Brandenburg, KY
Otter Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: DitchBall Hole #5
3 / 270ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Old school fun

1    4/1/2012   4/20/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a mostly flat wooded area. It's tucked into the corner of a larger park, there doesn't seem to be any overlap with other park uses and there's a disc golf dedicated parking lot and portajohn. The tight woods make for a fun variety of lines, there are several straight shots, some with left or right turns late, and a mix of other hole shapes.

There is enough rough to make things tricky if you get off some of the fairways, but it's not so thick that you'll lose discs. There are concrete tees and adequate signage with hole distance and layout. The flow of the course is good, no navigation issues or long walks.
Cons: There are some major safety issues here, compounded by disc technology different than what this course was designed for. This is a fantastic super class course, and if players were only throwing lids there wouldn't be a problem. When people are throwing high speed drivers, however, the proximity of many of the holes makes for some dangerous overlap.

The course is very short, and presents few challenges if discs faster than putters are used. The tees are cracked and very short (though the length of the tees is not a big deal with the length of the course). The couple small hills showed a lot of compaction and some erosion, it looked like it would get pretty slick when wet.
Other Thoughts: I threw nothing but a couple putters here, and enjoyed many of the lines and the short game work. Beginners can have a blast here, it makes you hit some different shots without severe punishment or much length. More experienced players won't find a ton of challenge, but there is some fun to be had.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Oldest course in Kentucky

1    1/28/2012   1/28/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 682  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice new signs with a decent map, Hole #, and distance listed. Also a rules sign at the first tee.

2) Nice big concrete tees on most of the course. Some of them are the standard size but most are about 6' wide by 8' long.

3) Kiosk available at the first tee listing leagues and other assorted disc golf information.

4) Benches, garbage cans, and bag racks on every tee . . .talk about all of the amenities.

5) The mound used on Hole #4 is a great feature . . .it is something I have rarely seen in my 300+ courses.

6) There are a couple of old building foundations out on the 15th and 16th holes. . . one is just a cool visual and I love it when courses leave old buildings and such. Then they actually incorporated the old foundation into the basket placement on #16.

7) Baskets while they look to be homemade seem to catch just fine. The inner chains were an add on and they used some u-bolts to attach them to the posts. The chain configuration seemed to be about normal however.

8) Nice shot variety on the course having to throw some anyhzers and hyzers as well as a few dead straight shots.

9) Nice rolling fairways, nothing too extreme just enough elevation change to make it fun.

10) Good variety of trees and density. There are deciduous there are nice tall pines and even a couple pockets of Cedar trees which are some of my favorite trees on disc golf courses.

11) Very clean course . . . I don't think I saw a single piece of garbage on the course. It must be the locals and the garbage cans at every tee.
Cons: 1) Baskets have been painted silver but that doesn't help them in how visible they are . . .any of the baskets tucked int he woods are tough to spot. The other issue I have with the baskets are the nubs which seem to be raised higher than any other basket I have seen. The basket is actually somewhat shallow too, so putt gingerly or risk a bounce out of the shallow tray.

2) The course is set on a lot of clay soil and it is clear that the course is the oldest in Kentucky based on how compacted the soils seem to be. The turf is pretty thin in a lot of spots and nonexistent in the wooded holes.

3) This course seems like it has been redesigned . . . knowing it is the oldest course in Kentucky. It seems like the course has a better layout than how it is set up right now. It just seems like they took the baskets and just moved them all 15-20' in either sideways direction. The shots are still fun but the shots seemed somewhat contrived.

4) A couple of the fairways were a little gimmicky like #7. It just feels like there is really only one play . . . throw straight out of the fairway and then throw up to the basket from 150'. It shows a fairway to the right but it sure doesn't feel like that is a fairway, kindof like #1 unless those paths are intended to just be visual lines of sight.

5) The teepads seems to be in a little disrepair in a few spots . . . some are cracked and pieces gone or the whole thing shifted, and then they also seem to be a little too grippy with the really rough texture.

6) Dangerous in a few spots . . . this course is on a really small piece of property for 18 holes and there are fairways that run near tees and baskets. There are a couple of tees and baskets that are also too close on occasion.

7) Some drainage issues in multiple places on the course. The compacted and heavy soils probably doesn't help the issues, but there were 4 or 5 places where it was purely mud and standing water was visible.
Other Thoughts: This is a slightly hypocritical course, it has all the amenities you can ask for, however it has some dangerous areas and average conditions.This is one of those situations where I am actually rating a course higher than I might normally because it has all of the amenities, while suffering from some design or layout issues. I know it was designed by Steady Ed but it looks like it must have received some alterations over the years because it just didn't feel natural on a few occasions.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 From the Days of Wham-O Discs

1    6/16/2011   6/16/2011
Review By: absolutdork
Played: 32  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 14.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a neat course. It was nice to traverse a course that has been around for over 30 years. A short, but technical course, it was fun to play. Very easy flow. New sign poles are in the ground, but no designs on them yet, but they look to be about ready. Even without them, I had no problem distinguishing the course flow and where the baskets were located. Mature woods, and an easy fun play!
Cons: Being an old course that they didn't change the layout on, the tee pads sure show their age. Some are cracked, and they are wide, but very short. However the holes are short, so not much of a drawback. When I say short, I mean it. I overthrew 3 holes from the teebox, and I hardly EVER do that as I am a noodle arm. To beat a dead horse, the people below aren't lying about the ticks. Come prepared. I sprayed Off all over me, and still came away with 3 ticks on my legs.
Other Thoughts: I'm just glad they brought this course back from the dead, as I never had the opportunity to play it till today. It is literally 4 miles away from Muldraugh, another top notch technical course. Combine the two and you have a great day of relaxing, not too strenuous disc golf! Who knew disc golf existed in Kentucky in 1978? Thanks for reopening it!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Back in Business!

1    7/20/2008   5/6/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 228  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 17.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Reopened May 2011*

Otter Creek is a historical disc golf course, the 1st in KY, and designed by Steady Ed himself. It is set in a relatively small piece of land, but the land is only used for disc golf with no interference from other park activities. The holes and overall design are its strength as the course fits in with the contours of the land and uses the available features to the max. This is not a long or difficult course, mainly because it was not meant to be played with today's disc technology, but it is still challenging in its own way forcing you to hit your lines. Most of all, this is a really fun course that can be enjoyed by any level player. Casual players will find the course requires a variety of shots and emphasizes accuracy and control. Advanced players will enjoy the opportunity to have a birdie fest and to take a step back in time to play where so many people have played disc golf in the past.
Cons: Because the course is one of the oldest around, it is relatively short by today's standards. If you are decent and played here regularly you might eventually get bored and want new challenges. (thankfully the Louisville area has many courses to offer.)

Because of its age, the signs, tees, and baskets were showing age in 2008. (I hope that these have been upgraded for the grand-reopening.)
Other Thoughts: The course was closed for about 3 years, so it is hard to say how that time period has affected things- (basket condition, grounds keeping). I hope that with new park ownership, that some work has been done to get this ready for the re-opening. I am very glad that Otter Creek is back because it is an excellent classic-style course with a bit of disc golf history attached.

*I have not played this course since it has reopened. It closed shortly after I played it, so I was unable to review it until now. This review describes how it was in 2008, but the layout is supposed to still be the same, however, and the layout on its own makes it worthy. I hope to get back and play it again soon, and I will definitely update my review if needed. (I hesitated to review it at this time knowing my info is out of date, but I wanted to give it some publicity because it was a really good course and it is not every day that a course that closes gets reopened in its original layout.)

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Ole Otter Crick

5+    9/11/2008   9/28/2008
Review By: MulliganStew
Played: 26  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 25.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/7/2008
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The second coarse I ever played. Great fun learning on it. Many mid range holes. Many tree obstacles, love playing it when camping at the homebrewers campout. Lots and lots of great camping. Classic old coarse.
Cons: Part of the front nine is a little ho hum yawn, but the back really make up for it.
Other Thoughts: This park will be closed on January 1st 09' indefinitely.

Could use a little TLC. Couldn't Louisville just trade control of Otter Creek to the state for control of EP Tom Sawyer park?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyed

1    8/23/2008   9/4/2008
Review By: DitchBall
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: As someone who just picked up the sport this year, I enjoyed playing Otter Creek because of varying hills and wooded terrain. Course layout is simple to follow. Great for a newbie like myself.
Cons: It's a short course and some upkeep is needed, but don't let that keep you from playing this enjoyable course.
Other Thoughts: Otter Creek is a great place to camp as well.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The one that hooked me

5+    5/31/2008   9/3/2008
Review By: upfromtheashes
Played: 39  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 9.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Shady, peaceful, serene. It's cool to consider that you are playing disc golf on a piece of the sport's history.

Great course for beginners. This is the first course I ever played, and I was immediately hooked.
Cons: Normally I'd lament the length of a course like this, but considering the advances in disc technology since this course was designed, I'd say that the layout has held up quite well.

Unfortunately, the signs and teepads have not held up equally well. Otter Creek is in need of a little TLC. New signs and larger teepads, and possibly new baskets, would make a world of difference in preserving the legacy of this classic course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2/28/2008   2/28/2008
Review By: skottyb
Played: 47  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 15 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course for beginners and seasoned pros. A lot of ace runs available, and you must putt with some finesse. A hard putt may kick out of the basket.
Cons: I wish it were 27, or OC had another 18 holes.
Other Thoughts: Great camping at that Park!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Kentucky's Oldest Course

1    2/26/2008   2/26/2008
Review By: tenWatts
Played: 50  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/13/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was the first course installed in Kentucky, one of the first in the world, and the first course I ever played. Only one pin has been moved from it's original design. The course is very appealing to the eye. It's mostly right to left shots with a FEW left to right. Elevation is at a minamum. The course is mostly wooded and forces you to be accurate to get you birdies. There are VERY few holes OVER 300 feet. Having this course to play GREATLY enhances your short game. It's important that this course remains in it's original design for the sake of history.
Cons: Pretty easy by most standards. There aren't ANY "long" holes and you should expect to reach all but one hole in one shot. The baskets are all VERY old and are "Steady" Ed's original design. They don't catch real well anymore. Sometimes your disc will fall out of the bottom of the basket. This is just part of the course though. It's a fun quirk that is unique to Otter Creek. It's now "pay to play" but it's a SMALL fee for such a great piece of disc golf history.
Other Thoughts: This course was closed for over two years and having it taken from the community felt much like losing a close friend to many players. Please support the history of disc golf in Kentucky by paying the small fee to play this course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.