Bowling Green, KY 
Kereiakes Park Share
Uploaded By: tistoude Hole #10 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 258ft.   3 / --   3 / 285ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Short Tee Sign



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great Terrain,Awesome Cedar Trees

1    2/23/2009   2/26/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 704  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Lots of rolling hills are incorporated into the shot making requirements on this course. Miss by just a few feet you may end up 50 feet away if your disc flutters and then rolls away.

2) Awesome Cedar Trees. These trees are massive and they require you to shape shots around, through, or even underneath their branches. I lost 1 disc in a tall Cedar and my buddy lost another, and this is the first disc I have lost. Losing discs isn't a pro, but it makes the difficulty level higher which I love!

3) Not a lot of underbrush which is nice. You can generally see where you need to go, executing the shot is another story.

4) Hole #3 is awesome. Not too long or anything but the basket is parked right on the side of a hill so that any disc with too much anhyzer will just keep going and going down the hill.

5) Nice use of trees. There are some holes with specific trees you need to avoid, and other holes that you have to really shape a shot because they are a little more densely wooded. Only one hole with what I would call a tunnel shot #15, but the other trees are incorporated into the course tremendously. This holds true on #10 because the basket is placed around and between two trees. If you arent far enough left off the tee you can barely even see the basket let alone get to it.

6) Nice baskets, nice signage and nice teepads, essential for a higher rating in my book.

7) Somewhat beginner friendly because of moderately wooded property, but the terrain can get newbies fairly easily. Alternate tees on a few holes to also make this beginner friendly.

Cons: 1) Although most holes you have some alternative paths, I would have liked to see a few more holes going from right to left instead of left to right. I enjoy a good anhyzer hole but would like to see a few more hyzers.

2) In offseason could be somewhat muddy with very weedy lawns. Not sure about in season when grass is growing.
Other Thoughts: All in all another grat course. I credit this site with allowing me to play some of the better courses in the US so far in my short career in disc golf. I wouldnt have had any idea where to go to play on my travels.

This course has rolling hills, mature Cedars, tucked baskets, all of which contribute to a nice day of disc golfing. I will go back whenever I go through Bowling Green, you should do the same if you are ever in the area.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/4/2009   2/4/2009
Review By: bdamcat
Played: 24  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2009
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice concrete pads with signs and baskets on every hole. Well kept and clean. With the tall pine trees you will need to keep your disc down and in the fairways. But even with a bad tee shot you still have a good chance at saving par. Nice layout with hole 1 and hole 18 starting and stopping at the parking lot. Has a large welcome sign with map and a covered shelter. And the location is nice too it's only a few minutes from Lover's Lane. A must play if your on a BG tour.
Cons: Watch out for people walking on the paths. There are always people out there when I've played this course morning, afternoon, and evening. But other than that there's not nothing really bad about the course.
Other Thoughts: This course is a must stop and play if your in the BG area. Not to mention it's one of the oldest in the state I think. Alot of hyzer spike shots if you have the arm for them. That seems to be the shot I see alot of the locals throwing.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/29/2008   1/30/2009
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10.2 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is such a beautiful course. There are nice concrete tees and good tee signs on every hole. The course and the grass on the fairways are well maintained. The baskets are surrounded by mulch that gives the course that extra aesthetic appeal. There is a small pavilion near the start of the course and a larger pavilion as your entering the parking lot which is where the bathrooms are located. There course loops back to the front at the half way point.

Design wise, this course is very good. The cedar trees really do define this course. The design uses these cedar trees, the moderate elevation, and the small amount of land very well, offering a good variety of shots that require accuracy and reward well placed shots. The course flows well and it is fairly easy to find the next tee. The course is easy enough to be enjoyed by newer players, but fun and challenging enough to be enjoyed by pros.
Cons: The walking track can be busy at times, which can be dangerous for walkers who do not know to look out for flying discs. As long as players are smart about when they throw, then this should not be too much of a con. The cedar trees can and will eat discs, then even if you find your discs, it could be tough to get it down.
Other Thoughts: For me, this course just had that wow factor of beauty when I first arrived. It is a joy to play here and admire the scenery, while enjoying a round of disc golf. Speaking of admiring, it is also a joy to admire the beautiful college girls from the nearby university who like to use this walking track, as a nice added bonus to an already great course. This is simply a great course for everybody. I highly recommend stopping to play here if you are ever in the area.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 A classic!

5+    7/16/2008   12/26/2008
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 60  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10.2 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kereiakes is one of the most well maintained and most played courses in the entire country. All of the Bowling Green golfers come here to play, whether it is a tournament round or a casual day of golf.

Kereiakes Park plays in a valley between two shallow hills. The park itself is very popular with walkers and runners as there is a running path that borders the edge of the disc golf park. Although the area for the course is limited, the layout uses the available space amazingly well.

The course itself is always mowed, and in the summer the rough grows out a bit while the fairways remain closely mowed. Every hole has well designed tee signs and excellent pads. Several of the holes have alternate teepads, with all of them adding quite a bit of difficulty (except the alternate for #1).

The layout of this course is phenomenal, with two clearly-defined 9 hole tracks that meet at the pavilion by the parking lot. The flow from hole to hole is effortless with very little extra walking required. Despite being installed in a small area of land, the layout uses every inch of available space and none of the fairways cross even though a couple of them come close.

The trademark of Kereiakes Park is the cedars. Every hole on the course is lined with cedar trees, and it will make you play more conservative than you would in other conditions. The cedar trees really dictate the fairway and the available options. Most of the holes have at least one clearly defined route, although there are a few holes that have multiple routes. Hole #9 for example has a sweeping hyzer route as well as a low-ceiling line-drive route.

This course rewards accuracy as drives can get easily get lodged at the top of a cedar tree. Players who can throw overhand shots will have a much easier time throwing approach shots.

There is moderate elevation change at Kereiakes, with nearly every hole having some kind of slightly uphill or downhill lie. There are several nice opportunities to throw rollers, although it is not a necessity.
Cons: There aren't too many cons when it comes to Kereiakes Park. The walking path that borders the park comes into play on several holes. As mentioned by others, the cross country team sometimes practices here - but those occasions are rare.

This course was built some time ago, before the newer high speed drivers were developed. With current standards, this course is a bit short - but I feel that every inch of the available land is used with the current setup.
Other Thoughts: This is where I learned the sport. I was very lucky to have Kereiakes Park as my home course for 2 years. It is an excellent course for players learning the game and the locals are very friendly. If you wait around by the pavilion it is easy to join up with other disc golfers.

Overall, this is one of the most well-rounded courses I have ever played. Granted there is not a lot of distance, but the shot variety is excellent and the fairways provide the perfect landscape for a disc golf course.

I highly recommend Kereiakes to anyone who is in or near Bowling Green... Play this course! There are several tournaments at Kereiakes every year, with major amateur and pro tournaments stopping here.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/16/2008   12/19/2008
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.9 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Kereiakes disc golf course is one of the all around best courses in the Bowling Green area. The course has large, concrete tee pads that are in good shape, and multiple tee locations on 1, 2, 6, 10, 12, and 15 (I think I got them all). The fixed position Mach3 baskets are in good shape, and a practice basket is located near the first tee. There are no benches on the course, or trash receptacles that I remember (I apologize if this is incorrect).

The course flows great and is reasonably easy to navigate. Tee signs are posted on each hole. There is large course map posted by the first tee to show the overall layout of the course. The course is comprised of two loops, each returning to the parking area. Underbrush and thick foliage just don't exist on this well-maintained course. The grass is cut to define fairways and rough which one of the nice visuals of this course.

The holes are designed to utilize the moderate elevations in Kereiakes park. Length is not a major factor here, averaging just over 300ft/hole, but there is a nice variety in the distances between the holes. There are a few ace runs, even for the recreational player, but also a chance for some of the longer, more experience players to pull a driver out of the bag and go for it. A great mix of uphill, downhill, and sidehill lies.

There are no tight, technical holes at Kereiakes, but the course is brilliantly designed to take advantage of both open fields and large, mature evergreen and deciduous trees. The tees and baskets are strategically located in and around the trees to allow a variety of options of the box, hyzers, tomahawks, annies, rollers, or just about any other type of shot you can imagine. There are many great holes at Kereiakes, but one of my favorites is No7. This hole is around 400ft in length with a sweeping dog-leg right following a gentle down slope to a basket placed under the back side of a large, mature tree. I throw exclusively RH backhand, so this hole lets me throw a sweeping anhyzer, which is one of my favorite shots.

There is a small pavilion by the first tee, but the larger pavilion up near the entrance to the park has public restrooms. I'm guessing this is used for the other sporting events held here in the park, so the restrooms may be locked during off season, not sure on about that one.
Cons: This is an older course, and shows some signs of wear, but that really isn't a con, but more a sign of a great course that gets a lot play. There is room to add some alternate basket positions to allow different configurations of the course, not necessarily a con either, but I think it would be a nice and welcome addition to the course. There are several large cedars that will grab your disc, so keep an eye out for those.
Other Thoughts: This course is very similar in design to Freeman Lake in Elizabethtown, Ky., if you have played that one, it would be a good comparison minus the intimidation factor of the water. There are many courses to choose from in this area, but this one is a must play, definitely in my top three for Bowling Green. This course is used in many of the local tourney's, including the Bowling Green NT. The annual ice bowl tourney has been here the last two years. This is a great tournament that supports a great cause, and typically has a high turn-out of locals, despite the usually frigid temps.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best Bowling Green Courses

5+    4/2/2011   11/24/2008
Review By: dobbins66
Played: 80  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2011
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great Signage and Teepads in Good condition.
Beautiful Fairways with Mature trees, Pines and other obstacles without brush cluttering up the place. Don't have to worry about losing discs unless you hang it up in a tall evergreen.

Multiple Teepads on each hole and multiple pin placements to be used.

Well designed holes incorporating the disc swallowing evergreens that exist on most holes.

Very little elevation but what does exist is well used throughout the course.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind - This is a very enjoyable course to play. If you are a big arm and want to see how far you can throw than head over to Phil Moore but otherwise this is a great course.
Other Thoughts: Not a long course and definitely not the most challenging in BG but it just might be the best all round. Some may consider it a little to forgiving - It is so well maintained that even a bad teeshot usually leaves you a reasonable shot at saving Par (unless your an evergreen). If you are near the area you need to play this course.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Well maintained, fun course

5+    11/9/2008   11/18/2008
Review By: CStaples
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.2 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course is well maintained with very little harsh schule. The layout makes great use of the available land with a good mix of shots required to navigate the course.
Cons: No true par 4's or 5's. This course is great for the limited land that is usually allotted to our sport and is a wonderful example of how to make a great par 54 beginner to intermediate level course.
Other Thoughts: Whenever I visit Bowling Green this is one of my favorite places to play.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Ace Run

2-4    10/27/2008   10/30/2008
Review By: arrdee33
Played: 77  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 20.2 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great Fairways. "go for Ace" shots. Good flow. excellent signs and pads. nice large trees for obsticals make for great challange.
Cons: non that i could see. could make some holes a little longer. but the go for it shots are fun non the less
Other Thoughts: very close to other great BG parks

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful course

2-4    8/2/2008   9/3/2008
Review By: upfromtheashes
Played: 39  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 9.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Attractive landscaping, the large bushy trees are unlike any other course I've played.

The course design really takes the lay of the land and squeezes the most out of it. Some good use of elevation changes without it ever feeling TOO hilly.

Very well maintained. As with most of the Bowling Green courses, the signage is top notch. Teepads are above average.
Cons: Honestly the only thing I'd change about this course is something that can't be changed. I'd like it better if it was just a bit longer. Sadly, however, there's just no more land to be had. The course makes good use of what is available.
Other Thoughts: If you visit Bowling Green on a disc golf road trip...and you should...then you need to make this course one of your stops. You won't regret it.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 The pride of BG!!!

1    8/2/2008   8/8/2008
Review By: buzzinb
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/10/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wonderfully laid out course that offers a dazzingly array of challenging holes. No two holes are exactly alike. You will need to bring out your full bag of tricks if you plan on slinging any kind of mid 50's or better round! Very scenic course that is well maintained. The challenge of the course combined with all the natural aesthetics make this course an absolute pleasure to play.
Cons: Very crowded on weekends and afternoons. Sometimes you have wait for joggers/walkers to get a safe distance away before launching a drive.
Hole number 4 is now at the short pin--a waste of what was one of the tougher yet more rewarding holes on the course.

Went there on a recent Saturday and the WKU cross country team had taken over the DG course! There were running paths chalked in all over the fairways.
Other Thoughts: This is in my opinion, the best of what Bowling Green has to offer. A must play if you are in the area.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.