Tustin, CA 
Frontier Park Share
Uploaded By: bazillion Hole #9 (Taken 12/2009)
5 / 426ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 Where is hole 1? :

1    12/15/2009   12/15/2009
Review By: Apothecary
Played: 66  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 19.2 Years
18 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Green grass
-Baskets in pretty good shape (one was leaning 10 degrees or so off to the side)
-Concrete to tee off from
-Playground-close for the kiddies
-Many safari options
-Not crowded at all. I was the only disc golfer on the course when i played it. I asked a couple people that were milling about if they played disc golf and they looked at me as if I was crazy. :
-Good use of small hills to work in a little elevation change when putting
-Plenty of parking on the adjacent streets
Cons: -No signs
-The course layout is pretty much impossible to navigate. Some baskets are numbered, but the numbers don't appear to be aiming at any designated tee-off area.
-No pro shop, maps or other golfers to help navigate.
-Tight area for 9 holes. One can pretty much throw their putter across the space this course has to work with.
-Trash Trash Trash. This place had plastic bottles, soiled baby diapers, and aluminum cans strewn about the course. Not many trash cans either.
Other Thoughts: Frontier Park is a little strip of green grass and playground equipment in Tustin, CA. I spent about an hour there and couldn't figure the place out.
Three labeled baskets are the only navigation aide that greet golfers here. I spent my time there pretty much playing safari golf. there are three or four 2'x4' tee pads on the course periphery, so I would shoot from one side of the course and then back, picking a different basket each time. I probably played the whole course, but who knows? I spent the rest of my time there practicing putting with Lola, who thoroughly enjoyed sniffing the loads of trash on the ground about the park. I, however, did not enjoy the trash.
This course is good for working on your short game, but it's a beginner course shoe-horned on a very small piece of property. Best bet is to skip it and go to one of the many superior courses in the area.

18 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Obstacles=people

1    8/12/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 95  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/16/2010
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Map on sign at tee #1. Grass is well mowed. Even though it is a short course in a neighborhood park it has a couple of longer holes.
Cons: Non-golfers everywhere. Some holes were unplayable from the intended tee because people were sitting in the middle of the fairway, or right under the basket. The basket for #9 is right next to the playground. Baskets are well marked but tees are not. Almost no elevation change.
Other Thoughts: This park is a lot like Deerfield in Irvine. Deerfield's course was made better by a complete redesign. Frontier could also benefit from some major changes.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Picnickers Galore!

1    1/5/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/24/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is set in a mostly flat park, with a few very small elevation changes. There are large trees scattered throughout, with lots of open grassy space. The park is very nicely maintained, and the grass and other plants seemed well taken care of.

There were very friendly local players who showed us around, and showed us where all the alternate tees were. There was a very nice map at the beginning of the course, but it only showed the original 9 tees. Many of the alternate tees gave a different look at the basket, which kept the 'back nine' interesting rather than just replaying the same holes.
Cons: There was an enormous number of families having picnics all over the course, and this made it very difficult to play many of the holes. The locals said this was a pretty common problem on the course, which would really slow down the play on the course. Unfortunately, the non disc golfers on the course seemed oblivious to the course, and insisted that we should just throw past/over/through them.

Many of the tees were very strange tiny strips of concrete. We ended up using the grass next to these, so it wasn't a major issue, but it would have been nice if they were a normal size. The course also could have used signs throughout as it was in a tight area, and it was not always clear which tee to walk to or which basket to shoot at.

Because the course was in such a small area, many holes threw right on top of each other, and there were some crossing fairways. When the course isn't busy it wouldn't be an issue, but we played when there were a number of other players on the course and it was definitely a safety issue.
Other Thoughts: There were a few interesting holes, and overall it was a fun little round. I wouldn't drive too far out of your way to play this course, but if you happen to be in the area it's not a bad place to play. If you have the chance to play it on a weekday, you'll probably have a better experience without all the people all over the course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 not much fun

2-4    3/15/2009   3/25/2009
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 15.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/11/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: [12/30/2010 edits in brackets]

For a 9-hole course, this one's [not all that] good. [It does have some] trees and other obstacles, a clean space, and good distance especially for noodle arms like me, [but read below for vital info that should affect your decision whether or not to play here].

Tee pads vary. Some are painted onto walkways, but others are made for midgets - 18" wide, 2-3 feet long, some back up into a wall! This is good for a "stand-and-deliver" driving style, but with these tees you can forget any kind of run-up.

[added 11-30-09]: Extremely easy to get to off I-5 so if you're just passing through with not much spare time, you can get in a quick nine and be back on the road in about 20 minutes.
Cons: [Some teepads are hard to find. The map at the course is useless.]

Timing is everything. Show up on Sunday afternoon and you'll share the park with large numbers of picnickers, kids, and families out for some sun. [They will not want to move to let you through, so you can play risk/reward or start skipping holes.]

Fairways cross in several places. [This is a huge issue, even when the only people in the park are DGers. Should not be, as we learned at Deerfield.]
Other Thoughts: I'm [not] planning to play this course regularly [even though] I live [within walking distance].

[Now that I've played some of the other courses around here, this one really loses out in comparison. The crossing fairways and the crowds are MEGA issues. I'm downgrading the course and editing the above comments accordingly.]

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/24/2007   12/13/2008
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1352  Reviewed: 96  Exp: 28.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a fun course to play. Most holes longer than they appear.

One basket was just in front of a tall wall, so all ya have to do is plow your disc into the wall near the basket and ....
Cons: some crossing fairways
Other Thoughts: Nice neighborhood.

My first California course played. so I was impressed with all the flora and palm trees and warm weather.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Great Practice Course

5+    1/1/2004   9/1/2008
Review By: scdg124
Played: 29  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 26.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a great course to practice your short game. I used to work just down the block from this course and used it for everyday practice. Increased my short range skills. If the park isn't crowded, you can make some decent holes by teeing from temperary spots.
Cons: Short, short short...don't even put the drivers in the bag (unless there is no one in the park) and only 9 baskets.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.