Collinsville, IL
Woodland Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
3 / 166ft.   3 / 232ft.   3 / 291ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Approach



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Sold Course

2-4    5/21/2013   11/21/2013
Review By: discdanny
Played: 37  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 0.9 Years
Pros: The Pros Include:
-Concrete Pads
-Multiple Pads
-Multiple Basket Locations
-Restrooms
-Pavilions
-Lake/ Stream
-Shots over water
-Great mixture of shots throughout the course
-Awesome Old Trees
Cons: -Odd walks to some of the holes
-Sometimes there are some shady crowds loitering around.
-Possibility of hitting moving cars if you go OB on a hole
Other Thoughts: Pretty good course.. I haven't made it out to the area to play it enough

fun but confusing course

1    9/22/2013   9/27/2013
Review By: gmoney1984
Played: 78  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 1 Years
Pros: 1. 3 Different sets of Tee pads
2. Can do long run ups on big tee pads
3. Good use of terrain
4. Well designed holes
5. Chance for aces on a couple of downhill shots

Cons: 1. tough to know where the next hole is at in several spots
2. bad course flow in general
3. chances to lose discs in water
Other Thoughts: Overall I liked this course but we spent about 20 minutes extra trying to find all the holes. Print out the map from the links/files section! I did not and paid for it!

Woodland

1    7/15/2013   7/15/2013
Review By: bschuff
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
Pros: -Feels like its a mix of different courses all in one.
-Great use of land and space.
-Beautiful trees and wild life.
-Has 3 different tee off spots for different skill levels.
-Easy to get to and right off I-70.
-Takes a certain degree of skill to curve around trees, lakes and ditches.
-The rolling hills and elevation is fantastic.
-A lot of birdie chances.
Cons: -Please please please print off a map of the course before going. Impossible to navagate and play without map.
-Some holes play just feet away from the lake making it easy to lose a disc.
-A lot of trash and glass on the course.
-The course is right on top of a lot of roads and playgrounds.
-Baskets are older and the chains are hard. Easy to bounce a disc off the chains and out even if its a perfect throw.
-Seems the course is hardly used and can use some up keep.
-The course isn't very fluid and sometimes have to walk long distances to play the next hole.
Other Thoughts: Overall this was a fun course and I will play it again. It felt a lot like JB except smaller and with water hazards. I would advise not playing later in the day or the weekend just because the playgrounds may be packed with kids and people making some of the holes difficult to play. Print a map out of the course before playing or you will be unable to find your way around.

 The enigmatic Woodland Chains

1    11/19/2011   11/21/2011
Review By: stubborn puppet
Played: 33  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: .
> Excellent and creative use of terrain, water hazards, trees and shot shaping opportunities.

> Three tees for every hole that mostly (especially the blue/pro tees) make a big difference in the way the hole plays.

> Multiple Pin placements are obviously available on the course, but not listed on the map or signs.

> Scenic park complete with ducks, geese and swans for added entertainment value.

> Good mix of short and long holes that don't feel like anything is missing or a shortcut.

> Tee signs did a good job of showing the multiple tees.

.
Cons: .
> The course layout is beyond confusing. Even with 2 really good maps, you spend a good deal of time wandering (and wondering) to look for the next tee.

> Some areas of the course really need some maintenance and rebuilding. A few spots were actually dangerous due to poor construction or rotting wood and sinking cement blocks.

>The baskets have seen better days and could use a refurb. They also need a coat of bright paint so they can be seen from further than 60 ft. away.

> Trash, trash and more trash. Not much in the way of garbage cans, but mostly the park is just littered up from one end to the other leaving the impression that a dump must be just right around the corner... yuck.

> No respect for the course from other park patrons. We had to have several confrontations with folks who were picnicing, taking pictures, playing catch and just lollygagging about on the fairways and would not move, even when asked very nicely twice.

>Many holes and basket placements are simply too close to parking lots, streets, playgrounds and pavilions to be safe and make me wonder who thought that was a good idea. Some tees even require you to throw over a parking lot, roadway or walking path... stupid idea.

> Tee signs were really cheap and did not do a good job showing actual pin placement.

.
Other Thoughts: .
Don't take the heavy ratio of Cons to Pros as a reason to skip this course: The Woodland Chains DG Course wins BIG on actual playability and I will plan on coming here more often. Considering how far I had to drive, take that as a good sign.

I look forward to building the confidence to play some of the blue tees that required huge throws over the water or through really tight wooded corridors to break into the fairway. The topography is some of the most dramatic I've ever played and gave me plenty of cause to stop and second guess my normal shots to account for a fade that might backfire and go an extra 70 ft. because of a steep slope or a tree that could send me sailing into a water hazard. I truly had a great time with this course.

The things that were annoying about this park (as mentioned in the Cons) were not caused by the actual "playing" of disc golf on the course, but just the frustration of it all between shots:
You had better plan on taking a good map (or two) and allow plenty of time on your first visit for searching for tees and baskets. If your game goes like ours, you will also probably have to give up a shot or two to avoid the dangerous possibility of hitting a bystander who won't move off the course because, "disc golf is no different than playing catch, just throw your frisbee's somewhere else... this is a public park." Fair enough, but I was shocked by the total lack of willingness for folks to just step 30ft. out of the way for a few seconds... jeesh.

The parks deparment and the city of Collinsville really, really need to address the littering issue here. I don't know how it gets to the point that a park that should be a real gem of the community ends up looking like a landfill? This park deserves better.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun if you can find all the holes

1    5/27/2009   7/12/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large park with lots of hills, and scattered mature trees. Some areas are more heavily wooded and make for more technical shots, and some brush comes into play as rough. There is a nice lake that comes into play on a few holes and adds a nice challenge. The hills are used very well to make the design interesting, and keep the holes varied throughout the course. There are a number of baskets on slopes which makes for an added level of difficulty.

There are tee signs showing the hole layout and the three tees for each hole. The different tees usually gave totally different looks at the holes, and made for very different levels of difficulty which is nice.

There is a really nice variety of holes here, with everything from ace run holes to more difficult and technical shots. The land is used well to really make a set of fun and interesting holes that challenge many different parts of your game if you want to get birdies here.
Cons: The navigation on this course was pretty bad in spots. I don't like having to wander around the park looking for the next tee, and there are definitely places where this was necessary for a first time player. I would definitely recommend a map or guide the first time you play here, and that will make the course much more enjoyable.

There were a few places where the course played very close to heavily used areas of the park, and this meant there was some pedestrian traffic on some holes. The other park users seemed polite and aware of disc golf, but you'll still need to watch out for people wandering on to some of the fairways.
Other Thoughts: This course offers a lot of different challenges, and would be a really nice course if it had enough signage to take care of the navigation issues. The multiple tees mean that it is accessible for beginners but can still offer good challenges to more experienced players. There are places to lose discs here, so watch out for the lake and some areas of thick rough.

This course was a lot of fun to play, and I would definitely recommend making a stop here. If possible, play with a local or take a map, otherwise expect to spend time trying to figure out the course layout.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.