Huntington, WV 
Rotary Park Share
Uploaded By: JMONEY Hole #9 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 186ft.   3 / 282ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Pro Tee Sign

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Challenging Course Makes For A Nice Pit Stop.

1    8/14/2016   8/17/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1005  Reviewed: 955  Exp: 38.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: With two courses to pick from here in the hills of West Virginia, players have choices to make. Supposedly, Rotary Park is a little less challenging than it's neighbor course, Indian Rock. The area here is typical West Virginia rugged and extremely hilly.

Rotary Park has nice concrete tee pads, older baskets and sub standard tee signs. They are very simple little metal signs with stick on tee signs over the metal. As you can expect, these stick-on signs don't last long in the weather or with the vandals.

There are lots of fun, challenging holes here. # 5 has a lovely, engineered tee pad and then the basket sits on a sloping hillside. # 6 is a pretty hole, 279' and from a raised tee pad. The course finishes with two fun downhill holes. # 18 is 300 plus feet down to a basket near some trees. And then the finishing hole, # 19, is 300' feet to a basket. There is one tree in your route that is a mando left. My drive managed to go through the very narrow Y of had tree branches.

Perhaps the biggest challenge here are the sloping fairways and treacherous basket placements. There are serious rollaway possibilities here. It can really mess with your mind when putting or on your approaches.
Cons: The signs could use some work. They're small, simple and a little difficult to read at times.

Some tee pads were a little shorter than I would have liked.

There are some erosion problems in a few places. Hiking this hilly course is quite a workout.

Other Thoughts: This is a nice, challenging course for even intermediate/advanced players but a total recreational duffer like myself, can play and enjoy it. There are lots of holes on treacherous hillsides. After all the hilly trekking, the last thing you need or want is a carom 60' down a steep hillside.

Solid course which is compatible with the game of many players. Try it! You'll see.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Review of Rotary Park DGC

2-4    7/9/2016   7/12/2016
Review By: 1234
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of elevation, basket placements, length of fairways, park location, terrains, and beautiful scenery.
Cons: Park entrance lists restrooms and water as being located in park but you will not pass any on way to parking at the course or on the course.
Meaning bring liquids and use bathroom beforehand.
Would like to see better directions to next tee pads and most baskets are somewhat hard to find.
Terrain is extremely varied but for someone who cannot traverse this type of terrain you can skip these baskets and cherry pick easier holes.
Other Thoughts: Rotary Park Disc Golf Course is a nice outing for anyone wishing to enjoy a round of disc golf or a fine days outing. Centrally located to a major thoroughfare and many businesses Rotary Park is beautifully perched atop the city. The park provides a getaway of nature scenery not seen in the city of green hills, trees, and especially in the fall and winter, wonderful long views of mountainous terrain West Virginia is so known to provide.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Championship course that needs some TLC

1    5/10/2015   5/17/2015
Review By: GMcAtee
Played: 343  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 7.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent design.
Great mix of length, elevation, open/wooded holes.
Tons of risk/reward.
Plenty of roll away putt opportunities with basket placements.
Cons: Tee signs don't show anything but hole # and distance.
Most of the wooded holes are goat paths.
Storm damage hasn't been cleaned up for a while. Massive fallen tree on one of the holes covers the whole fairway.
Other Thoughts: I think it was hole 5 that was a massive shot slightly downhill with road OB to the right and basket on side of steep hill. I threw several drives cause it was so fun. A couple of shots hit the hill by the basket and rolled downhill, across the road. While retrieving my discs, I realized across the road is also a steep drop off in the woods and found 2 other discs along with mine. This hole must be a disc eater!

With some TLC, this course could easily equal Mt. Airy in Cincinnati.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a stop

1    4/9/2012   4/9/2012
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 7.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 holes built around the top of a hill in a city park. Baskets were all in good shape and there were concrete tee pads for each hole. Most holes had 2 tee locations for additional variety or difficulty.

The wooded holes on this course are designed well, and a pleasure to play. Nice tight, technical lines. There is also nice use of the elevation and hillsides. Instead of simply going up and down repeatedly, Indian Rock has several holes, 13-15, that play along the hillside. It add some risk to drives, and makes landing your drive or approach flat important. It was a nice change from many courses.

Variety could be considered a pro as there are also wide open shots in fields to balance out the technical wooded holes.
Cons: Signs at tee pads are pretty basic. They do not show any layout for the holes or basket positions. Not a huge issue except on a couple blind holes.

A few tee pads were either short or narrow.

By my count there are 11 holes that require straight shots with no line shaping at all. There is also 8 holes that are in wide open fields. Those 8 holes almost felt like fillers. None were exceptionally long either. Almost all of them could be easily reached by an advanced player.
Other Thoughts: While I really enjoyed the wooded holes on this course, the open holes really didn't offer much enjoyment. And since there were 8 of them that really hurts the overall course IMO. This would probably be a good place to learn the game though. The wooded holes are fairly tight, and require some decent placement with a putter or a mid. The open holes are not so long a newer player would get intimidated throwing them. I wouldn't make a special trip to play this course, but it would make a good place to learn the game, or to stop by on a road trip.

And either they changed the course or I completely missed the shot under the bridge. #3 was a wide open shot with woods to the right as I played it. It does look like there may be some alternate basket positions, so maybe the course layout changes from time to time.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 2nd Round

1    8/23/2011   9/2/2011
Review By: ABCount
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: ***Keep in mind, I am new to this sport and have only played three different courses***

I love the idea of two different tees. Being a beginner, I played the short tees. There is a lot of variety on the course--Some holes in the wide open, while others in the woods with tight fairways.
Cons: The signage is very poor. The elevation changes are severe...I was physically tired after my round (albeit, in 90+ degree weather).
Other Thoughts: I really want to like this course--After I gain more experience, I think that I'll either love it or hate it. As a "newbie," I found it challenging, so I am anxious to play it sister course that's rated for "experts."

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.