Georgetown, TX 
Rivery Park Share
Uploaded By: sidewinding Hole #11
3 / 125ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Changed for the better overall

5+    1/3/2015   1/5/2015
Review By: TejasKajun
Played: 41  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 14.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - new concrete tees
- revitalized course and growth after the extended closure
- weathers the storms well
- new baskets/bright repaints
- recent support from parks and rec benefits future support
Cons: - tee signs on tee boxes
- shortened tee box
- directional signage for holes disconnected from course
Other Thoughts: Overall, Rivery has always been a solid course that all levels of players enjoy.

Rivery will test your short range and medium range throwing skills with placement and accuracy. There are many Ace runs here so if you want the chance for one, come here and get it.
Most recently part of the course was closed for over a year while they improved the park, improved utilities in the area, and added amenities to the course and area. Essentially it closed the whole course since players avoided all of the construction. This closure time actually allowed the growth of the fairways and beauty to come back. It also changed some of the throwing lines and made some pretty tight, but doable, shots (i.e. 9 and 10)

The new concrete tees are short, but honestly its not a "big arm" course where you need a big tee box, but the tee sign on the box is a slight issue.

The Parks department inexperience showed by placing it there, but their intentions were good... just a little off. It was discussed with them to make some changes or come to a middle ground agreement, but the word right now is that it is staying.
I think a better consideration for players is to keep a great relationship with them, help them learn more about our needs and the sport, and then maybe use that relationship to extend the boxes (or use other options) and avoid the weird feeling of having a tee sign right over your shoulder. The sign position does not ruin the course or tee box.

Another note, the course needs better signage for some of the holes that are broken apart by the bridge. Example, a sign that tells you to get to #6, walk under the bridge. A sign that directs you to #12 when you are walking the sidewalk, etc. Unless you are familiar with the course, you may not know where to go.
Lastly, I would encourage a safety sign on Hole #6. People on the sidewalk and that overall area do not know that you are throwing that way. I had a young man riding his bike and commented that he did not know that it was a fairway. This simple thing would avoid a nasty accident.

In the end Rivery is a fun course to play and it is beautiful to enjoy. It's a great walk in the woods and a great challenge for your playing skills.
It's a great "valley" course also when the winds are bad all across Central Texas.. it allows you to get away from the bad winds and still have some fun.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/17/2014   5/19/2014
Review By: danp
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are no pros to this course at this time. It's a mess.
Cons: Many holes are missing due to construction in the area. Course is not maintained and is way overgrown. Can't tell the course from the woods.
Other Thoughts: Worst course I've ever seen. Don't waste your time.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

construction

1    9/16/2013   9/16/2013
Review By: naz54
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: next to the bend of the river. shaded with trees.
Cons: coarse is under construction or there is construction that has screwed up half the coarse.
Other Thoughts: coarse is a little over grown.
Walk the path until you reach the basket to hole 15 on your left. Follow the path to the left of 15 to get to the top of hole five. there are not real tee box markers except these blue fuzzy things sometimes on the ground. Hole 6, was hard to find, is under the bridge and up a little hill in the serpentine bend of the concrete sidewalk that comes down from the bridge. then its kind of easy to follow from there.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Local

5+    9/22/2012   12/26/2012
Review By: rmarshall
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Living in Georgetown, it's nice to have such a techincal course here. If you ever need a guide, you can message me and im free most weekends to help navigate all the holes. This course requires a great deal of accuracy, with luck thrown in the mix. Hitting a tree is a guarantee here, but with practice, it gets more and more fun. The park itself is beautiful, and is a great place to play on a hot sunny day cause of all the shade.
Cons: While navigation is hard, the biggest con for this course is the trees. The city of georgetown has come out and cleared alot of trees, but it still can be a little excessive on some holes. Also, be ready for a long hike. Some holes do not end next to a tee, which is why navigation on this course is a challenge. While the course does do a big loop, if you're at hole 9 and realized you forgot something, you'll have to do without. Parking can also be a problem, if you go on a real nice sunny saturday, then be ready to fight for a spot in the very small parking lot.
Other Thoughts: San Gabriel park, just across the interstate, is a great warm up for this course. San Gabe is wide open and is a good de-stresser before trying to tackle this very tight and technical course. I have played every course in georgetown numerous times, and would love to show people new to the area any georgetown course!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, with a guide

1    10/26/2012   10/26/2012
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Many of the holes at Rivery have unique looks to them and the technical challenge is good. It's a very pretty walk through the woods with lots of pretty Texas flora and rock formations.

The challenge is good for intermediate players to pros and is a very good place to practice with putters and mids. (for beginners, the rough is a little thick and the fairways a little tight.)
Cons: The course has been re-designed and the navigation is very challenging. Playing Rivery for the first time without a guide is 2/3 scavenger hunt and 1/3 disc golf. Highly recommended to print a map and preferably play with a guide.

The natural tee pads are a minor con. Most holes don't require a lot of power.

The lack of distance and multi-shot holes is a minor con.

Hole 1 and hole 2 crowd each other dangerously.

Holes 10 and 11 are back-to-back silly par 2's.

Hole 13 is one of the most ridiculous random pinball fairways I've seen.
Other Thoughts: Please help to keep the course clean.

If you're playing in the North Austin area, wilco is much, much better.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Technical Backhanders Dream

5+    5/3/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: Banditozzy
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is beautiful. It sits right on the San Gabriel river and is heavily wooded and short. Excellent design makes for some of the tightest windows and most challenging short holes I have ever played. One of my favorite courses in the summer as almost all of the course is shaded.

Lots of ace oppertunies. This course favors the backhand thrower. Locals are very friendly.

Course is always well maintained.
Cons: This course could benifit from some concrete tees. Although given that most of the holes are short it is not really needed. Last year the city came in and redid all of the tees in crushed granite which works well.

The course is very difficult to navigate for first time players. Even with a map getting lost and finding the next tee is a challenge. Playing with a local is almost a must.

Forehand players will have a hard time on this course. 90% of the holes are dead straight or curve left. Overhand players will also be challenged as most tees have trees directly overhead.

Prone to flooding when it rains.
Other Thoughts: I think this course is a unique experence for the Austin area there is no course that plays like it or looks like it. Traverlers should make this course a priority.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Love it!

2-4    7/5/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: theSnowSheep
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have not been playing very long and still struggle with chopping trees. However I found this course to be excellent, challenging and overall fun. Course layout is great. Hole #9, #10, and #11 are amazing! A bit out of the way for Austinites but well worth the drive. I have played Cat Hallow more than any other course and I have found that this now takes my number one spot. Locals are very friendly and willing to help out if you get turned around looking for the next hole. Well kept and seems like they are planning on more tree removal. I love the dirt tees. Hole placement is just great. Most of them you can see from the tee and they are still a bit tough to get to for amateurs and intermediates. Pros might not have a challenge here but just the flow and look of the course is worth a play through.
Cons: Can be difficult to navigate for first timers. More so when trying to locate holes #6, #12, and #18. Needs better signage and more trash cans. Lots of paths run through the middle of some fairways when you get on the back nine, so be on the lookout for hikers.
Other Thoughts: Good course for first timers. Be prepared for stickers and thorns. Minor set back but doesn't bother me enough to call it a con, these things come with being out in the woods.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 1st time at Rivery

1    4/22/2012   4/22/2012
Review By: coachhart25
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - hole placement is the best I have seen. Elevation is awesome

- fairways are cut down and play good, the walk of the course is nice... mostly treed, but a couple that opened up partially...

-length is good, some shorter holes but birdies still hard to comeby because of the hole placement
Cons: Tee boxes OK, with the dirt...if it rained I don't think you could play it.

No signs and yardage markers :(

Did not take down the old signs, not very confusing but should've taken the old ones down.

From hole 5 to 6 kinda tricky...
Other Thoughts: For the first timeplaying this course the positives greatly outweigh the negative ones... I have played the following and rate them like this:
1. Rivery
2. Wilco (closed right now)
3. Cat hollow
4. Old settlers
5. Bushy creek sport park

The scenery was great, hole placements were great. If this course had concrete tee boxes and signs like old settlers, this would be the creme de la creme. Not too confusing to find the next tee, but we did have a couple issues (thankfully we had the phone). Overall a great experience. Hole 10 was my favorite going straight up.!!! Play it if you haven't!!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 scenic and fun

5+    3/27/2012   4/13/2012
Review By: jaredfestjared
Played: 34  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is awesome, its very scenic and a lot of wildlife to see when you play in the early mornings from different types of birds to deer. This course has a variety of holes, everything from tight tunnel shots to open holes and a few doglegs throughout the course. There are also some awesome elevation holes. The flow of the course is very nice and laid out. My favorite holes are 10 and 11 both are so scenic with a cliff cafe behind 10 that you throw up to. Hole 11 you throw between boulders, its short but it is very fun and challenging with a few well place trees. Also from the first time to the last time I have played this course it has been a lot more established and a few trees have been cleared out to make the some of the holes a lot better to play.
Cons: No cement pads, but it isn't too bad most are pretty level. Sometimes after it rains the tee pads can be small lakes so you have to find a different place to throw from. A couple holes have a lot of trees to where it isn't skill just luck but like I said there has been some recent tree clearing now making most all holes having attainable throws. The holes need signs to be put up with directions to the next holes as well. could be easy to miss some of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Cement pads with some signage would be awesome and a few less trees would make it awesome. The park has a lot of other amenities with a nice paved trail following the San Gabriel River. This is a nice developing course worth checking out, was one of my favorites in the north Austin area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorites

1    9/19/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: shtfox13
Played: 27  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome hole design. Good mix of tight anhyzer and hyzer shots. Some very tight fairways with straight shots needed. Even had to throw a few tomahawks and thumbers when I got out of the fairway. Lots of Ace chances with avery. Course requires good accuracy but I had a blast playing it. Some amazing rock formations around holes 7-12. There were a pack of 6 deer that watched me throw hole 11. some makeshift tables randomly through out with lots of trashcans around and I think at every hole just about.
Cons: Like everyone else has said signs. Course has been redesigned and there are some old post up that can make it very confusing. I downloaded the .pdf course map onto my phone and had no problems navigating. Also Tee Pads are natural and very worn in most locations. Pads had 2 Blue surveyor Whiskers in the ground that surprisingly were at every tee pa but I really had to look for a few.
Other Thoughts: This course would easily be a 4-4.5 star course with some signs and level pad areas.Overall though I had I great time here and was using my compass as if I was orienteering and somewhere lost out in the woods navigating from basket to basket even though you are not at all that far form civilization. I feel the natural tee pads add to the feeling of the course but even some plywood signs could make the course better for first timers

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.