Lexington, KY 
Veterans Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: dobbins66 Hole #9
3 / 165ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great challenge, one of the best in KY

5+    12/15/2008   12/15/2008
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 63  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10.6 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Awesome golf shots. This is one of my favorite courses because of the variety of shots and the challenge it presents.

Tight fairways and extreme elevation come into play. There is a good mix of long and short shots, with a few birdie opportunities to break up the longer shots.

The front 9 plays down towards a creek and then follows around the side of the hill. Many of the shots are in the 200-250 range with lots of trees. #2 is the furthest drive on the front 9, playing around 350. Holes 7, 8 and 9 are all easily deucable, and you will want to get some birdies here because the back 9 plays more like Idlewild.

The back 9 is much longer than the front 9, with fairways that have a little more room for error. Holes 10 and 11 are both fairly open shots that are 350+ - wind can be a big factor on these two. Holes 12-18 play in the woods - these are some of the best and most challening.

Hole 12 is a tight tunnel shot that requires a finese turnover. Hole 13 is a downhill throw with two alternate baskets at the base of a hill. 14 is a line drive shot with a protected basket.

Hole 15 looks like something borrowed from Idlewild. In the long position it plays well over 500 feet. The fairway curves slightly to the left with mature trees on either side. One placement hooks into the woods over a creek bed, and the other placement requires another 150 foot approach further down the fairway. This longer, alternate position makes this a par 4.
Cons: The layout can be confusing if you have never played here before. Just know to take a left after you play #9. The extra bit of walking is not so bad once you are familiar with the course.

This course is not friendly to people playing it for the first time. If you have played it a few times, it is much more enjoyable.

The creek has claimed many discs of mine. On #6 and #8, going for the home run shot can easily put you in the creek.
Other Thoughts: This course is a real challenge and will not be conquered by many people playing it for the first time. Not a beginner friendly course, but pros and advanced players will really enjoy it.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 I'm a lumberjack and I'm okay...

5+    10/25/2008   10/29/2008
Review By: tom8658
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2008
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Heavily wooded, requires a great variety of shots (or incredible luck) to get a good score. Plenty of walking. Favors accuracy over power.
Cons: A mud pit the day after a rain. The water hazards on 6 and 8 can very easily result in lost discs if the water level is high. Some signage is out of date, and course maps/trail markers are simply not present. This is my home course, but had another player not shown me the route from 9 to 10 and 15 to 16*, I'm not sure I ever would have found it.
Other Thoughts: The front nine were designed by either a LHBH or RHFH thrower, they are overwhelmingly lefty friendly.

*In the short position, follow the trail to the paved trail, turn left, then right, and go to the trash can marked 16. You can either go straight down the hill or turn left and take a gentler path. In the long position, follow the trail from the pin across the paved trail (this path can also be taken from the short position if you turn right at the paved trail).

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Veterans Park

5+    12/5/2008   10/16/2008
Review By: dobbins66
Played: 85  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/5/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course offers great variety, You need a good mixture of shots to score well. Nice blend of left/right turning shots and many holes offer both. Not overly long but must me accurate off the tee given the tight fairways on some holes. Very few open shots (Holes 2,7,10,11) and even they offer obstacles on occasion (Trees if long, OB to one side, pines in the fairway). Fairways are there and are fair but if you miss the kicks can put you in trouble.
Cons: New Tee signs are on the way but not complete. Posts are in the Ground and signs are on the way. Navigation signs to help with the three long walks are needed(1 to 2, 9 to 10 and 15 to 16) and have been discussed - Hope something gets done this year(2011).

Can be really sloppy (as many courses are) during the winter(Holes 5 & 6 are some of the worst in bad weather). Flooding can be an issue a couple times a year on many of the holes(#3 basket, #5 Tee, #6 Basket, #8 basket, #9 Tee, #16 Tee & basket and #17 Tee) but usually is only a big issue maybe 4-5 days total out of the year.
Other Thoughts: Work is being put into this course - New Tee signs, a few replaced Tee Pads and a few slight hole redesigns. Many reviewers comment on the amount of land available that is wasted and not used - This is because they do not know the limitations placed on the Disc Golf course by the city. Numerous areas would be great to use to improve some holes but many of those areas are off limits and reserved for other plans by the City/Parks & Rec. One example is a large Mt Biking trail system being added to the park(2011) that is very restricting on any course expansion.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lost.....

1    9/27/2008   10/2/2008
Review By: Hunt
Played: 98  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.1 Years
3 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: They had baskets in the ground and the land it was built on was very nice with lots of potential.
Cons: The walk from 9 to 10 took me nearly a half an hour to find. Signs must be improved to have any chance of an "out of towner" having any fun....Left course frustrated because you could have put like 4 holes in between the crazy walk from 9 to 10.
Other Thoughts: Course still under construction and Criticism...

3 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite so far

5+    9/23/2008   9/24/2008
Review By: adam423
Played: 27  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/20/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A challenging yet fun, mostly wooded course with some open holes thrown in for the claustrophobic type. There are some evil water hazards on a few of the front 9, complete with trees to deflect your shots*. The course requires a variety of shot types and is kept well trimmed up. Restrooms are located at the start of the course, and trash cans are present on most every hole.
Cons: Signage, or lack thereof, makes finding holes 10 and 16 especially difficult**. Also, the path I take from 9 to 10 crosses fairway 17***. Unless you have incredible accuracy, a few of the holes might seem a bit pinballish, but only on short holes where you can use a putter, so you're not going to be losing a driver when it flies 100 feet into the woods.
Other Thoughts: A nice touch on some holes were the benches made from logs or tree stumps.

Its not a great beginner course as it is fairly difficult and you can lose some discs if you don't know what you're doing. You will definitely be punished for shots that miss the mark. I would highly suggest taking beginners/first-timers to Shilito first.

I could easily give this course a 4 if the tee signs were fixed.

*Water is on holes 3, 6 and 8.

**To find 10, walk out of the woods, turn left on the walking path. Its around the corner at the bottom of a hill. For 16, go across the walking path and follow along the creek. Its a pretty good distance back through there, so keep going and you'll find it, I promise.

***I'm not sure if this is the official path, the satellite map shows a different way. It may have started as a shortcut, but that's the only way I know how to go. It has never been a problem for me because the course is always nearly empty, but be careful just in case.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging

1    8/10/2008   8/16/2008
Review By: jeffro
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very challenging. A nice mix of wooded and open terrain. Also has water hazard on a couple holes. Good course for more experienced players.
Cons: Getting from hole to hole is kind of like a scavenger hunt. Other players have hand written clues to find your next hole on trees and park benches etc. Half the fun was trying to find the next hole. Definitely needs better signage.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 I'll be coming back...

6/21/2008   8/4/2008
Review By: dvice33
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I love this course. It was so much fun, even though I was somewhat intimidated as i stared down a corridor of trees on hole one. This course is beautiful, and I love playing through the woods.
Cons: A couple of the holes outside of the woods were a little unsatisfying after coming out of the woods. Definitely try to get a course map for this one. We didn't have one, and we got lost a couple times.
Other Thoughts: This course, I believe, will always be one of my favorites. Even if you aren't a great player you can still enjoy a hike through the woods while tossing your disc.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

7/17/2008   7/20/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee pads, baskets, and fairways were all in good shape. There were short holes, long holes, hyzer, anhyzer, tomahawk, you name it. The design was strong.
Cons: As others have posted there needs to be some better work done in the navigation department. I didn't see any course maps, and they definitely are needed.
Other Thoughts: This is the honest story of how we found hole 16...we emerged from the woods and wondered down a paved trail....nothing....so we wondered on the trail in the other direction...nothing. My buddy yells at the top of his lungs "Where are you number 16?!" About 30 seconds later a lady jogging comes down the hill and says "were you guys looking for number 16? I don't know what it is but there is a 16 painted on a trash can back that way. Thats the only way we found it. This tells me that some work needs to be done.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

7/3/2008   7/3/2008
Review By: jazz
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very different course from Lexington's other dgc, Shillito. Wooded, claustrophobic, very challenging threat-the-needle type of course, though bear in mind I've been playing for only a few months.
Cons: A bit overgrown in places, and finding some tees is rather more of a challenge then it may need to be.
Other Thoughts: I've played it a couple of times, and enjoyed it. Like I said before, it's a definite change of pace from Shillito, and will probaby help one's game improve in some ways that are not so important at Shillito.

But trying to find my way around the course takes a good bit from my enjoyment of it. Directions to tees are too often unclear, and I still haven't found out how to get from 15 to 16. I would heartily recommend an investment in ways to help people navigate from hole to hole--arrows, trail markers of some kind, signs, or what have you.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favs

1    3/13/2008   3/14/2008
Review By: broken_star
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Heavily wooded with tight fairways, Will make you learn control or you will have lost discs. Probably the only risk reward course in Lexington.
Cons: Doesn't appeal to newbies, erosion has started to become an issue in the past few years, course is starting to open up a little due to some trees dying or falling from storms, many holes have drainage issues making it very muddy during wet seasons, a very lefty friendly course. Still very limited on signage, will soon have to incorperate bike trails probably making the erosion even worse
Other Thoughts: Some new placements that actually make the course harder but it basically still putting a bandaid on a bullet wound. Several teepads even when humid are dangerous to throw from but currently we are working on this problem. This is my home course and even i see that it has falws

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center