Georgetown, TX 
Rivery Park Share
Uploaded By: sidewinding Hole #8
3 / 242ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee

Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Great, technical course

1    2/15/2009   2/28/2009
Review By: metis314159
Played: 26  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The elevation changes (especially around the pins) on this course are the best in Austin in my opinion. Many of the holes were very memorable (maybe even "epic"), especially the middle holes which have (and use) large rock formations. Most of the holes have very tough tunnel shots, and there are some short aceable holes with an outstanding shot.
Cons: The tee pads are dirt. The signs at the tees don't match the numbers on the baskets since the course was redesigned. Bring a map of the course, otherwise you will spend time wandering around to find the next hole. Also, on many holes you will find cactus.
Other Thoughts: Very tight fairways (10-15 feet) on most holes; however, there is always a line to throw through to the pin (except hole 12). The holes are also usually short so you can recover/only loose a stroke from hitting a tree on your drive.

To get to hole 6 you have to go under a bridge and the tee pad is up on a concrete sidewalk, marked with chalk and a few rocks.

I felt that the course slightly favored (right handed) forehand throws, but the course still requires many different throws to play well.

Holes 6-13 at times play fairly close to the cement path along the river that is fairly crowded with pedestrians (esp. on weekends).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    2/22/2009   2/22/2009
Review By: biggio1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 9.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tons and tons of trees with tunnels and low ceilings. A beautiful river with some of the best elevation changes in the greater Austin area! Ace runs for days if you can hit your gap. A great hike.
Cons: Many short holes, which I enjoyed because they were still not gimmes.
Other Thoughts: Located about 3-4 miles from the other Georgetown course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Challenge in Georgetown

2-4    11/26/2008   11/26/2008
Review By: discinator
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2008
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is one technical course. I claim Circle C in Austin as my home course and I have to say that as far as technical goes this course has them all beat.

It has lots of elevation changes, very tough tunnel shots, and even some short aceable holes( they are short but it takes one heck of a shot to hit them).

This is an interesting course. It is brutal as far as being very narrow and heavily wooded, but none of the holes is very long so you can still make par even if you whack a tree off the tee. Just make sure you bring your midrange discs with you. A good approach game is a must.

Being short, this course is a quick playing course. As some of the other reviews mentioned, this course has some very memorable holes- 10 and 11 come to mind due to their very short length and surprising toughness.

Cons: This course is very poorly marked. I had a course map with me due to the other reviews and advice from the guys at dgcr, but I happened upon some tourists from Florida on my second 18 and they mentioned that if I hadn't come along they wouldn't have been able to find some of the holes.

At times this course seems rediculous, especially hole 12. This is just my opinion, but you shouldn't have to be Ken Climo to find and hit the line to the basket. Give us a break and at least give one decent line for a fairway. I like them difficult, but some of these were just unfair to say the least. It is the same for everyone, but it would be more fun IMO.

A lot of the signs are from the old layout so it gets very confusing.

The dirt tees are the normal Austin standard- crappy.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course overall and I'm glad I went out of my way to play it, but it won't be one of the courses I frequent when I head north from S. Austin. If they put a little work into the details this could be a really great course, but as it stands right now I would call it mediocre at best.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Hidden Gem.

5+    9/21/2008   7/17/2008
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/14/2008
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Has some of the most beautiful technical woods holes you will ever see. It has more "epic" holes than your average course.

#1 is an amazing tunnel.
#2 has a door you have to hit from about 150'.
#7 has the basket up on the side of a steep hill guarded by a large tree.
#10 has you throwing up a steep hill to a basket under a cliff.
#11 is 125' and aceable, just don't hit a tree or one of the giant rocks surrounding the basket.
#12 may be some kind of cruel joke. It is a 405' pinball hole. There's no way through with one throw.
On #17 you have to hit a door from about 200' that takes you down to the basket placed in a dry creek.
Cons: No tee pads, just dirt.

No signs. The few signs that are there are not accurate because they are from before the course was re-designed to accomodate a new playscape.

If you don't bring a map from the course links page you will never be able to find your way through this course. Most people from Austin come up here without a map and try it and give up after hole #6 without ever having seen some of the more beautiful holes and they never come back because it it so diffucult to navigate. If you have a map it's a breeze.

Due to the ruggedness of the landscape and narrowness of the fairways they almost never mow this course. They will come through with weedeaters occasionally but in the summer the grass gets high enough to hide an elephant. The rest of the year it's fine. Just keep an eye out for poison ivy.
Other Thoughts: The lack of signs and difficult navigation has made this course a hidden gem. I am lucky to have another great John Houck designed course as one of my home courses.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


8/1/2007   7/6/2008
Review By: bacr
Played: 20  Reviewed: 6
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The park has recently undergone some construction and the course has been rearranged, so if you haven't played there in the last 2-3 years, you will find an entirely different course.

The Rivery is a pretty tough course. It plays down by the San Gabe river, so the holes are mostly short and heavily wooded. Accuracy is a must because many of the holes don't even have a can just see the pin across the forest from where you are standing.
Cons: The back half of the course can be difficult to find because you need to go under the bridge.

Don't try to go barefoot or anything, I can guarantee you will be trooping through some brush.
Other Thoughts: Other than having some difficult to find holes, the Rivery is a pretty good course. Just don't expect to make very many long throws.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.