Lexington, KY 
Veterans Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Atvizory2000 Hole #8 (Taken 2/2014)
3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Good, tough course

2-4    9/28/2014   9/28/2014
Review By: jbrian24
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.5 Years
Pros: Albeit hard, this in a fun course to play. It will really test your shot shaping of line holding ability. Beautiful surroundings for most of the course. Many holes in the woods makes this a good course for hot days.
Cons: -tee pads seem rather small to me
-could use some updated breadcrumb signage...the first time I played here I walked a lot of extra steps
-baskets could use some color, they can be really hard to pick out on some holes from the tee pad
Other Thoughts: Despite the cons listed I really like this course. I have already returned for my second visit in as many weeks (I live 30 miles away) and will return for many more. This course is very fun to play, with some good shots and a little luck you will enjoy it.

Disappointed

1    6/26/2014   6/26/2014
Review By: jeffboi
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 0.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice baskets, cool area
Cons: tiny tee boxes, lowlands smell like sewer, some holes have no real fairway (and my home course is very technical), tall weeds, hard to navigate, some baskets knocked over - left after 11 holes

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Better than expected

2-4    6/23/2013   6/23/2013
Review By: DG addict24
Played: 28  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 3.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The definition of tightly wooded, technical course is Veterans Park. It still gives you a couple of chances to throw some long like 2 and 10, but for the most part your going to have quite a few trees to worry about. A course this wooded obviously requires all the shots you could think of. The course is extremely difficult, and a couple over par is an advanced player level round. Par is a good score on most of the holes out there, and while it will reward shots that hit their intended line, it will severely punish those that miss and a lot of times you're looking at a flip out into the fairway and trying to get up and down for bogey. This is the most well-kept course I have played, considering how wooded it is. The grass is normal height everywhere, the woods (rough) is nice and clean at the bottom which makes finding your disc easier, but still plenty of branches and leaves up a little higher so it still punishes errant shots. They are working on the navigation issue a lot of reviews talk about with some next tee signs that are very helpful.
Cons: The tee-boxes are a little short everywhere and really short in some places. The tee signs are less than adequate and if I hadn't been playing with someone who knew the course, I would have spent a lot of time looking for the basket. I believe some of the distances are off too, because of new pin positions being put in.
Other Thoughts: Veterans park really exceeded my expectations. From looking at the pictures I expected a tough course that would be hard to walk and hard to find discs, where I didn't know where I was going. The only one I got was the tough course part and that was the part I was looking forward to. I hope I can come up to Lexington and play here again sometime.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Unique course flow

2-4    11/21/2012   11/23/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 176  Reviewed: 155  Exp: 3.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Buongiorno, Principessa!, They have a TANK! Veteran's Park in Lexington, KY has some nice facilities for a number of sports, including a batting cage, ball fields, excellent shelters, benches, trash cans, plenty of parking, restrooms, and so on, plus a challenging, intermediate to advanced disc golf course, with a mix of wooded (14) and open (4) holes.

Decent baskets follow minimalist signage (1st time: print a map or go with a guide!), and the variably sized concrete tee pads are -usually- appropriate for the distances involved (holes range from 165 to 475 feet, with some of the shorter ones being uphill). Multiple pin positions make the course play very differently. My first time here was a windy day, and baskets were mostly in the long positions. I shot a dozen strokes better on a calm day with short placements (well, lucky breaks helped too)!

There have been recent improvements in the infrastructure. After hole 6, what used to be described as the 'Stairs to Mordor' have been re-treaded (so to speak) with a nice use of recycled tires.
Cons: Course flow is definitely unique. I can think of 8 places where this course needs upgraded 'next tee' signage. Or breadcrumbs.

A couple of the tees (1, 3, 12) are either too small or too raised/ eroded for comfort.

Some of the paths and fairways are in need of stump grinding and root removal.
Other Thoughts: Hole by hole: 1) tight releasing, gentle hyzer (rhbh) woods opener, then turn left and go down the path to
2) very open (noodlearm) bomb where you want to avoid fading over the neighbor's fence (left)
3) wooded, downhill, anny end with a creek long & left, then turn right, cross the road (sign needed)
4) note basket position on this side-hill glade: could be long hyzer, or directly ahead, then go downhill to next tee
5) uphill anny with three pin positions requiring a peek ahead
6) pretty, ravine-side straight downhill to peninsula green, and a fairly substantial creek if you go long, then the stairs up to
7) an open field shot with a path left (you hook over into the woods in the long position). Keep your eyes peeled for the path to
8) straight but woody fairway with that creek on the left, then path left of magnificent tree to
9) short uphill deuce opportunity, then you'll need to find the breadcrumbs, go around, or cross #17's fairway
10) eventually, you'll find the tee below the left field fence, shoot straight over the rise (feel's very long)
11) longer side-hill fairway with some pines to make it interesting, look left for path to
12) tight wooded rise shot off of a small tee
13) longer wooded downhill that either ends straight or to the right, then confusing trek to
14) similar length, but tighter green, then go to the right
15) sweeping lane with a gentle hyzer either across the creek bed or long (475') down the lane, then up across the path, and look sharp about 100' in for a split in the path beside a honeysuckle and a large tree. The secret path takes you down to
16) straight and longer or hooking left to basket on the hillside
17) uphill long hyzer or straight away, both with trees to make it interesting, then up across the path & drive, onto the woods
18) finish coming up through the woods to one of two basket positions.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 BRRRRRRRR

1    3/5/2011   10/11/2012
Review By: chainbang
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awsome course. Lots of super long holes. Lots of variation and a little elevation change.
Cons: No tee signage, hard to find my at times. Quite a few people slammin Tallboys and throwing their cans along the way...Awesome!!
Other Thoughts: Enjoyed playing here, looking forward to the next time.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your A game

1    6/16/2012   6/16/2012
Review By: Oldmanplayin
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great place to play IF you can shoot well. Clean, benches, garbage cans and good baskets.
Cons: Main thing is navigation, with or without a map it is tough. The parks department needs to put up directional signs to the next T!!!! It would make this course much easier to play. If all the fairways were as clear and clean as hole #1 this would be a tremendous course. I would probably give it a 4+. I do not mind tight lines but no significant fairway and just shootin' through the trees is not the game I like. It seems there are alot of holes that you're just hoping to make it anywhere near the basket.
Other Thoughts: It was a fun course to play but bring your beat in disks and leave the good ones at home I hate destroying one my go-to drivers tossing through randomly scattered trees, If I shoot out of the fairway - my fault!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Challenging

1    4/15/2012   4/17/2012
Review By: Reaper1134
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - great combo of wooded and long holes
- many challenging holes
- many holes have multiple hole locations
- holes uphill, downhill and sidehill
Cons: - hard to navigate, Bring a Map!! got lost multiple times
- disc will get beat up, lot of trees to hit
- only cons i had for the course
Other Thoughts: Its a great course in Lexington. glad i went there and will be playing again soon!

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Snobs

1    4/10/2012   4/13/2012
Review By: Float
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Only played front 9 gtfo
Cons: Course not marked very well at all. Lucky I took a picture at bulletin board with iPhone and was having to look at it after every hole. Bike trails all over the course making it hard to find next hole. Lots of people on course in the way. Rude people behind me threw into me with no respect and I helped find there disc with no thanks. Concrete tees has been added on to make them uneven. Baseball games going on making it hard to park. This place is overed used with rude dudes. Will not be coming back ever.
Other Thoughts: Not enjoyable.

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite Course in Lexington

5+    3/24/2012   3/27/2012
Review By: goosefraba1
Played: 47  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.9 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Newly improved long concrete pads on most holes.
-Nice variation in wooded to open holes.
-The stream comes in to play on holes 3,5,6, and 8.
- Some elevation change. Uphills and downhills and sidehills.
- Garbage cans on most holes.... haven't ever noticed any of the areas looking "trashy".
- Most holes have more than one route to the basket.
-The wooded areas block most of the wind.
Cons: -This course is subject to getting very muddy.
- The rough can start to overgrow very quickly.
- Some shots seem to require just as much luck as skill. For example, #3 shoots downhill steeply. There are 2 different lines to the basket... but they are sorrounded by several tree branches that can fling you down short.
-I hear that the poison ivy can start growing thick here during summer.
Other Thoughts: -I don't know how common this is, but I've seen a snake the last two times on the course. Both near the creeks. Couldn't tell if they were poisonous or not. In southern Ohio, most snakes near water are poisonous Copperheads. I didn't have a chance to get a good look.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Course in Lexington

2-4    6/25/2011   10/5/2011
Review By: amryan11
Played: 28  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -wooded, technical holes
-good mixture of distances on holes
-signage for each hole
-map and practice basket at beginning of course
-fairly logical course flow (once you're used to it)
-usually not very busy
Cons: -can be muddy in woods
-can lose discs in creek (deep/wide enough at points)
-finding your way around the first (or second) time can be VERY confusing
Other Thoughts: This is just a park course but is a very good course, in my opinion probably the best in Lexington. There are a few open holes but most are wooded, technical shots that challenge you without being extremely difficult. There are signs on each hole and the course is generally well-groomed and clean. It isn't super busy most of the time and on hot days being in the woods for most of the course really helps. If it's your first time make sure you bring the map or go with someone familiar with the course. It's very confusing at first but once you get used to it I really don't think it's that bad, the course is set up so the holes are designed as well as possible and that means not every one is directly back-to-back. If you're in Lexington this course is a must-play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.