Huntington, WV
Rotary Park Share
Uploaded By: JMONEY Hole #10 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 354ft.   3 / 687ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Pro Tee Sign



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
What a Great Course

5+    9/2/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: dgcembrist
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rotary is a great park and great disc golf course all around. My favorite part about Rotary is the variation between holes. Almost every hole is completely different from all the rest. There are long and short holes, multiple pin placements on each hole, and elevation changes throughout. The course winds in and out of the woods on more than one occasion. There are two concrete tee pads at every hole, lots of benches and trash cans, and restrooms at the bottom of the hill behind the #8 basket. The park is pet friendly as well.
Cons: The signage at the tees could be better. There is a sign at every box with distances to each pin placement but pictures showing pin placements for the holes that aren't visible from the tee pads would be convenient for newcomers and visitors.
Other Thoughts: The course was designed by 1986 Worlds Champion Johnny Sias.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pro caliber

1    4/14/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 139  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 25.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fantastic elevation changes

Very diverse - winds in and out of woods

Has all the shots

Long and short tee's

Concrete Pads

Trash cans and benches everywhere
Cons: The tee signs could be more helpful if they showed pin placement.

A couple holes play close to black top pathways
Other Thoughts: This is a well balanced course.

The first couple holes are wooded. Then you come out for a few absolutely gorgeous open holes. Hole's 4 - 6 have great elevation and breathtaking views. 7 shoots you down a steep decline that is tight and lined by trees. The next few are open, many of which have very tricky pin placements, then you really enter the woods in the back nine. These holes are tight and technical. The length mellows back here a bit to compensate for the tight lines. You spill back out into the open for the last few holes.

This course has ideal distance. It has long bomber shots over 400 feet, many 350ish holes, some 300's and a few nice ace runs (particularly in the back nine).

The elevation makes this course a destination spot. Very few holes are flat. You need to be careful with your fades and skips. I disc'd down or up on several holes for the length due to major elevation changes.

Right, left and strait shots are all present.

This course is a high recommend. The play is top notch and the scenery is awesome.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Oscillating Tightness

1    4/8/2010   4/13/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 325  Reviewed: 324  Exp: 5.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Two concrete tees per hole. Great variety, alternating between long, open downhill bombs and tight wooded holes. Smattering of benches and trash cans.
Cons:
Tee signs a bit tired-looking. Occasional dog-walker or jogger to avoid.
Other Thoughts:
The course starts at the very back of the park, which essentially is one very long hill containing numerous grassy/open plateaus, defined and separated by small patches of woods. After beginning with a slight up, then a steep down, wooded-hole combo, the next few holes take you slowly down the open-n-grassy hill, with plenty of chances to let loose and admire your shots, particularly on #6. Number 7 is a steep drop through the woods, then three more open holes, fairly flat, but some challenging (near steep drop-off) basket positions. Bit of a steep walk up to #11, where you play four tight wooded holes. Up-n-over a grassy slope for #16, finishing with three top-of-hill long-n-open finishing holes (yes, there is a bonus 19th basket, near the parking lot, probably serves as a practice basket as well).

Favourite hole: #17. 360-degree scenic view from one of the highest points in the park, long-n-straight downhill shot to a basket nestled between a couple large hardwoods.
Least Favourite: #14, not because it's a bad hole, but because it destroyed my score! :-( Sharp-n-short mando-enforced left-turner, but you are also fighting against a left-to-right slope, trees, and low branches, combining to form a tight flight-path.

Being not too far off I64, with food/petrol options nearby, and another 18-hole courses on the same site, this is course is definitely worth a visit if in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 This is a good course

1    12/19/2009   1/13/2010
Review By: airforcechck
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The local people were very friendly when we asked where hole one was located. My husband and I were able to let our dog run free with us and there was other dogs running free. The course did go up hills and into the woods. I liked the fact that there are two courses right there side by side. The area was clean. We spent a day out enjoying ourselves at this park. We liked that there is long and short tees.
Cons: There isn't any maps there at the course, you have to go online for maps. There wasn't always signs pointing to where the next hole was. Also there was at least one hole that is a challenge to find ones of the tees. I think it was the short tee that we didn't see until we had already thrown from the long tee.
Other Thoughts: It was kind of muddy when we went, but other wise it offered a nice mixture of elevations and shots.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing course for everyone

5+    9/14/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: newsguru
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great hole placements - Difficult and creative course layout by disc golf world champion - Mix of open and wooded holes - Well kept tee pads for pros and ams - Nice baskets - Beautiful rolling hills - No water hazards - Great elevation changes make for hard shots - Can mostly be played with a midrange and putter -
Cons: Some of the holes in the woods can be difficult to walk if you're older or have bad knees (easy for most people) - Can get crowded with groups on the weekends - trash can be a problem - Not enough garbage cans or seats -
Other Thoughts: This is the course I've learned to play disc golf on and I'm so glad I picked up the sport. This course is a must play if you're in the area or even in the entire state. If you're in the mood for a harder course, check out the 18-hole Indian Rock Course (also in the park). The course will force you to learn how to throw with accuracy but is pretty forgiving.

If you lose your disc visit the Huntington Disc Golf Club Web site to post what kind of disc it was. You usually get it back if another local player finds it. Great, inviting people at the course that are willing to give directions or join up for a group round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

1    4/21/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a hilly area devoted to disc golf with a mix of grassy open areas, and heavily wooded areas. The course uses the different terrains excellently, with most holes having some sort of elevation. It was nice to have some more open holes mixed in throughout the course for variety, so it never felt too repetitive.

There was a nice mix of shorter technical holes with longer holes that left room for real drives. The shorter holes were generally tight and wooded, and many had tricky greens with a lot of roll-away possibilities. The longer holes were more open, but had some elevation and some thick rough to punish shots that left the fairways.

There are nice signs throughout the course, showing the alternate pin placements and hole layout along with lengths. There are two tees for every hole, and each has it's own sign so there's no extra walking to see the signs when you play from the longs. Both sets of tees are very nice concrete that seemed plenty big. The different tees and pin placements really changed the course, so there's lots of ways to play the course, and definitely helps make it fun for different skill levels.

Most of the people we met at the course were extremely friendly and helpful, and clearly the course is well taken care of by the locals. There was really no trash around, and all the grass was well mowed. The wooded fairways were kept nicely cleared of brush and dead limbs.
Cons: It would be really nice to have markers on the hole signs that show which position the pins are in. Once on the course, navigation is easy, but it's not at all obvious where the first tee for this course or the other course beginning at the same parking lot are, we had to ask someone.

There are some blind holes, and so first time players might have to do some scouting/spotting in the woods. Be especially careful on some of the greens, as even good drives and approaches have the potential to take nasty bounces or rolls (not a con for me, just a heads up).

It got a little buggy in some of the wooded areas, make sure you bring bug spray. There were some large groups of new players who really didn't understand course etiquette and weren't interested in learning, and the locals said that this has been a problem at the course.
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot of fun to play, and offers different challenges throughout. Newer players will enjoy the short tees, though the woods offer lots of places to lose discs, and there are still some pretty challenging shots. More experienced players will enjoy the long tees, they provide different looks and more challenge, while still playing like a well designed course not just extra long tees thrown in after the initial design.

This course is definitely worth the trip to play, especially when paired with Indian Rock (in the same park). If you have the chance, spend some time here and check out both courses, though this is the one I would recommend iif you only have time for one.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Diverse Course

5+    5/16/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: sloshed
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of open and wooded holes.
Great elevation changes.
Great diversity in hole distance.
Good tee signs.
Great risk reward.
Great overall upkeep of course.
Cons: Can be a little tricky to navigate in a couple spots.
Signs from one hole to next could be better.
Couple of holes are easy to lose discs on due to terain.
Other Thoughts: A great course to play!!!! There are many fun and challenging holes that are very diverse. Excellent stop for anyone passing through this way.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Sick Course!

5+    5/17/2008   5/17/2009
Review By: B Stone
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Actually there are 2, 18-hole courses on site. Challenging course lots of variability. Straight, uphill and downhill holes. Two different tee-boxes for each hole, normal and pro
Cons: Newest course and pro tees not for beginners/intermediate, as it is heavily wooded, tight, and technical. No water hazards
Other Thoughts: I learned to play DG on this course while attending nearby Marshall University. I have played DG since 2001, as well as many courses and this is still my favorite. It was my home course from 2001-2006. Now my home course is Creekside in SLC, UT.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bring Discs that won't Roll !!!

5+    12/29/2008   11/25/2008
Review By: dobbins66
Played: 78  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 12/31/2008
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great Course with a bit of everything and a LOT of elevation changes.
Twin Tees and Pin Placements on each hole made for a great well rounded course. Good signage at the Tees.
Many challenging holes that offer the chance for an easy two but be prepared if you miss a little - The course is famous(infamous) for stray putts rolling a very long way from the target. Play it safe when in doubt.
Nice scenic disc golf holes such as: #2 - a low straight shot down through the mature pine trees and #17 - a 300 downhill shot to a small triangle green with OB on all three sides.
Great bunch of locals make everyone feel welcome and you can always seem to find someone to throw with.
Cons: If not in good health this might not be the best course for you - It is a workout.
The wooded holes are very slick when wet and that coupled with the sometimes extreme angels of the fairways makes it a necessity to be careful.
Greens in the woods are very unfriendly - Not really a con just a warning.
May be a too short for some but don't underestimate it.
Other Thoughts: This place will turn a 30' deuce putt into a 100' comeback for Par in a second. If you want to get a solid short game there might be no place better to work on it.
A 19th hole exists that plays to the practice basket and if two rounds from different tees is not enough you can walk 50 yards from #19 and tee off on #1 at "Indian Rock" - Another 18 hole course using the other side of the Park. Bring your climbing gear for this one too!
Very Nice course in a beautiful location designed by one of the all-time greats - It shows.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Love the hills

1    5/23/2008   9/5/2008
Review By: Olorin
Played: 294  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 34.9 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I only played the short tees and the baskets were mostly in the shorter A position with 4 holes in the B layout, so my comments mostly reflect this layout.

Designed by former World champion Johnny Sias, this is a very enjoyable course with great variety! With 2 sets of tee pads and 2 basket positions there are 4 layouts that vary from 4227 to 6564 ft, so there are suitable challenges for many skill levels. As one would hope for a West Virginia course there were elevation changes on almost every hole, and some were quite dramatic (e.g. downhill drops of 45, 50, and 35 ft.). Be prepared for hiking some ups and downs. With many scenic hills, woods, grass, and old growth hard wood trees it's a very pretty course. There's also great terrain variety with some holes in the woods, some open crush shots over manicured grass fairways, and some with a mixture of trees and green grass (7 Woods/ 4 Open/ 7 Mixed). The well mowed grass on the more open holes have the feel of a traditional golf course. Once I found the first tee I had no real problems navigating the course. The local players are extremely friendly; one of the club leaders even got his friend to give me a commemorative disc!
Cons: Not much to mention…
It would help to have a marker for the current basket position to show if the basket is in the A or B layout.
The layout I played could use a little more fairway shape variety since most were straight and only one was a dogleg left (13 St/ 1 Lt/ 4 R)
Other Thoughts: Course Level: The Short A layout is borderline Red or White level. It's an easy White or difficult Red level, but I called it White. (Most suitable for Intermediate players rated 875-925.)
The hole lengths from the Short tees were on the short side for White level players, but it would be a good challenge for Red level players. Also, the length variety was lower than average with the majority of holes in the 200-299 ft. range (4<199/ 12 of 200-299/ 2<399).
I liked the back 9 greens better than the front because the back nine has more holes in the woods.
The tee signs are adequate but basic, the tees are concrete, and the Mach II baskets are good but getting just a little old. The online map is also sufficient but average.

You be the judge
My favorite hole is number 2-- A really fun, straight, tree lined corridor with a steep downhill elevation drop of 45 ft makes what I think of as a quintessential WV hole!

If you have a chance I recommend that you play this course!

NOTE: Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole evaluations, and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my reviews at http://sports.groups.yahoo.co...ourseReviews/

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.