Davis, CA 
Oxford Circle Park Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #3
3 / 57ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Give It Some Credit

5+    1/25/2014   2/7/2014
Review By: elvenschool
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 32.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Trees and design features come into play on the east side holes, forcing you to curve shots and judge distances.
Cons: Few tee areas to speak of, with the first tee especially sketchy (sidewalk shot over a parking lot?). West end is straight and boring.
Other Thoughts: A good course for mid-range and long putter practice, it's also fun for a game of jog golf. This course has been in place for a long time and was designed in the era before golf discs were popular, so it needs to be given some slack for its short length.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good for practice

5+    6/5/2013   6/5/2013
Review By: Flying Bull Chips
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice trees and grass

Picnic tables and BBQs

Friendly locals(sun bathing coeds are a nice bonus in the summer)

A few neat shots

It's a park too

A good course to learn on
Cons: It's tiny

Not much variety

It's a park too thus crowed with bystandards later in the day.

Basket #3 is damaged (by a fallen redwood not vandals)

Missing tee signs

#9 is the only long throw (289ft) and it's right next to the playground. I haven't seen anyone get hit by a disc, yet...
Other Thoughts: This is my home course. It's not much but it can be a more fun if you make up your own course. I play the 9 then play it backwards for a full 18 holes as a warm up. Then just make up your own course to make things more fun and challenging. For example: tee off at the 5th pad through the gap in the trees past the #5 basket, then throw to #1, 9, 8, 7 or 6. Or tee off from the lamp post between the 7th and 8th baskets to #1, 2, 3, 4, 5 or 9. The big grassy area makes a good driving range practicing long throws. Be creative and keep it fresh. #1 is a good basket for practicing your putting. It's always in the shade and it's a good place to jump in with other frolfers as they play through. Fill up your water bottle and empty your bladder beforehand. There are no drinking fountains or bathrooms. Your can play this course and be triumphant with one disc. So grab your favorite midrange or putter.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Come On, It's Not That Bad!

1    8/15/2012   8/27/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 614  Exp: 36.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/19/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a pretty little park with playground, basketball, picnic area and athletic field in the middle. The course plays around the outer edges of the park and doesn't leave much room for errant throws or interaction with other park patrons. Depending on the amound of people in the park, this would be a great course to introduce someone to the game or for the neighborhood junior high players. There are a number of fun little ACE runs here. Most of the pads are concrete. They're small, like minature pads but you really don't need full sized pads here as no run-up is needed. The baskets are DGA with the red numbers. A couple of the baskets have taken some abuse from the vandals.
Cons: The biggest issue I see facing this little pitch and putt course would be the safety and general pedestrian safety aspect. The # 9 basket is set up very close to a playground. I'd just go ahead and throw a roller on this hole if anyone was using the playground equipement. # 2 plays right next to the little picnic area and pagoda. I had to nicely ask a guy with the tinniest little dog I've ever seen to move on # 3.
Other Thoughts: I liked this little course. I played on a Wednesday afternoon and there were very few people using the parks facilities at that time. I think players playing here on a regular basis would occasionally have to skip a hole in the name of peaceful co-existence with the park's community.

There are fun throws to be made here. Embrace this course for what it is instead of complaining about what it's not. It's a simple little 9 hole pitch and putt in a high usage park. It's good for a quick round, or to chase some ACES or to bring your girlfriend. It's not a disc golf exclusive course. It's not a grown up 18 hole championship course with room for you to throw your majestic drives. It's just a fun smaller version. Let's the kids and the newbies enjoy it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 not bad

2-4    5/28/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: arcechris21
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2011
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great for beginner course.
-Good use of trees and facilities to make the course a little more difficult.
Cons: -Couldn't find any problems but I don't live here so I don't whats bad.
-No pro shop.
Other Thoughts: -Course is a little small but its nice to able to get my fix in when I need it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.