Huntington, WV 
Rotary Park Share
Uploaded By: JMONEY Hole #6 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 279ft.   3 / 351ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Pro Tee Sign



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Bring Discs that won't Roll !!!

5+    12/29/2008   11/25/2008
Review By: dobbins66
Played: 85  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/31/2008
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great Course with a bit of everything and a LOT of elevation changes.
Twin Tees and Pin Placements on each hole made for a great well rounded course. Good signage at the Tees.
Many challenging holes that offer the chance for an easy two but be prepared if you miss a little - The course is famous(infamous) for stray putts rolling a very long way from the target. Play it safe when in doubt.
Nice scenic disc golf holes such as: #2 - a low straight shot down through the mature pine trees and #17 - a 300 downhill shot to a small triangle green with OB on all three sides.
Great bunch of locals make everyone feel welcome and you can always seem to find someone to throw with.
Cons: If not in good health this might not be the best course for you - It is a workout.
The wooded holes are very slick when wet and that coupled with the sometimes extreme angels of the fairways makes it a necessity to be careful.
Greens in the woods are very unfriendly - Not really a con just a warning.
May be a too short for some but don't underestimate it.
Other Thoughts: This place will turn a 30' deuce putt into a 100' comeback for Par in a second. If you want to get a solid short game there might be no place better to work on it.
A 19th hole exists that plays to the practice basket and if two rounds from different tees is not enough you can walk 50 yards from #19 and tee off on #1 at "Indian Rock" - Another 18 hole course using the other side of the Park. Bring your climbing gear for this one too!
Very Nice course in a beautiful location designed by one of the all-time greats - It shows.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Love the hills

1    5/23/2008   9/5/2008
Review By: Olorin
Played: 304  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.6 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I only played the short tees and the baskets were mostly in the shorter A position with 4 holes in the B layout, so my comments mostly reflect this layout.

Designed by former World champion Johnny Sias, this is a very enjoyable course with great variety! With 2 sets of tee pads and 2 basket positions there are 4 layouts that vary from 4227 to 6564 ft, so there are suitable challenges for many skill levels. As one would hope for a West Virginia course there were elevation changes on almost every hole, and some were quite dramatic (e.g. downhill drops of 45, 50, and 35 ft.). Be prepared for hiking some ups and downs. With many scenic hills, woods, grass, and old growth hard wood trees it's a very pretty course. There's also great terrain variety with some holes in the woods, some open crush shots over manicured grass fairways, and some with a mixture of trees and green grass (7 Woods/ 4 Open/ 7 Mixed). The well mowed grass on the more open holes have the feel of a traditional golf course. Once I found the first tee I had no real problems navigating the course. The local players are extremely friendly; one of the club leaders even got his friend to give me a commemorative disc!
Cons: Not much to mention…
It would help to have a marker for the current basket position to show if the basket is in the A or B layout.
The layout I played could use a little more fairway shape variety since most were straight and only one was a dogleg left (13 St/ 1 Lt/ 4 R)
Other Thoughts: Course Level: The Short A layout is borderline Red or White level. It's an easy White or difficult Red level, but I called it White. (Most suitable for Intermediate players rated 875-925.)
The hole lengths from the Short tees were on the short side for White level players, but it would be a good challenge for Red level players. Also, the length variety was lower than average with the majority of holes in the 200-299 ft. range (4<199/ 12 of 200-299/ 2<399).
I liked the back 9 greens better than the front because the back nine has more holes in the woods.
The tee signs are adequate but basic, the tees are concrete, and the Mach II baskets are good but getting just a little old. The online map is also sufficient but average.

You be the judge
My favorite hole is number 2-- A really fun, straight, tree lined corridor with a steep downhill elevation drop of 45 ft makes what I think of as a quintessential WV hole!

If you have a chance I recommend that you play this course!

NOTE: Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole evaluations, and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my reviews at http://sports.groups.yahoo.co...ourseReviews/

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

2/26/2008   2/26/2008
Review By: tenWatts
Played: 50  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/3/2008
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a terrific course. The last time I played it, it was a 19 hole course but I've heard that they are adding atleast nine holes to the course. The original 19 that I played is perfect by design. Multiple tee pads and pin placements on EVERY hole, a terrific combination of left to right and right to left shots. Long shots, wooded shots, tons of elevation, flat ground...you'll find it ALL on this course. This course was designed by former World Champion Johnny Sias! The locals are great too!
Cons: I wouldn't call it a con but the ammount of elevation may be tough for some. There are a FEW holes that are straight up and down.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.