Davis, CA 
Oxford Circle Park Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #4
3 / 127ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Nice Park, but probably meant for novices like myself

1    5/30/2014   6/6/2014
Review By: sumo21
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Every hole under 300 feet, decent beginner course

-Park setting in a University town

-If you go to UC Davis and live in this area, is just a trip down the stairs and out the door

-Hole 6, shoot through the trees. It's a much shorter window
Cons: -Holes 1 & 9 are located in the kids play area, so a wandering kid could get hit with an errant shot

-2,3,4 are so bunched together

-2, You're throwing into a BBQ/bench area

-3, Short 60 foot hole, but if you're long, your disc is going into incoming traffic

-4, You're shooting back at the bench/bbq area, really close to a bbq stand/pit

-1,3,8 have no tee pads

-An errant drive on 5 could wind up hitting the windows of their apartments/housing. I know, my Champion TL thudded a window. Surprisingly, the window did not shatter.

-The whole park is not being utilized. It seems every hole is on the outskirts of the park, exception 2,3

-Baskets are falling apart and need to be replaced

-Hole 1, you're driving over cars in the parking lot
Other Thoughts: Was excited to leave Sacramento area for a day to try some different courses using public transportation. It took a while to tee off since my friend and I were looking for the first tee pad, which ended up as we threw from the side of the hill where the tee marker was.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Give It Some Credit

5+    1/25/2014   2/7/2014
Review By: elvenschool
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 32.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Trees and design features come into play on the east side holes, forcing you to curve shots and judge distances.
Cons: Few tee areas to speak of, with the first tee especially sketchy (sidewalk shot over a parking lot?). West end is straight and boring.
Other Thoughts: A good course for mid-range and long putter practice, it's also fun for a game of jog golf. This course has been in place for a long time and was designed in the era before golf discs were popular, so it needs to be given some slack for its short length.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good for practice

5+    6/5/2013   6/5/2013
Review By: Flying Bull Chips
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice trees and grass

Picnic tables and BBQs

Friendly locals(sun bathing coeds are a nice bonus in the summer)

A few neat shots

It's a park too

A good course to learn on
Cons: It's tiny

Not much variety

It's a park too thus crowed with bystandards later in the day.

Basket #3 is damaged (by a fallen redwood not vandals)

Missing tee signs

#9 is the only long throw (289ft) and it's right next to the playground. I haven't seen anyone get hit by a disc, yet...
Other Thoughts: This is my home course. It's not much but it can be a more fun if you make up your own course. I play the 9 then play it backwards for a full 18 holes as a warm up. Then just make up your own course to make things more fun and challenging. For example: tee off at the 5th pad through the gap in the trees past the #5 basket, then throw to #1, 9, 8, 7 or 6. Or tee off from the lamp post between the 7th and 8th baskets to #1, 2, 3, 4, 5 or 9. The big grassy area makes a good driving range practicing long throws. Be creative and keep it fresh. #1 is a good basket for practicing your putting. It's always in the shade and it's a good place to jump in with other frolfers as they play through. Fill up your water bottle and empty your bladder beforehand. There are no drinking fountains or bathrooms. Your can play this course and be triumphant with one disc. So grab your favorite midrange or putter.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Come On, It's Not That Bad!

1    8/15/2012   8/27/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 671  Reviewed: 606  Exp: 36.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/19/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a pretty little park with playground, basketball, picnic area and athletic field in the middle. The course plays around the outer edges of the park and doesn't leave much room for errant throws or interaction with other park patrons. Depending on the amound of people in the park, this would be a great course to introduce someone to the game or for the neighborhood junior high players. There are a number of fun little ACE runs here. Most of the pads are concrete. They're small, like minature pads but you really don't need full sized pads here as no run-up is needed. The baskets are DGA with the red numbers. A couple of the baskets have taken some abuse from the vandals.
Cons: The biggest issue I see facing this little pitch and putt course would be the safety and general pedestrian safety aspect. The # 9 basket is set up very close to a playground. I'd just go ahead and throw a roller on this hole if anyone was using the playground equipement. # 2 plays right next to the little picnic area and pagoda. I had to nicely ask a guy with the tinniest little dog I've ever seen to move on # 3.
Other Thoughts: I liked this little course. I played on a Wednesday afternoon and there were very few people using the parks facilities at that time. I think players playing here on a regular basis would occasionally have to skip a hole in the name of peaceful co-existence with the park's community.

There are fun throws to be made here. Embrace this course for what it is instead of complaining about what it's not. It's a simple little 9 hole pitch and putt in a high usage park. It's good for a quick round, or to chase some ACES or to bring your girlfriend. It's not a disc golf exclusive course. It's not a grown up 18 hole championship course with room for you to throw your majestic drives. It's just a fun smaller version. Let's the kids and the newbies enjoy it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

This course shouldn't be

1    6/1/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: Blazer530
Played: 39  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are baskets and teepads... That's about as much good as I can say about it.
Cons: Holes playing neer a playground, picnic tables and a playing field that was full of people when I was there. The basket on hole 3 is the worst I've ever seen on a course, it was missing whole sections of the basket. I could probably throw through this whole course with my putter. The only hole that seems long enough to need more is hole 9 and it plays right up to the edge of a playground.
Other Thoughts: This course is horible. I wouldn't recomend anyone to play it ever.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The only basket course in Davis

5+    11/15/2011   8/5/2012
Review By: humchris85
Played: 113  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 9 baskets
- Well manicured park
- On the right day there are hot co-eds tanning in the field
- A couple of slightly interesting holes
- In the fall some of the trees turn beautiful colors
- Almost every hole is ace-able
- Picnic tables on site (though some are in danger of some of the holes)
- Playground on site for the kids (though I wouldn't let kids play there if I had kids)
- Hole 3's pin location is cool, it's on the edge of a rock wall with a drop off behind it.
- Easy to navigate
- Basic signs on most holes
- Good place to practice putting
Cons: - Some baskets are falling apart. Hole 3 for instance is missing bars from the basket and won't catch discs at times.
- 2 holes play way too close to a playground, defiantly a danger to kids.
- Most holes are way too short, hole 3 I backed up from the regular tee and still aced it with ease with my putter.
- A couple holes play way too close to parking lots, hole 1 plays right over one lot.
- People playing Ultimate Frisbee, Rugby, or other games in the main field of this park are defiantly in danger of being hit with discs
- Super small tee pads
- Cris-crossing holes
- A couple holes play close to the picnic tables making them another danger if anyone is using them
Other Thoughts: 9 holes crammed into a tiny little park. For a college town it sure feels like they should have a little more active of a disc golf community, but from reading through the reviews it seems that the baskets have been trashed for years with no work done to improve the course. Hole 3's basket in particular is the most trashed basket I've ever seen on a course. It's missing large parts of the basket and I've had an ace shot that should have stuck in it, but fell through the bottom where it's missing bars of the cage. Some holes are missing tee signs. I found that if there's no one else on the course that I can make some decent safari layouts, but there's usually some one else on the course or in the field, so it's not really possible most of the time. The disc golfers of Davis need to band together and fight to get either a new nicer course or to at least work on the course that they have.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Why?

1    6/20/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: Speedly
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nine baskets, park is in decent shape.
Cons: Where to begin?

- Course is wedged very poorly into a very small park.
- Holes are not well designed. It seems like some guys made it in about five minutes. Hole 6(?) is arbitrarily made to turn almost 180* in the space of thirty-ish feet, which means that the basket is in spitting distance of the tee, and they just made some random tree a mando, which forces a turn that almost no disc can fly.
- SAFETY. Hole 1 plays over an apartment parking lot, hole 2 plays into a picnic area, hole 8(?) plays dangerously close to anothe parking area, and hole 9 plays through a playground.
- Distance is not needed here, basically, at all.
- Some of the teepads don't even point the right direction. 2's teepad points at least thirty degrees off of the line of play (and at 5's basket, no less).
- Not really kept up. A couple of the baskets are bent pretty badly, old, and torn up. One had its inner ring replaced with baling wire.
Other Thoughts: I'm probably gonna get a good number of thumbs down for this review, but the story of this course must be told.

It's poorly designed, poorly executed, and poorly kept up. I wasted the gas to drive out there from Sacramento, and the fact that it's above even one disc's rating is nothing short of a miracle.

Whoever designed and built this course should be ashamed. Oxford Circle Park DGC is an insult to its players, to its park that it resides in, to its town, and to disc golf itself.

I cannot stress this enough - don't even waste your time going to Oxford Circle DGC.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Meh, it's a course

1    8/20/2011   9/5/2011
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 115  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 holes in the ground
Several fun shots
Tees were on concrete (though sometimes just sidewalks)
Enough tee signs still in to help navigate this very small course (Basket numbers also assisted here)
Cons: Several broken baskets, signs of vandalism
Very little variety in distance, only 2 holes that required any distance at all
Several obstacle-less holes
HUGE safety concerns:
Hole 1 plays out over the parking lot
Hole 9 plays into a kids play area
Several holes shoots right over picnic areas and park benches.
Overlapping holes
Only a few holes that stuck out as interesting to throw at all.
Other Thoughts: I had a tough time trying to decide how to review this course. Because I played this course in the evening with nobody around, the course was actually rather fun, hole 6 provides a very nice, tough, anhyzer shot and hole 9 is a very tricky flip shot. The course's major issue would certainly come out if I had played during a more busy period of activity, as it stands the course has some severe safety hazards. As I lament frequently here, this is the classic example of a course with the wrong number of holes, in a park this tiny with so many other uses, I could see a fun, challenging 6 hole course that could minimize safety concerns and perhaps even be a 2 star course. As of now the fun factor is a 1.5, but I just can't give it up with the current state of the signs, baskets, and safety elements.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 not bad

2-4    5/28/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: arcechris21
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2011
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great for beginner course.
-Good use of trees and facilities to make the course a little more difficult.
Cons: -Couldn't find any problems but I don't live here so I don't whats bad.
-No pro shop.
Other Thoughts: -Course is a little small but its nice to able to get my fix in when I need it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short

1    2/16/2011   2/16/2011
Review By: Joe_Maumy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Any course is better than no course
Cons: the parking sucks, the baskets are trashed and bent. One was being used as a trash can when I was there. A bum was sleeping just off the tee on 6. Signage lacking, hole #1 tees off over parked cars. Could not find the actual tee for hole 5
Other Thoughts: college area, frat houses all around, tons of people walking and riding bikes in the park. Would be better to move this course somewhere else.

There is a cool object course in Davis as well as a course on the UCD campus but it uses street as fairways and seems to play close to some buildings, disc vs glass windows can't end well for the window.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.