Bowling Green, KY 
Kereiakes Park Share
Uploaded By: tistoude Hole #2 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 215ft.   3 / 384ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Long Tee



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Top 3 in BG

2-4    9/7/2013   10/12/2013
Review By: Declarkus
Played: 34  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained, not long but still a challenge, good pads and signage
Cons: A little bunched up in areas; had to yell "fore" twice, but it seemed normal for the locals.
Other Thoughts: This course has big bushy cedars, not many tall trees, but they are dense enough to need to thread it in places. Great for all skill levels. On my Top 3 list in BG.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/12/2013   8/14/2013
Review By: AdamE
Played: 223  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kereiakes is a moderately hilly course with mature trees and cedars to navigate on nearly every hole that are waiting to knock down your shot. There are nice concrete tees, the baskets are in good condition and there are tee signs on every hole. Navigating the course is relatively easy. There are rolling hills on the course so some elevation comes into play on most holes.

About half the holes have a long and short option. Sometimes there are dual pads while other holes have two baskets in the ground. These alternates change the shot on almost every hole they appear and it's a great way to cater to a wider variety of players.

The most interesting thing about this course from a design standpoint is a number of the holes are fairly open but utilize the trees and cedars well to present a challenge. Sometimes the trees present early trouble, other times they guard the basket. If you miss your line a tree will knock your shot down and cedars will suck them up and you have to hope you don't land behind or inside it.

I like the shot variety here, there is a good balance of straight, hyzer and anhyzer shots for a RHBH player. The holes with long/short option often require a different shot. The course also has a good variety of distances. The longs obviously provide more length if that's what you prefer and newer players will appreciate the shorts.
Cons: Hole 10's basket seems overly protected sandwiched between two trees with low hanging branches in the gap making a difficult putt even from a great landing spot.

The parks dept apparently likes to cut a path about 10ft wide from the tee to the basket. I'm all for saving money, but more really needs to be cut as you approach the basket. It's a little frustrating to have to look for a disc that knifed into the tall grass when you're inside the 10m circle.

A few holes play a bit close to the walking path that encircles the course. With all the big cedars it isn't always easy to tell if someone is coming so please be extra cautious.

A couple of the holes play fairly close together so an errant shot can easily end up in another fairway.

The diagram on the tee signs is less than accurate and doesn't always do a good job illustrating where the basket should be.

The tee sign on hole 9 is blocking the anhyzer route. There's a silly mando there to keep you from throwing that route.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in BG (if you don't count Holler just north of town). This is a good course for everyone. It's beginner friendly in that there's no rough and the only way to lose a disc is to get it stuck in a cedar. It's also a fun course for a more advanced player because the course rewards skilled shots with birdies and often punishes bad shots.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Technical with length

2-4    4/1/2012   4/7/2012
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 113  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good signage like all BG courses, good tee pads, beautiful rolling hills, multiple tees on some holes, multiple baskets on a couple of holes,
Cons: When we played it only stripped fairways were mowed, and 2 foot grass rough, not a personal problem but this will put some people off. I understand budget cuts in city and i like cut fairways.
Other Thoughts: Kereiakes is a great course. Most tournaments the two meter rule is in effect so a nice addition would be trimming evergreens 3-4 feet from the ground. they did this in columbia, mo, so if you have to mark a lie in the tree at least you can get down in there

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Where's the beef?

1    3/7/2012   3/8/2012
Review By: RustyStrings615
Played: 38  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For some reason I expected a big beefy course...not sure why. To the contrary...most of these holes are fairly short...though very technical and smartly designed. Each hole had a very specific shot designed for it....flick, BH, even some I was sure demanded a BH roller. Fairly open I'd say..but still tight shots required...thick cedars are the main obstacles here...which are pretty unforgiving if you graze into one. I got stuck behind a few on very short putts...with no option but to lay up. It is a nicely manicured course...but not exceptionally beautiful to me. We played from the white tees..and still finished in less than 2 hrs...really a quick course to play and not get too exhausted...I could easily play 2 rounds here.
Cons: Not too many for this course.... As others mentioned previously...the baskets are really old-school and rickety...but hey, they work, right?
Other Thoughts: This is one of those courses that if you know it well...you could throw down some really low rounds...I'd say most holes are birdie-able for sure. Of course, my first time..I was still learning the lines and didn't shoot too well...however, when I threw a second drive...it was usually parked. Makes me want to come back and tackle it again. Overall...a really unique course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for all

1    1/29/2011   1/31/2011
Review By: mreynolds24
Played: 62  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was a fun par 3 course. Offering both open 'easier' holes and tighter more difficult holes. The course was fairly short but still demanded accuracy to score well as several holes required dead straight shots off the tee to set up a deuce look or easy upshot. This course would be great for all skill levels as most holes allowed for any shot type although catered to a specific shot if you could pull it off. Course was well taken care of and offered good pads that were adequately long and had good grip. The signage was good and offered accurate descriptions of the holes and which pin was being played if multiple positions were available on that hole.
Cons: Only a few cons - the course played inside a fairly busy walking path which presented a danger to walkers if both them and the thrower were not careful. Also, some of the holes played close to each other which presented danger on errant throws to other golfers. Then finally some of the baskets were dated, but not enough to affect overall play.
Other Thoughts: This was a good course that was neither too challenging nor too easy. All skill levels can have fun here. The course requires a lot of dead straight shots which can be difficult to repeat consistently but offers a lot of fun ace runs. A good stop in the bowling green area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 mature course in a nice park

2-4    4/11/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: gdub58
Played: 115  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Set inside a very nice park with good facilities. There is a shelter by the first tee, and the practice basket has cement markers in a spiral surrounding the basket from 1-10 meters to add some interest to the warm up.
- Well-defined routes on every hole, with options available for different types of shots on many of them. Many mature trees (mostly fir trees) which present a real challenge. Both RH and LH will appreciate the layout.
- Some holes have two pads and/or two baskets.
- Not terribly long, but still has many holes that require a strong drive. Many holes can be deuced, but an under par round is still tough to achieve.
- Good signage and decent teepads.
Cons: - Most baskets are showing their age and have a lot of rust. A couple were set too low in the ground.
- Not a lot of room between some holes and there are times you have to wait to drive because players on other holes are in your line.
- People on the walking trail which surrounds course can get in the way
Other Thoughts: Other than the baskets, a course I would definitely recommend. If I were local, it would definitely be a regular stop because it is the kind of course to work on different shots and try to put up a hot score.
The trees definitely eat discs a lot more readily than I would prefer and the first time you play the course they are usually blocking your view of the basket, but that's part of the personality of the course rather than a con.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Deuce or Die

2-4    4/10/2008   1/16/2010
Review By: ChrisWoj
Played: 108  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 9.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kereiakes Park's HB Clark DGC is a very fun course. I would classify it as, possibly, the most enjoyable deuce-or-die course I have ever played (it is a close battle with fellow Kentucky course Lincoln Ridge Park (formerly Banklick).

Kereiakes makes excellent use of elevation and trees available. Every hole seems to be carefully considered in placement. I noticed that almost every hole, from 1 to 18, it was incredibly easy to get to a particular spot 40 feet from the basket. But actually parking each hole required precision. The variety of shots available to reach hole 18's green really stands out in my mind. Hole 15 is a fun gap-hit, hole 5 takes a real pump to reach. Good variety on the course.
Cons: The only cons I can think of are that number 1 - it is a very hyzer friendly course. Hyzer bombs are prevalent. Hole 15, despite being a great hole, doesn't seem to flow with the rest of the course. It is distinctly different from everything else out there - a good and bad thing. It seems like a fantastic hole that was picked up from another course and dropped in the middle of Kereiakes. The final minor complaint - this course is one of the few I've played where the two-meter rule needs to be in effect every time you play. The trees are a true bail-out all over the place for errant drives going deep. The two-meter rule keeps a player from ripping for the trees and praying for an easy drop.
Other Thoughts: As I already said - I love Kereiakes. I didn't play well there my one time out, but I remember having a lot of fun. That's something you can't say about a lot of courses. Playing poorly on Kereiakes can be aggravating because the birdies are right there in front of you, but it never turns into a grind. A lot of fun shots, a lot of power hyzers to open your arm up and go big, and nice natural flow for the most part.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/3/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: kdos
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of trees on almost every hole. this makes some shots quite interesting. there are multiple tee pads for some holes. rolling hills and a nice walking/running path that surrounds the course.
Cons: the park was kind of hard to navigate as a first timer there. the fairways were mowed but since some holes are very close to each other it was sometime hard to figure out which mowed fairway was the right one. hopefully they will mow all of it soon.
Other Thoughts: very nice park. highly recommended if you are in the area.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/16/2008   12/19/2008
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 8.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Kereiakes disc golf course is one of the all around best courses in the Bowling Green area. The course has large, concrete tee pads that are in good shape, and multiple tee locations on 1, 2, 6, 10, 12, and 15 (I think I got them all). The fixed position Mach3 baskets are in good shape, and a practice basket is located near the first tee. There are no benches on the course, or trash receptacles that I remember (I apologize if this is incorrect).

The course flows great and is reasonably easy to navigate. Tee signs are posted on each hole. There is large course map posted by the first tee to show the overall layout of the course. The course is comprised of two loops, each returning to the parking area. Underbrush and thick foliage just don't exist on this well-maintained course. The grass is cut to define fairways and rough which one of the nice visuals of this course.

The holes are designed to utilize the moderate elevations in Kereiakes park. Length is not a major factor here, averaging just over 300ft/hole, but there is a nice variety in the distances between the holes. There are a few ace runs, even for the recreational player, but also a chance for some of the longer, more experience players to pull a driver out of the bag and go for it. A great mix of uphill, downhill, and sidehill lies.

There are no tight, technical holes at Kereiakes, but the course is brilliantly designed to take advantage of both open fields and large, mature evergreen and deciduous trees. The tees and baskets are strategically located in and around the trees to allow a variety of options of the box, hyzers, tomahawks, annies, rollers, or just about any other type of shot you can imagine. There are many great holes at Kereiakes, but one of my favorites is No7. This hole is around 400ft in length with a sweeping dog-leg right following a gentle down slope to a basket placed under the back side of a large, mature tree. I throw exclusively RH backhand, so this hole lets me throw a sweeping anhyzer, which is one of my favorite shots.

There is a small pavilion by the first tee, but the larger pavilion up near the entrance to the park has public restrooms. I'm guessing this is used for the other sporting events held here in the park, so the restrooms may be locked during off season, not sure on about that one.
Cons: This is an older course, and shows some signs of wear, but that really isn't a con, but more a sign of a great course that gets a lot play. There is room to add some alternate basket positions to allow different configurations of the course, not necessarily a con either, but I think it would be a nice and welcome addition to the course. There are several large cedars that will grab your disc, so keep an eye out for those.
Other Thoughts: This course is very similar in design to Freeman Lake in Elizabethtown, Ky., if you have played that one, it would be a good comparison minus the intimidation factor of the water. There are many courses to choose from in this area, but this one is a must play, definitely in my top three for Bowling Green. This course is used in many of the local tourney's, including the Bowling Green NT. The annual ice bowl tourney has been here the last two years. This is a great tournament that supports a great cause, and typically has a high turn-out of locals, despite the usually frigid temps.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Well maintained, fun course

5+    11/9/2008   11/18/2008
Review By: CStaples
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.6 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course is well maintained with very little harsh schule. The layout makes great use of the available land with a good mix of shots required to navigate the course.
Cons: No true par 4's or 5's. This course is great for the limited land that is usually allotted to our sport and is a wonderful example of how to make a great par 54 beginner to intermediate level course.
Other Thoughts: Whenever I visit Bowling Green this is one of my favorite places to play.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.