Disc Golf Store
Collinsville, IL 
Woodland Park Share
Uploaded By: fairweather_fan Hole #5 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 317ft.   3 / 357ft.   3 / 458ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket (OB sluiceway can be seen cutting from L to R in pic)



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Sold Course

2-4    5/21/2013   11/21/2013
Review By: discdanny
Played: 37  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 1.3 Years
Pros: The Pros Include:
-Concrete Pads
-Multiple Pads
-Multiple Basket Locations
-Restrooms
-Pavilions
-Lake/ Stream
-Shots over water
-Great mixture of shots throughout the course
-Awesome Old Trees
Cons: -Odd walks to some of the holes
-Sometimes there are some shady crowds loitering around.
-Possibility of hitting moving cars if you go OB on a hole
Other Thoughts: Pretty good course.. I haven't made it out to the area to play it enough

fun but confusing course

1    9/22/2013   9/27/2013
Review By: gmoney1984
Played: 97  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 1.5 Years
Pros: 1. 3 Different sets of Tee pads
2. Can do long run ups on big tee pads
3. Good use of terrain
4. Well designed holes
5. Chance for aces on a couple of downhill shots

Cons: 1. tough to know where the next hole is at in several spots
2. bad course flow in general
3. chances to lose discs in water
Other Thoughts: Overall I liked this course but we spent about 20 minutes extra trying to find all the holes. Print out the map from the links/files section! I did not and paid for it!

Really Bad..

1    9/14/2013   9/14/2013
Review By: Tony
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice elevations and good landscaping
Cons: Bee hives, bad signage dont have a clue where to go.. Did i mention getting stung by 3 bees hornets wasps along water at hole 3.. Quit at 9...not the greatest neighborhood either

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fun and Challenging

5+    8/11/2013   8/11/2013
Review By: Golden Tuna
Played: 117  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 13.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging - Well maintained - 3 tee pads - Multiple pin placements - great mix of shots - Large tee pads - Restrooms & Water fountains

Woodland Park is a great course that has something for players of all skill levels. With 3 different sets of tee pads, you can choose how difficult you want your round to be. The reds and whites are crushed limestone and beginner friendly The (longer) blue tee pads are concrete. When the pins are in their longer positions, the blue tee pads make this course championship caliber. There are also numerous "extreme" positions that will put your pride in check. The course is very scenic as well as it is spread across rolling hills and around the lake. The water holes present an extra challenge of risk vs reward and can easily be the difference between a good round or a bad one.
Cons: Flow - Tee signs only on shortest tees - Old baskets - Pedestrian traffic

There are a couple places where holes criss cross each other and it would be hard for a first timer to find their way around. Additionally, there are a couple of the blue tee pads that are "hidden" because they are in a place that make the hole completely different. It would be very difficult for a first timer to play the blues by themselves. Additionally, there are only tee signs on the (shortest) red tee pads so you don't really know your distances from the other pads. The baskets, while DGA Mach II's (I believe) are old and rusty. They don't necessarily hurt you putting/score, but with a few updates, like new baskets and tee signs, this course would easily rank a 4.5 or even 5. Lastly, there are a lot of people that like to sit in the middle of the fairways for a picnic lunch. Most times, if you make them aware, they'll move. But you do occasionally run into jerks that just won't budge.
Other Thoughts: The "cons" aside, if you know your way around and can judge distance pretty well, this is an awesome course. If you haven't played Woodland Park, you definitely should, but I'd recommend printing a map or coming out on a league day so you can lean on the locals for guidance. In regards to the pedestrian traffic, most people are nice, but you can't fix stupid, so sometimes you just have to play around them.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Woodland

1    7/15/2013   7/15/2013
Review By: bschuff
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
Pros: -Feels like its a mix of different courses all in one.
-Great use of land and space.
-Beautiful trees and wild life.
-Has 3 different tee off spots for different skill levels.
-Easy to get to and right off I-70.
-Takes a certain degree of skill to curve around trees, lakes and ditches.
-The rolling hills and elevation is fantastic.
-A lot of birdie chances.
Cons: -Please please please print off a map of the course before going. Impossible to navagate and play without map.
-Some holes play just feet away from the lake making it easy to lose a disc.
-A lot of trash and glass on the course.
-The course is right on top of a lot of roads and playgrounds.
-Baskets are older and the chains are hard. Easy to bounce a disc off the chains and out even if its a perfect throw.
-Seems the course is hardly used and can use some up keep.
-The course isn't very fluid and sometimes have to walk long distances to play the next hole.
Other Thoughts: Overall this was a fun course and I will play it again. It felt a lot like JB except smaller and with water hazards. I would advise not playing later in the day or the weekend just because the playgrounds may be packed with kids and people making some of the holes difficult to play. Print a map out of the course before playing or you will be unable to find your way around.

 :(

1    2/20/2012   2/23/2012
Review By: TreeHate
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.3 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This park is beautiful adding a challenge with water, hills, trees, and awesome scenery, IE ducks, geese, birds.
This park is very easy to find and easily accessible.
Cons: I cant believe this course has such a high rating.
I have never left a course in the middle of a game, but i did this one. I registered on this site just to review this course.
Beautiful park, easy to find, however the hole placement is a joke, it should be a 9 or 12 instead of 18. The park goers ignore players, (which there are a lot of) and the signs are mislabeled and in some cases missing or broken.
All the goals chains are rusted.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Home of the Chain Gang Club Championship

5+    1/1/2012   1/3/2012
Review By: Gflap
Played: 319  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 11.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is less than 3 miles from I-70. Large park with other amenities. 3 sets of tee pads for all levels of play. Plenty of trees, 2 ponds and elevation change to present a challenge for multiple shots. Interesting pin placements where accurate putting is a must. The B placements have been in place for over a year now and definitely change the course vs the originals. Course is technical and long from the concrete (blue) pads...a tough par 55.
Cons: Some navigational issues such as long walk between hole 5 and 6. Shared fairway with creek in the middle on hole 3 and 4. During nice weather days there may some interference with other park goers. Baskets are older however they still catch fine.
Other Thoughts: The first time I played this course I was not that impressed, however after playing it a few more times, it has become a favorite due to the challenge and fun factor of different shot making needed to score well. Just participated in the 10th annual Headache Bowl on New Years day with 102 total participants and the Chaingang always do a good job running this event. Although, I am still waiting on my tag. For easier play and navigation I recommend printing a map and or find a guide.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The enigmatic Woodland Chains

1    11/19/2011   11/21/2011
Review By: stubborn puppet
Played: 43  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 3.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: .
> Excellent and creative use of terrain, water hazards, trees and shot shaping opportunities.

> Three tees for every hole that mostly (especially the blue/pro tees) make a big difference in the way the hole plays.

> Multiple Pin placements are obviously available on the course, but not listed on the map or signs.

> Scenic park complete with ducks, geese and swans for added entertainment value.

> Good mix of short and long holes that don't feel like anything is missing or a shortcut.

> Tee signs did a good job of showing the multiple tees.

.
Cons: .
> The course layout is beyond confusing. Even with 2 really good maps, you spend a good deal of time wandering (and wondering) to look for the next tee.

> Some areas of the course really need some maintenance and rebuilding. A few spots were actually dangerous due to poor construction or rotting wood and sinking cement blocks.

>The baskets have seen better days and could use a refurb. They also need a coat of bright paint so they can be seen from further than 60 ft. away.

> Trash, trash and more trash. Not much in the way of garbage cans, but mostly the park is just littered up from one end to the other leaving the impression that a dump must be just right around the corner... yuck.

> No respect for the course from other park patrons. We had to have several confrontations with folks who were picnicing, taking pictures, playing catch and just lollygagging about on the fairways and would not move, even when asked very nicely twice.

>Many holes and basket placements are simply too close to parking lots, streets, playgrounds and pavilions to be safe and make me wonder who thought that was a good idea. Some tees even require you to throw over a parking lot, roadway or walking path... stupid idea.

> Tee signs were really cheap and did not do a good job showing actual pin placement.

.
Other Thoughts: .
Don't take the heavy ratio of Cons to Pros as a reason to skip this course: The Woodland Chains DG Course wins BIG on actual playability and I will plan on coming here more often. Considering how far I had to drive, take that as a good sign.

I look forward to building the confidence to play some of the blue tees that required huge throws over the water or through really tight wooded corridors to break into the fairway. The topography is some of the most dramatic I've ever played and gave me plenty of cause to stop and second guess my normal shots to account for a fade that might backfire and go an extra 70 ft. because of a steep slope or a tree that could send me sailing into a water hazard. I truly had a great time with this course.

The things that were annoying about this park (as mentioned in the Cons) were not caused by the actual "playing" of disc golf on the course, but just the frustration of it all between shots:
You had better plan on taking a good map (or two) and allow plenty of time on your first visit for searching for tees and baskets. If your game goes like ours, you will also probably have to give up a shot or two to avoid the dangerous possibility of hitting a bystander who won't move off the course because, "disc golf is no different than playing catch, just throw your frisbee's somewhere else... this is a public park." Fair enough, but I was shocked by the total lack of willingness for folks to just step 30ft. out of the way for a few seconds... jeesh.

The parks deparment and the city of Collinsville really, really need to address the littering issue here. I don't know how it gets to the point that a park that should be a real gem of the community ends up looking like a landfill? This park deserves better.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A good course with some challenge

2-4    9/6/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: wocketpocket
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: --A variety of tees makes this a course worth replaying again and again.
--Great use of trees, water and elevation to challenge you.

Cons: --Baskets are older and rusty.
--Most signs are missing making locating the next tee pad difficult sometimes.
--Referred to in previous reviews, but a major litter problem. Today I saw a used diaper, broken glass, etc.
Other Thoughts: A good course with some very challenging shots. Not altogether set up in a logical way, but fun nonetheless...if you can find all the tee pads/baskets. Bring a rag. Your discs are likely to get muddy or wet.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 good course but needs a little love

5+    5/15/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: urdone00
Played: 123  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 34.4 Years
Pros: bring your A game to this course, with almost every hole having a water hazard or ob that comes into play. a good mixture of short to long holes along with 3 sets of tees gives you a large assortment of shots to throw.
Cons: the shorter tees are made of crushed gravel, this is no con for the reason of good drainage, IF... the pads were level and didnt dish out and retain water or almost break your foot when throwing(loose 1/2 disc rating). no trash cans around course .
Other Thoughts: due to land configuration of the city park, and it being a multi use park, you will walk a little bit between a few holes.. a overall fun course for all.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.