Davis, CA 
Oxford Circle Park Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #6
3 / 139ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Meh, it's a course

1    8/20/2011   9/5/2011
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 115  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 holes in the ground
Several fun shots
Tees were on concrete (though sometimes just sidewalks)
Enough tee signs still in to help navigate this very small course (Basket numbers also assisted here)
Cons: Several broken baskets, signs of vandalism
Very little variety in distance, only 2 holes that required any distance at all
Several obstacle-less holes
HUGE safety concerns:
Hole 1 plays out over the parking lot
Hole 9 plays into a kids play area
Several holes shoots right over picnic areas and park benches.
Overlapping holes
Only a few holes that stuck out as interesting to throw at all.
Other Thoughts: I had a tough time trying to decide how to review this course. Because I played this course in the evening with nobody around, the course was actually rather fun, hole 6 provides a very nice, tough, anhyzer shot and hole 9 is a very tricky flip shot. The course's major issue would certainly come out if I had played during a more busy period of activity, as it stands the course has some severe safety hazards. As I lament frequently here, this is the classic example of a course with the wrong number of holes, in a park this tiny with so many other uses, I could see a fun, challenging 6 hole course that could minimize safety concerns and perhaps even be a 2 star course. As of now the fun factor is a 1.5, but I just can't give it up with the current state of the signs, baskets, and safety elements.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short

1    2/16/2011   2/16/2011
Review By: Joe_Maumy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Any course is better than no course
Cons: the parking sucks, the baskets are trashed and bent. One was being used as a trash can when I was there. A bum was sleeping just off the tee on 6. Signage lacking, hole #1 tees off over parked cars. Could not find the actual tee for hole 5
Other Thoughts: college area, frat houses all around, tons of people walking and riding bikes in the park. Would be better to move this course somewhere else.

There is a cool object course in Davis as well as a course on the UCD campus but it uses street as fairways and seems to play close to some buildings, disc vs glass windows can't end well for the window.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pointless

2-4    12/8/2008   6/26/2009
Review By: JohnAmber
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.4 Years
Pros: It's a fantastic course to putt on, if you just need a little work. It's probably really cool to have by if you live in those dorms.
Cons: You can't drive and can barely do medium putts. Parking is usually horrid during the school year and when it warms up, there are people all over the park, sunbathing, making it pointless to play.
Other Thoughts: Check out http://daviswiki.org/Disc_Golf

The site has some interesting resources and a couple of examples of "makeshift courses", including one on the UCD campus, which is very fun if done while school is out (ie summer, holidays or sundays). If you want to play actual basket disc golf, go to woodland.

 Ehhhh

2-4    4/28/2009   4/29/2009
Review By: welshjohn74
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 19.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to play. Good for people new to the game.
Cons: Course is not challenging at all.
Other Thoughts: I met a Davis local while playing the course. He told me they put in the park and baskets around 1973 and they haven't moved the baskets since then! The baskets are in need of repair and the layout is absolutely awful. He had his own version of the course, which I found to be much better. If no one else is playing, I suggest you make up your own course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Easy=Difficult

10/5/2007   10/5/2007
Review By: ladd2219
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good for beginners who can't throw very far.
Good for putting practice.
Cons: *The park is fairly well maintained but some of the baskets have been abused pretty badly and are broken or crooked.
*Pedestrian Hazards - In between many of the UCDavis dorms so there are often people walking through or sitting in the grass.
*Very, very short. One hole is only about 30 feet long with no clear tee.
*Transient hang out + nearby dorms = Sometimes very dirty, beer bottles everywhere.
Other Thoughts: Bring only a putter or approach disc. If you don't live in the area, don't bother visiting. It's hardly worth it even if you do live here.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center