Bowling Green, KY 
Kereiakes Park Share
Uploaded By: tistoude Hole #5 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 303ft.   3 / --   3 / 425ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee: Short basket behind large pine tree straight ahead, long basket up hill to the right



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
The beauty in town

2-4    4/11/2014   4/21/2014
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 160  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: With its rolling valley elevations, numerous cedars, and well-thought-out front and back nines, the Kereiakes disc golf course is an obvious addition to the schedule for advanced players for the annual Bowling Green Amateur Championships. Though most of the holes do have trees capable of grabbing and holding your disc, there are fairways and lines on every hole that reward a skillful shot, if you can hit it. Distances range from the 190 foot hole one (from the short tee), where you will 'misunderestimate' the course, to the 435 foot, downhill, right-bending bomber on hole 3. Most of the holes actually range between the upper 200's from the shorts, to the lower 300's from the longs, but the course never becomes repetitive. It seems each hole has an interesting bend, rise, drop, or lane of its own.

Because there are nine holes having dual teepads and three holes having not just alternate pin positions, but second baskets permanently installed, you could play Kereiakes many times over without it becoming stale. Obviously, this well-cared for course has quality concrete tee pads (26 of them: 1 & 10 long connect), DGA baskets in good repair, a course map and shelter at the beginning, and the quality BG club signage on every hole.

The course plays at the back of a park that has ball fields, tennis and basketball courts, and other attractions, but is well separated from almost all of these other functions (see cons). There is a walking/ jogging track that loops around the perimeter of the course.

In all, Kereiakes is a beautiful course to play, especially in the spring, and the flight of the disc through the lines and gaps (and hopefully not into the trees) really shows off the three-dimensionality of our sport.
Cons: The jogging track doesn't always seem to 'contain' the joggers. The appeal of the rolling valleys and gentle fairways is just too attractive to cross country runners, one of whom we had to wait on for a few throws, even on the Friday morning of the big event (BG Ams).

Though maintenance is solid, and I've only played here in the spring (before the grasses of the 'rough' grew to summer heights), it has been mentioned that the parks department could help a bit by mowing the course in its entirety (at least every few times), and not just along the fairways.
Other Thoughts: I've now been playing long enough to have come to three BG Ams. Each time, though I was eligible to move up to my age group (Advanced Grandmasters), I looked online and was intimidated enough by the length and challenge of the four upper division courses to elect to stay with my rating (Recreational, for now). After coming to Kereiakes for a look-see, I may just have to play up next time. It's just that much more fun than say, Ephram White!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Best in the city

5+    7/31/2013   8/5/2013
Review By: NOStheBOSS
Played: 53  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well after 100+ rounds here I finally feel qualified to write a review

-This is a very fair course. Although there are many velcro trees that will catch your disc, there is always a defined fairway and if you hit your gap, you will not be punished by a random branch
-From the longs this is a challenging course for pros and ams alike. a 1000 rated round hovers around 49 from the longs.
-From the shorts, this course still has challenges but is more beginner friendly. A newer player can definitely still score here. This is probably the most popular course for college students because of its proximity to campus and entertainment value.
-Good not great teepads on every single hole. Trashcans are spread throughout the course. Portapotty by hole 1 and full bathrooms a short walk or drive from the course inside the park.
-I touched this earlier but there are 6 long tees and 3 long baskets (in addition to short baskets) that make the difference between shorts and longs very noticable. definitely a different experience.
Cons: -The Parks dept. thinks we like to have the "fairways" mown and the rest of the grass tall. Nobody likes it like this. You can throw a good shot and have to look 5 minutes in the open because the grass is so long. it's hard to walk through as well.
-There are a couple poorly designed holes where a disc can hit a runner/walker on the gravel path. This path plays OB on the course but that doesn't mean someone won't get hit. Hole 12 comes to mind.
-Cross country runners run throughout the holes in addition to the people on the defined track. Sometimes this isn't a problem. Sometimes you have to wait a second. Other times, like during XC practice, you have to wait on multiple holes for the runners to pass. And sometimes they are blind until they are right in the fairway so if its just one runner you might not notice them until its too late.
Other Thoughts: I really love this course. Its a challenging, fun course from the longs (for me). The shorts are a little boring to advanced and pro players but others will really enjoy them.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very nice course

1    4/14/2013   4/17/2013
Review By: wake911
Played: 44  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 13.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Every shot in the book (aside from distance drives)
-hyzer/anny/bh/fh all needed
-risk/reward with the VERY catchy trees if you go over the top.
-line shaping is important
Cons: -VERY catchy trees, i nearly lost a disc 40' up in one (yes, i was doing a spike hyzer around the hole, risk/reward)
-no big long holes where a driver was needed, used putter,mid,fairway is all
-lots of runners/walkers on the trail. They all seemed quite aware of disc golf, and enjoyed to watch, but still had to wait many times over the round for them to pass.
Other Thoughts: This was my overall favorite course in bowling green. It was tough, but if you hit the right lines you can score well.
Planning a trip to BG? definitely play this one. I would have scored a few shots lower if I had a FH, as a few holes really called for one.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best in BG

1    12/30/2012   12/30/2012
Review By: DG addict24
Played: 28  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course that requires all the shots. I am a pretty balanced player as far as forehands and backhands and this course was also balanced in that area. Some holes you have to manage and go with a good spot instead of being as close to the basket as possible and I think that's a good quality in a course. The latest reviews said the course was in bad shape but I didn't find it to be in bad shape at all. The course isn't heavily wooded but there are definitely enough trees to get in your way. There is good length if you play the long tees/baskets. The teepads were good and the signage was adequate. The flow of the course was good and could find all tees easily.
Cons: The shorter baskets and the baskets on the holes with only 1 are in rough shape. They were not a problem for me as a lot of the long baskets looked newer but it could be bothering if you're playing the short baskets. Also, there are a ton of bugs in the winter, that can be annoying, even if you have bug spray on.
Other Thoughts: I played 2 other courses in bowling green that were rated close to kereiakes in lovers lane and the technical college, and this one turned out to be better than the other two and it really wasn't that close. If you're in bowling green looking to play, make sure you find this one.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 BG staple course

5+    10/25/2009   7/27/2010
Review By: absolutdork
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 15 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I love this course! This is top notch BG disc golf. Open holes galore, but very tricky due to disc catching cedars lining and blocking paths to almost every pin. Nice elevation changes, and the shelter between pins #1 and #10 offer great break time or to start up conversation with the awesome college locals. Well manicured fairways.
Cons: Some holes do tend to seem a little repetitive. I miss the shelter canopy that used to be in the middle of one of the fairways on the back nine, it used to add such a cool obstacle, but now it's just open space and an easier to line to throw. Oh well. Not much else to bark at because this course is top notch.
Other Thoughts: Watch your high throws, because if a cedar grabs them high up in the air you are throwing stuff at it to get it down or playing squirrel and climbing to get it. If you are ever in this disc golf heaven known as Bowling Green, this is a MUST course to play!!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Open yet tight, a dg conundrum

2-4    3/12/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: discgolphinmafaukner
Played: 28  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Kereiakes is another beautiful park in Bowling Green, KY. The course has many cedar trees which serve as the main hazard on this course. The course plays up and down a valley so elevation definitely comes into play. Most of the holes have two sets of tees. The course loops back to the parking lot after hole 9. Holes 1 and 10 also sit next to a shelter house...breaktime! Nearly every hole can be birdied if you can keep your disc out of the cedars.
Cons: More benches, more trashcans, and restrooms would be nice.
Other Thoughts: This course sits close to Lover's Lane. The two make a terrific pair. The community garden is also cool to see in a public park.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A challenege with distance

2-4    3/13/2010   3/14/2010
Review By: gkeberhart
Played: 36  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of tough shots, nothing here is a gimme. The elevtation changes are wonderful, rarely do you have a level shot. Tree as just beautiful, makes for a visually appealing course as well. The course didnt favor one shot type over the other, great mix of forehands and backhands for righty or lefty. Distance wasn't overwhelming, but was plenty enough to keep you on your toes.
Cons: Most of the baskets were great but some were in need of repair or replacement. While they had a lot of concrete tee pads, they were unusuallly slick for some reason. I watched a few people take a good slip and fall. If your are in a pine tree, good luck with your disc. I spent 30 min in the tree shaking the branch without budging my disc.
Other Thoughts: It is a great course with lots of shot types. The park is clean and very well maintained. If I had one suggestion for the people would be to get a 20' pole out there to help people get their discs out of trees. If you are in Bowling Green I would recommend stopping and playing this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Don't miss this one.

1    6/27/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 6.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow, what a fun course this is! At first glance I thought this would be a pretty easy course. I was really surprised how much accuracy that was required to score well here. It is a course that doesn't appear to have a whole lot of challenge until you play a few holes and then you realize, "I need to buckle down and concentrate". One the other hand, if you are on your game you should score well too. I liked the fact that it is not a course that just hands you birdies but does reward good shots.

For the most part it is a pretty open course with many trees scattered around as obstacles. The trees which are a mixture of mature hardwoods and lots of big cedars will force you to aim carefully. You'll also find a generous mixture of elevation changes along with shot types too. In fact, I didn't feel any "same ol' hole fatigue" here at all. Uphill, downhill, right, left, and strait holes are all found here. The openness comes with the benefit of not worrying about excessive undergrowth should you find yourself off the fairways. Speaking of the fairways, the grass is well kept and trimmed shorter than the "rough". This also helps in the navigation of the course in general. You'll find a holes anywhere from 220' to 425' with most of them on the shorter side. The trees also work nicely making up for the short holes in terms of difficulty. You should enjoy ample ace opportunities too. Number one (short) comes to mind as one of the more fun to run at. Also look for a couple different routes on some of the holes. I took a risk by using the least logical line a few times and was rewarded a time or two.

The course also boast's concrete tee pads, signs, and an informative kiosk including a course map close to the pavilion and practice basket. A few holes have multiple tees and a few have a couple different pin placements as well. Number one and ten shares a "Y" shaped pad from the long position and is pretty unique.
Cons: Truly there are not many in my mind. Each person has their own ideals and dislikes. Each player is likely to find some based on that. As some of the previous reviewers have stated, there are holes on the short side by today's standards. I happened to enjoy them though.

I played on a Saturday morning and did not experience the crowds that others have mentioned. I can see all of the characteristics that make it likely to be, both by other park users and players as well.

The concrete tees are showing their age but are quite playable.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course in terms of scenery, design, and fun factor. One way of knowing I really enjoyed a course is by determining if I want to come back and play again. I do. This one should defiantly have you wanting to return and play again as well. With the large selection of courses to play in the Bowling Green area, this is one of them on the top of the list to play again next time I visit. I hope you'll like it too. Enjoy!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Cedars everywhere!

1    5/30/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 752  Exp: 12.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set in a hilly area, with lots of mature trees. The course plays up and down the hills, and very few of the holes are without some kind of elevation change. There are really no wide open holes, but there is a great variety of types of holes. There are some holes where you need to shape your shot around a couple big cedars, and others where you are shooting through a whole forest of them.

This course never felt repetitive, as each hole was unique, and all different kinds of shots were required here. The course design used the terrain and the trees beautifully to make challenging and interesting holes throughout. The course looped back to the parking lot halfway through, which was a nice plus.

The course was very well taken care of. There were very nice tee signs with distance and a hole map, and all the tees were nice concrete pads. At the beginning of the course, there was a large course map showing the full layout with all the alternate tees. The alternate tees gave very different looks at some of the holes, and were very well marked with their own signs. The grass was nicely mowed, and there was no trash or any kind of brush on the course. It is very clear that the locals take great care of this course.
Cons: The one thing this course was missing was length. There were no holes where you could open up and throw a driver. The course is also in a fairly small space, which means a few holes play right next to one another. Most of the fairways are well insulated from each other, but there were a few that overlapped. Also, a few holes played right on top of the next tee pad, so if people were playing right behind you, it was important to watch for incoming drives.

The course is surrounded by a walking path, and it comes very close to a number of holes. When the path is crowded, it can be a bit of a safety hazard, and you may end up waiting for traffic to pass.
Other Thoughts: This course was a lot of fun to play, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone in the area. The cedar trees make a great obstacle, as they are much more likely to grab a disc than other trees, and this added a unique flavor to this course. It was challenging enough to be interesting to experienced players, but was very well marked and definitely beginner friendly as well.

Next time I'm in the Bowling Green area, this course is at the top of my list to play again. The local disc golf scene in this town is fantastic, and they take great care of their area courses.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Terrain,Awesome Cedar Trees

1    2/23/2009   2/26/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Lots of rolling hills are incorporated into the shot making requirements on this course. Miss by just a few feet you may end up 50 feet away if your disc flutters and then rolls away.

2) Awesome Cedar Trees. These trees are massive and they require you to shape shots around, through, or even underneath their branches. I lost 1 disc in a tall Cedar and my buddy lost another, and this is the first disc I have lost. Losing discs isn't a pro, but it makes the difficulty level higher which I love!

3) Not a lot of underbrush which is nice. You can generally see where you need to go, executing the shot is another story.

4) Hole #3 is awesome. Not too long or anything but the basket is parked right on the side of a hill so that any disc with too much anhyzer will just keep going and going down the hill.

5) Nice use of trees. There are some holes with specific trees you need to avoid, and other holes that you have to really shape a shot because they are a little more densely wooded. Only one hole with what I would call a tunnel shot #15, but the other trees are incorporated into the course tremendously. This holds true on #10 because the basket is placed around and between two trees. If you arent far enough left off the tee you can barely even see the basket let alone get to it.

6) Nice baskets, nice signage and nice teepads, essential for a higher rating in my book.

7) Somewhat beginner friendly because of moderately wooded property, but the terrain can get newbies fairly easily. Alternate tees on a few holes to also make this beginner friendly.

Cons: 1) Although most holes you have some alternative paths, I would have liked to see a few more holes going from right to left instead of left to right. I enjoy a good anhyzer hole but would like to see a few more hyzers.

2) In offseason could be somewhat muddy with very weedy lawns. Not sure about in season when grass is growing.
Other Thoughts: All in all another grat course. I credit this site with allowing me to play some of the better courses in the US so far in my short career in disc golf. I wouldnt have had any idea where to go to play on my travels.

This course has rolling hills, mature Cedars, tucked baskets, all of which contribute to a nice day of disc golfing. I will go back whenever I go through Bowling Green, you should do the same if you are ever in the area.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.