Georgetown, TX 
Rivery Park Share
Uploaded By: sidewinding Hole #17
3 / 234ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Cool course right off of 35

5+    2/10/2010   2/14/2010
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 129  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 14.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a technical golfers dream. You must be able to hit a line and be able to hit it on annys, hyzers, and the straight ones. The baskets are nice and I like the natural tee pads as well. This course can be enjoyed by all skill levels due to the mix of shots. The scenery is nice and even though it is right next to 35, there doesnt seem to be much road noice which helps out the enjoyment factor. There is always a bunch of wildlife running around here which is neat. Many of the greens have elevation in them making a bad putt or up roll off and making the score go up. If you find yourself hitting trees you will ping pong your way through this whole course.
Cons: Navigation is the biggest issue and first timers will need a map or a local to get through this course. Like said before there are many long walks in between holes but I dont mind them. The rough can be rough for sure. The rocks can turn an ankle pretty quick so watch where you step.
Other Thoughts: I always hit this couse cause of its easy access from the highway. It is very fun if you have the patience and I think you will enjoy it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good heavens... "and God created wood."

2-4    12/13/2009   12/14/2009
Review By: HoopHound
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/17/2009
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Most demanding course I've played. Fine annys, fine hyzers or laser straight. Requires precision on 13 out of 18 pins.
Cons: Long walks between 5&6, 11&12. Short trek from 17 to 18 and from 18 to 1...
Other Thoughts: Very difficult, but all in all, a nice course. I gave it 3 stars because it made my game better by forcing me to think on every shot instead of heaving a drive at each tee. I'd trim a few trees if it were mine just to make some of the tee shots less ridiculous. Especially # 13.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/28/2009   11/28/2009
Review By: AlexBradford
Played: 74  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is very difficult, but alot of fun to play. There are plenty of tight shots through the trees that you have to be able to deal with. Be ready to use a WIDE variety of shots to get to the basket. One of the best things about this course is the scenery that surrounds the holes.
Cons: Fairly poorly marked with only a few signs on the first holes; however, the tee boxes are generally well marked with blue markers. If I didn't have the map that I printed off of dgcoursereview, I imagine I would have been pretty lost.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the more challenging and all-around enjoyable courses that I have played in a while. I would have to describe it as unique. I can't wait to play again.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

1    11/27/2009   11/27/2009
Review By: bcase28
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Loved all the tight shots, some very technical. Great layout with some well thought up shots.
Cons: The course is very easy to get lost on. there are no markers to show where the next tee box is. some of the holes have the old tee markers witch can make it even more confusing. there needs to more tee marks so you can find your way around.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Rivery Course Improvements

5+    11/2/2009   11/2/2009
Review By: teebob
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/16/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great technical course with some very picturesque holes. Elevation changes on more than half the course. Water comes into play on hole 8 and 14.
The course Is currently recieving some love. The tee boxes are being improved and filled with crushed granite/clay mix. The GT PARD graciously donated all the materials and the work was done by The Early Birds DGC and The TD from the Hamilton Creek Open. Baskets aree to be re-painted and numbered next week. There may also be some tree removal in the works. All in all these improvements along with others greatly improve this already great course.
Cons: Still in need of signage.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Needs Work

5+    8/10/2009   10/7/2009
Review By: 4thechains@gmail.com
Played: 45  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/28/2013
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun course with a lot of technical shots. I will provide a new review once the course re-design has been completed.
Cons: Course is currently under construction and several holes have been removed.
Other Thoughts: Could be a great park if someone put some effort into it.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lost in the woods

1    8/14/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: skurf
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13 Years
This review was updated on 12/27/2009
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Excellent pin locations that maximize available topography

-Tightly wooded technical holes that will test your control and patience level

-Most of the holes are well designed and enjoyable once you find the tee
Cons: -Bad flow from a lot of baskets to finding the next teepad and some walks are quite long

-Poor dirt tees that are rutted or even have tree stumps in them

-No signs except on the first hole

-When you add up the above cons it can lead to a frustrating round where you spend half of it searching for the next basket since that is the only thing that has numbers on it. Then once you find the basket you have to backtrack down the fairway to find the "worn spot" that is the teebox.

-Most of the holes are similar in style-- mostly straight or slight turns, shooting through tight woods, never really having the chance to let loose

-I didn't notice any trashcans and the course is worse off for it. Walking down the first fairway I noticed more trash strewn throughout the woods than I do on the entirety of most courses.

-The course feels unfinished and neglected. Apparently it was redesigned at some point, but the first design had tee signs which they didn't take down after the redesign. So now when you're searching for that next teebox all you find are the old tees still marked with the signs. The fact that they didn't even cut some of the stumps all the way down that were right in the middle of the teebox is just another sign of how neglected it is.
Other Thoughts: It seems like a lot of thought went into the redesign of this course, but in the end those thoughts were not implemented well. They went through a lot of trouble redesigning it, but ultimately the course feels unfinished and neglected.

Overall, I enjoyed most of the holes even though most of them felt the similar to each other, but the flow, poor tees, lack of signage, and overall feel of neglect leave this lingering sour taste in my mouth. It was worth checking out, but if I'm going to travel up to north Austin for a round of disc golf, there are many better options than this course.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Right on Rivery

1    7/26/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: sam_puck
Played: 21  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 13.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery. Nice big park! Great elevation shots. Longs and shorts. Lots of right turns.
Cons: No signage! Dirt tee boxes, some dug out pretty bad. You can get lost very easy, because there is no signs at all! Heavily wooded, but intreasting lines.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course, even though it ate my lunch. I can't wait to go back and seek revenge.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very Tight, Very Beautiful...

5+    4/24/2009   4/29/2009
Review By: Cody
Played: 40  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/16/2012
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is set on a very scenic area along the North San Gabriel River.
Very challenging and fun if you're looking for a great "precision" course.
The course doesn't get near as crowded as others in the Austin-area.
Lotta birdie opportunities throughout, and a few aces possible.
6 of the baskets are set on slopes (rolling putts abound)
Has four holes where you can get some bigger, yet precise, drives-- on holes 5 (gotta get thru 2 trees and a bit to the left), 6 (biggest drive of the course, par 4, dogleg right), 8 ( tunnel drive over a spring and to the left), 14 (narrow/straight drive along the San Gabriel river next to thick brambles).
One of my favorite holes is # 8 just because it's beautiful in there, (you shoot over a spring-fed creek in a tunnel of greenery to a sloped basket on the left; great spot to take a break too.
Also, holes 10 & 11 are pretty cool with immense limestone boulders next to both baskets, and a big cliff running beside the holes. Hole 10 is a nice short upshot to the basket and 11 is a short, slight turn to the right, ace prospect.
Cons: This course does, in fact, badly need some tee signs, and the old ones need to be taken out.
Perhaps a course map at the beginning
Watch out for poison ivy in the Spring and cactus year-round.
14th hole will lose your disc in a hurry if it fades to the left too much, either by the dense jungle-growth, or the river if it's up ( I've lost 3 in the jungle there)
Other Thoughts: For all new-comers to the course, print a copy of the map in the "links/files" section for this course. After hole 5, you gotta go under the bridge and up onto the sidewalk that switch-backs up the hill to the road; you shoot from the corner of the sidewalk where it switch-backs.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Dissapointing

1    4/18/2009   4/21/2009
Review By: Lurkingturtle
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/13/2009
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course is set up in a great wooded area. The holes that we were able to play were a lot of fun with challenging lines.
Cons: The course was hard to follow with no signs. The boxes were not marked and the ones that were did not match the mark on the basket. There was no map layout of the course.
Other Thoughts: This is set up in a very nice scenic area, I just wish there would have been an updated map available or map of the course on a board at course. I would also say if you go play there watch out for cactus and snakes. I would like to go back and try to play this course again with a map because, it is a very nice scenic area.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.