Fort Pierce, FL 
St. Lucie Village Heritage Park Share
Uploaded By: grynreeper Hole #8
3 / 135ft. Par / Distance:
#8 - View from tee.



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    4/26/2014   4/30/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 206  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 3.5 Years
Pros: Excellent beginner course. Not a ton of distance. Shot shaping is required but the lines are generous and there is a ton of room for error. Very little chance of disc loss except on 8 which can be played safely. Just a very good representation of the game for new players to get their feet wet.

It's also a fun, quick round. It's been redesigned since some of the older reviews so there are no more 65-foot holes. There are no distances marked on the tees but I'd estimate that holes average around 175-200 feet. The exception is 4. Easily the best of the course it's close to 400 feet and features a basket tucked into a wooded area to the right of the field. (It also has a palm tree that has snagged so many discs that the locals have built a 30-foot pole for the purpose of poking it out from between the fronds.)

The entire course fills up an open area with scattered palms and scrub making all the obstacles. It creates a good variety of shots with lefties and some righties, with the double mando on 1 adding a nice gut shot to the mix. It's an astoundingly good layout considering the footprint of the park. If it wasn't so far out of the way, I'd easily recommend a stop-in for travelers.
Cons: While it's a solid course for beginners, it will hold considerably less appeal for experienced players. Not too much here will challenge a veteran, unless they're hunting aces, which are in play on eight of nine holes.

I also don't think the course will do well with more than two or three groups on it. It looks like there are a lot of places where fairways run close together. Even with two groups on the course, there were times when one group was waiting on shots in the wrong fairway.

The small area makes most of the navigation and tee identification easy enough but there are no tee signs or next tee arrows.

Note on hole 2: The correct basket is the furthest basket to the right that you can see. Look carefully because it's actually hard to spot. I did throw to the wrong basket here. It's really the only hole that should cause this problem.
Other Thoughts: If I was local I'd play it. If I was at the beach (it is pretty close to some beach areas) and wanted to introduce a friend to the game, it would suffice. But it's not worth going out of the way for.

St. Lucie Village Heritage Park

2-4    12/25/2013   12/31/2013
Review By: craigd
Played: 95  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/2/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: St. Lucie Village DGC is a compact little course set in a family friendly park. In fact it's so compact it may remind you of a putt-putt course for disc golf. Its short layout uses every square inch of the somewhat passive park with only an occasional walker, parking lot, and an old forgotten volleyball court to distract you during your round.

Surprisingly, to spite it's short layout, it's a pretty fun course. The designers did a pretty good job incorporating some of the park's features into the layout bringing in some challenge. From hole one's double mando forcing a rope off the tee all the way to nine's OB parking lot path and an OB street looming behind the basket, there's plenty of trouble. Even the volleyball net comes into play. As you play through, you'll notice baskets thoughtfully tucked in places requiring accurate tee shots to get those seemingly easy 2's.

A nice surprise is what most will consider the signature hole, number 4. It feels like a mile long compared to the rest of this short course. It probably rings up at about the 450' mark and flirts with becoming a par 4. It plays along thick shule on the right all the way down posing danger for those who try to power a big hyzer over it (which is a temping option). It also has some protection approaching on the left for those who try that option. There's a late low ceiling and the basket is dangerously close to an OB fence near the road should your upshot come in a little too hot.

Contrary to the current info for the course (images and other reviews at the time this review was written) there are actual baskets in place now. I'm told they are hand-me-downs from the neighboring Gordy Road course after its upgrade to 18 new baskets. That is certainly an improvement over the homemade PVC targets previously mentioned. Not only that, but they've also tweaked the former layout into this new and improved layout adding some length and new design elements.

Natural tee pads are easily found and marked with the labeled 4x4 posts. Navigation is a cinch as often the next tee is merely feet from the last basket played so bringing a map is really not necessary.

This course offers several things that some of the lengthier courses don't. One, it's a great place to introduce new players to the sport. Though it's short, there's plenty of trouble to make it challenging for a new player without being too frustrating. Second, it is a great family course for those with smaller kids who sometimes get worn out or disinterested after several long holes on a "normal" course. Lastly, if you are a local and just looking for a quick round to brush up on your touch game this is perfect place. You can literally run through this course in about 20 minutes.
Cons: While a nice design was employed by squeezing in all 9 holes on this property, it didn't come without penalty. Tee pads too close to baskets are usually never a good idea as far a safety is concerned. I guess the conciliation is that maybe the course doesn't get too crowded. And if there are more than a few groups on this course watch your back for sure.

Number 7 plays across (or at least there's a clear route to the basket) the main parking lot. Again, if the park is empty, no biggie but any day that may draw a crowd is probably going to bring cars into play if nothing else by newer players that are still learning to control drives (which this course caters to).

There's a glaring lack of challenge or interest for advanced players.
Other Thoughts: For the more experienced players the "short hole blues" may be here, especially for you big arms who like to "air it out". But I think with a little creativity a decent little safari course could be made up to add something a little different. I can imagine locals creating some alt tee areas to mix things up.

Even for it shortness I think it made up for it by being a really fun little course. It's worth a quick round if you are in town or trying to add to your "played" list.

Note that as of 12/30/13 the attached DGCR map and hole lengths are inaccurate. The course has been redesigned.

A local guide mentioned that concrete pads are in the plan for the near future. While probably not necessary on this course it'll be a nice addition. He also mentioned that the locals put in the aluminum can recycle bin near the kiosk as a fund raiser for the course. Try to drop your empties off while you're there if you think of it. Enjoy!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Site of my 12th ace (Errr 65' putt)

2-4    2/10/2012   2/25/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Short beginner friendly course exposes people who wouldn't otherwise know what disc golf is I assume.

2) Posts with the Hole # on them act as the tee and the baskets (PVC contraptions that used to have some sort of chin assembly) are also numbered so it is easy to work around the course. Throw your disc through the rectangle at the top . . . I can only magine what the chain system was all about.

3) Nice usage of trees to create the shot shapes and interesting obstacles. It was done surprisingly well if you ask me.

4) This is a decent little town park with picnic tables, horseshoes, volleyball and a decent sized parking lot. I could spend the whole day here trying to rack up aces and playing a bunch of mini disc!

5) Mostly plam trees create the obstacles but there looks to be a live oak tree with Spanish moss hanging down too. One palmetto shrub on the course can eat your disc up . . . I ended up in it and rather than try and throw the 8' putt from there I just took a 3. I didn't want to get killed by a snake or other venomous creature.

6) Ace-runs abound . . .or you can go for the perfect round and birdie them all. Either way it an be a fun course.

7) You actually have to throw a few different kinds of shots on this course. You could probably make a putter run on every hole but you do need to work the disc either direction on a few holes.
Cons: 1) No teesigns . . . not a huge deal since the holes are so short and self explanatory. There is a scorecard however that has the hole distances and a course map on the back.

2) No real challenge here for anyone who has played the game for any period of time. It didn't bother me but most people couldn't see the value of this course.

3) Distance variation ranges from short to shorter so there is a definite lacking of variety in terms of distance. That also makes you leave your drivers in the bag.

4) This is definitely a 1 disc course . . . no need to bring different mid-ranges either because the shot shaping is so slight you could do it with your neutral mid-range.

5) Grass tees are worn down to sand . . . not a big deal because if you are doing a runup you are truly only a beginner.
Other Thoughts: This course was called a "Miniature Disc Golf Course" and I wasn't sure if this was intended for mini throwing or if it was just referencing the size of the property. It is probably more suited to mini discs because of how short it is. I played it both ways . . . one round with my Star Spider and another round with my mini disc. I shot a 20 (-7) with my spider including an ace on #4 and I shot a 25 (-2) with my mini. This is the first time I ever really tried to throw my mini so I am pretty happy with the results. I am excited to learn how to throw minis as I had so much funny money at the end of last season that I purchased 4 mini baskets. I am looking into finding a place where I can setup the baskets and make a "mini course". Just another fun way to enjoy this sport with far less money and much less land needed.

Most disc golfers wouldn't even bother stopping here but I can see the value in throwing these shots. It can be fun if you allow it to be fun despite what might be considered a lackluster course. I will probably come back next time I head up the east coast of Florida just to play another mini round since this place is better suited to mini discs than regular discs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 putter challange

1    9/6/2009   10/11/2009
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 453  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Score cards and maps available at the kiosk. Well marked tee post and objects. Cheap way to put in a course. Decent use of trees for obstacles. Great for beginners and you can't lose a disc.
Cons: If your not a beginner use a putter or mid-range, very short. plays around a trail and a volleyball court.No restrooms.
Other Thoughts: This course is a great example of a cheap and inventive way to put in a course. I used just my putter and for me it was still a challenge. If your not shooting straight on it's very difficult to make a putt.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very short, no baskets...

8/8/2008   8/8/2008
Review By: grynreeper
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.5 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I think the biggest PRO for this course would be it is great if you are just introducing the game to a young child. The holes are very short and pretty straight with a few palm trees in the way to make it interesting.
Cons: Of course the distance is a consideration for anyone above the new or novice player. The holes are marked with their number very well but no PAR or distance information is provided. I think not having baskets as targets takes away from the course a little bit as well.
Other Thoughts: All in all, it's a fun little "mess around" course for practicing some short and long putting and a great place to take a new player...

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.