Lexington, KY 
Veterans Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Atvizory2000 Hole #14 (Taken 2/2014)
3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Unique course flow

2-4    11/21/2012   11/23/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 155  Reviewed: 129  Exp: 2.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Buongiorno, Principessa!, They have a TANK! Veteran's Park in Lexington, KY has some nice facilities for a number of sports, including a batting cage, ball fields, excellent shelters, benches, trash cans, plenty of parking, restrooms, and so on, plus a challenging, intermediate to advanced disc golf course, with a mix of wooded (14) and open (4) holes.

Decent baskets follow minimalist signage (1st time: print a map or go with a guide!), and the variably sized concrete tee pads are -usually- appropriate for the distances involved (holes range from 165 to 475 feet, with some of the shorter ones being uphill). Multiple pin positions make the course play very differently. My first time here was a windy day, and baskets were mostly in the long positions. I shot a dozen strokes better on a calm day with short placements (well, lucky breaks helped too)!

There have been recent improvements in the infrastructure. After hole 6, what used to be described as the 'Stairs to Mordor' have been re-treaded (so to speak) with a nice use of recycled tires.
Cons: Course flow is definitely unique. I can think of 8 places where this course needs upgraded 'next tee' signage. Or breadcrumbs.

A couple of the tees (1, 3, 12) are either too small or too raised/ eroded for comfort.

Some of the paths and fairways are in need of stump grinding and root removal.
Other Thoughts: Hole by hole: 1) tight releasing, gentle hyzer (rhbh) woods opener, then turn left and go down the path to
2) very open (noodlearm) bomb where you want to avoid fading over the neighbor's fence (left)
3) wooded, downhill, anny end with a creek long & left, then turn right, cross the road (sign needed)
4) note basket position on this side-hill glade: could be long hyzer, or directly ahead, then go downhill to next tee
5) uphill anny with three pin positions requiring a peek ahead
6) pretty, ravine-side straight downhill to peninsula green, and a fairly substantial creek if you go long, then the stairs up to
7) an open field shot with a path left (you hook over into the woods in the long position). Keep your eyes peeled for the path to
8) straight but woody fairway with that creek on the left, then path left of magnificent tree to
9) short uphill deuce opportunity, then you'll need to find the breadcrumbs, go around, or cross #17's fairway
10) eventually, you'll find the tee below the left field fence, shoot straight over the rise (feel's very long)
11) longer side-hill fairway with some pines to make it interesting, look left for path to
12) tight wooded rise shot off of a small tee
13) longer wooded downhill that either ends straight or to the right, then confusing trek to
14) similar length, but tighter green, then go to the right
15) sweeping lane with a gentle hyzer either across the creek bed or long (475') down the lane, then up across the path, and look sharp about 100' in for a split in the path beside a honeysuckle and a large tree. The secret path takes you down to
16) straight and longer or hooking left to basket on the hillside
17) uphill long hyzer or straight away, both with trees to make it interesting, then up across the path & drive, onto the woods
18) finish coming up through the woods to one of two basket positions.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

BRRRRRRRR

1    3/5/2011   10/11/2012
Review By: chainbang
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awsome course. Lots of super long holes. Lots of variation and a little elevation change.
Cons: No tee signage, hard to find my at times. Quite a few people slammin Tallboys and throwing their cans along the way...Awesome!!
Other Thoughts: Enjoyed playing here, looking forward to the next time.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Course in Lexington

2-4    6/25/2011   10/5/2011
Review By: amryan11
Played: 26  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -wooded, technical holes
-good mixture of distances on holes
-signage for each hole
-map and practice basket at beginning of course
-fairly logical course flow (once you're used to it)
-usually not very busy
Cons: -can be muddy in woods
-can lose discs in creek (deep/wide enough at points)
-finding your way around the first (or second) time can be VERY confusing
Other Thoughts: This is just a park course but is a very good course, in my opinion probably the best in Lexington. There are a few open holes but most are wooded, technical shots that challenge you without being extremely difficult. There are signs on each hole and the course is generally well-groomed and clean. It isn't super busy most of the time and on hot days being in the woods for most of the course really helps. If it's your first time make sure you bring the map or go with someone familiar with the course. It's very confusing at first but once you get used to it I really don't think it's that bad, the course is set up so the holes are designed as well as possible and that means not every one is directly back-to-back. If you're in Lexington this course is a must-play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Lots Of Potential

5+    7/16/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: Ben17
Played: 61  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice tight wooded shots
Decent baskets
Practice basket
Nice tee signs
Concrete tee pads
Great variety of shots
Well taken care of
Nice benches at every hole
Cons: Short tee pads
Thick in some areas
Tough navigation
Only a few open holes
Other Thoughts: Lexington has a great amount of disc golf here. They have Shillito a few miles down the road, and many others within the area. This course is in the top three. I think that this course could be much better. It has alot of potential. Some area here are almost unbearable to play through. The first time I played here I forgot to print out a map. Normally when I play a new course I always print out a map. It was a huge mistake not printing one out here. I got lost probably five times. The one that was tough to find was hole #10. you just have to follow the road path outside of hole #9. it's very tough to navigate. I just recommend to anybody planning on playing here print a map out. One thing that I like here is how they consistently change the pin placements. It's nice tonplay almost a different hole for a change. I like the benches per every hole, it's very nice to rest. It was nice here how there were very few bugs. At slot of courses there everywhere. Here not so much. It's nice for a change. I came here my first time and played Veterans and Shillito in the same day. They are two nice well put together courses. If you some down don't forget to play them both, and DONT FORGET A MAP!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate Level Course

5+    3/8/2011   3/11/2011
Review By: jdjohannides
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Technical course with lots of wooded holes, improved tee signs, good variety of hole difficulty
Cons: Short 8' raised tee pads, course can get real muddy at times, difficult to find holes
Other Thoughts: This course is very difficult for beginners. Only 4 of the 18 holes I would consider in the open (trees not in play for the most part). Most of the holes are very technical with lots of trees in the throwing lanes including holes that have a OB creek (3 holes) which is greatly affected by recent rainfall. There is a good mix of distance on the holes. I would rate the chance of lost discs on this course as average. The distance between some holes is quite long and hard to find. Playing this course frequently is definitely improving my game.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Veterans Park

2-4    10/24/2010   11/2/2010
Review By: richardmmill
Played: 48  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is probably the best course in Lexington in my opinion. Great elevation changes. Challenging holes, some with water hazards. A good combination of open and wooded holes. This is a good challenging course, mostly technical with all the wooded holes. Forces a variety of shots backhands and forehands. Nice tees and baskets.
Cons: NAVIGATION is horrible on this course, even though there are signs they are so small and set off away from everything you wouldn't even notice that they were there. I played by myself and couldn't find the next hole more than once in the round, I had to get help. The area is used by a lot of other people, had mountain bikers ride through more than once. You have to cross through a fairway to get to a different hole.
Other Thoughts: Nice park

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 good course

2-4    9/12/2010   9/12/2010
Review By: hipster
Played: 76  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 33.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice baskets DGA
Benches at most holes
Variety of holes
Garbage cans
Challenging course for recreational players
Fairways were identifiable.

Cons: Course flow is confusing, could benefit from using Next Tee signs. Long Hikes between some holes.
Lack of decent Tee signs
Garbage cans were overflowing.
Hole 6 can be dangerous.
Some trees i front of the tees are scarred from the gashes from errant drives, TreeBeard would be upset.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing this course located in a sports park. Majority of the holes were wooded , so shot shaping and shot variety are needed. Risk/reward factor on majority of holes.The course could use a redesign, maybe adding some holes between the long walks. Next tee signs would help at a few of the holes. Overall, this is a very nice course.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wooded holes, love 'em

1    6/1/2009   6/26/2009
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I am a big fan of wooded courses, and the challenges they provide. There is no shortage of this type of play at Veterans!

All concrete tee pads in good shape. Baskets are mostly in good condition, with the exception of 18's which was missing. Signage was hit and miss, but the course map (satellite view) is excellent. Facilities are nice, restrooms and parking available by first tee.

Course doesn't seem to be heavily trafficked, and holes are fairly spread out to help alleviate congestion.

My memorable holes:
1 - Very tight woods tunnel with gentle hyzer, very tough line to hit (for me anyway).
3 - Neat downhill shot that you have to try and stay short on so you don't go in the creek.
6 - Crazy anhyzer (RHBH) shot with a creek left, and slopes down from right to left. This is a very tough, and long, shot, the kind of hole that can make you scream for joy or cry on your mommy's shoulder.
10 - Simple yet tough. Long throw up over the hill, you think sure, put a bunch of anhyzer on it, and it will come back to center. Just make sure you don't completely turn it over or it will be in the outfield of the ball field!
12 - This is very tough shot off the tee. Uphill slightly. Tightly treed fairway. Turns right then back left. I don't know if it's even possible to drive close enough to have a putt. Only 200 feet (by the course info) and a par 3, but wow I could see myself bogying this hole often! I imagine this would be a very rewarding hole with the right shot.
15 - Long gentle hyzer. Back in the woods but surprisingly open for most of the fairway. You think you'll never get to the pin, but then there it is off in the trees on the left. I actually had a very good drive on this hole and ALMOST hit a deuce, man I was stoked, but I guess I'm happy with a three.
18 - I think this hole would have been really neat, forced anhyzer, up a hill, accuracy being key. Only to get to the pin and discover there is no basket but a stick in the hole. Oh well, at least I knew where the pin was supposed to be.
Cons: Course navigation was obviously not a concern when this course was designed. Bring the map and you shouldn't have any issues finding the next tee, except maybe for 16. They did a pretty good job of hiding that one along the hiking/bike trails.

Some trimming of trees would help, and it would be a HUGE improvement to mow some of the wooded holes' fairways.

Hole signs almost non-existent.
Other Thoughts: My rating of a 3.5 is based on the fact that the course is very well laid out and designed on most holes, but some just seem to really lack imagination (7, 10, etc). I really did have fun though, and since the course is mostly under tree cover, it helped protect me from the crazy heat.

Ways it could improve? Better signage for sure. Other than that, maybe they could redesign a couple holes that are plain-jane and spice them up a little. Those kind of things could make this a 4 or even 4.5 rated course.

This course seriously kind of reminds me of a mini-Idlewild. Very challenging wooded shots all over the place. Just not nearly as long, and some relatively easy field shots bring it down a little.

If you are in Lexington, I think this is one of the must-plays.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Very Good Course

5+    4/27/2009   5/18/2009
Review By: ibekent
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Veterans is the second-most difficult course in the Lexington area, but unlike Riney B (the hardest) you can play it in an hour and a half without feeling worn out. Veterans strikes a nice balance: it offers high challenge and high risk/reward but can still be an enjoyable day at the park for recreational players (as long as they are OK with high scores).

The course has nice benches, restrooms, tee pads, and an excellent putting practice basket by the first tee. The holes are well-designed with a few alternate placements, a few tight fairways, some elevation changes, and a few water hazards. Most of the course is a light stroll through thick woods that requires precision throwing (thick with trees, not bramble). But a few fairways are fairly open, and four are in completely open fields. Despite being in a high-use park, other recreation rarely interferes with the disc golf course. Some joggers and bikers will cross your path, and a few fairways are in the process of being modified to accomodate new bike trails.
Cons: The problem with this course is navigation. The walks between 1-2, 9-10, and 15-16 are unusually long and not marked. (Print out a map from this site before you play.) The signs are mostly broken or defaced. Until they are replaced, the course will be perplexing without a map. Several holes get muddy after a rain. The course can get crowded on rare occasion, and trash has been a problem (despite the plentiful trash cans).
Other Thoughts: Beware the water on hole's 3, 6, and 8. They pose more of a hazard than you expect.

There are walking/jogging/biking trails that cross the dic golf course. Until the signs are fixed, these trails can mislead you.

The back nine is significantly longer and more challenging than the front.

A shortcut from 9 to 10 has been beaten across 17's fairway. Please look before walking if you take this shortcut because folks teeing off on 17 cannot see you.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/12/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/22/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Veterans Park is a beautiful park with some nice views of a stream, a waterfall at a manmade dam and a couple massive old trees.

The course is challenging and mostly wooded with some tight fairways and big elevation changes. Solid course design; it has a nice mix of long, medium and short holes and good balance of hyzer, straight and anhyzer shots. Get your birdies in the front 9 if you can, the back 9 is much more challenging.

There are some really cool holes here, here's a few of my favorites. Hole 6 is a gentle anhyzer shot over a hill that slopes down to the left towards a stream which also runs behind the basket. Hole 15 is 475 feet long and bends slightly to the left. It has a good sized fairway but with lots trees on each side. Hole 17 is an interesting one. It's a 325 foot hyzer over a big hill through a narrow fairway.
Cons: Navigating this course is difficult, please print out the map and bring it with you your first time here. There are long walks between holes 1-2, 9-10 and 15-16. There are lots of trails going through the woods making it easier to get lost if you don't know where you're going. I really hope some navigational signs are added to this course.

The tee signs are a bit old and they only tell the hole number and distance. Some are so old you can't read them.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't recommend this course to a new player. It can really punish you when you stray off the fairway. Shillito is close by and a much friendlier beginner course. More advanced player will likely love this course because it takes good skilled shots to get your birdies and stay out of trouble.

Beware the water hazards on 6 and 8. It can be difficult to retrieve discs if you don't have a disc diver.

This excellent course is well worth checking out if you're in the area, just bring a map your first time.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.