Lexington, KY
Veterans Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: dobbins66 Hole #6
3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Veterans Park

5+    4/18/2010   4/21/2010
Review By: Zach S
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.9 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful, heavily wooded challenging course. It is a nature hike with only a few open holes to catch some sun. The course winds around a 2 mile walking course and a few baseball feilds. Bathrooms, bilke trails, and walking trails are also availble. This Course really is my home town favorite.
Cons: The course is so big that it is wise to go with someone familiar with it the first time. It's hard to find enough people to weedeat so sometimes certain holes can get overgrown. Some trails are poorly marked which doesn't bother me a bit because of the nature hike value.
Other Thoughts: This course made me a better player in my oppinion. The tree giveth and the tree takes it away. I have lost a few disc here but I play on sundays at dawn when its deserted. It is one of the most peaceful places in Lexington. Kudos on Course design.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Veterans

2-4    4/11/2010   4/13/2010
Review By: UKGREG90
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 13 Not
Cons: Poorly marked. This course really needs to be freshened up. I can tell it has been neglected for quite some time.
Other Thoughts: Veterans is nothing more than a hiking trail that someone has tried to turn into a disc golf course. If I wanted to go on a hike, I'd go to Raven Run or Natural Bridge! Don't get me wrong, I don't mind the occassional hill or tree cluttered path, but this course goes beyond the "nature scene" gig. This is definiitely not one of my favorite courses in the area.

2 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging, Bring a Map

1    8/11/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: tdortch
Played: 58  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 7.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As most have said, this course is pretty challenging. Very tight shots and unforgiving fairways. This is the kind of course that will make you a better player if you can get out there and take it on. I enjoyed many of the holes. Even the ones in the open had a blind shot, or the basket would be tucked behind a group of small trees or something. If I remember correctly, only one of the holes is just a straight shot (#8 or 9). I was out there on a Tuesday at around 6 pm and there was hardly anyone playing the course.
Cons: The signs, if you can call them that, are terrible. And, with the way the course is laid out, that makes for a difficult round - you are either wondering where the next hole is or walking the fairway to find the basket. There are arrows on some of the baskets, and this helps somewhat, but there are also hiking trails all over the place and you could very easily end up on the wrong one and have to backtrack. I was playing with a new player and he was having a very hard time w/this course. I would not recommend it for people wanting to learn the game. The tee pads are OK for the most part, but mostly a little short for my tastes. There is no map at the course, so if you are coming out, get one beforehand. We never found 18.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I would play this course again, but I would prefer to play with some locals or at a club event.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course for Seamstresses

5+    7/26/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: lylemccoon
Played: 89  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 18.8 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a challenging course for just about any skill level. The course is very technical, requires many different shots, and engages your brain, something many courses fail to do. It has a decent amount of variety, although most of the course is in the woods. The large creek provides some elevation changes on a few holes as well as bringing water into play on at least 3 holes.

The course had passable, concrete tee pads (too short for many tastes, however) and DGA baskets.
Cons: The course seems generally sad and somewhat neglected. Much maintenance is needed on many of the fairways (although the ones that have been mowed and trimmed look great; maintenance is pretty much done entirely by the local club with little help from the Parks department). The course is starting to show some age with substandard tee pads (sometimes cracked and crumbling); missing, broken, or bare bones signs; and chain assemblies that are missing pieces.

Perhaps worse and definitely more dangerous is the erosion problems all over the course. Many holes run parallel to a large creek that is steadily eroding fairways and paths (Hole 6). If you play in the snow or rain, or right after, many spots are dangerously slippery, and this includes many of the tee pads. The steep climb up from hole 6 to 7 is especially treacherous when wet.

Another major issuse with this course is the nearly complete lack of any directional signage between holes. For new players without a local guide or map, this course would be a nightmare to try to navigate. Hole 2's tee pad is very difficult to find. The walk between 9 and 10 is long and bound to make some lose their way. Quite similarly, trying to find hole 16 without any guidance would be very difficult.

This course does not flow well, it is not exactly designed in a double loop, and many of the holes have long walks between them.

The course is also a bit of a luck course. While defenders can say it is technical, detractors point out that the only place more needles need to be threaded is at a seamstress convention. Several holes feature no apparent fairway. In addition, much of the schule is thick along the edges of the fairway.

Many also charge this course with being a lefty or sidearm course.
Other Thoughts: For many locals (and regular out-of-town players) this course is their favorite in Lexington due to its challenge. Once one knows the course, the navigational issues are pretty much ignored, as are the extremely tight fairways (for the most part).

Currently, Hole 18 is using the practice basket since its actual basket was stolen. Plans are underway for a new basket as well as new signs for the course.

In the big picture, the course is an excellent complement to Shillito Park and Riney B, giving almost every golfer a little bit of something that fits their particular tastes.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Wooded holes, love 'em

1    6/1/2009   6/26/2009
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.1 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I am a big fan of wooded courses, and the challenges they provide. There is no shortage of this type of play at Veterans!

All concrete tee pads in good shape. Baskets are mostly in good condition, with the exception of 18's which was missing. Signage was hit and miss, but the course map (satellite view) is excellent. Facilities are nice, restrooms and parking available by first tee.

Course doesn't seem to be heavily trafficked, and holes are fairly spread out to help alleviate congestion.

My memorable holes:
1 - Very tight woods tunnel with gentle hyzer, very tough line to hit (for me anyway).
3 - Neat downhill shot that you have to try and stay short on so you don't go in the creek.
6 - Crazy anhyzer (RHBH) shot with a creek left, and slopes down from right to left. This is a very tough, and long, shot, the kind of hole that can make you scream for joy or cry on your mommy's shoulder.
10 - Simple yet tough. Long throw up over the hill, you think sure, put a bunch of anhyzer on it, and it will come back to center. Just make sure you don't completely turn it over or it will be in the outfield of the ball field!
12 - This is very tough shot off the tee. Uphill slightly. Tightly treed fairway. Turns right then back left. I don't know if it's even possible to drive close enough to have a putt. Only 200 feet (by the course info) and a par 3, but wow I could see myself bogying this hole often! I imagine this would be a very rewarding hole with the right shot.
15 - Long gentle hyzer. Back in the woods but surprisingly open for most of the fairway. You think you'll never get to the pin, but then there it is off in the trees on the left. I actually had a very good drive on this hole and ALMOST hit a deuce, man I was stoked, but I guess I'm happy with a three.
18 - I think this hole would have been really neat, forced anhyzer, up a hill, accuracy being key. Only to get to the pin and discover there is no basket but a stick in the hole. Oh well, at least I knew where the pin was supposed to be.
Cons: Course navigation was obviously not a concern when this course was designed. Bring the map and you shouldn't have any issues finding the next tee, except maybe for 16. They did a pretty good job of hiding that one along the hiking/bike trails.

Some trimming of trees would help, and it would be a HUGE improvement to mow some of the wooded holes' fairways.

Hole signs almost non-existent.
Other Thoughts: My rating of a 3.5 is based on the fact that the course is very well laid out and designed on most holes, but some just seem to really lack imagination (7, 10, etc). I really did have fun though, and since the course is mostly under tree cover, it helped protect me from the crazy heat.

Ways it could improve? Better signage for sure. Other than that, maybe they could redesign a couple holes that are plain-jane and spice them up a little. Those kind of things could make this a 4 or even 4.5 rated course.

This course seriously kind of reminds me of a mini-Idlewild. Very challenging wooded shots all over the place. Just not nearly as long, and some relatively easy field shots bring it down a little.

If you are in Lexington, I think this is one of the must-plays.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Very Good Course

5+    4/27/2009   5/18/2009
Review By: ibekent
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Veterans is the second-most difficult course in the Lexington area, but unlike Riney B (the hardest) you can play it in an hour and a half without feeling worn out. Veterans strikes a nice balance: it offers high challenge and high risk/reward but can still be an enjoyable day at the park for recreational players (as long as they are OK with high scores).

The course has nice benches, restrooms, tee pads, and an excellent putting practice basket by the first tee. The holes are well-designed with a few alternate placements, a few tight fairways, some elevation changes, and a few water hazards. Most of the course is a light stroll through thick woods that requires precision throwing (thick with trees, not bramble). But a few fairways are fairly open, and four are in completely open fields. Despite being in a high-use park, other recreation rarely interferes with the disc golf course. Some joggers and bikers will cross your path, and a few fairways are in the process of being modified to accomodate new bike trails.
Cons: The problem with this course is navigation. The walks between 1-2, 9-10, and 15-16 are unusually long and not marked. (Print out a map from this site before you play.) The signs are mostly broken or defaced. Until they are replaced, the course will be perplexing without a map. Several holes get muddy after a rain. The course can get crowded on rare occasion, and trash has been a problem (despite the plentiful trash cans).
Other Thoughts: Beware the water on hole's 3, 6, and 8. They pose more of a hazard than you expect.

There are walking/jogging/biking trails that cross the dic golf course. Until the signs are fixed, these trails can mislead you.

The back nine is significantly longer and more challenging than the front.

A shortcut from 9 to 10 has been beaten across 17's fairway. Please look before walking if you take this shortcut because folks teeing off on 17 cannot see you.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Very Frustrating

5+    5/17/2009   5/17/2009
Review By: QbertPrime
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.7 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: This course lets you work on a wide variety of shots. Good workout from walking up and down the wooded terrain. Has some holes that are very cool to play.
Cons: I found this course very frustrating and difficult. The vast majority of holes are in the woods. I don't mind holes that are wooded, but some holes seem to have a TON of trees that need to be maneuvered around. This may not be a problem for more advanced players, but it has become very hard for me to score well.
Other Thoughts: I try to play this course every once in a while for variety. I would much rather play Shilito or even Riney B before I would choose to play Veteran's.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/12/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: AdamH
Played: 182  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/22/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Veterans Park is a beautiful park with some nice views of a stream, a waterfall at a manmade dam and a couple massive old trees.

The course is challenging and mostly wooded with some tight fairways and big elevation changes. Solid course design; it has a nice mix of long, medium and short holes and good balance of hyzer, straight and anhyzer shots. Get your birdies in the front 9 if you can, the back 9 is much more challenging.

There are some really cool holes here, here's a few of my favorites. Hole 6 is a gentle anhyzer shot over a hill that slopes down to the left towards a stream which also runs behind the basket. Hole 15 is 475 feet long and bends slightly to the left. It has a good sized fairway but with lots trees on each side. Hole 17 is an interesting one. It's a 325 foot hyzer over a big hill through a narrow fairway.
Cons: Navigating this course is difficult, please print out the map and bring it with you your first time here. There are long walks between holes 1-2, 9-10 and 15-16. There are lots of trails going through the woods making it easier to get lost if you don't know where you're going. I really hope some navigational signs are added to this course.

The tee signs are a bit old and they only tell the hole number and distance. Some are so old you can't read them.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't recommend this course to a new player. It can really punish you when you stray off the fairway. Shillito is close by and a much friendlier beginner course. More advanced player will likely love this course because it takes good skilled shots to get your birdies and stay out of trouble.

Beware the water hazards on 6 and 8. It can be difficult to retrieve discs if you don't have a disc diver.

This excellent course is well worth checking out if you're in the area, just bring a map your first time.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great challenge, one of the best in KY

5+    12/15/2008   12/15/2008
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 60  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Awesome golf shots. This is one of my favorite courses because of the variety of shots and the challenge it presents.

Tight fairways and extreme elevation come into play. There is a good mix of long and short shots, with a few birdie opportunities to break up the longer shots.

The front 9 plays down towards a creek and then follows around the side of the hill. Many of the shots are in the 200-250 range with lots of trees. #2 is the furthest drive on the front 9, playing around 350. Holes 7, 8 and 9 are all easily deucable, and you will want to get some birdies here because the back 9 plays more like Idlewild.

The back 9 is much longer than the front 9, with fairways that have a little more room for error. Holes 10 and 11 are both fairly open shots that are 350+ - wind can be a big factor on these two. Holes 12-18 play in the woods - these are some of the best and most challening.

Hole 12 is a tight tunnel shot that requires a finese turnover. Hole 13 is a downhill throw with two alternate baskets at the base of a hill. 14 is a line drive shot with a protected basket.

Hole 15 looks like something borrowed from Idlewild. In the long position it plays well over 500 feet. The fairway curves slightly to the left with mature trees on either side. One placement hooks into the woods over a creek bed, and the other placement requires another 150 foot approach further down the fairway. This longer, alternate position makes this a par 4.
Cons: The layout can be confusing if you have never played here before. Just know to take a left after you play #9. The extra bit of walking is not so bad once you are familiar with the course.

This course is not friendly to people playing it for the first time. If you have played it a few times, it is much more enjoyable.

The creek has claimed many discs of mine. On #6 and #8, going for the home run shot can easily put you in the creek.
Other Thoughts: This course is a real challenge and will not be conquered by many people playing it for the first time. Not a beginner friendly course, but pros and advanced players will really enjoy it.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 I'm a lumberjack and I'm okay...

5+    10/25/2008   10/29/2008
Review By: tom8658
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2008
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Heavily wooded, requires a great variety of shots (or incredible luck) to get a good score. Plenty of walking. Favors accuracy over power.
Cons: A mud pit the day after a rain. The water hazards on 6 and 8 can very easily result in lost discs if the water level is high. Some signage is out of date, and course maps/trail markers are simply not present. This is my home course, but had another player not shown me the route from 9 to 10 and 15 to 16*, I'm not sure I ever would have found it.
Other Thoughts: The front nine were designed by either a LHBH or RHFH thrower, they are overwhelmingly lefty friendly.

*In the short position, follow the trail to the paved trail, turn left, then right, and go to the trash can marked 16. You can either go straight down the hill or turn left and take a gentler path. In the long position, follow the trail from the pin across the paved trail (this path can also be taken from the short position if you turn right at the paved trail).

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.