Georgetown, TX 
Rivery Park Share
Uploaded By: sidewinding Hole #11
3 / 125ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Challenging and Beautiful

5+    4/3/2010   4/6/2010
Review By: destrokhan
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rivery is a technical course with holes on the shorter side that are heavily wooded. There are plenty of ace opportunities and one that is impossible to ace. The rocky terrain midway through the course offers some interesting holes and also great places to sit and have a beer. There's a water fall near hole 10 that's pretty awesome. I personally like more technical courses and Rivery has plenty of holes that require finesse rather than monster jamming although there are a few early on and one towards the end but nothing really long. Never crowded, one of the biggest things that turns me off about Zilker and Pease are the crowds and having to wait and then rushed to throw. I've only ran into three or four other groups of disc golfers in the past year of going here and I like that.
Cons: 1st time players need to bring a map, this course is impossible to navigate without one, it's poorly marked (there aren't any updated signs but they recently added pink markers on the tees) and heavily wooded. I've seen many 1st timers quit after hole 5. As of right now there are stinging nettles all over the course so keep an eye out. There is a nasty water hazard on hole 14 which wasn't a problem last summer but with the rain we've been getting the San Gabriel river is higher and a lot closer to the fairway. The higher amount of rain has also caused a lot of undergrowth off the fairways so there's potential for disc loss but most of the terrain is rocky so it's generally easy to find discs. There aren't a lot of trash cans, but that's not a big problem if you have a back pack
Other Thoughts: Although it's hard to navigate at first, after you get the course layout down this is one of the best courses in Central Texas and definitely the least crowded.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wow! I'll say it Again - Wow!

1    3/13/2010   3/16/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/26/2010
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Rivery Park has a fantastic selection of tight tunnels, and forced controlled shots. This isn't the place where you go for it every time, rather methodically place each shot to set up for the next. From the beginning, hole one is a very cool 10' wide tunnel over 166' that can easily go from birdie to bogey depending on your accuracy. There is good distance variation forcing hyzers and anhyzers throughout the course, and the pavilion area is good place for the kids to stay busy while you're off trekking through the woods.

Have I mentioned how cool this course feels sandwiched between the rocky cliffs and the North San Gabriel River? I'm a sucker for good scenery, and have played amazing golf in the Colorado Rockies, and yet holes #9, #10, and #11 still blew me away. You get a taste of the rocky hillside on #7 and #8, but the epic #9-#11 combo was some of the most intensely rocky and phenomenal golf I have ever played. The holes themselves aren't particularly difficult, and should yield many pars and even birdies, but the look of the pins nestled up against the rocky cliffs just blew my mind. With all of the rain, I got to even experience a small waterfall behind #10 pin - how often can you say that playing disc golf in Texas?

BEST HOLE/S: #10; #1
Cons: Redesigns are always a killer to a course without proper follow through. From the very start, the course awkwardly leads you through difficult layout on a tight piece of property. YOU MUST HAVE A MAP! You will get lost without it. Trust your map and you shouldn't have a big issue, plus there are plenty of locals who were happy to point me in the right directions. This place used to play more under I-35, but I'm happy they have now sent you out on a walk to experience the middle third of the course - and trust me, there is certainly a walk.

Besides making some long walks between holes, parking is horrendous, and since it is a popular place - space is always an issue. Just be prepared not to have a spot close on a busy day since the parking lot holds twenty cars at best.

WORST HOLE/S: #15
Other Thoughts: Simply put, Rivery Park is an awesome experience and the best in this northern area. I've finally played enough courses to know when I stumble upon some special, and this place is it. Ratings aren't everything, and this place will never receive top ten courses ratings until it solves many of its logistical problems. But to me however it's the experience that is more important, so forget the shortcomings, relax, and make a day at this place. I recommend going from now to May since that's when the weather makes it at its best.

The course has issues - and can certainly be frustrating if you don't like tight and technical - but the trip is worth everything just to walk holes #9-#11. Plus, unlike the three reviewers that obviously played their round together without a map, and then decided to destroy the overall course rating - I would go out of my way to play here anytime. It's funny - you take these three ratings out of the mix and you get a 3.5, which is a much more accurate course reflection. So, don't be an idiot like them, and bring your map - and I promise you'll have a great time.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Fun and Sadistic

1    2/28/2010   2/28/2010
Review By: MoonT4
Played: 54  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The designer really did a great job of making a full course of precise and challenging holes here. The s.hots are not real long, but they require a lot of precision.
Cons: The holes are marked with an old numbering system. New tee signs are really needed here unless you have a local to show you the course. Even with a map, some of us got lost as we broke away into two groups
Other Thoughts: Other than the signage, this was a really fun course, I will again attempt this course, but I will not put this in my top courses to play, but if in the area, I will play it.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Cool course right off of 35

5+    2/10/2010   2/14/2010
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 129  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 14.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a technical golfers dream. You must be able to hit a line and be able to hit it on annys, hyzers, and the straight ones. The baskets are nice and I like the natural tee pads as well. This course can be enjoyed by all skill levels due to the mix of shots. The scenery is nice and even though it is right next to 35, there doesnt seem to be much road noice which helps out the enjoyment factor. There is always a bunch of wildlife running around here which is neat. Many of the greens have elevation in them making a bad putt or up roll off and making the score go up. If you find yourself hitting trees you will ping pong your way through this whole course.
Cons: Navigation is the biggest issue and first timers will need a map or a local to get through this course. Like said before there are many long walks in between holes but I dont mind them. The rough can be rough for sure. The rocks can turn an ankle pretty quick so watch where you step.
Other Thoughts: I always hit this couse cause of its easy access from the highway. It is very fun if you have the patience and I think you will enjoy it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good heavens... "and God created wood."

2-4    12/13/2009   12/14/2009
Review By: HoopHound
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/17/2009
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Most demanding course I've played. Fine annys, fine hyzers or laser straight. Requires precision on 13 out of 18 pins.
Cons: Long walks between 5&6, 11&12. Short trek from 17 to 18 and from 18 to 1...
Other Thoughts: Very difficult, but all in all, a nice course. I gave it 3 stars because it made my game better by forcing me to think on every shot instead of heaving a drive at each tee. I'd trim a few trees if it were mine just to make some of the tee shots less ridiculous. Especially # 13.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/28/2009   11/28/2009
Review By: AlexBradford
Played: 80  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is very difficult, but alot of fun to play. There are plenty of tight shots through the trees that you have to be able to deal with. Be ready to use a WIDE variety of shots to get to the basket. One of the best things about this course is the scenery that surrounds the holes.
Cons: Fairly poorly marked with only a few signs on the first holes; however, the tee boxes are generally well marked with blue markers. If I didn't have the map that I printed off of dgcoursereview, I imagine I would have been pretty lost.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the more challenging and all-around enjoyable courses that I have played in a while. I would have to describe it as unique. I can't wait to play again.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

1    11/27/2009   11/27/2009
Review By: bcase28
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Loved all the tight shots, some very technical. Great layout with some well thought up shots.
Cons: The course is very easy to get lost on. there are no markers to show where the next tee box is. some of the holes have the old tee markers witch can make it even more confusing. there needs to more tee marks so you can find your way around.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Rivery Course Improvements

5+    11/2/2009   11/2/2009
Review By: teebob
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/16/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great technical course with some very picturesque holes. Elevation changes on more than half the course. Water comes into play on hole 8 and 14.
The course Is currently recieving some love. The tee boxes are being improved and filled with crushed granite/clay mix. The GT PARD graciously donated all the materials and the work was done by The Early Birds DGC and The TD from the Hamilton Creek Open. Baskets aree to be re-painted and numbered next week. There may also be some tree removal in the works. All in all these improvements along with others greatly improve this already great course.
Cons: Still in need of signage.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Needs Work

5+    8/10/2009   10/7/2009
Review By: 4thechains@gmail.com
Played: 45  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 10/28/2013
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun course with a lot of technical shots. I will provide a new review once the course re-design has been completed.
Cons: Course is currently under construction and several holes have been removed.
Other Thoughts: Could be a great park if someone put some effort into it.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lost in the woods

1    8/14/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: skurf
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/27/2009
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Excellent pin locations that maximize available topography

-Tightly wooded technical holes that will test your control and patience level

-Most of the holes are well designed and enjoyable once you find the tee
Cons: -Bad flow from a lot of baskets to finding the next teepad and some walks are quite long

-Poor dirt tees that are rutted or even have tree stumps in them

-No signs except on the first hole

-When you add up the above cons it can lead to a frustrating round where you spend half of it searching for the next basket since that is the only thing that has numbers on it. Then once you find the basket you have to backtrack down the fairway to find the "worn spot" that is the teebox.

-Most of the holes are similar in style-- mostly straight or slight turns, shooting through tight woods, never really having the chance to let loose

-I didn't notice any trashcans and the course is worse off for it. Walking down the first fairway I noticed more trash strewn throughout the woods than I do on the entirety of most courses.

-The course feels unfinished and neglected. Apparently it was redesigned at some point, but the first design had tee signs which they didn't take down after the redesign. So now when you're searching for that next teebox all you find are the old tees still marked with the signs. The fact that they didn't even cut some of the stumps all the way down that were right in the middle of the teebox is just another sign of how neglected it is.
Other Thoughts: It seems like a lot of thought went into the redesign of this course, but in the end those thoughts were not implemented well. They went through a lot of trouble redesigning it, but ultimately the course feels unfinished and neglected.

Overall, I enjoyed most of the holes even though most of them felt the similar to each other, but the flow, poor tees, lack of signage, and overall feel of neglect leave this lingering sour taste in my mouth. It was worth checking out, but if I'm going to travel up to north Austin for a round of disc golf, there are many better options than this course.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.