12 is hard to find; just walk along the ball field fence due west from #11 basket. Saturdays are full of soccer players, so watch for them on the fringes near 10, 11, 12, 16. Try playing with a putter on the front 4; you wont get long drives anyway, so get straight ones.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 All around great course!!

5+    6/24/2010   6/24/2010
Review By: seymourdiscgolf
Played: 126  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 12.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course! There are at least 2 pin placements for every hole. A couple of holes have mulitple pads. Great mix of trees and open shots. Enough variety that both righties and lefties will love it. Course is short enough that it is very possible to play under par but with the mix of shots, tree locations and pin placements you are just as likely to shoot over. Short #18
Cons: The course is intertwined with baseball diamonds and soccer fields so there is a descent amount of traffic, both vehicles and pedestrians. The trafiic does not really come into play that much unless you grip it (OB or deep). Long #18
Other Thoughts: HAPPY DISCIN'!!!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 That Blurr was the Parks Crew on Rangers!

1    3/24/2010   3/25/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is so well maintained, there were park crews out working the grounds, even in the rain. They move pretty good driving those rangers. LOL This course has some slight elevation, great pin placements, nice cement tee pads & baskets, accuracy holes and air it out holes. The tee signs are fantastic. There are lots of trees in the first 11 holes that make this course fun to navigate many of your drives. The island green on #2 surrounded by a circle cement driveway is very cool. As the trees mature, #9 and 10 are going to get tougher for sure. #15 is a shot about 150 feet over a corner of a pond and pending on the pin placement maybe across a road after that. This place has a bench and a trash can at almost every hole. They have a bathroom on site also.
Cons: If it's your first time, take a map. The long walk form 11 to 12 and 15 to 17 will get you lost. From 11 basket head around the back of the ball field to 12 and from 16 basket you will need to walk back past 11 basket and you should see 17. These walks are not that big of a deal but it is worth mentioning. #14 sign was missing, but I am sure that is temporary.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here was really high for me. Some of these layouts were just so much fun to throw on. I enjoyed the hole variations and well placed baskets. This was just a great place to play! It has got to have at least 1 hole for everyone, considering the variety of shots needed. I have to say I really want to go back and play this one again.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Looks better every time I see it

5+    9/29/2009   10/21/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 317  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Set in a nice upscale neighborhood, Prairie Center is probably the best manicured course in metro KC. Very rarely have I come to here to see unkempt grass or litter strewn about. All holes have at least two pin placements, and there are a few placements, such as the island placement in the cul-de-sac which can be utilized by multiple holes. Various trees in the front part of the course provide challenge, and the evergreens can be real disc catchers. Intermediate, recreational level players will enjoy this and casuals will find it challenging, without being overwhelming. The five holes in the back are worth the walk back there.
Cons: Pretty easy for pro and advanced players to get through paticularly if the pins are set easy as they can just bomb over the trees. Scores in the 40's aren't uncommon here. Not much elevation except for the hill on 15 and 16. Long walks after holes 11 and 16 to get back to the other section of the course. A new walking path along holes 14-16 is sort of an annoyance, and could be a danger if people are on it. Watch before you throw.
Other Thoughts: I played my very first tournament at Prairie Center in 2006, so this place has fond memories.I've never been here when a baseball or soccer event was ongoing, but holes 12-17 may be a bit hazardous to play as they more of less are a perimiter around these athletic fields.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A really great course

5+    10/7/2009   10/8/2009
Review By: x3billRONIN
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A wonderful course that challenges all playing styles. The "big" thrower will have ample opportunity to air out big drives, while shorter, technical throwers will have great chances to work their way through more than a few moderately wooded fairways.

The Island hole on #2, surrounded by the out-of-bounds driveway is a personal favorite, as #9 which is at the far end of a tree farm. The 15th plays across the corner of a pond, and requires about 150-170 ft. from the tee (depending on the pin) or it's goodbye disc.

The remainder of the course is excellently maintained, and is just fun in general.

Cons: This course is always a popular destination, even in what would be considered off-peak times.

Many other activities are going on here, soccer games, and softball games are seemingly always in session, and many of these fields run right along the course.

Newcomers to the course may have a difficult time navigating the course, as some of the holes on the front 9, are in some wooded areas, and tee pads are not easily seen.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very Fun and Unique

5+    8/15/2009   10/4/2009
Review By: chad groen
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/16/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've never played or seen a course filled with so many unique layouts as this one. There's the "island" on hole 2, the "tunnel" of trees that make up most of hole 3, and the "hallway" of cedar trees on hole 18 just to name a few (I'm making these names up, but anyone who's played this course knows exactly which holes I'm talking about). There are many trees that can set you up for some tricky shots throughout the course. The woods come into play on a couple holes, and there's also a pond that comes into play on one hole. There are also some baseball diamonds and soccer fields near a few holes that serve as more obstacles for you to worry about (the soccer fields are only obstacles when they're being used). There are even some OB's to top it off. The multiple basket locations can vary a lot on some holes, giving them a fresh feel. Some of the alternate locations almost make you feel like you're playing a different hole than you did the last time you were here. This course can really test your skills with each throw. Due to the variety of obstacles, one small mistake can easily result in a high score on any given hole. The course is in great shape and has a great looking design.
Cons: Holes 12-16 are practically hidden from the rest of the course. It's a long walk from 11 to 12, and an even longer walk from 16 to 17 (there is a bulletin board that includes a map of the course, but I don't think many people notice it). There are a few holes, like the 12th for example, that seem to have too many large trees and branches in the way, which offer almost no strategic path to the basket (some of these trees have obviously grown a lot since the course was first created back in 1989). A beginner on these holes might just have to throw and hope for the best. The woods can be real nasty to lose your discs in. I've seen some poison ivy in that area and there are probably some ticks and chiggers in there as well. Also, a few of the alternate hole locations can be a little too easy for more advanced players.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a very fun and unpredictable par-3 course, and it's easily one of my favorite course. Each hole has it's own unique set of challenges that players will enjoy playing. The design is near perfect.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.