Harlingen, TX 
Dixieland Park Share
Uploaded By: jbrock Hole #13 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 171ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    2/22/2014   2/22/2014
Review By: DG Trucker
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Plenty of parking.
There are restrooms and trash bins.
Concrete tee pads on every hole.
Benches and tables to rest on.

Cons: No course map. (But, it's real easy to navigate through the course.)
There was a huge youth group that showed up one Sunday afternoon and covered about half of the course's fairways making it unplayable. I was told it had happened before so you may want to avoid playing around that time.
Other Thoughts: There are tournaments held here every Saturday morning at 9:30. As of now, this is the only disc golf course in the valley so a good amount of people show up for this locally run tournament every weekend. There are 3 divisions and multiple cards for each one. There are also prizes for the people who place in their division. They have some games after the tournament where you can also win. The TD is a guy named Chris Cortez and he's also the guy to beat. Very consistent player. If you happen to be in Harlingen on a Saturday then you should definitely attend. Sometimes the weather will force them to cancel so it'll be a good idea to contact Chris ahead of time. You can pm me and I'll give you his contact info if you're interested.

Great time with a buddy

1    7/5/2013   8/12/2013
Review By: Kovar34
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.3 Years
Pros: Good hole distance, nice layout. some holes were very challenging with different elevations. hole 8, and 18 is the most challenging.
Cons: need a gate to get into the fence area in the park so if you thow your disc in there you can get it
Other Thoughts: watch out for 8 and 18. 8 you can be in the street, and 18 you can be in the lake. my buddy did it

Work on Playing the Wind!

5+    2/1/2013   2/1/2013
Review By: markmcc
Played: 57  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of the relatively few trees in the park. Variety of hole lengths from less than 200' to nearly 600'. No more than about 20' elevation change across the entire course, but the designer came up with a couple of good up/down holes.
Cons: Because of the ongoing drought very little grass. Packed bare dirt over much of the course. The wind absolutely howls out here. Huge difference between holes that are upwind, downwind, or cross-wind.

The restroom at this park is a notorious meeting place for gay men. So be aware that you may walk in on something out of the ordinary. Last time I was there the restrooms doors were chained closed, so you might want to hit a convenience store before your round.
Other Thoughts: Hole 8 is a long (570') par 3 with the basket tucked between trees in a 25' x 25' box with out-of-bounds on three sides. Almost impossible (for me) to make par.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course!

1    12/26/2010   1/11/2011
Review By: chamillionaire
Played: 57  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Wide open course with a few trees as obstacles. Grip It and Rip It!
Cons: It gets windy until just before dusk so you really have to be prepared to play in 15+mph weather conditions.
Other Thoughts: I will play this course every time I come home to the valley! I loved it! Contact me if you ever wanna meet up for a round sometime.
-Mike aka "Chamillionaire" DGCR# 15331
Just message me on here. Happy New Year and Happy Discin!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 windy

1    5/3/2009   5/3/2009
Review By: XEROXER
Played: 150  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/14/2009
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: nice use of terrain, interesting art objects in the fairways on 2 holes, good mix of short and long holes
Cons: windy course from fetch over adjacent lake, next to a water treatment plant
Other Thoughts: fun for the whole family!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Windy South TX

1    4/12/2009   4/14/2009
Review By: 1978
Played: 170  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course in TX. There are shots for all types of throwers. Short runs and long bomber holes. The wind makes some of the easier shots more challenging. The park was beautiful and there weren't many people even on Easter sunday in the way.
Cons: Hole 17 was missing a basket and there were lots of people picnicing where the hole was. I prefer woody courses, however you aren't going to get much of that in South TX. While any throwing style can succeed here you weren't forced into any shots that were out of your comfort level. The wind in South TX makes it difficult to throw.
Other Thoughts: Visiting from NC and it was nice to find a course. I noticed that there was no footage on the review so I pace estimated all the holes. I talked with a golfer named Benjamin who said that the course "pro" named Chris has rolled all the holes for distance so he can update here with the exact numbers. I also estimated the par based on the length of the holes. Thanks for providing a nice course for us visiting easterners.
Update *Someone erased my estimates for distance so I guess the locals want to keep all that secret.
Update * Distances are back up, however a few holes 500+ ft at par 3's That's a little unreasonable. I hate 400 ft par 5's as much as the next person but try to be realistic and set reasonable Par's.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Windy and Open, but some Nice Touches

2-4    5/3/2008   12/24/2008
Review By: WD09
Played: 253  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 9.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Uses the topography well, as baskets are placed intelligently in relation to trees, hills, and fences. Good mixture of long, open shots and some tight ace runs.
Cons: Some of the holes are basically just a basket in an open field. The shifting wind can create challenges even on those.
Other Thoughts: The locals have put some work into it and I enjoyed the "Woodhenge" feature surrounding one basket.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.