Collinsville, IL 
Woodland Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
4 / 506ft.   4 / 557ft.   4 / 583ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 The enigmatic Woodland Chains

1    11/19/2011   11/21/2011
Review By: stubborn puppet
Played: 48  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: .
> Excellent and creative use of terrain, water hazards, trees and shot shaping opportunities.

> Three tees for every hole that mostly (especially the blue/pro tees) make a big difference in the way the hole plays.

> Multiple Pin placements are obviously available on the course, but not listed on the map or signs.

> Scenic park complete with ducks, geese and swans for added entertainment value.

> Good mix of short and long holes that don't feel like anything is missing or a shortcut.

> Tee signs did a good job of showing the multiple tees.

Cons: .
> The course layout is beyond confusing. Even with 2 really good maps, you spend a good deal of time wandering (and wondering) to look for the next tee.

> Some areas of the course really need some maintenance and rebuilding. A few spots were actually dangerous due to poor construction or rotting wood and sinking cement blocks.

>The baskets have seen better days and could use a refurb. They also need a coat of bright paint so they can be seen from further than 60 ft. away.

> Trash, trash and more trash. Not much in the way of garbage cans, but mostly the park is just littered up from one end to the other leaving the impression that a dump must be just right around the corner... yuck.

> No respect for the course from other park patrons. We had to have several confrontations with folks who were picnicing, taking pictures, playing catch and just lollygagging about on the fairways and would not move, even when asked very nicely twice.

>Many holes and basket placements are simply too close to parking lots, streets, playgrounds and pavilions to be safe and make me wonder who thought that was a good idea. Some tees even require you to throw over a parking lot, roadway or walking path... stupid idea.

> Tee signs were really cheap and did not do a good job showing actual pin placement.

Other Thoughts: .
Don't take the heavy ratio of Cons to Pros as a reason to skip this course: The Woodland Chains DG Course wins BIG on actual playability and I will plan on coming here more often. Considering how far I had to drive, take that as a good sign.

I look forward to building the confidence to play some of the blue tees that required huge throws over the water or through really tight wooded corridors to break into the fairway. The topography is some of the most dramatic I've ever played and gave me plenty of cause to stop and second guess my normal shots to account for a fade that might backfire and go an extra 70 ft. because of a steep slope or a tree that could send me sailing into a water hazard. I truly had a great time with this course.

The things that were annoying about this park (as mentioned in the Cons) were not caused by the actual "playing" of disc golf on the course, but just the frustration of it all between shots:
You had better plan on taking a good map (or two) and allow plenty of time on your first visit for searching for tees and baskets. If your game goes like ours, you will also probably have to give up a shot or two to avoid the dangerous possibility of hitting a bystander who won't move off the course because, "disc golf is no different than playing catch, just throw your frisbee's somewhere else... this is a public park." Fair enough, but I was shocked by the total lack of willingness for folks to just step 30ft. out of the way for a few seconds... jeesh.

The parks deparment and the city of Collinsville really, really need to address the littering issue here. I don't know how it gets to the point that a park that should be a real gem of the community ends up looking like a landfill? This park deserves better.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A good course with some challenge

2-4    9/6/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: wocketpocket
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: --A variety of tees makes this a course worth replaying again and again.
--Great use of trees, water and elevation to challenge you.

Cons: --Baskets are older and rusty.
--Most signs are missing making locating the next tee pad difficult sometimes.
--Referred to in previous reviews, but a major litter problem. Today I saw a used diaper, broken glass, etc.
Other Thoughts: A good course with some very challenging shots. Not altogether set up in a logical way, but fun nonetheless...if you can find all the tee pads/baskets. Bring a rag. Your discs are likely to get muddy or wet.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 good course but needs a little love

5+    5/15/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: urdone00
Played: 123  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 35.4 Years
Pros: bring your A game to this course, with almost every hole having a water hazard or ob that comes into play. a good mixture of short to long holes along with 3 sets of tees gives you a large assortment of shots to throw.
Cons: the shorter tees are made of crushed gravel, this is no con for the reason of good drainage, IF... the pads were level and didnt dish out and retain water or almost break your foot when throwing(loose 1/2 disc rating). no trash cans around course .
Other Thoughts: due to land configuration of the city park, and it being a multi use park, you will walk a little bit between a few holes.. a overall fun course for all.

 3 in 1

5+    7/20/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: discoholic
Played: 90  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Woodland Park is like three courses in one. Each hole has one great pin placement and three very different tee pads. The moderate elevation in this park is well utilized for both drives and putts. Large trees guard the fairway and basket on all but one hole. Water comes into play on 9 holes, if you count the small creek and drainage ditch. From the blue tees you drive over water twice. I will let you decide which hole is the signature hole, there are at least 5 candidates.

This course is in a well kept park. The red and white tees have crushed gravel tee pads and the blue tees are concrete. The tee signs are good, but at the wrong tees (red). There are signs to direct you to the next hole. Bathrooms at hole 1 and 7. Lots of drinking fountains (idk if they all work).
Cons: There are long walks between some holes, but you can just follow the signs. The tees hold water after it rains. There are very few trash cans, so leave with what you came with.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for all players. Fun and challenge with lots of shot variation. Spotters (or swimmers) are recommended on some holes.

This is a family park, there may a play at the pavilion, or a concert on the stage, so watch out for other park goers.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Really Fun

1    3/4/2010   3/4/2010
Review By: odysseus81
Played: 87  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 18.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a really fun course! There are a ton of different shots on this course. There are 3 high quality teepads on each hole (2 p-gravel and 1 concrete. Each teepad changes the look and challenge of the hole which is great. Replayability is awesome for this course....
The park is gorgeous....admittedly, I played it at a time of year where you won't have much foot traffic in the park so I didn't experience the issues others discussed. There are a bazillion very mature trees that are throughout the course and make each and every placement crucial. The elevation changes are refreshing too.
Initially I found it odd that the front 9 seemed so much longer than the back 9, but I actually appreciated it by the end of the round.
Really appreciated the quality signage throughout.
Cons: The flow of the course is pretty rough in the first 5 or 6 hles but it dramatically improves after that. The small signs after each basket saved our butt. Not sure I EVER would have found #2 tee without them=)
A few of the tee shots from the pro tees were stupid (all the really bad ones were VERY early in the round. You shouldn't have tee shots where there is no good shot available.
Other Thoughts: Love the course! Can't wait to go play it reminded me alot of JB with water...but not quite as diverse a course as JB.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    5/15/2011   2/19/2010
Review By: eupher61
Played: 95  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/28/2011
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: The cliff hole is very cool! A good variety of holes. Good use of land.
Cons: a little difficult to navigate if signage has been vandalized. A lot of other activities around the course.
Other Thoughts: Fun. As good as almost any in StL.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course with some flow Issues

5+    4/4/2009   1/4/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 322  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/14/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a wide varitey and offers a challenge to all skill level players with 3 sets of tees. This would be a great home course to have with the many options to play.

The terrain is very good with nice rolling hills and water coming into play on several holes. There are some very fast greens on the side of hills. This is a moderately wooded course. Check the video links below to get a feel.

The Blue tees have nice big cement tee pads.

Has tee signs.

Since I last played many signs have been installed to help aid navigation of this course.

Gateway Titan Baskets.
Cons: I would rate this course at a 4.5 but the navigation and flow is very difficult. I felt the course designer did a good job utilizing the land and making the holes the best they could but sacrificed flow for them.

The red and white tees are framed and filled with limestone. I heard these will be cement in the future.

This will help. Found a map.
Other Thoughts: Find a course map or a local to help you get around the course. Once you have played it once you will love it. It is a really fun course.

Here. I found a Map.

Check out these youtube videos. You can get a feel of what the course looks like.

Bring a few water discs as you play near and across the water on several holes.

If you are in the area you should play Rock Springs Park, Alton IL
Endicott,(St. John) St Louis, MO
Sioux Passage, (Florissant) St. Lous MO
All 3 are great courses too.

Check out my Illinois Top 10 list.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Nice course

1    11/1/2009   11/4/2009
Review By: Scott Slauson
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: great use of terrain and elevation. good pin placements and use of water to make you think about your throws. Play as tough or easy as you want with 3 tees for each hole.
Cons: not much flow to course, had to follow some locals to figure out where to go and play the holes in order.
Other Thoughts: A map would be great,

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


2-4    6/18/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 391  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 16.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/22/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -facilities include bathrooms, water, shelters, adequate parking, some garbage cans but not by the tee pads
-three sets of tees that not only change the length of the holes but also the looks, elevation and water hazard)
-lots of OB to punish inaccurate or long shots
-good use of elevation
-water hazards on a lot of holes (depending on tee pad)
-diversity of shots required: straight, anhyzer and hyzer
Cons: -It's not clear which parking lot to utilize the first time playing it (it's the second lot by the bathrooms)
-HEAVILY used by nondiscers (shelters, playgrounds, bandshells, baseball field, pedestrians, fishermen. not everyone knows what you are doing, especially the fishermen, b/c a lot of the blue tees throw over the lake, so be careful
-The layout is a little bit screwy (after 1 you have to walk down the hill, cross the bridge, then up the hill depending on the tee pad used. After hole (five?) you have to walk up the road behind the baseball field to six, after 8 you have to cross the guard rail, up the hill to 9) some signage for navigation but not sufficient.
Other Thoughts: The shots are really high quality at this park, especially from the blue tees, it's a shame that the layout is so screwy b/c this is has better quality shots than a 3.

I would avoid this park on nice summer weekend days, as it will be a zoo.

Interesting note: This site used to be a landfill. Yay landfill reclamation!

Also the club website is decent but no forums, it has a contact page and course description and pictures, videos and links /

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun if you can find all the holes

1    5/27/2009   7/12/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large park with lots of hills, and scattered mature trees. Some areas are more heavily wooded and make for more technical shots, and some brush comes into play as rough. There is a nice lake that comes into play on a few holes and adds a nice challenge. The hills are used very well to make the design interesting, and keep the holes varied throughout the course. There are a number of baskets on slopes which makes for an added level of difficulty.

There are tee signs showing the hole layout and the three tees for each hole. The different tees usually gave totally different looks at the holes, and made for very different levels of difficulty which is nice.

There is a really nice variety of holes here, with everything from ace run holes to more difficult and technical shots. The land is used well to really make a set of fun and interesting holes that challenge many different parts of your game if you want to get birdies here.
Cons: The navigation on this course was pretty bad in spots. I don't like having to wander around the park looking for the next tee, and there are definitely places where this was necessary for a first time player. I would definitely recommend a map or guide the first time you play here, and that will make the course much more enjoyable.

There were a few places where the course played very close to heavily used areas of the park, and this meant there was some pedestrian traffic on some holes. The other park users seemed polite and aware of disc golf, but you'll still need to watch out for people wandering on to some of the fairways.
Other Thoughts: This course offers a lot of different challenges, and would be a really nice course if it had enough signage to take care of the navigation issues. The multiple tees mean that it is accessible for beginners but can still offer good challenges to more experienced players. There are places to lose discs here, so watch out for the lake and some areas of thick rough.

This course was a lot of fun to play, and I would definitely recommend making a stop here. If possible, play with a local or take a map, otherwise expect to spend time trying to figure out the course layout.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.