Lexington, KY 
Veterans Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Atvizory2000 Hole #14 (Taken 2/2014)
3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Better than expected

2-4    6/23/2013   6/23/2013
Review By: DG addict24
Played: 28  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The definition of tightly wooded, technical course is Veterans Park. It still gives you a couple of chances to throw some long like 2 and 10, but for the most part your going to have quite a few trees to worry about. A course this wooded obviously requires all the shots you could think of. The course is extremely difficult, and a couple over par is an advanced player level round. Par is a good score on most of the holes out there, and while it will reward shots that hit their intended line, it will severely punish those that miss and a lot of times you're looking at a flip out into the fairway and trying to get up and down for bogey. This is the most well-kept course I have played, considering how wooded it is. The grass is normal height everywhere, the woods (rough) is nice and clean at the bottom which makes finding your disc easier, but still plenty of branches and leaves up a little higher so it still punishes errant shots. They are working on the navigation issue a lot of reviews talk about with some next tee signs that are very helpful.
Cons: The tee-boxes are a little short everywhere and really short in some places. The tee signs are less than adequate and if I hadn't been playing with someone who knew the course, I would have spent a lot of time looking for the basket. I believe some of the distances are off too, because of new pin positions being put in.
Other Thoughts: Veterans park really exceeded my expectations. From looking at the pictures I expected a tough course that would be hard to walk and hard to find discs, where I didn't know where I was going. The only one I got was the tough course part and that was the part I was looking forward to. I hope I can come up to Lexington and play here again sometime.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite Course in Lexington

5+    3/24/2012   3/27/2012
Review By: goosefraba1
Played: 46  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.8 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Newly improved long concrete pads on most holes.
-Nice variation in wooded to open holes.
-The stream comes in to play on holes 3,5,6, and 8.
- Some elevation change. Uphills and downhills and sidehills.
- Garbage cans on most holes.... haven't ever noticed any of the areas looking "trashy".
- Most holes have more than one route to the basket.
-The wooded areas block most of the wind.
Cons: -This course is subject to getting very muddy.
- The rough can start to overgrow very quickly.
- Some shots seem to require just as much luck as skill. For example, #3 shoots downhill steeply. There are 2 different lines to the basket... but they are sorrounded by several tree branches that can fling you down short.
-I hear that the poison ivy can start growing thick here during summer.
Other Thoughts: -I don't know how common this is, but I've seen a snake the last two times on the course. Both near the creeks. Couldn't tell if they were poisonous or not. In southern Ohio, most snakes near water are poisonous Copperheads. I didn't have a chance to get a good look.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Hi Kevin!!

5+    5/11/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: otter420
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.8 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: sprawling holes, challenging in a good way. love hole three...you overshoot, have fun climbing back up
Cons: the tee pads weren't designed for tall people/people who have longer strides, plus trees right in front of you, whew, watch out

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great challenge, one of the best in KY

5+    12/15/2008   12/15/2008
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 60  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10.4 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Awesome golf shots. This is one of my favorite courses because of the variety of shots and the challenge it presents.

Tight fairways and extreme elevation come into play. There is a good mix of long and short shots, with a few birdie opportunities to break up the longer shots.

The front 9 plays down towards a creek and then follows around the side of the hill. Many of the shots are in the 200-250 range with lots of trees. #2 is the furthest drive on the front 9, playing around 350. Holes 7, 8 and 9 are all easily deucable, and you will want to get some birdies here because the back 9 plays more like Idlewild.

The back 9 is much longer than the front 9, with fairways that have a little more room for error. Holes 10 and 11 are both fairly open shots that are 350+ - wind can be a big factor on these two. Holes 12-18 play in the woods - these are some of the best and most challening.

Hole 12 is a tight tunnel shot that requires a finese turnover. Hole 13 is a downhill throw with two alternate baskets at the base of a hill. 14 is a line drive shot with a protected basket.

Hole 15 looks like something borrowed from Idlewild. In the long position it plays well over 500 feet. The fairway curves slightly to the left with mature trees on either side. One placement hooks into the woods over a creek bed, and the other placement requires another 150 foot approach further down the fairway. This longer, alternate position makes this a par 4.
Cons: The layout can be confusing if you have never played here before. Just know to take a left after you play #9. The extra bit of walking is not so bad once you are familiar with the course.

This course is not friendly to people playing it for the first time. If you have played it a few times, it is much more enjoyable.

The creek has claimed many discs of mine. On #6 and #8, going for the home run shot can easily put you in the creek.
Other Thoughts: This course is a real challenge and will not be conquered by many people playing it for the first time. Not a beginner friendly course, but pros and advanced players will really enjoy it.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 I'm a lumberjack and I'm okay...

5+    10/25/2008   10/29/2008
Review By: tom8658
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2008
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Heavily wooded, requires a great variety of shots (or incredible luck) to get a good score. Plenty of walking. Favors accuracy over power.
Cons: A mud pit the day after a rain. The water hazards on 6 and 8 can very easily result in lost discs if the water level is high. Some signage is out of date, and course maps/trail markers are simply not present. This is my home course, but had another player not shown me the route from 9 to 10 and 15 to 16*, I'm not sure I ever would have found it.
Other Thoughts: The front nine were designed by either a LHBH or RHFH thrower, they are overwhelmingly lefty friendly.

*In the short position, follow the trail to the paved trail, turn left, then right, and go to the trash can marked 16. You can either go straight down the hill or turn left and take a gentler path. In the long position, follow the trail from the pin across the paved trail (this path can also be taken from the short position if you turn right at the paved trail).

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Veterans Park

5+    12/5/2008   10/16/2008
Review By: dobbins66
Played: 85  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/5/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course offers great variety, You need a good mixture of shots to score well. Nice blend of left/right turning shots and many holes offer both. Not overly long but must me accurate off the tee given the tight fairways on some holes. Very few open shots (Holes 2,7,10,11) and even they offer obstacles on occasion (Trees if long, OB to one side, pines in the fairway). Fairways are there and are fair but if you miss the kicks can put you in trouble.
Cons: New Tee signs are on the way but not complete. Posts are in the Ground and signs are on the way. Navigation signs to help with the three long walks are needed(1 to 2, 9 to 10 and 15 to 16) and have been discussed - Hope something gets done this year(2011).

Can be really sloppy (as many courses are) during the winter(Holes 5 & 6 are some of the worst in bad weather). Flooding can be an issue a couple times a year on many of the holes(#3 basket, #5 Tee, #6 Basket, #8 basket, #9 Tee, #16 Tee & basket and #17 Tee) but usually is only a big issue maybe 4-5 days total out of the year.
Other Thoughts: Work is being put into this course - New Tee signs, a few replaced Tee Pads and a few slight hole redesigns. Many reviewers comment on the amount of land available that is wasted and not used - This is because they do not know the limitations placed on the Disc Golf course by the city. Numerous areas would be great to use to improve some holes but many of those areas are off limits and reserved for other plans by the City/Parks & Rec. One example is a large Mt Biking trail system being added to the park(2011) that is very restricting on any course expansion.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

3/7/2008   3/7/2008
Review By: Russell Gore
Played: 61  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 21.4 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: heavily wooded course that can take a tool on your score. Much harder to play than I expected. Very thick rough can turn a 3 to a 5 or 6 quickly.
Cons: Holes arent always right behind one another. It may require a little walking to get to next hole. Very well labeled though so not much confusion.
Other Thoughts: One of the top 10 courses I have played.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Rough

3/1/2008   3/1/2008
Review By: dwain
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Heavily wooded course that will either boost your ego or break your spirit. It's a very challenging course with a couple of water hazards from which you'll never retrieve a disc unless you go swimming. There are a few open holes that give a break from the wooded holes. The course is a great place to practice your technical game rather than your muscle game. The course plays well for both sidearm and backhand throwers, though you're best served by using both.
Cons: A few of the holes are almost too heavily wooded to be played, especially holes 4 and 14. If you have the misfortune of ending up in the bushes as a result of a bad ricochet, your odds of saving par are slim. The course is also very muddy, especially in the winter and spring, so pack extra shoes.
Other Thoughts: VP was the first course I played, not the most encouraging experience. If you're a beginning player, you may want to try Shillito a few times before heading to VP.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.