Bowling Green, KY 
Kereiakes Park Share
Uploaded By: tistoude Hole #7 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 375ft.   3 / --   3 / 375ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
The beauty in town

2-4    4/11/2014   4/21/2014
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 164  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 3.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: With its rolling valley elevations, numerous cedars, and well-thought-out front and back nines, the Kereiakes disc golf course is an obvious addition to the schedule for advanced players for the annual Bowling Green Amateur Championships. Though most of the holes do have trees capable of grabbing and holding your disc, there are fairways and lines on every hole that reward a skillful shot, if you can hit it. Distances range from the 190 foot hole one (from the short tee), where you will 'misunderestimate' the course, to the 435 foot, downhill, right-bending bomber on hole 3. Most of the holes actually range between the upper 200's from the shorts, to the lower 300's from the longs, but the course never becomes repetitive. It seems each hole has an interesting bend, rise, drop, or lane of its own.

Because there are nine holes having dual teepads and three holes having not just alternate pin positions, but second baskets permanently installed, you could play Kereiakes many times over without it becoming stale. Obviously, this well-cared for course has quality concrete tee pads (26 of them: 1 & 10 long connect), DGA baskets in good repair, a course map and shelter at the beginning, and the quality BG club signage on every hole.

The course plays at the back of a park that has ball fields, tennis and basketball courts, and other attractions, but is well separated from almost all of these other functions (see cons). There is a walking/ jogging track that loops around the perimeter of the course.

In all, Kereiakes is a beautiful course to play, especially in the spring, and the flight of the disc through the lines and gaps (and hopefully not into the trees) really shows off the three-dimensionality of our sport.
Cons: The jogging track doesn't always seem to 'contain' the joggers. The appeal of the rolling valleys and gentle fairways is just too attractive to cross country runners, one of whom we had to wait on for a few throws, even on the Friday morning of the big event (BG Ams).

Though maintenance is solid, and I've only played here in the spring (before the grasses of the 'rough' grew to summer heights), it has been mentioned that the parks department could help a bit by mowing the course in its entirety (at least every few times), and not just along the fairways.
Other Thoughts: I've now been playing long enough to have come to three BG Ams. Each time, though I was eligible to move up to my age group (Advanced Grandmasters), I looked online and was intimidated enough by the length and challenge of the four upper division courses to elect to stay with my rating (Recreational, for now). After coming to Kereiakes for a look-see, I may just have to play up next time. It's just that much more fun than say, Ephram White!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Tomahawk Time!

1    10/14/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: gmoney1984
Played: 97  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 1.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. mowed fairways that lead you to the baskets

2. Pretty good course flow

3. Good variety of winding holes with a lot of obstacles



Cons: 1. Rough was a little high but not really that bad

2. Discs could get stuck in the very large mature trees

Other Thoughts: This course has a lot of really tight lines which for better or worse can be avoided by throwing over the top of them. I enjoyed it but this was stop #4 on our 111 hole day and on a normal day playing only 1 or 2 courses I don't think I would have wanted to throw overhanded that much. this course is sort of short so you can whip thru it in a short amount of time if you don't have to search for discs that long. It took 2 avg disc golfers 1:16 minutes to play but we were jogging a lot so I'd say on avg 1:30

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Top 3 in BG

2-4    9/7/2013   10/12/2013
Review By: Declarkus
Played: 33  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained, not long but still a challenge, good pads and signage
Cons: A little bunched up in areas; had to yell "fore" twice, but it seemed normal for the locals.
Other Thoughts: This course has big bushy cedars, not many tall trees, but they are dense enough to need to thread it in places. Great for all skill levels. On my Top 3 list in BG.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/12/2013   8/14/2013
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kereiakes is a moderately hilly course with mature trees and cedars to navigate on nearly every hole that are waiting to knock down your shot. There are nice concrete tees, the baskets are in good condition and there are tee signs on every hole. Navigating the course is relatively easy. There are rolling hills on the course so some elevation comes into play on most holes.

About half the holes have a long and short option. Sometimes there are dual pads while other holes have two baskets in the ground. These alternates change the shot on almost every hole they appear and it's a great way to cater to a wider variety of players.

The most interesting thing about this course from a design standpoint is a number of the holes are fairly open but utilize the trees and cedars well to present a challenge. Sometimes the trees present early trouble, other times they guard the basket. If you miss your line a tree will knock your shot down and cedars will suck them up and you have to hope you don't land behind or inside it.

I like the shot variety here, there is a good balance of straight, hyzer and anhyzer shots for a RHBH player. The holes with long/short option often require a different shot. The course also has a good variety of distances. The longs obviously provide more length if that's what you prefer and newer players will appreciate the shorts.
Cons: Hole 10's basket seems overly protected sandwiched between two trees with low hanging branches in the gap making a difficult putt even from a great landing spot.

The parks dept apparently likes to cut a path about 10ft wide from the tee to the basket. I'm all for saving money, but more really needs to be cut as you approach the basket. It's a little frustrating to have to look for a disc that knifed into the tall grass when you're inside the 10m circle.

A few holes play a bit close to the walking path that encircles the course. With all the big cedars it isn't always easy to tell if someone is coming so please be extra cautious.

A couple of the holes play fairly close together so an errant shot can easily end up in another fairway.

The diagram on the tee signs is less than accurate and doesn't always do a good job illustrating where the basket should be.

The tee sign on hole 9 is blocking the anhyzer route. There's a silly mando there to keep you from throwing that route.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in BG (if you don't count Holler just north of town). This is a good course for everyone. It's beginner friendly in that there's no rough and the only way to lose a disc is to get it stuck in a cedar. It's also a fun course for a more advanced player because the course rewards skilled shots with birdies and often punishes bad shots.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best in the city

5+    7/31/2013   8/5/2013
Review By: NOStheBOSS
Played: 53  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well after 100+ rounds here I finally feel qualified to write a review

-This is a very fair course. Although there are many velcro trees that will catch your disc, there is always a defined fairway and if you hit your gap, you will not be punished by a random branch
-From the longs this is a challenging course for pros and ams alike. a 1000 rated round hovers around 49 from the longs.
-From the shorts, this course still has challenges but is more beginner friendly. A newer player can definitely still score here. This is probably the most popular course for college students because of its proximity to campus and entertainment value.
-Good not great teepads on every single hole. Trashcans are spread throughout the course. Portapotty by hole 1 and full bathrooms a short walk or drive from the course inside the park.
-I touched this earlier but there are 6 long tees and 3 long baskets (in addition to short baskets) that make the difference between shorts and longs very noticable. definitely a different experience.
Cons: -The Parks dept. thinks we like to have the "fairways" mown and the rest of the grass tall. Nobody likes it like this. You can throw a good shot and have to look 5 minutes in the open because the grass is so long. it's hard to walk through as well.
-There are a couple poorly designed holes where a disc can hit a runner/walker on the gravel path. This path plays OB on the course but that doesn't mean someone won't get hit. Hole 12 comes to mind.
-Cross country runners run throughout the holes in addition to the people on the defined track. Sometimes this isn't a problem. Sometimes you have to wait a second. Other times, like during XC practice, you have to wait on multiple holes for the runners to pass. And sometimes they are blind until they are right in the fairway so if its just one runner you might not notice them until its too late.
Other Thoughts: I really love this course. Its a challenging, fun course from the longs (for me). The shorts are a little boring to advanced and pro players but others will really enjoy them.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very nice course

1    4/14/2013   4/17/2013
Review By: wake911
Played: 44  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 13.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Every shot in the book (aside from distance drives)
-hyzer/anny/bh/fh all needed
-risk/reward with the VERY catchy trees if you go over the top.
-line shaping is important
Cons: -VERY catchy trees, i nearly lost a disc 40' up in one (yes, i was doing a spike hyzer around the hole, risk/reward)
-no big long holes where a driver was needed, used putter,mid,fairway is all
-lots of runners/walkers on the trail. They all seemed quite aware of disc golf, and enjoyed to watch, but still had to wait many times over the round for them to pass.
Other Thoughts: This was my overall favorite course in bowling green. It was tough, but if you hit the right lines you can score well.
Planning a trip to BG? definitely play this one. I would have scored a few shots lower if I had a FH, as a few holes really called for one.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Home Course

5+    1/7/2013   1/16/2013
Review By: go18under
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Yakis is one of the courses you must play, if you visit BG KY. The 1st course I ever played was Hobson Grove. As soon as I finished that round, I asked where other courses were in the area. I was told about Yakis, and immediately went there and fell in love with Disc Golf. Manicured, mowed fairways are the first thing you notice. The course design has been altered over the years by seasoned pros, and offers 6 Pro Tee Pads throughout the course, as well as 3 holes with 2 permanent basket options. I have played this course over 1,000 times, including several rounds with some of the best disc golfers in the world. I'm going to review these holes from the Pro Tee Pads, and Long Basket placements. The mature pine, and cedar trees line the fairways to create natural gaps for most the holes...you used to be able to throw over top, and had a lot more room through the gaps. Now, you must play the gaps on most holes unless you have a big gun to go over top. I learned to throw rollers here, because I got sick of climbing trees. Hole 1 is nice starting hole with 2 guardian trees by the basket toward the end (but not within 30 ft around basket) Hole 2...400+ ft hole which a lot of folks use sky rollers, it's open the first 300 ft with a 100 foot lined pine tree gap to the basket towards the end. Hole 3......difficult 400ft slow anhyzer through pine tree mowed fairway gap downhill to an open landing zone. Hole 4....short, right sloped cedar tree lined fairway...throw low and ride the skip to the basket:) Hole 5...450' anhyzer uphill with cedar trees lining the fairway....Hole 6....350' straight, low tunnel, slight uphill, pine tree lined fairway all the way to the basket....get a roller down quick, and it will work:) Hole 7.....blind downhill 350' anhyzer with one of the biggest, coolest trees guarding the basket....a beat roc or mako usually does the trick if thrown well...Hole 8...slope left cedar lined fairway, slight 275" anhyzer.....I throw a roller here too because of the perfect slope (a basic anhyzer or forehand does well too). Hole 9...throw a low hyzer down the pine tree lined fairway, and watch it skip to the hole (or throw a roller like I do, and always have a look. Hole 10....nice 300' anhyzer to a tightly guarded basket in between 2 cedar trees. Hole 11.....just throw something straight about 325' and watch it sail down to the bottom. Hole 12, slight uphill hyzer (or anhyzer) plays 375', cedar lined fairway. Hole 13, short, slight downhill, fast green, hyzer or anhyzer around group of mature pine trees....or firebird spike hyzer over the top:) Hole 14....slight up hill plays 350'....cedar lined fairways, opens up at end near the basket. Hole 15....straight 340' tight early gap....mature hardwoods.....fairly low ceiling. Hole 16....350' slight downhill with mature cedar trees at the end that like to catch your disc....power hyzer around and get an uphill putt if possible. Hole 17 is the best hole imo...http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U3WxP0r8oMg or http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dBRo5ZoyGLY Hole 18....low tunnel....375' slight anhyzer.....low ceiling, cedar lined mowed fairway....get a roller down quick, or throw a forehand....good finishing hole. Great Course!!
Cons: I get way too distracted by the scenery...too many good looking women walking around the popular walking track around the course:) The baskets, and signage could use some updating, but other than that, this is a great tournament course, that offers a wide variety of shots and options. The mature cedars and pines might get amateurs frustrated, but that's how I learned to throw rollers there:)
Other Thoughts: Play this course, and hit me up if you're near....I'm only 2 minutes away.Great safari course, and it's also the best course for glow rounds:)

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

One of the best in the Area

1    12/30/2012   12/30/2012
Review By: Bobs DG 12
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.7 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is a very well manicured park with a well manicured course. There is a distinct mowed path to everyone of the holes, with slightly longer grass surrounding the fairway. This course will test every part of your game and if you are not able to throw all the shots necessary some of the holes may be difficult. I enjoyed the various array of low shots, spike hyzers, rollers and various other precise shots necessary to score well on this course.
Cons: Some of the baskets aren't in the best shape, but this is only on a couple of the holes.
Other Thoughts: I have played a lot of the best courses in this area and this course ranks right up there with the best, if you are looking to play a great round of disc golf while visiting Bowling Green be sure to stop here.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Best in BG

1    12/30/2012   12/30/2012
Review By: DG addict24
Played: 28  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course that requires all the shots. I am a pretty balanced player as far as forehands and backhands and this course was also balanced in that area. Some holes you have to manage and go with a good spot instead of being as close to the basket as possible and I think that's a good quality in a course. The latest reviews said the course was in bad shape but I didn't find it to be in bad shape at all. The course isn't heavily wooded but there are definitely enough trees to get in your way. There is good length if you play the long tees/baskets. The teepads were good and the signage was adequate. The flow of the course was good and could find all tees easily.
Cons: The shorter baskets and the baskets on the holes with only 1 are in rough shape. They were not a problem for me as a lot of the long baskets looked newer but it could be bothering if you're playing the short baskets. Also, there are a ton of bugs in the winter, that can be annoying, even if you have bug spray on.
Other Thoughts: I played 2 other courses in bowling green that were rated close to kereiakes in lovers lane and the technical college, and this one turned out to be better than the other two and it really wasn't that close. If you're in bowling green looking to play, make sure you find this one.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Way overrated course

1    9/17/2012   9/24/2012
Review By: Tacoma4x4
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Love the tricky holes. decent blend of tree placement and obstacles.
Cons: Terrible markings. Some down right boring holes. From the reviews I expected more.
Other Thoughts: Drive to Madisonville instead and find a gem of a course. This one is average.

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.