Torrey, UT
The Rim Rock DGC Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #17 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / --   3 / --   3 / 426ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Beautiful

5+    7/26/2013   9/27/2013
Review By: SuperBorg
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3 Years
Pros: This is a very unique and beautiful course. The red rocks are absolutely stunning. You will throw off plateaus, across canyons, and up cliffs. Stop and get directions at the Patio (and pick order a pizza for after the round). Hole one and two are are 400 bombs over some marshes. With Capital Reef as a backdrop, the holes are breathtaking, but you haven't seen anything yet. Hole 3 will take you off the cliff and into the back country below. Hole 8 is one of the greatest holes I have played. Throw from the top of a mountain, over a huge ravine, to a basket on a nearby mountain. The basket is on top of a large anthill, giving you the choice to layup, or go for it, chancing a huge blow-by.

The course, its rocks, and its extreme contours are fantastic.
Cons: Signage, particularly on holes 1, 2, 17, and 18, is not great. The directions are not great either. Holes 16, 17, and 18 backtrack and reuse the first few holes and their baskets. This course can get extremely hot, and there is no water.
Other Thoughts: Improved signage, and no repeat holes, and this is a five star course. Leave your DX discs at home, they will not survive this course. Very few trees, but the course gives you obstacles in the form of classic Utah red rock formations.

hidden gem!

1    7/27/2013   7/27/2013
Review By: adazm
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: if for any reason you were ever in this neck of the woods, this place is AMAZING!!!
super beyond scenic beautiful.
score card is essential.
teepads are frequently AT the basket area, which is weird and unorthodox, but fine once you adjust.
the teepads themselves are far from amazing, but generally clearly marked.
overall, fun fun fun. and fun.
Cons: sorry, no real downside here. a couple teepads are slightly hard to find the first time. ish.
Other Thoughts: the red rock inn is a fab place to stay to play this course. assuming you can handle the 100 yard walk from your (small) motel room to first teepad ;)

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Red canyon clay

1    3/2/2013   3/12/2013
Review By: lion
Played: 493  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 8.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Below are the pros I encountered while playing this course:
1. When you arrive at the inn and restuarant there is plenty of parking and a bathroom on hand to use before traversing the course.
2. The restuarant has very good pizza I recommend and other activities like darts, horseshoe pit and more for families or anyone not playing the disc golf course.
3. All the baskets on the course were fine with no missing chains or heavy slanted angles. All positioned fine.
4. Tees were marked with painted slabs of rock, some were faded but still able to spot and identify.
5. The course had a lot of elevation changes.
6. Course has great views of the national park, mountain ranges, canyons, piņon pines, and red clay peaks. Very unique setting.
7. Course wasn't right arm or left arm dominate. You really get a sense it was built to be played either way equally.
8. Maps and scorecards are available at the bar.
9. On the blind holes there were markers on the fairway to let to know where to throw to and aim for. This made the few blind holes easier to play without having to walk ahead and recon the hole.
10. Course flows pretty smoothly with no long walks between holes.
11. Course plays 9 holes out and then turns back for home. Course ends right where you start at the restaurant.
12. 2/3's of the holes play in the canyon setting, while the other 6 flirt with the piņon pine.
13. There were benches spread out on the course to rest and relax.
14. Lots of photo opportunities on the course.
15. Course has a few signature holes to remember.
16. Weather was cool with the elevation around 5500-6000 feet up.
17. Free to play!
18. Disc turn in at the bar/restaurant.
19. Practice basket right next to bar for fun and putting contests.
20. Course never has a lot of traffic. It's all yours when you show up.
Cons: Below are my cons on the course
1. The teepads are natural and not all are level and some leave little room to generate a full run up to reach the longer holes.
2. The lightning baskets aren't the best to play on and feel more like a practice basket.
3. First timers could have trouble locating the pads, especially if they don't have a map.
4. Course feels more geared towards the seasoned disc golfer and not a beginner.
5. Course is way off the grid and requires a long drive to get to.
6. Very little trees and shade on course for the hotter months.
7. No bathrooms on course.
8. No water on course.
9. Pack your own trash out, no trash cans.
10. A few holes use the same baskets towards the end of the round.
11. In the winter months it gets snow and muddy in the late winter months.
12. Very easy to throw long OB into the road over hole 1.
13. Some of the trails aren't beat in enough and can be tricky when crossing the creek during the round.
14. All the shops in the town close early during the offseason.
15. There isn't a local club here so the course doesn't get enough course maintenance which it needs. Just a few days of maintenance could bump my rating up to a four. This course was a 4, but with signs fading and markers going to waste. It has been down graded. Course needs some love.
Other Thoughts: This course is a long way away from the other 30 listed courses in the state and more of an added attraction when visiting the areas state parks or lake or mountain ranges or rivers. I really recommend the pesto pizza at the restaurant. Local beer is the way to go. Bring a good pair of hiking shoes and be ready to have your plastic covered in the red clay dust by rounds end. This course was a perfect ending to a good 5 day disc golf trip threw a few states. I recommend playing this course in the summer when other courses near by( or closer) are open and allow you to play at least two different courses in a day.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Red Rock Magic

2-4    7/20/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: Memphis Newbie
Played: 33  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Unique--like nothing I have played before, rather than foliage forcing you to shape your shots, the topography provides the obstacles.

Rugged-- I ,for one, love the natural tees. They are level, grippy and match the terrain. Even after a rain, this sandy-rocky soil played well. I think concrete tees would be an unnecessary eyesore. The only difference between this course and the terrain that existed pre-course is the addition of baskets and some cairns (stacked rocks) and I think that is a huge pro.

Scorecard/treasure map-- I enjoyed following the directions on the back of the scorecard. Had no problem finding any of the tees (however--see cons). All you need to know to navigate this course is that the highway is north of the course and you will have sufficient bearings to make your way. It was fun reading the "treasure map" after holing out and making your way to the next tee. Also, it is nice that the directions have the hole length. I really like having the hole lengths with me so I can refer to them later.

Use of elevation--several of the tees are a short uphill hike to an elevated mesa tee, causing most of the drives to be downhill. I felt like superman at this course with a couple of my drives going over 400' because of the downhill drives (that is far for me). With only a couple of uphill drives you leave this course feeling pretty good about yourself and wanting to come back for more.

Good hole variety--nuff said

Beautiful-- from the smell of the sage to the red rock cliffs to the crisp mountain air. Beautiful.
Cons: Though I had no trouble finding the tees, the three blind holes were tricky to know exactly where to shoot without a map. The first blind hole was short enough that we sent a runner to spot the basket, but the next one we just tee'ed off and hoped for the best. The third blind hole (hole #10) has directions to a cottonwood tree. This tree has died and fallen over and is no longer visible from the tee. Instead, shoot for the most prominent cedar tree, the basket is about 150' past this. I don't know the solution to navigating these blind holes except perhaps some arrow shaped cairns to mark the flight path. Only a problem for first time players at this course.
Other Thoughts: Though I live in Memphis, I grew up in Utah and traveled to family land near Capitol Reef a couple times a year while growing up. I brought a group of about twenty relatives (most had never played disc golf) and we played the Rim Rock course. It was loved by all and is now sure to be a family tradition when we are in the area. This beautiful and unique course made several converts to the sport and we will be returning.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    6/1/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: Mincus14
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Surprising amount of shot variety for being in the desert with very few trees. Beautiful setting. 18 cool holes with elevation changes and different hole types and distances.
Cons: Hard to navigate without a map as there are no real tee boxes and no signage except for the rock cairns. (A map can be picked up at the lodge or the restaurant) a couple of the tees and baskets are re-used in multiple holes near the end.
Other Thoughts: Very cool course

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Rugged and challenging

2-4    8/27/2011   12/30/2011
Review By: Discette
Played: 232  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 17.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/25/2012
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course was part of a journey across Utah to visit the National Parks. I enjoy rugged western disc golf and geology and this course combines the two.

This is a very rugged course as is typical in this area of the west. There is lots of elevation change, no grass, few trees and there are plenty of rocks and scrubby vegetation.

While some may see the lack of signage and directions as a negative, I found it to be part of the adventure. I am glad I brought my compass. It was fun having to navigate from hole to hole with directions like "East toward bunker".

Again, I liked the rugged and rustic setting. The geology of the Capitol Reef is unique and breathtaking, even if you are not into rocks.


Took some awesome photos.
Cons: Same as pros... the course is rugged and demanding. There is very little signage and direction. I almost managed to play it correctly, but apparently got off track around holes 10 and 11. But it was still enjoyable.

Would absolutely recommend boots and bring plenty of water.
Other Thoughts: A must visit course if you are in the area visiting the Capital Reef, Bryce Canyon area of Utah. Not for a casual round, for dedicated discers only. The INN was booked with a wedding the day I was there, so I had to get a room in Torrey. Great place to rest between parks.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Desert Delight

1    9/6/2011   9/28/2011
Review By: markjfun
Played: 61  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Have you ever taken a running approach and hurled your disc with all your might across a gaping canyon, gorge or ravine? Have you ever wanted to? A bunch of times? If you answered "yes" to the second or third question, The Rim Rock DGC is sure to satisfy! This high desert course plays through the wide open expanse of red dirt, sage brush and big sky behind the Rim Rock Inn and its satellite bar, The Patio. The baskets are in great shape, the course is easy to find, it's free, and you can even play darts with a draught beer in your hand afterward.

During your 3 mile walk of tranquility, you'll encounter "blind" holes hidden deep down in dry washes, baskets placed atop barren mounds of earth (careful not to roll that disc!), and long throws into the great unknown. Bring your sense of adventure - and your disc cannon. Four of the 18 holes measure beyond 400 feet, including the 498-ft monster that's labeled "From anthill- West to cottonwood tree". Instead of "cottonwood tree", it might as well say "the inner ring of Jupiter" because without some rocket boosters, you'll probably fall short and end up in the weedy ravine. If distance driving is not your forte, there are enough mid-ranged holes that will provide opportunities to save face if you can capitalize on them. Chances are, you don't live anywhere near this course, so enjoy this unique disc golf offering that is quite the success of a true DG hobbyist.
Cons: The most obvious shortcoming is the lack of adequate signage. The painted rocks at the tees get knocked over or faded pretty easily. Unless you or one of your group members has played here before, you'll probably find yourself aiming your disc in the general direction of what you assume to be the pin on several occasions. In fact, if you have managed to successfully navigate back to The Patio with the "clear-as-mud" directions from the back of the scorecard and you played all the holes in the correct order, consider it a success! If your sense of direction is anything like Clark Griswold's, you better bring a trusty ol' compass beacuse the directions on the scorecard refer to things like "Basket below cliff to the west".

Baskets 1 - 3 are reused on holes 16 - 18, but you approach them from completely different angles, so it doesn't feel too repetitive. There are no trash cans, bag hooks or restrooms, unless The Patio is open for business. There are one or two benches near the beginning of the course.
Other Thoughts: The course is approximately 1 mile from the western border of Capitol Reef National Park and about 18 miles from the park's main ranger station. Don't forget sunscreen and good shoes. Sandals are not a wise choice unless your feet are tough as wood; there are lots of low-lying cacti, thick weeds and sharp rocks.

The Rim Rock is an awesome course to play when you need to get away from it all or just want some peaceful time to yourself. Take it all in and enjoy the abundance of red rock, wide open sky and challenging disc golf!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome!

5+    4/3/2010   4/4/2011
Review By: nosyrb1065
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: If you like playing just outside an awesome national park with great accomidations and food... then this is for you! Make it a trip! Start here and go to the Moab city course, followed by Base camp disc... will change your life.
Cons: Getting your wife to let you go.
Other Thoughts: Make it happen!

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 The Rim Rock

1    8/23/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: hakaluge
Played: 125  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 22.8 Years
19 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is in the middle of nowhere, so you get a feeling of solitude, with no outside influences. The friendly employees are glad to explain the course, and the scorecard has some simple directions. The scenery is beautiful and the weather is generally fair and hot. The use of elevation is key to this course. Many hills and canyons come into play, making for challenging approaches.
The scorecard can usually be located in back of the restaurant under the innova banner. This is a nice "freebie" from a private course. Without directions you may as well make up your own course out here. Also has distances which can help you realize how far to really crush that drive.
Cons: As is typical of a desert course, the variation between holes is the distance and elevation change. A similar drive will do fine on most holes because there are not many "alleys." The wind can really pick up here and the low brush could mean a lost disc.
The directions on the scorecard are helpful, but unless you are a backcountry tracker, you could easily wander a bit when searching for tees and baskets. If you can't read the sun, I'd recommend bringing a compass since the scorecard info gives a lot of directional headings. (Northeast to tamarisk bush against cliffs.) Some baskets are reused, but in the best possible way, making for much different looks at the same basket.
Other Thoughts: The Patio, a restaurant looking out over the course, will serve a good meal after a long hot walk. Also nice to support the people that are friendly and open to our genre of recreation.
From the back of the scorecard:
"Every tee box marked with a painted number. All holes par 3 except #10 (par 4).
1) From horseshoe pits - Northeast to knoll by highway/sign. 312 Feet.
2) From knoll - South to furthest tree across milkweed ravine. 390 Feet.
3) From picnic table point - East off sheer drop-off to broad flats. 342 Feet.
4) From cairns at broad flats - North past pinyon tree. Hole is against cliffs and marked by tall post. 282 Feet
5) Elevated tee (west of hole) - South to ravine at fence line (blind). Marked by tall post. 297 Feet.
6) From fence line at road- Northeast to tamarisk (feathery) bush against cliffs. Marked by post. 360 Feet.
7) Elevated tee- East down canyon beyond sloping bunker. Marked by post. 468 Feet.
8) Elevated tee on sloping bunker- Southeast beyond telephone pole to grass canyon. Post. 462 Feet.
9) Really elevated tee- South to basket on huge anthill. 312 Feet.
10) From anthill- West to cottonwood tree. 498 Feet.
11) From road- North beyond telephone pole. 366 Feet.
12) Fence tee- West along ridge. 264 Feet.
13) Back to east end of ridge- Southwest beyond telephone pole and over willows. 309 Feet.
14) Sagebrush tee- West to base of hill. 315 Feet.
15) Base of hill- North to hole #3. 402 Feet.
16) Saddle of trail- North to hole #2. 249 Feet.
17) Picnic table tee- North to hole #1. 426 Feet.
18) From knoll east to horseshoe pits. 342 Feet."

19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Great Open Course with lots of elevation change

1    2/6/2010   3/6/2010
Review By: themontage
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great wide open course, a must play if you are in the area. There is a lot of elevated tees and pins, great for some really long shots for some of the holes. Some blind holes and an overall long course.
Cons: Not too much direction on where to go from tee to tee, the score card has some general help directions, but there are no elevated tee signs, just numbers painted on rocks, which can be hard playing in the winter. No distances on the score card and the tee boxes, which could help with all the open space makes it misleading. One of the tee's we could not find because it was marked as "sage brush tee." They are everywhere there.
Other Thoughts: Terrain can be rough, so plan ahead for the conditions you are going for (spring, summer, fall, winter). Be prepared with food, water, and other necessary clothing items as the weather does change quickly there. There is not thing else out there, but I did get great cell phone reception surprisingly. It is a great course to throw some bombs.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.