Disc Golf Store
Brandenburg, KY 
Otter Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: DitchBall Hole #11
3 / 156ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
 Old school fun

1    4/1/2012   4/20/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a mostly flat wooded area. It's tucked into the corner of a larger park, there doesn't seem to be any overlap with other park uses and there's a disc golf dedicated parking lot and portajohn. The tight woods make for a fun variety of lines, there are several straight shots, some with left or right turns late, and a mix of other hole shapes.

There is enough rough to make things tricky if you get off some of the fairways, but it's not so thick that you'll lose discs. There are concrete tees and adequate signage with hole distance and layout. The flow of the course is good, no navigation issues or long walks.
Cons: There are some major safety issues here, compounded by disc technology different than what this course was designed for. This is a fantastic super class course, and if players were only throwing lids there wouldn't be a problem. When people are throwing high speed drivers, however, the proximity of many of the holes makes for some dangerous overlap.

The course is very short, and presents few challenges if discs faster than putters are used. The tees are cracked and very short (though the length of the tees is not a big deal with the length of the course). The couple small hills showed a lot of compaction and some erosion, it looked like it would get pretty slick when wet.
Other Thoughts: I threw nothing but a couple putters here, and enjoyed many of the lines and the short game work. Beginners can have a blast here, it makes you hit some different shots without severe punishment or much length. More experienced players won't find a ton of challenge, but there is some fun to be had.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

New 27 hole course is Great

5+    3/18/2012   3/18/2012
Review By: Atvizory2000
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/20/2014
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy the locate baskets and tees. Nice signs on each tee as well. Very technical course and good to play because its a classic. The new 9 holes that have been added gives the course another level. You can actually use drivers on the new hole. Only 27 hole course in the area, so it's definitely worth the 3 bucks to play all day.
Cons: 1 - 18 Very short course. Used putters and midranges 90 percent of time. Course was wooded most the the holes except a few and very swampy after rains the day before.
Other Thoughts: With the addition of the new 9 holes this course is a definite play. Also u can definitely tell the new 9 are not Steady Ed holes. They just can't be recreated.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Oldest course in Kentucky

1    1/28/2012   1/28/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice new signs with a decent map, Hole #, and distance listed. Also a rules sign at the first tee.

2) Nice big concrete tees on most of the course. Some of them are the standard size but most are about 6' wide by 8' long.

3) Kiosk available at the first tee listing leagues and other assorted disc golf information.

4) Benches, garbage cans, and bag racks on every tee . . .talk about all of the amenities.

5) The mound used on Hole #4 is a great feature . . .it is something I have rarely seen in my 300+ courses.

6) There are a couple of old building foundations out on the 15th and 16th holes. . . one is just a cool visual and I love it when courses leave old buildings and such. Then they actually incorporated the old foundation into the basket placement on #16.

7) Baskets while they look to be homemade seem to catch just fine. The inner chains were an add on and they used some u-bolts to attach them to the posts. The chain configuration seemed to be about normal however.

8) Nice shot variety on the course having to throw some anyhzers and hyzers as well as a few dead straight shots.

9) Nice rolling fairways, nothing too extreme just enough elevation change to make it fun.

10) Good variety of trees and density. There are deciduous there are nice tall pines and even a couple pockets of Cedar trees which are some of my favorite trees on disc golf courses.

11) Very clean course . . . I don't think I saw a single piece of garbage on the course. It must be the locals and the garbage cans at every tee.
Cons: 1) Baskets have been painted silver but that doesn't help them in how visible they are . . .any of the baskets tucked int he woods are tough to spot. The other issue I have with the baskets are the nubs which seem to be raised higher than any other basket I have seen. The basket is actually somewhat shallow too, so putt gingerly or risk a bounce out of the shallow tray.

2) The course is set on a lot of clay soil and it is clear that the course is the oldest in Kentucky based on how compacted the soils seem to be. The turf is pretty thin in a lot of spots and nonexistent in the wooded holes.

3) This course seems like it has been redesigned . . . knowing it is the oldest course in Kentucky. It seems like the course has a better layout than how it is set up right now. It just seems like they took the baskets and just moved them all 15-20' in either sideways direction. The shots are still fun but the shots seemed somewhat contrived.

4) A couple of the fairways were a little gimmicky like #7. It just feels like there is really only one play . . . throw straight out of the fairway and then throw up to the basket from 150'. It shows a fairway to the right but it sure doesn't feel like that is a fairway, kindof like #1 unless those paths are intended to just be visual lines of sight.

5) The teepads seems to be in a little disrepair in a few spots . . . some are cracked and pieces gone or the whole thing shifted, and then they also seem to be a little too grippy with the really rough texture.

6) Dangerous in a few spots . . . this course is on a really small piece of property for 18 holes and there are fairways that run near tees and baskets. There are a couple of tees and baskets that are also too close on occasion.

7) Some drainage issues in multiple places on the course. The compacted and heavy soils probably doesn't help the issues, but there were 4 or 5 places where it was purely mud and standing water was visible.
Other Thoughts: This is a slightly hypocritical course, it has all the amenities you can ask for, however it has some dangerous areas and average conditions.This is one of those situations where I am actually rating a course higher than I might normally because it has all of the amenities, while suffering from some design or layout issues. I know it was designed by Steady Ed but it looks like it must have received some alterations over the years because it just didn't feel natural on a few occasions.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/12/2011   11/13/2011
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This historic course, designed by Steady Ed, is the first one in the state of Kentucky. It is rather short with only about half the holes over 250ft. Despite that, it's still a fun and somewhat technical course.

Everything about the course is old school. All but one of the baskets are original from 1978. With the exception of hole 8, the layout has stayed the same for 33 years. The tee pads are old and worn, and they're short by today's standard. But that's because you don't need much of a run up to throw a Wham-O disc and with disc technology today you still don't need much of a run up on the majority of the holes. Some might say these things are con's or make the course appear to be not kept up well. But in my opinion that's part of the living history at Otter Creek. Courses this old are few and far between. To change them denies future generations of disc golfers the opportunity to look back in history and see what things were like three decades ago.

There's a good variety of shots required here and some holes have multiple routes to the basket. There are some fun elevation changes and overall the course uses the land well.

The course has brand new tee signs and there are bag trees and benches on every hole.

Hole 14 is definitely my favorite here. It's 300ft downhill with pine trees lining each side of the fairway for the first 100 or so feet. Then there's a few trees straight in front of you so you have to throw a big S shot (for RHBH players) to get around it and hyzer back on the end to the basket which is basically straight in front of you. Awesome shot!
Cons: A couple of the tees are cracked, hole 6 is definitely the worst and hole 11 comes to mind also.

The course is cramped in some areas making it very easy to throw into another fairway. Be sure to keep an eye out for other golfers and yell fore.
Other Thoughts: While this is one of the easier courses in the area, it certainly has it's challenging holes and rewarding birdies. This course is worth stopping at if you're in the area and there are a number of other courses close by also.

I want to thank the Department of Fish and Wildlife for reopening the park and bringing back this fun course. Entry fee is $3 a person.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Crowded

1    10/29/2011   10/30/2011
Review By: frank11b
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 31.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Just playing the first DGC in KY was reason enough to play this course. The course flowed with ease. Every hole was marked. Nice short course.
Cons: The fairways are to close together. The course was crowded and it felt that way.
Other Thoughts: Nice place to get away for the day.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 From the Days of Wham-O Discs

1    6/16/2011   6/16/2011
Review By: absolutdork
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 14.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a neat course. It was nice to traverse a course that has been around for over 30 years. A short, but technical course, it was fun to play. Very easy flow. New sign poles are in the ground, but no designs on them yet, but they look to be about ready. Even without them, I had no problem distinguishing the course flow and where the baskets were located. Mature woods, and an easy fun play!
Cons: Being an old course that they didn't change the layout on, the tee pads sure show their age. Some are cracked, and they are wide, but very short. However the holes are short, so not much of a drawback. When I say short, I mean it. I overthrew 3 holes from the teebox, and I hardly EVER do that as I am a noodle arm. To beat a dead horse, the people below aren't lying about the ticks. Come prepared. I sprayed Off all over me, and still came away with 3 ticks on my legs.
Other Thoughts: I'm just glad they brought this course back from the dead, as I never had the opportunity to play it till today. It is literally 4 miles away from Muldraugh, another top notch technical course. Combine the two and you have a great day of relaxing, not too strenuous disc golf! Who knew disc golf existed in Kentucky in 1978? Thanks for reopening it!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Oldie but a goodie...

1    5/14/2011   5/16/2011
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you drive clean you can deuce every hole. Having said that, don't be surprised if you shoot in plus territory as nearly every hole has forest obstacles. Each tee has a bench and a bag tree. Although the signage is not yet complete, the poles for them are already in the ground while the Louisville Disc Golf Club President is designing the new signage and should have them in the poles very soon.

Although there are not any toilets on site there are two port-o-lets in the paved parking area and actual toilets a short drive away.

A $3.00 park entry fee allows players to play all day and theres also good trout fishing nearby!
Cons: There are lots of ticks and mosquitoes so don't forget your Deep Woods Off! ;)
Other Thoughts: My gratitude goes out to the state for reopening this excellent course and to the army of local DG volunteers who brought the course back from the dead!!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Back in Business!

1    7/20/2008   5/6/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 17.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Reopened May 2011*

Otter Creek is a historical disc golf course, the 1st in KY, and designed by Steady Ed himself. It is set in a relatively small piece of land, but the land is only used for disc golf with no interference from other park activities. The holes and overall design are its strength as the course fits in with the contours of the land and uses the available features to the max. This is not a long or difficult course, mainly because it was not meant to be played with today's disc technology, but it is still challenging in its own way forcing you to hit your lines. Most of all, this is a really fun course that can be enjoyed by any level player. Casual players will find the course requires a variety of shots and emphasizes accuracy and control. Advanced players will enjoy the opportunity to have a birdie fest and to take a step back in time to play where so many people have played disc golf in the past.
Cons: Because the course is one of the oldest around, it is relatively short by today's standards. If you are decent and played here regularly you might eventually get bored and want new challenges. (thankfully the Louisville area has many courses to offer.)

Because of its age, the signs, tees, and baskets were showing age in 2008. (I hope that these have been upgraded for the grand-reopening.)
Other Thoughts: The course was closed for about 3 years, so it is hard to say how that time period has affected things- (basket condition, grounds keeping). I hope that with new park ownership, that some work has been done to get this ready for the re-opening. I am very glad that Otter Creek is back because it is an excellent classic-style course with a bit of disc golf history attached.

*I have not played this course since it has reopened. It closed shortly after I played it, so I was unable to review it until now. This review describes how it was in 2008, but the layout is supposed to still be the same, however, and the layout on its own makes it worthy. I hope to get back and play it again soon, and I will definitely update my review if needed. (I hesitated to review it at this time knowing my info is out of date, but I wanted to give it some publicity because it was a really good course and it is not every day that a course that closes gets reopened in its original layout.)

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/29/2008   12/31/2008
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/28/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Otter Creek DGC is truly a piece of disc golf history in the state of Kentucky. This course, established in the late 70's, is a short, technical style par54 course that was built in a small, but moderate-heavily wooded section of the park with slight to moderate elevations. The course uses a variety of baskets that have recently been updated and are in good shape. The course uses small, concrete tee pads that show signs of wear. There are tee signs on all the holes that provide an adequate description of the layout, but a lot of the signs are broken or laying on the ground beside the box.

The course is easy to follow, and flows great from start to finish. Otter Creek more or less makes one continuous loop, but provides easy access back to the parking area from Hole No5, No8, and No10. There are no crossing fairways on the course, but due to the small area in which the course is designed, several tees, fairways, and baskets are located in close proximity to other tees, fairways, or baskets at any point throughout the course. The fairways are well defined, and a lot of holes offer multiple routes to the basket. There is only a small amount of underbrush and foliage around the course, nothing to be concerned about. There is a small gap (shortcut) that you can throw through on No13 that does cross an area of tall, thick weeds and briar bushes, but this is an optional risk/reward shot, shouldn't come into play if you follow the fairway. There are benches and trash receptacles located throughout the course.

The course is very short (4384ft) with holes ranging from 156ft to right around 300ft, but there are plenty of obstacles to throw around, and plenty of trees to hit. Despite the short nature of the course, it does offer an adequate challenge and good variety of shot types, with a good mix of straight, right and left fairways. The course is masterfully designed through a small space, is easy to walk, and there is plenty of shade during the summer months. There is camping available in the park, but no running water or restrooms directly at the site of the course. There are always people at the course, but it isn't typically crowded.
Cons: No real cons to speak of. Otter Creek is an older course, the tee pads and signs could use some updates, and the course shows some wear, but other than that, a really great experience.
Other Thoughts: Otter Creek is a great little course, and tons of fun to play with plenty of Ace Runs. The course plays pretty quick, so you can squeeze in a lot of holes in a little amount of time. Great place to throw a variety of shots and work on your mid-range/putting game.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Oldie but a Goodie

1    12/21/2008   12/31/2008
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Please keep in mind that I played this course after its baskets were removed. We used two portable baskets on the spots where the permanent baskets had been.

My favorite parts of this course have to be the history behind it, as well as the fun and technical, but not overly difficult aspect of most of the holes. My reasoning is as follows:

Even though this course is laid out over probably the smallest plot of land I've seen an 18 hole course on, it plays like a larger course. Whoever planned it out did a great job of making sure they designed out monotony. No hole is all that long, but you feel like you've accomplished something at the end of most of them.

I really like moderately wooded courses, with a few open holes, and OCP delivers pretty well on this. I like to try to test my accuracy trying to hit a gap in the trees a good ways out.
-Hole 1 has two routes you can take, either a HUGE hyzer route, or you can try to shoot the gap in a small opening dead ahead, and then softly fade at the end.
-Hole 4 zigs around some well-placed trees, basket is on a built-up mound of dirt. Challenging to put that one, since if you go for it and miss you'll be about 30 feet long.
-Hole 7 is like looking at a hole with no fairway, but if you look closely, you can make out a couple paths. Unfortunately my disc was looking for a tree and not a path. Then the basket is down in a bowl surrounded by trees.
-Hole 8 I really like because it was blind, up over a hill, through the trees. It's neat to just launch the disc in the direction you hope will be best, then walk up to see how well you did. Almost like opening a present, could be really good, or could be really bad.
-Hole 10 is a cool downhill with slight curve left, and if you threw enough discs, you'd definitely leave with an ace.
-Hole 13 was my favorite, goes out 150 or so feet, then hard dogleg right into the trees where the basket hides. There is actually a diagonal path that cuts the corner, although it requires some accuracy. I was able to hit the gap and land right in the middle of the fairway on the other side of the dogleg.
-Hole 16 was pretty short and mostly open, but there were two trees just off the tee that you could split and do a nice anhyzer through, then the basket is in the middle of an old building foundation (who knows how long that has been there, nice history).

I wish the actual basket were still there, although I've heard they were old and a bit rough, they had to have been a little better than portables.

Otherwise, facilities are good, no overly treacherous terrain, benches signs, trash cans, port-o-lets, etc were available.

The course was also small enough to allow for very easy navigation to the next hole, even if you did not know the layout.

This course would also be a good one for someone just started out learning the sport.
Cons: The ground is well-worn due to the amount of traffic over they years, and since it is largely under tree cover, not much ground vegetation exists, so when it is wet, it is kind of nasty.

Between that and just the overall shortness of the course, are the only Cons I can really come up with for OCP.
Other Thoughts: Such a historic course (first in Kentucky and I think the 10th or so in the world), it's a shame they had to shut the park. Hopefully they will find a way to get it reopened soon.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.