Georgetown, TX 
Rivery Park Share
Uploaded By: teebob Hole #1 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 166ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee: Granite tee box and blue tops



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Technical Backhanders Dream

5+    5/3/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: Banditozzy
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is beautiful. It sits right on the San Gabriel river and is heavily wooded and short. Excellent design makes for some of the tightest windows and most challenging short holes I have ever played. One of my favorite courses in the summer as almost all of the course is shaded.

Lots of ace oppertunies. This course favors the backhand thrower. Locals are very friendly.

Course is always well maintained.
Cons: This course could benifit from some concrete tees. Although given that most of the holes are short it is not really needed. Last year the city came in and redid all of the tees in crushed granite which works well.

The course is very difficult to navigate for first time players. Even with a map getting lost and finding the next tee is a challenge. Playing with a local is almost a must.

Forehand players will have a hard time on this course. 90% of the holes are dead straight or curve left. Overhand players will also be challenged as most tees have trees directly overhead.

Prone to flooding when it rains.
Other Thoughts: I think this course is a unique experence for the Austin area there is no course that plays like it or looks like it. Traverlers should make this course a priority.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Love it!

2-4    7/5/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: theSnowSheep
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have not been playing very long and still struggle with chopping trees. However I found this course to be excellent, challenging and overall fun. Course layout is great. Hole #9, #10, and #11 are amazing! A bit out of the way for Austinites but well worth the drive. I have played Cat Hallow more than any other course and I have found that this now takes my number one spot. Locals are very friendly and willing to help out if you get turned around looking for the next hole. Well kept and seems like they are planning on more tree removal. I love the dirt tees. Hole placement is just great. Most of them you can see from the tee and they are still a bit tough to get to for amateurs and intermediates. Pros might not have a challenge here but just the flow and look of the course is worth a play through.
Cons: Can be difficult to navigate for first timers. More so when trying to locate holes #6, #12, and #18. Needs better signage and more trash cans. Lots of paths run through the middle of some fairways when you get on the back nine, so be on the lookout for hikers.
Other Thoughts: Good course for first timers. Be prepared for stickers and thorns. Minor set back but doesn't bother me enough to call it a con, these things come with being out in the woods.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 scenic and fun

5+    3/27/2012   4/13/2012
Review By: jaredfestjared
Played: 31  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is awesome, its very scenic and a lot of wildlife to see when you play in the early mornings from different types of birds to deer. This course has a variety of holes, everything from tight tunnel shots to open holes and a few doglegs throughout the course. There are also some awesome elevation holes. The flow of the course is very nice and laid out. My favorite holes are 10 and 11 both are so scenic with a cliff cafe behind 10 that you throw up to. Hole 11 you throw between boulders, its short but it is very fun and challenging with a few well place trees. Also from the first time to the last time I have played this course it has been a lot more established and a few trees have been cleared out to make the some of the holes a lot better to play.
Cons: No cement pads, but it isn't too bad most are pretty level. Sometimes after it rains the tee pads can be small lakes so you have to find a different place to throw from. A couple holes have a lot of trees to where it isn't skill just luck but like I said there has been some recent tree clearing now making most all holes having attainable throws. The holes need signs to be put up with directions to the next holes as well. could be easy to miss some of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Cement pads with some signage would be awesome and a few less trees would make it awesome. The park has a lot of other amenities with a nice paved trail following the San Gabriel River. This is a nice developing course worth checking out, was one of my favorites in the north Austin area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Technical

5+    8/8/2011   8/17/2011
Review By: Turner512
Played: 44  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent course design. 18 of the most diverse and wooded holes Georgetown can offer. Although not a lot of open shots or elevation changes this is a challenging enjoyable course. Some holes will have you screaming with anger and others will have you begging for more. A definite course worth playing and worth the drive from Austin. Hole 1 is a narrow shot but offers a little forgiveness for being short and easy to ace. Hole 2 starts with an open fairway but quickly tightens with a 5 foot path directly to the basket short and has a few aces. Hole 3 has a very narrow path but opens up to a slight hill difficult hole but has a tomahawk ace. Hole 4 is a little longer but nothing too difficult to accomplish in 3 throws. Narrow path but not wide enough for a little error. Hole 5 starts open and but has little margin for error when navigating to the basket. Ends wooded. Hole 6 is hard dog leg left requiring a basic right angle. Hole 7 is a narrow wooded shot with an incline to the left where the basket lies. Precise putting will avoid the embarrassing roll away. Hole 8 is a narrow path that opens up over a creek. Woods to the right requires a left fading throw good for rhbh. Hole 9 is a very difficult shot. A constant turn right will demand an interesting to luck shot. Hole 10 is up a hill and very short. Very aceable. Just watch youtube. Hole 11 is also a very short shot but takes some navigating through some trees. Hole 12 is probably the most difficult hole of the course. A veil of trees makes accurate shots impossible. You will rely on luck. Hole 13 is a difficult dog leg left even for rhbh. Has an excellent opportunity for tomahawk or thumber. Hole 14 is a squeeze with a straight shot. Basket is on a decline requiring accurate putting. Hole 15 has excellent tree placement seeming to always be right in your way. Slight right. Hole 16 Is a dog leg left but does not allow for mistake. Hole 17 is a distant path down a hill and to the left. Hole 18 narrow path down a hill to the left. Plenty of trees.
Cons: A flood in September of 2010 changed everything about this course. Some for better and some for worse. A lot of holes take some searching. Prepare for treasure hunt. Beware of some fake tee signs. No baskets on these.
Other Thoughts: This course will test your temper and hone your skills. If you can look past the difficult to find holes and the worn tee pads you will heavily enjoy this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in the area!

5+    4/15/2010   4/15/2010
Review By: breakingday
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: GREAT course. Technical as hell, but still a few fairway shots to make you feel better. Rivery is easily my favorite course in the area, due to the need to actually concentrate before lobbing a driver onto the field. There are many different ways to play through each of the holes - whether you want to overhand, flick, or even thumb it on up there.

Also, the overabundance of trees makes for a great wind blocker, and really allows you to practice precise shots without worrying about how the wind's acting.
Cons: There's some serious tree-love going on. Rivery is a VERY brushy course, and I wouldn't suggest bringing new players unless they're throwing their own discs.

Watch out for hole 14 in particular.
Other Thoughts: Best in the Summer or Winter, though it's more than playable year round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wow! I'll say it Again - Wow!

1    3/13/2010   3/16/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/26/2010
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Rivery Park has a fantastic selection of tight tunnels, and forced controlled shots. This isn't the place where you go for it every time, rather methodically place each shot to set up for the next. From the beginning, hole one is a very cool 10' wide tunnel over 166' that can easily go from birdie to bogey depending on your accuracy. There is good distance variation forcing hyzers and anhyzers throughout the course, and the pavilion area is good place for the kids to stay busy while you're off trekking through the woods.

Have I mentioned how cool this course feels sandwiched between the rocky cliffs and the North San Gabriel River? I'm a sucker for good scenery, and have played amazing golf in the Colorado Rockies, and yet holes #9, #10, and #11 still blew me away. You get a taste of the rocky hillside on #7 and #8, but the epic #9-#11 combo was some of the most intensely rocky and phenomenal golf I have ever played. The holes themselves aren't particularly difficult, and should yield many pars and even birdies, but the look of the pins nestled up against the rocky cliffs just blew my mind. With all of the rain, I got to even experience a small waterfall behind #10 pin - how often can you say that playing disc golf in Texas?

BEST HOLE/S: #10; #1
Cons: Redesigns are always a killer to a course without proper follow through. From the very start, the course awkwardly leads you through difficult layout on a tight piece of property. YOU MUST HAVE A MAP! You will get lost without it. Trust your map and you shouldn't have a big issue, plus there are plenty of locals who were happy to point me in the right directions. This place used to play more under I-35, but I'm happy they have now sent you out on a walk to experience the middle third of the course - and trust me, there is certainly a walk.

Besides making some long walks between holes, parking is horrendous, and since it is a popular place - space is always an issue. Just be prepared not to have a spot close on a busy day since the parking lot holds twenty cars at best.

WORST HOLE/S: #15
Other Thoughts: Simply put, Rivery Park is an awesome experience and the best in this northern area. I've finally played enough courses to know when I stumble upon some special, and this place is it. Ratings aren't everything, and this place will never receive top ten courses ratings until it solves many of its logistical problems. But to me however it's the experience that is more important, so forget the shortcomings, relax, and make a day at this place. I recommend going from now to May since that's when the weather makes it at its best.

The course has issues - and can certainly be frustrating if you don't like tight and technical - but the trip is worth everything just to walk holes #9-#11. Plus, unlike the three reviewers that obviously played their round together without a map, and then decided to destroy the overall course rating - I would go out of my way to play here anytime. It's funny - you take these three ratings out of the mix and you get a 3.5, which is a much more accurate course reflection. So, don't be an idiot like them, and bring your map - and I promise you'll have a great time.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/28/2009   11/28/2009
Review By: AlexBradford
Played: 70  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is very difficult, but alot of fun to play. There are plenty of tight shots through the trees that you have to be able to deal with. Be ready to use a WIDE variety of shots to get to the basket. One of the best things about this course is the scenery that surrounds the holes.
Cons: Fairly poorly marked with only a few signs on the first holes; however, the tee boxes are generally well marked with blue markers. If I didn't have the map that I printed off of dgcoursereview, I imagine I would have been pretty lost.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the more challenging and all-around enjoyable courses that I have played in a while. I would have to describe it as unique. I can't wait to play again.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

1    11/27/2009   11/27/2009
Review By: bcase28
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Loved all the tight shots, some very technical. Great layout with some well thought up shots.
Cons: The course is very easy to get lost on. there are no markers to show where the next tee box is. some of the holes have the old tee markers witch can make it even more confusing. there needs to more tee marks so you can find your way around.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very Tight, Very Beautiful...

5+    4/24/2009   4/29/2009
Review By: Cody
Played: 40  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/16/2012
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is set on a very scenic area along the North San Gabriel River.
Very challenging and fun if you're looking for a great "precision" course.
The course doesn't get near as crowded as others in the Austin-area.
Lotta birdie opportunities throughout, and a few aces possible.
6 of the baskets are set on slopes (rolling putts abound)
Has four holes where you can get some bigger, yet precise, drives-- on holes 5 (gotta get thru 2 trees and a bit to the left), 6 (biggest drive of the course, par 4, dogleg right), 8 ( tunnel drive over a spring and to the left), 14 (narrow/straight drive along the San Gabriel river next to thick brambles).
One of my favorite holes is # 8 just because it's beautiful in there, (you shoot over a spring-fed creek in a tunnel of greenery to a sloped basket on the left; great spot to take a break too.
Also, holes 10 & 11 are pretty cool with immense limestone boulders next to both baskets, and a big cliff running beside the holes. Hole 10 is a nice short upshot to the basket and 11 is a short, slight turn to the right, ace prospect.
Cons: This course does, in fact, badly need some tee signs, and the old ones need to be taken out.
Perhaps a course map at the beginning
Watch out for poison ivy in the Spring and cactus year-round.
14th hole will lose your disc in a hurry if it fades to the left too much, either by the dense jungle-growth, or the river if it's up ( I've lost 3 in the jungle there)
Other Thoughts: For all new-comers to the course, print a copy of the map in the "links/files" section for this course. After hole 5, you gotta go under the bridge and up onto the sidewalk that switch-backs up the hill to the road; you shoot from the corner of the sidewalk where it switch-backs.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great, technical course

1    2/15/2009   2/28/2009
Review By: metis314159
Played: 26  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The elevation changes (especially around the pins) on this course are the best in Austin in my opinion. Many of the holes were very memorable (maybe even "epic"), especially the middle holes which have (and use) large rock formations. Most of the holes have very tough tunnel shots, and there are some short aceable holes with an outstanding shot.
Cons: The tee pads are dirt. The signs at the tees don't match the numbers on the baskets since the course was redesigned. Bring a map of the course, otherwise you will spend time wandering around to find the next hole. Also, on many holes you will find cactus.
Other Thoughts: Very tight fairways (10-15 feet) on most holes; however, there is always a line to throw through to the pin (except hole 12). The holes are also usually short so you can recover/only loose a stroke from hitting a tree on your drive.

To get to hole 6 you have to go under a bridge and the tee pad is up on a concrete sidewalk, marked with chalk and a few rocks.

I felt that the course slightly favored (right handed) forehand throws, but the course still requires many different throws to play well.

Holes 6-13 at times play fairly close to the cement path along the river that is fairly crowded with pedestrians (esp. on weekends).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.