Olathe, KS 
Prairie Center Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #10 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 231ft.   3 / 231ft.   3 / 231ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
very nice course

1    6/21/2014   6/21/2014
Review By: t55dude
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent course for all players. Front 9 is very easy to follow and the flow is perfect. Back 9 is longer and more difficult. I love the multiple tee pads, giving players of all level the chance to enjoy the course. Great use of the entire park. Fixing in and out of the other athletic facilities, while for the most part not in the way. The second hole island set up was awesome and the only water shot has tees set up for players with the big arms and small arms. Kids can just skip the pond and start right on the other side.
Cons: Back nine is hard to follow. Holes 8-9, 10-11 and 16-17 are very long walks with no signage to point the way. Hole 10 runs right along the parking lot and when the soccer field is in use, cars park on grass making the pin at the end of tree line a tricky play. The multiple pin placement hole were hard to figure out since they were not consistent. One hole played a another b and others c. Fairway grass from 12-16 was not mowed and was mid calf high.
Other Thoughts: Considering it was my first time playing this course, I was very happy that a course that was this big and covered such a big area was so easy to follow. I went on a Saturday morning so the park was in heavy use, soccer, baseball and party's in the pavilions, with the exception of 10th hole, was very easy to play away from. If I lived in kansas I would definitely make this a regular course to play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice fun course with a good amount of trees

1    8/17/2013   8/17/2013
Review By: Musicphan
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed this course - I'm a beginner and found it challenging without being too hard. I did not throw the water shot... can't afford to lose a disc right now. Little bit longer than some of the courses I've played but its fairly level ground so an easy course to play.
Cons: Water shot tough for a beginner.
Other Thoughts: Enjoyed it enough I put it on the "return play" list

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Trivial front, but oh so complex back

2-4    6/5/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: SuperRocky
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Open but challenging front nine. Lots of potential birdies, few easy. Extremely challenging back nine. Several long and complicated holes that play beautifully.
Cons: Tall grass and brush in parts of the back nine make losing discs relatively easy. I didn't lose any, but my playing partner lost three.
Other Thoughts: Relatively muddy. Lots of puddles and mud holes.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 So close not to like it.

5+    2/2/2013   2/6/2013
Review By: cconaway01
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some easy to par/ birdie shots on the front 9 back 9 gets challenging with long, wooded drives. Hole 15 over the pond is a great place to lose a disc. Some good holes to work on straight shots. Good use of trees.
Cons: The long walk form 16-17. A lot of small stumps on back 9 wooded fairways. A lot of mud since it was wet from snow.
Other Thoughts: I now live a 90 second walk from my front door to tee one so its great for me. I can pop out any time a go play. Seems to be a good place to work on your game or just have fun with my kids.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The best course in Olathe

5+    9/2/2012   9/2/2012
Review By: prhodes
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A whole variety of holes. From shorter birdie opportunities, to ridiculously long par 4's through the forest. There is a hole where water comes into play, a hole where you have to shoot onto an island surrounded by cement, and one where you shoot through a field of young trees. A variety of shots is needed, and coming out of the back nine even is a challange.
Well maintained course, has very good signage, including pin placement, distance, and hole number. There are also other amenities, such as good teepads (multiple teepads on 5 holes) benches on most holes, bathrooms on sight, practice basket, trashcans, and picnic shelters.
Cons: A few holes come into contact with the soccer fields, and on a Sunday there are quite a few spectators, to the point where if you want to play 11 and 12 you'll have to ignore the teebox and just kind of drop in the fairway to avoid hitting anybody.
Other Thoughts: I would reccomend bringing some old beat up plastic if you are going to try throwing over the water.
There are people who enjoy the herb while playing, but I've seen cops driving through every once in a while, which seems to curb that.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Love the course, minus a few holes...

1    8/11/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: austinpetz
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 44.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of Distances
Variety of Holes
Lots of elevation change
Memorable Holes (2)
Decent Length Course
Cons: Two incredibly hard holes.
Annoying water hazard.
Few Birdie Opportunities.
Lots of ticks.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is an excellent course. It plays very well with a lot of hyzer and anhyzer opportunities. There are a lot of holes that are very easy to bogie or double-bogie and not very many that are easy to birdie.

Hole 12 and Hole 13 are just awful. I do like the variation in that they go through the woods, but it's a lot easier to lose discs here (Not to mention they're over 500 and 600 feet, respectively). That means that you'd have to throw two stellar drives in a row. Drives that would have to be thrown with pinpoint precision, a feat most of us can't accomplish consistently.

Hole 2 here is my favorite. Its a reasonable distance with a nice island type green in the middle of a cul de sac type road. It's always fun to try and land it on the island off the drive.

Overall, great course. Plenty of variety, and if it weren't for the two long ones through the woods, I'd love it even more.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

tale of two nines

5+    8/6/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: bigreddog
Played: 54  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/4/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The baskets and tees are in great condition and there are also multiple tees on 5 holes. as a convert from ball golf, where every course has at least 2, and usually 3 or 4 sets of tees, I still don't understand why more courses don't do this.10/10

Course is maintained very well, it is regularly mowed and there are tee signs, some benches, bathrooms and running water. 10/10

Holes have a good variety of distance. On a given day this partially depends upon the pin positions but it's always pretty good and they're mixed up. holes 6, 7, and 13 are usually pretty long while 3, 10, 11, and 16 are usually pretty short. 8/10

The invdividual obstacles on the front nine allow for the holes to be played multiple ways and force players to make decisions about how to play the holes. 7/10 on decisionmaking

Several alternate hole positions provide new takes on the holes, making them birdieable or even aceable in some cases, while longer hole positions make par rare on some holes. 7/10

This course is good for beginners to just play nine holes (1-8 and 18) and also is still challenging to more advanced players on the back nine. 7/10

Between the front nine and back nine there is quite a bit of variety in the openness of shots. They aren't mixed in very well though, as almost all the more technical and wooded holes are in one stretch from 10-16. 3 is an exception. 6/10

The front nine is very comfortable with benches, shade, and no long grass. On the other hand, the back nine has some THICK rough and it's very difficult to not be in it at least once with how technical 13-16 are. Overall 6/10
Cons: Discs can be extremely difficult to find on the back nine due to the dense rough and the lake on 15. The front nine is pretty easy but if you're playing all 18 it's still a 2/10 overall.

This course doesn't require a variety of shot paths. Most of the holes are straight or may have a slight curve, but only 12, 14, and 16 have a significant hyzer or anhyzer required. 2/10

Navigation between holes can be a problem the first time. Depending on pin position the 5th tee may not be easily seen from the 4th basket. The worst though is that the 10 tee appears to lead to hole 17, but you instead have to walk past the outfield fence of the baseball field to get to 11. In addition, there is a very long walk between 16 and 17, but at least you know where you're going since you probably saw 17 after 10.

There isn't very much elevation on this course, but there is at least a variety of uphill and downhill holes. Not many sideslopes. 4/10

Navigation on the actual holes can be a little confusing. The 2nd, 4th, and 18th (if it's in the long position) baskets are usually pretty close together, which can make it tough to tell what hole you're throwing to. There are also several blind shots thoughout. 5/10

There are quite a few obstacles throughout but there isn't much variety on the front nine. 15 is definitely the signature hole due to the lake.
Other Thoughts: first 8 and 16-18 I'd give a 3.5 rating
no large forested hazards, but lots of individual trees
holes 9-15 a 2 rating

Most of the time I play 1-8 and 18 through twice, playing the front tees once and the back tees the other.

Overall challenge 6/10

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/16/2012   6/16/2012
Review By: astomps
Played: 50  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Lots of mature trees
-Good signage
Cons: -Multipurpose park
-Front 9 is just the same throw over and over again; straight and through or around trees.
-15 is just sort of a joke. Even people with 350+ range and control are going to go into the water due to the sheer smallness of the target and the other option is take 4+ strokes to go around. I view this as a con, not a fun challenge
-Baskets are old and rusted
-Fairways too tight on front 9
Other Thoughts: Front 9 is like playing in an apple orchard. Also lots of opportunities to lose discs on back 9 which can be a pain in the ass. Walks are long and confusing at times but anyone with intuition or a camera phone can figure it out easily.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great until hole 13

5+    6/16/2012   6/16/2012
Review By: schwizzle
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 8/13/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very challenging course. No one hole is the same. You will have the chance every hole to do something different. Course is clean, but with lots and lots of brush on the back 9, and a lake. Bring your water shoes.
Cons: Recent changes to 13 and 15 have made getting par almost impossible. 13 is a long, narrow (I mean narrow) fare-way with heavy brush on either side. 15, you have to have an arm to throw across the middle of the lake, or you can try going around (the better option I think).
Other Thoughts: They really need to change hole 13 and 15 to a par 4. It's incredibly tough. However, I would call myself an intermediate player, so my view point is probably skewed and I just need to keep on working at it. Oh, and bring tick spray for 13 and 14, used to be all backwoods with a lot of deer going through there, so it's tick infested (and thorn infested).

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Scoring course

1    3/7/2012   3/8/2012
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 108  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 8.9 Years
Pros: Teepads- Good Dual on a few holes
Baskets-Discatchers yellow basket and strip
Signs-good and informative
Benches-small benches each hole
trashcans-not many probably a con
Course was fun with lots of intricate shots 1-8. Island hole was cool tough to land on island. Dual teepads allows for a pro set up.
New holes are nice. Hole 13 cool par 4 in woods. New teepad on 15 didnt play but very risky shot across lake.
Cons: Front nine lots of switchback holes to take advantage of small space, but kinda crowded. Walk from 10 to 11 sucks i got lucky some locals told direction. walk from 16 to 17 even worse except you saw 17 as you played front nine just cuts up flow quite a bit.
Other Thoughts: The new stuff seemed to really add character to this course. Mad job on who ever cut out hole 13 excellent par 4.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.