Lexington, KY 
Veterans Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: dobbins66 Hole #4
3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Intermediate Level Course

5+    3/8/2011   3/11/2011
Review By: jdjohannides
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Technical course with lots of wooded holes, improved tee signs, good variety of hole difficulty
Cons: Short 8' raised tee pads, course can get real muddy at times, difficult to find holes
Other Thoughts: This course is very difficult for beginners. Only 4 of the 18 holes I would consider in the open (trees not in play for the most part). Most of the holes are very technical with lots of trees in the throwing lanes including holes that have a OB creek (3 holes) which is greatly affected by recent rainfall. There is a good mix of distance on the holes. I would rate the chance of lost discs on this course as average. The distance between some holes is quite long and hard to find. Playing this course frequently is definitely improving my game.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging course if you can find your way around it

5+    1/22/2011   1/23/2011
Review By: weeman
Played: 223  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Veterans provides a stern challenge of technical disc golfing abilities. The mostly wooded course covers a variety of distances and shot shapes to test all players. The tees are adequate and still grippy when wet (played there with a lot of snow on the ground, so this was important). The baskets are mostly in good condition with several holes having multiple pin placements. The disc golf course is away from most other activities aside from two open holes near a walking path and two holes somewhat adjacent to a baseball field. The layout utilizes the existing elevation excellently with a variety of shots; uphill, downhill and across. Even with the elevation there are still multiple holes that are very flat so you don't get that feeling of repetitiveness throughout a round. The wooded holes all have well defined fairways with a spare tree or two here and there to add a little luck in reaching the green unscathed. The layout makes good use of the creeks that come through the park with the wooded number 6 being the best example. It plays as a downhill turnover (for RHBH) with one creek along the left that joins in with a larger creek behind the basket to make the green on a penisula. The rough is thick enough to where you definitely don't want to go in there. It can and will cost you a stroke or two. That can also be used as a con, depending on your view point.
Cons: For first timers out there, be sure to have someone who has played there before with you. Navigation is almost next to impossible. I've played there half a dozen times and still get lost. One of the other biggest safety issues is after number 9, one of the paths away from the basket leads you directly across number 17's fairway. The other path leads you away from this danger spot but you are another 100 feet from the next tee pad after exiting the woods which is already a very long walk in itself. There are several long walks throughout the course, not just at the turn either. Though the tee pads are good and grippy, they are small with several not providing any space for a run up. With recent work in the park, several of the baskets have been moved but not properly placed in the ground. Several of the baskets are either leaning, too short to the ground, too tall or any combination of the problems. The rough is thick enough to where you definitely don't want to go in there and it can and will cost you a stroke or two. That can also be used as a pro, depending on your viewpoint.
Other Thoughts: Veterans is a very fun course to play if you like tight woods and have an ever varying shot selection. Solid driving can see you looking at a birdie opportunity on most holes and bad driving can leave you scrambling for par. The open holes can give you a little breather before being thrown back into the woods for more fun. With only a few non-difficult changes to the course (navigation help and better basket care), Veterans can be a true championship caliber course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Poor Man's Idlewild

1    7/17/2008   1/7/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mostly this is a technical wooded course that plays down clearly defined fairways. There is a good mix of straight, left, right, up, down, and creeks in play. There are a few open holes to give you a break and to add some length (although these are kind of boring compared to the wooded holes since there were little to no obstacles.) There are several other really good and unique holes on this course. One of my favorite holes was one where you had to play across the creek to a peninsula green (this particular hole especially, and a few others, reminded me of holes that might be found at Idlewild!)
Cons: Mainly one BIG one- Navigation, or rather, the near impossibility of it. First, we had trouble finding the entrance to the park- my GPS took us to a small section on the back side with no access to the rest of it, so get good directions before you come. Once we got into the park there was a softball tournament going on, thankfully the person in charge believed us that we were there to play disc golf and did not make us pay the softball parking fee! All this was just a foreshadowing of things to come. After walking a long ways from where we were forced to park, we saw some of the course, but could not find tee #1. Thankfully a local tournament was gathering and some of them pointed us to a path through the woods and let us tee off before they got started. Unfortunately, there were several more times where we had to do a serious search to find the next hole. Sometimes there were multiple paths leading away from the basket, and often times none of the paths led you to a tee. You would emerge from the woods and see nothing but a walking trail. At one point for us, and there are several stories told in other reviews like this, where we had non-disc golfers helping us find the next hole!!!
Other Thoughts: As others have said, this is hard course to rate. (It has been given every rating from a 1.0-5.0!) Thinking back on it I really enjoyed most of the holes here, however, I was unable to enjoy the round fully because of the frustration of spending so much time trying to find the next hole. A big part of my rating is that I am reviewing it as a person who was playing the course for the first time, with no guides and navigational aids. However, I know this is a well-respected course by the locals. I recommend this course if you are in the area, but try to meet up with a local to help show you around.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Veterans Park

2-4    10/24/2010   11/2/2010
Review By: richardmmill
Played: 48  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is probably the best course in Lexington in my opinion. Great elevation changes. Challenging holes, some with water hazards. A good combination of open and wooded holes. This is a good challenging course, mostly technical with all the wooded holes. Forces a variety of shots backhands and forehands. Nice tees and baskets.
Cons: NAVIGATION is horrible on this course, even though there are signs they are so small and set off away from everything you wouldn't even notice that they were there. I played by myself and couldn't find the next hole more than once in the round, I had to get help. The area is used by a lot of other people, had mountain bikers ride through more than once. You have to cross through a fairway to get to a different hole.
Other Thoughts: Nice park

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 good course

2-4    9/12/2010   9/12/2010
Review By: hipster
Played: 77  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 33.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice baskets DGA
Benches at most holes
Variety of holes
Garbage cans
Challenging course for recreational players
Fairways were identifiable.

Cons: Course flow is confusing, could benefit from using Next Tee signs. Long Hikes between some holes.
Lack of decent Tee signs
Garbage cans were overflowing.
Hole 6 can be dangerous.
Some trees i front of the tees are scarred from the gashes from errant drives, TreeBeard would be upset.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing this course located in a sports park. Majority of the holes were wooded , so shot shaping and shot variety are needed. Risk/reward factor on majority of holes.The course could use a redesign, maybe adding some holes between the long walks. Next tee signs would help at a few of the holes. Overall, this is a very nice course.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/27/2010   7/28/2010
Review By: Toxik
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: I loved the course and the difficulty of my first time playing it and playing disc golf. Great for precise throwing. Love the nature walk as well.
Cons: Signs would help but i love the layout.
Other Thoughts: I recommend it to any one beginning or pro

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Could be so much better...

1    7/10/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: upfromtheashes
Played: 42  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 10 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Hmm. This is a tough one. I would say that the biggest thing this course has going for it is potential. Unfortunately, much of that potential appears to be squandered.

I suppose that some people who have small arms might like the short holes, but I don't. If you like courses that are more technical in nature, then you might dig Veteran's, but IMO Muldraugh is a better technical course than Veteran's in every way.
Cons: My first gripe about this course becomes apparent as soon as you finish the first hole. This course has, BY FAR, the worst flow from hole to hole of any course I've ever played. We had to have some picnic-ers show us where the 2nd tee is...some 100+ yards from the first basket. WTF is that? Several more times you'll be going on safari to look for the next tee. If you like scavenger hunts then you might enjoy this, but I think most golfers would prefer to forego the extended treks from hole to hole.

The teepads are small and worn. Most holes had no signs, and the few that did were a laminated piece of paper. There is simply no reason for this, and the message it sends is "old and forgotten course"

The most frustrating thing about this course is that it could be so much better. It sits on a great piece of land with so much potential, and yet it taps so little of that potential. Aside from the navigation issues, I saw hole after hole that could have been so much better if the basket were here instead of there. Case in point: Hole #7: 285 feet, in the middle of a field without an obstacle in sight. What is the point of a wide open hole that you can overthrow with a midrange? There was plenty of field behind it...if you're going to make it wide open then why not at least make it long??

There were GREAT pieces of land running right alongside the course that would make some fantastic holes...but alas they sat unused.
Other Thoughts: The people giving this course 4- and 5-disc reviews are grossly misrepresenting this course. Terms like "excellent" and "best of the best" are in no way descriptive of Veteran's. I was wavering between 1.0 (poor) and 1.5 (passable), and decided that "poor" was the more accurate adjective.

New signs and teepads would move my rating up to "reasonable" or even "decent"...but to go above decent would require a course redesign. You could build a 4+ course on this piece of land.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Veterans has it all!!!

5+    6/17/2010   6/18/2010
Review By: Airick
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Challenging wooded course in a magnificant park. Tight fairways, winding stream, elevation changes, blind shots, big arm holes, short touch shots, and plenty of deepwoods. Back 9 is significantly harder than front 9. Several birdie opportunities on the front 9 which need to be taken advantage of. As you reach the final 9 there is less room for error and holes are longer. Trees directly in front of you on many holes, some 10 -15 feet away from teebox!
Cons: Wooded course=lost discs, can get extremely muddy, occasionally crowded.
Other Thoughts: Awesome in one word.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Hi Kevin!!

5+    5/11/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: otter420
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.6 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: sprawling holes, challenging in a good way. love hole three...you overshoot, have fun climbing back up
Cons: the tee pads weren't designed for tall people/people who have longer strides, plus trees right in front of you, whew, watch out

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Tons of potential here

1    4/27/2009   5/14/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 752  Exp: 12.5 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large and mostly wooded park with a few more open grassy areas. The majority of the holes are in tight woods, with narrow but fair lanes and harsh punishment from trees and brush if an errant shot leaves the fairway. There is some elevation here, and it's used well to add some challenge and variety to the course.

There are a couple holes that are ace runs with an accurate shot through the trees, and some that are longer and require a good drive and upshot for most players to look at a 3. The design does a good job of forcing a variety of shots, with a fairly balanced set of left/right/straight holes.

This course never feels repetitive, with lots of different kinds of holes, and even a few slightly more open holes sprinkled in to give you a break from the tough woods. I enjoyed the challenge of this course a lot, and thought the designers did an excellent job of using this property.
Cons: The course is nearly impossible to navigate without a good map or local guide, or perhaps both. I understand the local club is working hard on fixing this issue, and when it is corrected I can give this course a significantly higher rating, but for now there are some long walks that are not at all obvious, and I spent a good chunk of time wandering around the park trying to follow the course.

The tee pads are good concrete pads, but they are very small, even on the longer holes. The baskets are older, and a few didn't seem to catch as well any more. The tee signs didn't have much information about the current hole or how to get to the next one.
Other Thoughts: Based just on the holes and the design, this could be a 4 disc rated course, but with the navigation issues and lack of signage, I have to rate this course the same way I rate every other course which is from the perspective of a traveling player. If you can meet up with a local to show you around the course, this is a must play if you like challenging wooded golf, if not you may want to bring a map and some patience.

Beginners will probably find this course frustrating, with lots of tight lanes and punishing rough. More experienced players will find lots of good and different challenges here to test many parts of their game.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.