Olathe, KS 
Prairie Center Park Share
Uploaded By: cogs Hole #14
3 / 350ft.   3 / 350ft.   3 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket (Short Position)



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great Course

5+    6/27/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: Penichillin
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/29/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great layout, with lots of variety.
-Challenging, yet not intimidating to beginners (except maybe 15)
-The back 9 is rarely busy.
-Very well kept with several pin placements on each hole
-Had a few improvements done for the worlds last year.
-A few memorable holes; namely 2 and 15

Cons: -Front nine sometimes gets congested.
-Not much elevation on this one
-Probably some confusion after hole 11 for 1st timers
-Beginners may want to pass on driving over the pond, my friend lost my wraith in there
-Potential issue with traffic/sporting events, though I haven't had much trouble.
Other Thoughts: My home course and I love it.

*EDIT: After another year of experience at this course and others, I bumped my rating up from 4 to 4.5 This course is just so well kept compared to 99% of the courses you run across. Considering they are dealing with pretty boring/flat topography, the holes are extremely well laid-out. I have probably played here 100+ times and I never get tired of it. I am blessed to live within 10 minutes of this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 All around great course!!

5+    6/24/2010   6/24/2010
Review By: seymourdiscgolf
Played: 126  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 12.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course! There are at least 2 pin placements for every hole. A couple of holes have mulitple pads. Great mix of trees and open shots. Enough variety that both righties and lefties will love it. Course is short enough that it is very possible to play under par but with the mix of shots, tree locations and pin placements you are just as likely to shoot over. Short #18
Cons: The course is intertwined with baseball diamonds and soccer fields so there is a descent amount of traffic, both vehicles and pedestrians. The trafiic does not really come into play that much unless you grip it (OB or deep). Long #18
Other Thoughts: HAPPY DISCIN'!!!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 That Blurr was the Parks Crew on Rangers!

1    3/24/2010   3/25/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is so well maintained, there were park crews out working the grounds, even in the rain. They move pretty good driving those rangers. LOL This course has some slight elevation, great pin placements, nice cement tee pads & baskets, accuracy holes and air it out holes. The tee signs are fantastic. There are lots of trees in the first 11 holes that make this course fun to navigate many of your drives. The island green on #2 surrounded by a circle cement driveway is very cool. As the trees mature, #9 and 10 are going to get tougher for sure. #15 is a shot about 150 feet over a corner of a pond and pending on the pin placement maybe across a road after that. This place has a bench and a trash can at almost every hole. They have a bathroom on site also.
Cons: If it's your first time, take a map. The long walk form 11 to 12 and 15 to 17 will get you lost. From 11 basket head around the back of the ball field to 12 and from 16 basket you will need to walk back past 11 basket and you should see 17. These walks are not that big of a deal but it is worth mentioning. #14 sign was missing, but I am sure that is temporary.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here was really high for me. Some of these layouts were just so much fun to throw on. I enjoyed the hole variations and well placed baskets. This was just a great place to play! It has got to have at least 1 hole for everyone, considering the variety of shots needed. I have to say I really want to go back and play this one again.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/3/2009   3/3/2010
Review By: wraithman
Played: 34  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a great course. Well maintained, Located in a city park inside a neighborhood. Easy to find this course. Off of k-7 and 135th st (sante fe). Each hole has multiple pin placements, changed almost weekly, and nice cement launching pads. Some holes have ace oppurtunity. Hole 2 has an island in play during some placements. Hole 3 is a tunnel shot. Hole 15 has a lake to cross. One placement for the pin is on waters edge. But over all one of the best in kanas city, Lots of air outs but still need to have the technical skills. Signs updated for the worlds in '09
Cons: Have to walk a bit from hole 11-12. and holes 16-17. In the summer lots of trees can be in play alot. Some times the pin on hole twelve is inside a group of trees. In the fall there is alot leaves on the ground. can be a bit crowded, but if no one played it wouldnt be here.
Other Thoughts: A must course to add to the resume, Also watch out for a crazy icecream driver. (he might accuse you of taking his money), Long story

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent course

5+    11/11/2009   11/19/2009
Review By: Mr. Sir
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: All kinds of different holes to perfect your skills. As the other reviews said it is well kept. Big arms can have some easy birdies and lots of shots at aces.
Cons: Only a few holes that you can go all out with a drive, thats what i really like. Can get crowded and along holes 2 and 3 it backs up to houses with lots of dogs. I had to fight one last time i went, it was crazy.
Other Thoughts: Shoot for the ace hit the bird.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Looks better every time I see it

5+    9/29/2009   10/21/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 317  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Set in a nice upscale neighborhood, Prairie Center is probably the best manicured course in metro KC. Very rarely have I come to here to see unkempt grass or litter strewn about. All holes have at least two pin placements, and there are a few placements, such as the island placement in the cul-de-sac which can be utilized by multiple holes. Various trees in the front part of the course provide challenge, and the evergreens can be real disc catchers. Intermediate, recreational level players will enjoy this and casuals will find it challenging, without being overwhelming. The five holes in the back are worth the walk back there.
Cons: Pretty easy for pro and advanced players to get through paticularly if the pins are set easy as they can just bomb over the trees. Scores in the 40's aren't uncommon here. Not much elevation except for the hill on 15 and 16. Long walks after holes 11 and 16 to get back to the other section of the course. A new walking path along holes 14-16 is sort of an annoyance, and could be a danger if people are on it. Watch before you throw.
Other Thoughts: I played my very first tournament at Prairie Center in 2006, so this place has fond memories.I've never been here when a baseball or soccer event was ongoing, but holes 12-17 may be a bit hazardous to play as they more of less are a perimiter around these athletic fields.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A really great course

5+    10/7/2009   10/8/2009
Review By: x3billRONIN
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A wonderful course that challenges all playing styles. The "big" thrower will have ample opportunity to air out big drives, while shorter, technical throwers will have great chances to work their way through more than a few moderately wooded fairways.

The Island hole on #2, surrounded by the out-of-bounds driveway is a personal favorite, as #9 which is at the far end of a tree farm. The 15th plays across the corner of a pond, and requires about 150-170 ft. from the tee (depending on the pin) or it's goodbye disc.

The remainder of the course is excellently maintained, and is just fun in general.

Cons: This course is always a popular destination, even in what would be considered off-peak times.

Many other activities are going on here, soccer games, and softball games are seemingly always in session, and many of these fields run right along the course.

Newcomers to the course may have a difficult time navigating the course, as some of the holes on the front 9, are in some wooded areas, and tee pads are not easily seen.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very Fun and Unique

5+    8/15/2009   10/4/2009
Review By: chad groen
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.8 Years
This review was updated on 12/16/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've never played or seen a course filled with so many unique layouts as this one. There's the "island" on hole 2, the "tunnel" of trees that make up most of hole 3, and the "hallway" of cedar trees on hole 18 just to name a few (I'm making these names up, but anyone who's played this course knows exactly which holes I'm talking about). There are many trees that can set you up for some tricky shots throughout the course. The woods come into play on a couple holes, and there's also a pond that comes into play on one hole. There are also some baseball diamonds and soccer fields near a few holes that serve as more obstacles for you to worry about (the soccer fields are only obstacles when they're being used). There are even some OB's to top it off. The multiple basket locations can vary a lot on some holes, giving them a fresh feel. Some of the alternate locations almost make you feel like you're playing a different hole than you did the last time you were here. This course can really test your skills with each throw. Due to the variety of obstacles, one small mistake can easily result in a high score on any given hole. The course is in great shape and has a great looking design.
Cons: Holes 12-16 are practically hidden from the rest of the course. It's a long walk from 11 to 12, and an even longer walk from 16 to 17 (there is a bulletin board that includes a map of the course, but I don't think many people notice it). There are a few holes, like the 12th for example, that seem to have too many large trees and branches in the way, which offer almost no strategic path to the basket (some of these trees have obviously grown a lot since the course was first created back in 1989). A beginner on these holes might just have to throw and hope for the best. The woods can be real nasty to lose your discs in. I've seen some poison ivy in that area and there are probably some ticks and chiggers in there as well. Also, a few of the alternate hole locations can be a little too easy for more advanced players.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a very fun and unpredictable par-3 course, and it's easily one of my favorite course. Each hole has it's own unique set of challenges that players will enjoy playing. The design is near perfect.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/15/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: kcplease
Played: 101  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: fun holes, variety of lengths, not too many trees
Cons: trees can be annoying and the holes can be difficult to find.
soccer games can be an issue
Other Thoughts: This is the course I liked the best of the ones I have played so far. I love how every hole is different and provides a unique challenge. the holes can be hard to find because of the trees and all of the areas in the fields look the same, so its easy to get lost. Fun, though

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    4/11/2009   4/12/2009
Review By: jchughes
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course can be played in less than 2 hours. It has lots of tree obstacles. The course is easy to navigate and pin placements change often. The back 9 can be very exciting hole 15 has a water hazard that can be very exciting to play.
Cons: You can loose discs in the pond! Soccer and Baseball can be annoying on the weekend. Some holes that have alternate pin placements are not moved very often, and it would be nice if some holes had more pin placements.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.