Bowling Green, KY 
Kereiakes Park Share
Uploaded By: tistoude Hole #1 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 190ft.   3 / --   3 / 250ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Long Tee



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Open yet tight, a dg conundrum

2-4    3/12/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: discgolphinmafaukner
Played: 28  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Kereiakes is another beautiful park in Bowling Green, KY. The course has many cedar trees which serve as the main hazard on this course. The course plays up and down a valley so elevation definitely comes into play. Most of the holes have two sets of tees. The course loops back to the parking lot after hole 9. Holes 1 and 10 also sit next to a shelter house...breaktime! Nearly every hole can be birdied if you can keep your disc out of the cedars.
Cons: More benches, more trashcans, and restrooms would be nice.
Other Thoughts: This course sits close to Lover's Lane. The two make a terrific pair. The community garden is also cool to see in a public park.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Smell of Cedar In The Morning

1    9/8/2009   7/12/2010
Review By: puttinhutton
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 30.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I love this course. It has enough topography to make the course challenging, unique, but very walkable and playable. The moderate tree coverage with well manicured fairways is my idea of a nice, urban style course. I wish this was my home course.

I love the smell of cedar in the morning.
Cons: Can't really come up with any cons for this one. I guess a few of the holes were a little more open than I would prefer. It's not quite as challenging as some courses.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Yakis!!

5+    4/26/2010   5/2/2010
Review By: big shot dobbs
Played: 26  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 18.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good ol' Yakis!! I like the improvements the club has done over the years to keep this course at a pro level challenge. I have played this course over 500 times since the late 90's....it's very special to me. Mowed fairways keep getting better each year....always clean, always fun, always packed!! You can always go here and find an old friend or make a new one. Cedar tree lined fairways are cool....easy to navigate......a few signature holes are awsome....hole 7 and 17 come to mind immediately.
Cons: Pro and con is the amount of players you might get stuck behind.....really busy course, which is cool, and for good reason. Some of the baskets are a little long in the toof.....no way to expand the course as the discs go farther is unfortunate...some really dumb mandos on 9 and 18 take away the half point of my rating......I am bias against 95% of mandos anywhere though...
Other Thoughts: Wonderful, fun, challenging course that has withstood the test of time, unlike a lot of oldie but goodie courses.......a must play if you visit BG.....then go to Holler in the Hills, and stop by Disc Golf Shop and More/KY Disc Golf Hall of Fame, on your way out there:)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 mature course in a nice park

2-4    4/11/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: gdub58
Played: 103  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Set inside a very nice park with good facilities. There is a shelter by the first tee, and the practice basket has cement markers in a spiral surrounding the basket from 1-10 meters to add some interest to the warm up.
- Well-defined routes on every hole, with options available for different types of shots on many of them. Many mature trees (mostly fir trees) which present a real challenge. Both RH and LH will appreciate the layout.
- Some holes have two pads and/or two baskets.
- Not terribly long, but still has many holes that require a strong drive. Many holes can be deuced, but an under par round is still tough to achieve.
- Good signage and decent teepads.
Cons: - Most baskets are showing their age and have a lot of rust. A couple were set too low in the ground.
- Not a lot of room between some holes and there are times you have to wait to drive because players on other holes are in your line.
- People on the walking trail which surrounds course can get in the way
Other Thoughts: Other than the baskets, a course I would definitely recommend. If I were local, it would definitely be a regular stop because it is the kind of course to work on different shots and try to put up a hot score.
The trees definitely eat discs a lot more readily than I would prefer and the first time you play the course they are usually blocking your view of the basket, but that's part of the personality of the course rather than a con.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A challenege with distance

2-4    3/13/2010   3/14/2010
Review By: gkeberhart
Played: 36  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of tough shots, nothing here is a gimme. The elevtation changes are wonderful, rarely do you have a level shot. Tree as just beautiful, makes for a visually appealing course as well. The course didnt favor one shot type over the other, great mix of forehands and backhands for righty or lefty. Distance wasn't overwhelming, but was plenty enough to keep you on your toes.
Cons: Most of the baskets were great but some were in need of repair or replacement. While they had a lot of concrete tee pads, they were unusuallly slick for some reason. I watched a few people take a good slip and fall. If your are in a pine tree, good luck with your disc. I spent 30 min in the tree shaking the branch without budging my disc.
Other Thoughts: It is a great course with lots of shot types. The park is clean and very well maintained. If I had one suggestion for the people would be to get a 20' pole out there to help people get their discs out of trees. If you are in Bowling Green I would recommend stopping and playing this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Deuce or Die

2-4    4/10/2008   1/16/2010
Review By: ChrisWoj
Played: 108  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 9.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kereiakes Park's HB Clark DGC is a very fun course. I would classify it as, possibly, the most enjoyable deuce-or-die course I have ever played (it is a close battle with fellow Kentucky course Lincoln Ridge Park (formerly Banklick).

Kereiakes makes excellent use of elevation and trees available. Every hole seems to be carefully considered in placement. I noticed that almost every hole, from 1 to 18, it was incredibly easy to get to a particular spot 40 feet from the basket. But actually parking each hole required precision. The variety of shots available to reach hole 18's green really stands out in my mind. Hole 15 is a fun gap-hit, hole 5 takes a real pump to reach. Good variety on the course.
Cons: The only cons I can think of are that number 1 - it is a very hyzer friendly course. Hyzer bombs are prevalent. Hole 15, despite being a great hole, doesn't seem to flow with the rest of the course. It is distinctly different from everything else out there - a good and bad thing. It seems like a fantastic hole that was picked up from another course and dropped in the middle of Kereiakes. The final minor complaint - this course is one of the few I've played where the two-meter rule needs to be in effect every time you play. The trees are a true bail-out all over the place for errant drives going deep. The two-meter rule keeps a player from ripping for the trees and praying for an easy drop.
Other Thoughts: As I already said - I love Kereiakes. I didn't play well there my one time out, but I remember having a lot of fun. That's something you can't say about a lot of courses. Playing poorly on Kereiakes can be aggravating because the birdies are right there in front of you, but it never turns into a grind. A lot of fun shots, a lot of power hyzers to open your arm up and go big, and nice natural flow for the most part.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of the most fun courses

5+    4/10/2007   12/10/2009
Review By: goalkeeper19
Played: 124  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has tons of variety, and is simply one of the most fun courses I have ever played.

There are 18 potential birdies on this course, but it's not a cakewalk. Kereiakes forces you to make your 2 good shots on every single hole. There are many different hole types, including left- and right- turning shots, up- and down-hill shots, straight open holes, tight wooded holes, blind holes, roller holes. Two sets of tees on most holes and alternate pin placements add a significant challenge.

The course is beautiful, and well taken care of. It's obvious that the course was "designed", rather than "placed", as so many disc golf courses are. The hole designs utilize the trees and hills in 17 totally different ways (#12 and #13 are similar).

This is the kind of course that you jump out of the car for, and also a course that you want to play again immediately after you've finished a round.
Cons: The course is squeezed on to a smaller piece of land than it deserves, so a few holes run very closely. There are a few areas where there are 2 or 3 different teeboxes to different holes right next to each other.
Other Thoughts: Absolutely the only course I would play in BG if I only had time for one round. The land is great for rollers, and I can think of at least 6 or 7 holes where a good roller is a great option off the tee (#2, #3, #5, #6, #7 (yes!), #17, #18). If I lived closer, I'd be at this course every single weekend.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/3/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: kdos
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of trees on almost every hole. this makes some shots quite interesting. there are multiple tee pads for some holes. rolling hills and a nice walking/running path that surrounds the course.
Cons: the park was kind of hard to navigate as a first timer there. the fairways were mowed but since some holes are very close to each other it was sometime hard to figure out which mowed fairway was the right one. hopefully they will mow all of it soon.
Other Thoughts: very nice park. highly recommended if you are in the area.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Don't miss this one.

1    6/27/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 6.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow, what a fun course this is! At first glance I thought this would be a pretty easy course. I was really surprised how much accuracy that was required to score well here. It is a course that doesn't appear to have a whole lot of challenge until you play a few holes and then you realize, "I need to buckle down and concentrate". One the other hand, if you are on your game you should score well too. I liked the fact that it is not a course that just hands you birdies but does reward good shots.

For the most part it is a pretty open course with many trees scattered around as obstacles. The trees which are a mixture of mature hardwoods and lots of big cedars will force you to aim carefully. You'll also find a generous mixture of elevation changes along with shot types too. In fact, I didn't feel any "same ol' hole fatigue" here at all. Uphill, downhill, right, left, and strait holes are all found here. The openness comes with the benefit of not worrying about excessive undergrowth should you find yourself off the fairways. Speaking of the fairways, the grass is well kept and trimmed shorter than the "rough". This also helps in the navigation of the course in general. You'll find a holes anywhere from 220' to 425' with most of them on the shorter side. The trees also work nicely making up for the short holes in terms of difficulty. You should enjoy ample ace opportunities too. Number one (short) comes to mind as one of the more fun to run at. Also look for a couple different routes on some of the holes. I took a risk by using the least logical line a few times and was rewarded a time or two.

The course also boast's concrete tee pads, signs, and an informative kiosk including a course map close to the pavilion and practice basket. A few holes have multiple tees and a few have a couple different pin placements as well. Number one and ten shares a "Y" shaped pad from the long position and is pretty unique.
Cons: Truly there are not many in my mind. Each person has their own ideals and dislikes. Each player is likely to find some based on that. As some of the previous reviewers have stated, there are holes on the short side by today's standards. I happened to enjoy them though.

I played on a Saturday morning and did not experience the crowds that others have mentioned. I can see all of the characteristics that make it likely to be, both by other park users and players as well.

The concrete tees are showing their age but are quite playable.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course in terms of scenery, design, and fun factor. One way of knowing I really enjoyed a course is by determining if I want to come back and play again. I do. This one should defiantly have you wanting to return and play again as well. With the large selection of courses to play in the Bowling Green area, this is one of them on the top of the list to play again next time I visit. I hope you'll like it too. Enjoy!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Cedars everywhere!

1    5/30/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 754  Exp: 12.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set in a hilly area, with lots of mature trees. The course plays up and down the hills, and very few of the holes are without some kind of elevation change. There are really no wide open holes, but there is a great variety of types of holes. There are some holes where you need to shape your shot around a couple big cedars, and others where you are shooting through a whole forest of them.

This course never felt repetitive, as each hole was unique, and all different kinds of shots were required here. The course design used the terrain and the trees beautifully to make challenging and interesting holes throughout. The course looped back to the parking lot halfway through, which was a nice plus.

The course was very well taken care of. There were very nice tee signs with distance and a hole map, and all the tees were nice concrete pads. At the beginning of the course, there was a large course map showing the full layout with all the alternate tees. The alternate tees gave very different looks at some of the holes, and were very well marked with their own signs. The grass was nicely mowed, and there was no trash or any kind of brush on the course. It is very clear that the locals take great care of this course.
Cons: The one thing this course was missing was length. There were no holes where you could open up and throw a driver. The course is also in a fairly small space, which means a few holes play right next to one another. Most of the fairways are well insulated from each other, but there were a few that overlapped. Also, a few holes played right on top of the next tee pad, so if people were playing right behind you, it was important to watch for incoming drives.

The course is surrounded by a walking path, and it comes very close to a number of holes. When the path is crowded, it can be a bit of a safety hazard, and you may end up waiting for traffic to pass.
Other Thoughts: This course was a lot of fun to play, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone in the area. The cedar trees make a great obstacle, as they are much more likely to grab a disc than other trees, and this added a unique flavor to this course. It was challenging enough to be interesting to experienced players, but was very well marked and definitely beginner friendly as well.

Next time I'm in the Bowling Green area, this course is at the top of my list to play again. The local disc golf scene in this town is fantastic, and they take great care of their area courses.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.