Georgetown, TX 
Rivery Park Share
Uploaded By: sidewinding Hole #15
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  

1    11/27/2009   11/27/2009
Review By: bcase28
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Loved all the tight shots, some very technical. Great layout with some well thought up shots.
Cons: The course is very easy to get lost on. there are no markers to show where the next tee box is. some of the holes have the old tee markers witch can make it even more confusing. there needs to more tee marks so you can find your way around.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Rivery Course Improvements

5+    11/2/2009   11/2/2009
Review By: teebob
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/16/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great technical course with some very picturesque holes. Elevation changes on more than half the course. Water comes into play on hole 8 and 14.
The course Is currently recieving some love. The tee boxes are being improved and filled with crushed granite/clay mix. The GT PARD graciously donated all the materials and the work was done by The Early Birds DGC and The TD from the Hamilton Creek Open. Baskets aree to be re-painted and numbered next week. There may also be some tree removal in the works. All in all these improvements along with others greatly improve this already great course.
Cons: Still in need of signage.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Needs Work

5+    8/10/2009   10/7/2009
Review By: 4thechains@gmail.com
Played: 45  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/28/2013
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun course with a lot of technical shots. I will provide a new review once the course re-design has been completed.
Cons: Course is currently under construction and several holes have been removed.
Other Thoughts: Could be a great park if someone put some effort into it.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lost in the woods

1    8/14/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: skurf
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/27/2009
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Excellent pin locations that maximize available topography

-Tightly wooded technical holes that will test your control and patience level

-Most of the holes are well designed and enjoyable once you find the tee
Cons: -Bad flow from a lot of baskets to finding the next teepad and some walks are quite long

-Poor dirt tees that are rutted or even have tree stumps in them

-No signs except on the first hole

-When you add up the above cons it can lead to a frustrating round where you spend half of it searching for the next basket since that is the only thing that has numbers on it. Then once you find the basket you have to backtrack down the fairway to find the "worn spot" that is the teebox.

-Most of the holes are similar in style-- mostly straight or slight turns, shooting through tight woods, never really having the chance to let loose

-I didn't notice any trashcans and the course is worse off for it. Walking down the first fairway I noticed more trash strewn throughout the woods than I do on the entirety of most courses.

-The course feels unfinished and neglected. Apparently it was redesigned at some point, but the first design had tee signs which they didn't take down after the redesign. So now when you're searching for that next teebox all you find are the old tees still marked with the signs. The fact that they didn't even cut some of the stumps all the way down that were right in the middle of the teebox is just another sign of how neglected it is.
Other Thoughts: It seems like a lot of thought went into the redesign of this course, but in the end those thoughts were not implemented well. They went through a lot of trouble redesigning it, but ultimately the course feels unfinished and neglected.

Overall, I enjoyed most of the holes even though most of them felt the similar to each other, but the flow, poor tees, lack of signage, and overall feel of neglect leave this lingering sour taste in my mouth. It was worth checking out, but if I'm going to travel up to north Austin for a round of disc golf, there are many better options than this course.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Right on Rivery

1    7/26/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: sam_puck
Played: 21  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery. Nice big park! Great elevation shots. Longs and shorts. Lots of right turns.
Cons: No signage! Dirt tee boxes, some dug out pretty bad. You can get lost very easy, because there is no signs at all! Heavily wooded, but intreasting lines.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course, even though it ate my lunch. I can't wait to go back and seek revenge.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very Tight, Very Beautiful...

5+    4/24/2009   4/29/2009
Review By: Cody
Played: 40  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/16/2012
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is set on a very scenic area along the North San Gabriel River.
Very challenging and fun if you're looking for a great "precision" course.
The course doesn't get near as crowded as others in the Austin-area.
Lotta birdie opportunities throughout, and a few aces possible.
6 of the baskets are set on slopes (rolling putts abound)
Has four holes where you can get some bigger, yet precise, drives-- on holes 5 (gotta get thru 2 trees and a bit to the left), 6 (biggest drive of the course, par 4, dogleg right), 8 ( tunnel drive over a spring and to the left), 14 (narrow/straight drive along the San Gabriel river next to thick brambles).
One of my favorite holes is # 8 just because it's beautiful in there, (you shoot over a spring-fed creek in a tunnel of greenery to a sloped basket on the left; great spot to take a break too.
Also, holes 10 & 11 are pretty cool with immense limestone boulders next to both baskets, and a big cliff running beside the holes. Hole 10 is a nice short upshot to the basket and 11 is a short, slight turn to the right, ace prospect.
Cons: This course does, in fact, badly need some tee signs, and the old ones need to be taken out.
Perhaps a course map at the beginning
Watch out for poison ivy in the Spring and cactus year-round.
14th hole will lose your disc in a hurry if it fades to the left too much, either by the dense jungle-growth, or the river if it's up ( I've lost 3 in the jungle there)
Other Thoughts: For all new-comers to the course, print a copy of the map in the "links/files" section for this course. After hole 5, you gotta go under the bridge and up onto the sidewalk that switch-backs up the hill to the road; you shoot from the corner of the sidewalk where it switch-backs.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Dissapointing

1    4/18/2009   4/21/2009
Review By: Lurkingturtle
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/13/2009
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course is set up in a great wooded area. The holes that we were able to play were a lot of fun with challenging lines.
Cons: The course was hard to follow with no signs. The boxes were not marked and the ones that were did not match the mark on the basket. There was no map layout of the course.
Other Thoughts: This is set up in a very nice scenic area, I just wish there would have been an updated map available or map of the course on a board at course. I would also say if you go play there watch out for cactus and snakes. I would like to go back and try to play this course again with a map because, it is a very nice scenic area.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great, technical course

1    2/15/2009   2/28/2009
Review By: metis314159
Played: 26  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The elevation changes (especially around the pins) on this course are the best in Austin in my opinion. Many of the holes were very memorable (maybe even "epic"), especially the middle holes which have (and use) large rock formations. Most of the holes have very tough tunnel shots, and there are some short aceable holes with an outstanding shot.
Cons: The tee pads are dirt. The signs at the tees don't match the numbers on the baskets since the course was redesigned. Bring a map of the course, otherwise you will spend time wandering around to find the next hole. Also, on many holes you will find cactus.
Other Thoughts: Very tight fairways (10-15 feet) on most holes; however, there is always a line to throw through to the pin (except hole 12). The holes are also usually short so you can recover/only loose a stroke from hitting a tree on your drive.

To get to hole 6 you have to go under a bridge and the tee pad is up on a concrete sidewalk, marked with chalk and a few rocks.

I felt that the course slightly favored (right handed) forehand throws, but the course still requires many different throws to play well.

Holes 6-13 at times play fairly close to the cement path along the river that is fairly crowded with pedestrians (esp. on weekends).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/22/2009   2/22/2009
Review By: biggio1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tons and tons of trees with tunnels and low ceilings. A beautiful river with some of the best elevation changes in the greater Austin area! Ace runs for days if you can hit your gap. A great hike.
Cons: Many short holes, which I enjoyed because they were still not gimmes.
Other Thoughts: Located about 3-4 miles from the other Georgetown course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Challenge in Georgetown

2-4    11/26/2008   11/26/2008
Review By: discinator
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2008
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is one technical course. I claim Circle C in Austin as my home course and I have to say that as far as technical goes this course has them all beat.

It has lots of elevation changes, very tough tunnel shots, and even some short aceable holes( they are short but it takes one heck of a shot to hit them).

This is an interesting course. It is brutal as far as being very narrow and heavily wooded, but none of the holes is very long so you can still make par even if you whack a tree off the tee. Just make sure you bring your midrange discs with you. A good approach game is a must.

Being short, this course is a quick playing course. As some of the other reviews mentioned, this course has some very memorable holes- 10 and 11 come to mind due to their very short length and surprising toughness.

Cons: This course is very poorly marked. I had a course map with me due to the other reviews and advice from the guys at dgcr, but I happened upon some tourists from Florida on my second 18 and they mentioned that if I hadn't come along they wouldn't have been able to find some of the holes.

At times this course seems rediculous, especially hole 12. This is just my opinion, but you shouldn't have to be Ken Climo to find and hit the line to the basket. Give us a break and at least give one decent line for a fairway. I like them difficult, but some of these were just unfair to say the least. It is the same for everyone, but it would be more fun IMO.

A lot of the signs are from the old layout so it gets very confusing.

The dirt tees are the normal Austin standard- crappy.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course overall and I'm glad I went out of my way to play it, but it won't be one of the courses I frequent when I head north from S. Austin. If they put a little work into the details this could be a really great course, but as it stands right now I would call it mediocre at best.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.