Bowling Green, KY 
Kereiakes Park Share
Uploaded By: tistoude Hole #4 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 220ft.   3 / --   3 / 220ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Home Course

5+    1/7/2013   1/16/2013
Review By: go18under
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19.5 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Yakis is one of the courses you must play, if you visit BG KY. The 1st course I ever played was Hobson Grove. As soon as I finished that round, I asked where other courses were in the area. I was told about Yakis, and immediately went there and fell in love with Disc Golf. Manicured, mowed fairways are the first thing you notice. The course design has been altered over the years by seasoned pros, and offers 6 Pro Tee Pads throughout the course, as well as 3 holes with 2 permanent basket options. I have played this course over 1,000 times, including several rounds with some of the best disc golfers in the world. I'm going to review these holes from the Pro Tee Pads, and Long Basket placements. The mature pine, and cedar trees line the fairways to create natural gaps for most the holes...you used to be able to throw over top, and had a lot more room through the gaps. Now, you must play the gaps on most holes unless you have a big gun to go over top. I learned to throw rollers here, because I got sick of climbing trees. Hole 1 is nice starting hole with 2 guardian trees by the basket toward the end (but not within 30 ft around basket) Hole 2...400+ ft hole which a lot of folks use sky rollers, it's open the first 300 ft with a 100 foot lined pine tree gap to the basket towards the end. Hole 3......difficult 400ft slow anhyzer through pine tree mowed fairway gap downhill to an open landing zone. Hole 4....short, right sloped cedar tree lined fairway...throw low and ride the skip to the basket:) Hole 5...450' anhyzer uphill with cedar trees lining the fairway....Hole 6....350' straight, low tunnel, slight uphill, pine tree lined fairway all the way to the basket....get a roller down quick, and it will work:) Hole 7.....blind downhill 350' anhyzer with one of the biggest, coolest trees guarding the basket....a beat roc or mako usually does the trick if thrown well...Hole 8...slope left cedar lined fairway, slight 275" anhyzer.....I throw a roller here too because of the perfect slope (a basic anhyzer or forehand does well too). Hole 9...throw a low hyzer down the pine tree lined fairway, and watch it skip to the hole (or throw a roller like I do, and always have a look. Hole 10....nice 300' anhyzer to a tightly guarded basket in between 2 cedar trees. Hole 11.....just throw something straight about 325' and watch it sail down to the bottom. Hole 12, slight uphill hyzer (or anhyzer) plays 375', cedar lined fairway. Hole 13, short, slight downhill, fast green, hyzer or anhyzer around group of mature pine trees....or firebird spike hyzer over the top:) Hole 14....slight up hill plays 350'....cedar lined fairways, opens up at end near the basket. Hole 15....straight 340' tight early gap....mature hardwoods.....fairly low ceiling. Hole 16....350' slight downhill with mature cedar trees at the end that like to catch your disc....power hyzer around and get an uphill putt if possible. Hole 17 is the best hole imo...http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U3WxP0r8oMg or http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dBRo5ZoyGLY Hole 18....low tunnel....375' slight anhyzer.....low ceiling, cedar lined mowed fairway....get a roller down quick, or throw a forehand....good finishing hole. Great Course!!
Cons: I get way too distracted by the scenery...too many good looking women walking around the popular walking track around the course:) The baskets, and signage could use some updating, but other than that, this is a great tournament course, that offers a wide variety of shots and options. The mature cedars and pines might get amateurs frustrated, but that's how I learned to throw rollers there:)
Other Thoughts: Play this course, and hit me up if you're near....I'm only 2 minutes away.Great safari course, and it's also the best course for glow rounds:)

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

One of the best in the Area

1    12/30/2012   12/30/2012
Review By: Bobs DG 12
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.7 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is a very well manicured park with a well manicured course. There is a distinct mowed path to everyone of the holes, with slightly longer grass surrounding the fairway. This course will test every part of your game and if you are not able to throw all the shots necessary some of the holes may be difficult. I enjoyed the various array of low shots, spike hyzers, rollers and various other precise shots necessary to score well on this course.
Cons: Some of the baskets aren't in the best shape, but this is only on a couple of the holes.
Other Thoughts: I have played a lot of the best courses in this area and this course ranks right up there with the best, if you are looking to play a great round of disc golf while visiting Bowling Green be sure to stop here.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Exceptional Park Course

2-4    7/18/2012   7/18/2012
Review By: Disc Golf Dave
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 30.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love this course. It's the kind of course you want for your home course, though BG is not my home. I plan to play it every time I come through the area. I love the park nature of the course. It is very playable while still being quite challenging. The course length is average to shortish, which is best for most players. It requires shot making and a careful analysis of the options, wind conditions, etc. It keeps you thinking. It also doesn't take all day.
Cons: It may not have some of the severe challenges that some newer courses have, but it has plenty for a nice day of very enjoyable disc golf.
Other Thoughts: There's something about this course that I love and I can't quite put my finger on it. Normally I would rate this type of course a 4 or so. I rate it so high because of certain intangibles. I love the shape of the fairways, the full trees, especially the evergreens, and the open nature of the course that lets you rip it on a few holes and but allows you to concentrate on shot shape over distance on many holes. It has quite a few birdy holes which is a feel good thing. It makes me want to move to BG.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Must Play in KY

5+    12/7/2010   12/7/2010
Review By: sengenberger
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the Best courses in Bowling Green, there is a nice mix of technical and distance on most of the holes. The fairways are clearly defined, and a lot of the holes have alternative tee pads or an alternative pin placement. There is a nice shady pavilion near the first and tenth holes and a nice course map right by the parking lot. This is a course that definitely favors placement over distance. There is a fairly good mixture of BH and FH throws throughout, and there are even a few holes that you can reach with an overhand shot. The tee pads are nice and grippy, and the baskets catch well. The first 4 holes are nice ace runs from the short tees and are fun to unload your midranges on. Be careful though, the cedar trees are like Velcro to your discs. If you hit one, do not be surprised if it doesn't come down. Although sometimes, you might be lucky enough to knock a disc loose when you hit a tree. The practice basket and putting stones at different distances make for great putting practice and a fun game of Around The World with some friends before a round.
Cons: Only a few gripes that I can think of. The baskets are almost all different, and most are really old, so hopefully they can get some new Chainstars or something there. The WKU cross country team practices on the running path that surrounds the course. The course can get a little crowded sometimes, since it is (in my opinion) the best course in Bowling Green.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun course to play a glow round on. Day before the Halloween tournament, hope they do it again.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Classic course

5+    8/2/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: weeman
Played: 231  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course provides a stern challenge for every range of golfer. Large course map before the pavilion near number one and ten teepads. Open area with practice basket for putting with marker stones on the ground for ten different distances within the circle. Course utilizes elevation changes on almost all holes. Some downhills can be the chance for big drives but not without some accuracy. Solid mix of short and longer holes. Large teepads with good grip for solid footing even in wet conditions. Fairways are well defined with the cedars lining them keeping you pure on your lines otherwise you're probably not going to be fighting through to the basket. The fairways on the open holes are lined with tall grass which ranges from ankle/shin height to waist high in some places. Tree placements are fair and force the thrower to choose their routes. Underbrush isn't too thick that you can't advance your next shot towards the basket. Severals holes have pro tee pads to increase the distance. As of this review, the holes with alternate pin placements have both baskets in place (3, 5, 16).
Cons: Not many that I can think of. Course may be cruel to beginners with the thickness of the cedar trees. It can get crowded as this is a very popular course in Bowling Green. Though its mostly been killed off, there is poison ivy underneath some trees and in the rough to the right of number 15. Bugs can also be an issue so be prepared for that. During the summer the parks department lets the grass along the fairways to grow in many places up to knee height.
Other Thoughts: The running trail around the course may give some people a distraction with the people running around it. There's also trails that the WKU cross country team uses in the middle of the course that traverse several holes. These runners are almost always oblivious to disc golfers, so beware.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Smell of Cedar In The Morning

1    9/8/2009   7/12/2010
Review By: puttinhutton
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 30.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I love this course. It has enough topography to make the course challenging, unique, but very walkable and playable. The moderate tree coverage with well manicured fairways is my idea of a nice, urban style course. I wish this was my home course.

I love the smell of cedar in the morning.
Cons: Can't really come up with any cons for this one. I guess a few of the holes were a little more open than I would prefer. It's not quite as challenging as some courses.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Yakis!!

5+    4/26/2010   5/2/2010
Review By: big shot dobbs
Played: 26  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 18.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good ol' Yakis!! I like the improvements the club has done over the years to keep this course at a pro level challenge. I have played this course over 500 times since the late 90's....it's very special to me. Mowed fairways keep getting better each year....always clean, always fun, always packed!! You can always go here and find an old friend or make a new one. Cedar tree lined fairways are cool....easy to navigate......a few signature holes are awsome....hole 7 and 17 come to mind immediately.
Cons: Pro and con is the amount of players you might get stuck behind.....really busy course, which is cool, and for good reason. Some of the baskets are a little long in the toof.....no way to expand the course as the discs go farther is unfortunate...some really dumb mandos on 9 and 18 take away the half point of my rating......I am bias against 95% of mandos anywhere though...
Other Thoughts: Wonderful, fun, challenging course that has withstood the test of time, unlike a lot of oldie but goodie courses.......a must play if you visit BG.....then go to Holler in the Hills, and stop by Disc Golf Shop and More/KY Disc Golf Hall of Fame, on your way out there:)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of the most fun courses

5+    4/10/2007   12/10/2009
Review By: goalkeeper19
Played: 124  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has tons of variety, and is simply one of the most fun courses I have ever played.

There are 18 potential birdies on this course, but it's not a cakewalk. Kereiakes forces you to make your 2 good shots on every single hole. There are many different hole types, including left- and right- turning shots, up- and down-hill shots, straight open holes, tight wooded holes, blind holes, roller holes. Two sets of tees on most holes and alternate pin placements add a significant challenge.

The course is beautiful, and well taken care of. It's obvious that the course was "designed", rather than "placed", as so many disc golf courses are. The hole designs utilize the trees and hills in 17 totally different ways (#12 and #13 are similar).

This is the kind of course that you jump out of the car for, and also a course that you want to play again immediately after you've finished a round.
Cons: The course is squeezed on to a smaller piece of land than it deserves, so a few holes run very closely. There are a few areas where there are 2 or 3 different teeboxes to different holes right next to each other.
Other Thoughts: Absolutely the only course I would play in BG if I only had time for one round. The land is great for rollers, and I can think of at least 6 or 7 holes where a good roller is a great option off the tee (#2, #3, #5, #6, #7 (yes!), #17, #18). If I lived closer, I'd be at this course every single weekend.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/29/2008   1/30/2009
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10.5 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is such a beautiful course. There are nice concrete tees and good tee signs on every hole. The course and the grass on the fairways are well maintained. The baskets are surrounded by mulch that gives the course that extra aesthetic appeal. There is a small pavilion near the start of the course and a larger pavilion as your entering the parking lot which is where the bathrooms are located. There course loops back to the front at the half way point.

Design wise, this course is very good. The cedar trees really do define this course. The design uses these cedar trees, the moderate elevation, and the small amount of land very well, offering a good variety of shots that require accuracy and reward well placed shots. The course flows well and it is fairly easy to find the next tee. The course is easy enough to be enjoyed by newer players, but fun and challenging enough to be enjoyed by pros.
Cons: The walking track can be busy at times, which can be dangerous for walkers who do not know to look out for flying discs. As long as players are smart about when they throw, then this should not be too much of a con. The cedar trees can and will eat discs, then even if you find your discs, it could be tough to get it down.
Other Thoughts: For me, this course just had that wow factor of beauty when I first arrived. It is a joy to play here and admire the scenery, while enjoying a round of disc golf. Speaking of admiring, it is also a joy to admire the beautiful college girls from the nearby university who like to use this walking track, as a nice added bonus to an already great course. This is simply a great course for everybody. I highly recommend stopping to play here if you are ever in the area.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best Bowling Green Courses

5+    4/2/2011   11/24/2008
Review By: dobbins66
Played: 85  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2011
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great Signage and Teepads in Good condition.
Beautiful Fairways with Mature trees, Pines and other obstacles without brush cluttering up the place. Don't have to worry about losing discs unless you hang it up in a tall evergreen.

Multiple Teepads on each hole and multiple pin placements to be used.

Well designed holes incorporating the disc swallowing evergreens that exist on most holes.

Very little elevation but what does exist is well used throughout the course.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind - This is a very enjoyable course to play. If you are a big arm and want to see how far you can throw than head over to Phil Moore but otherwise this is a great course.
Other Thoughts: Not a long course and definitely not the most challenging in BG but it just might be the best all round. Some may consider it a little to forgiving - It is so well maintained that even a bad teeshot usually leaves you a reasonable shot at saving Par (unless your an evergreen). If you are near the area you need to play this course.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.