Torrey, UT
The Rim Rock DGC Share
Uploaded By: hagar Hole #8 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / --   3 / --   3 / 462ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Love it.

5+    11/11/2009   11/15/2009
Review By: rat106
Played: 37  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2010
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course offers a wide variety of shots. From long bombs for the big arms, to finesse shots where an errant throw sends you down into the ravine. A lot of elevation change make it fun and technical. Hole # 9 is my favorite, shooting across a ravine to an elevated basket, There are some very tough blind shots also, but the scorecards from "the Patio" make it very easy to navigate.
Cons: Cement tee pads would be nice. Can be muddy after even a light rain. And using the same basket for a couple of holes is kind of a negative. The rocks will chew up your cheaper plastic.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is great, definately one of my favorites. It is well worth the travel to get here, and alot of great scenery.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Getaway

5+    8/16/2009   8/16/2009
Review By: jnbeasley
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.9 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A unbelievable course with many different challenges. Every hole is unique. It begins at the back door of "The Patio", a great local restaurant/bar. They have incredible pizza, cold beer and, occasionally, live music. I feel like whoever built this course took a lot of time getting to know the landscape. They did a fantastic job using the many bluffs, ridge-lines, gullies and a few trees to design each hole. Very peaceful. Very Beautiful.
Cons: Can be very muddy and extremely overgrown on certain holes depending on when you play. Wind is a very big issue at times. Dirt tees, but you can still have a great game. Little red flags mark a lot of the holes, but it could be difficult to follow the course your first time. Recommend getting a map.
Other Thoughts: Almost a 5 in my book. They could add cement tees and change the course a bit to not reuse pins on a couple holes. I look for almost any excuse to drive out there.
I feel like driving is the most crucial part of this course. There are a lot of long holes, but very few that are out of reach for a birdie if you are on. A bad drive can turn into a double bogie quick.
It's hard to play this course and not go away a better disc golfer. I feel that although it may be a simple, ungroomed, dirt launchpad course, the setting is perfect to really concentrate on your technique and take the next step with your disc golf.

Also, for the adventurers, it is in close proximity to Capitol Reef. It's maybe a 10 to 15 minute drive to the visitor center

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Rim Rock Rocks!

1    5/14/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: hagar
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.5 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I echo everything the previous reviewer said. Unique terrain, beautiful surroundings. Great use of existing terrain in the course layout.

Cons: When I played, I encountered 20-40 mph gusty winds, which made the course virtually unplayable. Typical for spring I guess, but it's suposed to calm down in the afternoons (opposite of the weather I had been envountering).

This course will beat up your discs - just know in advance.

I didn't care for the baskets - about 6" shorter than what I'm used to and also had several putts just bounce off the chains.
Other Thoughts: WHen trying to locate the course, I went to the Rim Rock Hotel and the clerk promptly pulled out a scorecard that had some basic navigation directions on the back. ("Go NE to an elevated tee" for example) which helped a great deal, but it was still tough to find some of the tee boxes.

One of the hgardest parts of the course was gettting solid footing. Unimproved tee boxes were hit and miss, with one elevated tee box forcing risk of a 15' fall if you got too aggressive and slipped.

Only one really long hole and it's parred at 4. The rest are easily reachable for any big arm with control. But the terrain must be navigated correctly for a good round. Plenty of bogeys (or worse) out there

They reuse the basketes from 1,2 and 3 for holes 15,16 and 17 and 18 is right near a horseshoe pit. It didn't affect the play of the course, but I could see issues if the "resort" was busy. I'd love to try it again in calmer weather.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful and challenging!

1    8/18/2008   5/10/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course plays through very unique terrain, with shots into, out of, and through small rocky canyons. Not only is the course itself full of interesting rocky features, the backdrop is a spectacular view of the Utah desert with red rock cliffs.

This course is well laid out, with a great use of the elevation changes available. Many holes play up or down short cliffs, with baskets and tees on rocky outcroppings. There is a great mix of different types of holes, many with good length. Though there are not many trees, the design uses rocks and shrubs well to protect many pins and make holes more interesting.

The tees are all natural, but when we played, they were all perfectly fine to throw from. Many were on solid flat rocks that felt very similar to concrete tee pads, and the rest were on hard packed and leveled ground. The baskets were in good shape, and when they were difficult to see from the tee, sections of telephone poles were placed to mark the pin location.
Cons: This course was difficult to navigate the first time through. After playing once, this was no problem, but we spent a lot of time looking for the next tees throughout the course. The tee signs are rocks with the hole number painted on them, and so they (and the natural tees) blend into their surroundings and are difficult to see when not standing directly on top of them.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course with lots of scenery, and I would have marked it even higher if not for the difficulty of navigation. It was easy to find from the road, and the people at the small restaurant were very friendly and helpful.

The course has very little shade, so bring lots of sunscreen and water, especially on warm days. This is definitely a must play course if you are in the area, especially with so many beautiful places to camp and hike nearby.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.