Georgetown, TX 
Rivery Park Share
Uploaded By: sidewinding Hole #9
3 / 190ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Tight, yet fun - um signs in the tees?

2-4    5/30/2015   5/30/2015
Review By: hawk12
Played: 203  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 24.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rivery is a pretty decent course overall.
Some rather scenic spots, rock outcroppings and a small river, in a nice park.

The design itself is pretty good for what land there is to work with, the fairways are there - tight and has shot shaping lines that can be made.

The concrete tee pads are rather nice, more on that in the cons...

Mostly every hole had a tee sing, some were missing, but they are descriptive, and show the hole accurately.

It is indeed a short to mid-range course almost every hole, with several ace runs - I got hole 2 (but that was about 165ft) very short with a nice lane. I think I pulled a driver once, and was not really challenged to throw far with accuracy here.
Cons: Hmmm, how do I say this nicely - the tee signs are installed in the concrete of the tees...

No two ways to go about this, the installed clearly was not a golfer, nor got enough direction before making this MASSIVE error.

That is one of the worst wastes of time and money I've seen on a course. And its a terrible shame, as the pads would have been more than long enough, and the signs themselves are great - but combined - they both stink.

I couldn't see the sign from the tee, and the placement of the signs on the tees gave me about a 5 ft run up.

I won't bash the course for being wet and mushy, as the recent storms have impacted so much. The course actually held up very well for the recent conditions - water wise.

I will say, the lanes/fairways are incredibly overgrown, and this is another issue that a disc golf representative should address with the parks - as its my understanding that even minimal pruning as not allowed by non park employees.

The branches that need trimming, the edges of the fairways that are growing into to lanes, give you about a 4-6 ft gap on way too many holes.
Other Thoughts: Total shame the tee/signs were installed like that.
This is why "we" as disc golfers need good representation for each course, and good relationships with each park.

I've played over 225 courses in 24 states, and two countries - this is by far the worst example of an installation gone bad I have ever seen.

Yet I still like the course, liked the layout, and think with a little local work/communication - this place could be a very nice place to play. The potential is there...

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Looking Good!

5+    4/1/2015   4/2/2015
Review By: DHempe
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my hometown course, but i will be as unbiased as possible! New concrete tee pads, so no more slippery drives. The scenery here is ABSOLUTELY beautiful! I honestly think it is one of the more relaxing and scenic courses to play. In my 50+ times playing this course i can count on one hand the amount of times I have had a bad day here. As far as the course goes its not too difficult. If you have some good control over your short - mid range drives (~250') you'll be playing lots of birdie putts. This by no means is an easy course though. Trees throughout every fairway will give every level a challenge and many different lines to consider. On windy days this is a go to course, heavy foresting and a natural valley keeps you out of the wind.
Cons: Not enough trashcans throughout the course, although I haven't seen much littering ever.

Finding hole #6, #12, and #18 can be a bit of a trick. (There is a map now at the first hole! Take a picture of it, it will help you navigate for you first timers!) The recent remodel has shortened hole 1 & 2 to the point where there's no real challenge to it. Holes 7,8, and 9 seem a little repetitive (Other than that i really can not find too much wrong with this course!)
Other Thoughts: Don't need to bring your rocket arm to this course! If you want a friendly local to play around here with PM me! Check this course out! I promise you wont regret it!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Changed for the better overall

5+    1/3/2015   1/5/2015
Review By: TejasKajun
Played: 41  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 15.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - new concrete tees
- revitalized course and growth after the extended closure
- weathers the storms well
- new baskets/bright repaints
- recent support from parks and rec benefits future support
Cons: - tee signs on tee boxes
- shortened tee box
- directional signage for holes disconnected from course
Other Thoughts: Overall, Rivery has always been a solid course that all levels of players enjoy.

Rivery will test your short range and medium range throwing skills with placement and accuracy. There are many Ace runs here so if you want the chance for one, come here and get it.
Most recently part of the course was closed for over a year while they improved the park, improved utilities in the area, and added amenities to the course and area. Essentially it closed the whole course since players avoided all of the construction. This closure time actually allowed the growth of the fairways and beauty to come back. It also changed some of the throwing lines and made some pretty tight, but doable, shots (i.e. 9 and 10)

The new concrete tees are short, but honestly its not a "big arm" course where you need a big tee box, but the tee sign on the box is a slight issue.

The Parks department inexperience showed by placing it there, but their intentions were good... just a little off. It was discussed with them to make some changes or come to a middle ground agreement, but the word right now is that it is staying.
I think a better consideration for players is to keep a great relationship with them, help them learn more about our needs and the sport, and then maybe use that relationship to extend the boxes (or use other options) and avoid the weird feeling of having a tee sign right over your shoulder. The sign position does not ruin the course or tee box.

Another note, the course needs better signage for some of the holes that are broken apart by the bridge. Example, a sign that tells you to get to #6, walk under the bridge. A sign that directs you to #12 when you are walking the sidewalk, etc. Unless you are familiar with the course, you may not know where to go.
Lastly, I would encourage a safety sign on Hole #6. People on the sidewalk and that overall area do not know that you are throwing that way. I had a young man riding his bike and commented that he did not know that it was a fairway. This simple thing would avoid a nasty accident.

In the end Rivery is a fun course to play and it is beautiful to enjoy. It's a great walk in the woods and a great challenge for your playing skills.
It's a great "valley" course also when the winds are bad all across Central Texas.. it allows you to get away from the bad winds and still have some fun.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/17/2014   5/19/2014
Review By: danp
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are no pros to this course at this time. It's a mess.
Cons: Many holes are missing due to construction in the area. Course is not maintained and is way overgrown. Can't tell the course from the woods.
Other Thoughts: Worst course I've ever seen. Don't waste your time.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

construction

1    9/16/2013   9/16/2013
Review By: naz54
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: next to the bend of the river. shaded with trees.
Cons: coarse is under construction or there is construction that has screwed up half the coarse.
Other Thoughts: coarse is a little over grown.
Walk the path until you reach the basket to hole 15 on your left. Follow the path to the left of 15 to get to the top of hole five. there are not real tee box markers except these blue fuzzy things sometimes on the ground. Hole 6, was hard to find, is under the bridge and up a little hill in the serpentine bend of the concrete sidewalk that comes down from the bridge. then its kind of easy to follow from there.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Local

5+    9/22/2012   12/26/2012
Review By: rmarshall
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Living in Georgetown, it's nice to have such a techincal course here. If you ever need a guide, you can message me and im free most weekends to help navigate all the holes. This course requires a great deal of accuracy, with luck thrown in the mix. Hitting a tree is a guarantee here, but with practice, it gets more and more fun. The park itself is beautiful, and is a great place to play on a hot sunny day cause of all the shade.
Cons: While navigation is hard, the biggest con for this course is the trees. The city of georgetown has come out and cleared alot of trees, but it still can be a little excessive on some holes. Also, be ready for a long hike. Some holes do not end next to a tee, which is why navigation on this course is a challenge. While the course does do a big loop, if you're at hole 9 and realized you forgot something, you'll have to do without. Parking can also be a problem, if you go on a real nice sunny saturday, then be ready to fight for a spot in the very small parking lot.
Other Thoughts: San Gabriel park, just across the interstate, is a great warm up for this course. San Gabe is wide open and is a good de-stresser before trying to tackle this very tight and technical course. I have played every course in georgetown numerous times, and would love to show people new to the area any georgetown course!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, with a guide

1    10/26/2012   10/26/2012
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 17.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Many of the holes at Rivery have unique looks to them and the technical challenge is good. It's a very pretty walk through the woods with lots of pretty Texas flora and rock formations.

The challenge is good for intermediate players to pros and is a very good place to practice with putters and mids. (for beginners, the rough is a little thick and the fairways a little tight.)
Cons: The course has been re-designed and the navigation is very challenging. Playing Rivery for the first time without a guide is 2/3 scavenger hunt and 1/3 disc golf. Highly recommended to print a map and preferably play with a guide.

The natural tee pads are a minor con. Most holes don't require a lot of power.

The lack of distance and multi-shot holes is a minor con.

Hole 1 and hole 2 crowd each other dangerously.

Holes 10 and 11 are back-to-back silly par 2's.

Hole 13 is one of the most ridiculous random pinball fairways I've seen.
Other Thoughts: Please help to keep the course clean.

If you're playing in the North Austin area, wilco is much, much better.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Technical Backhanders Dream

5+    5/3/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: Banditozzy
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is beautiful. It sits right on the San Gabriel river and is heavily wooded and short. Excellent design makes for some of the tightest windows and most challenging short holes I have ever played. One of my favorite courses in the summer as almost all of the course is shaded.

Lots of ace oppertunies. This course favors the backhand thrower. Locals are very friendly.

Course is always well maintained.
Cons: This course could benifit from some concrete tees. Although given that most of the holes are short it is not really needed. Last year the city came in and redid all of the tees in crushed granite which works well.

The course is very difficult to navigate for first time players. Even with a map getting lost and finding the next tee is a challenge. Playing with a local is almost a must.

Forehand players will have a hard time on this course. 90% of the holes are dead straight or curve left. Overhand players will also be challenged as most tees have trees directly overhead.

Prone to flooding when it rains.
Other Thoughts: I think this course is a unique experence for the Austin area there is no course that plays like it or looks like it. Traverlers should make this course a priority.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Love it!

2-4    7/5/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: theSnowSheep
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have not been playing very long and still struggle with chopping trees. However I found this course to be excellent, challenging and overall fun. Course layout is great. Hole #9, #10, and #11 are amazing! A bit out of the way for Austinites but well worth the drive. I have played Cat Hallow more than any other course and I have found that this now takes my number one spot. Locals are very friendly and willing to help out if you get turned around looking for the next hole. Well kept and seems like they are planning on more tree removal. I love the dirt tees. Hole placement is just great. Most of them you can see from the tee and they are still a bit tough to get to for amateurs and intermediates. Pros might not have a challenge here but just the flow and look of the course is worth a play through.
Cons: Can be difficult to navigate for first timers. More so when trying to locate holes #6, #12, and #18. Needs better signage and more trash cans. Lots of paths run through the middle of some fairways when you get on the back nine, so be on the lookout for hikers.
Other Thoughts: Good course for first timers. Be prepared for stickers and thorns. Minor set back but doesn't bother me enough to call it a con, these things come with being out in the woods.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 1st time at Rivery

1    4/22/2012   4/22/2012
Review By: coachhart25
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - hole placement is the best I have seen. Elevation is awesome

- fairways are cut down and play good, the walk of the course is nice... mostly treed, but a couple that opened up partially...

-length is good, some shorter holes but birdies still hard to comeby because of the hole placement
Cons: Tee boxes OK, with the dirt...if it rained I don't think you could play it.

No signs and yardage markers :(

Did not take down the old signs, not very confusing but should've taken the old ones down.

From hole 5 to 6 kinda tricky...
Other Thoughts: For the first timeplaying this course the positives greatly outweigh the negative ones... I have played the following and rate them like this:
1. Rivery
2. Wilco (closed right now)
3. Cat hollow
4. Old settlers
5. Bushy creek sport park

The scenery was great, hole placements were great. If this course had concrete tee boxes and signs like old settlers, this would be the creme de la creme. Not too confusing to find the next tee, but we did have a couple issues (thankfully we had the phone). Overall a great experience. Hole 10 was my favorite going straight up.!!! Play it if you haven't!!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.