Brandenburg, KY 
Otter Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: AdamE Hole #15
3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee Sign



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
New 27 hole course is Great

5+    3/18/2012   3/18/2012
Review By: Atvizory2000
Played: 24  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/20/2014
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy the locate baskets and tees. Nice signs on each tee as well. Very technical course and good to play because its a classic. The new 9 holes that have been added gives the course another level. You can actually use drivers on the new hole. Only 27 hole course in the area, so it's definitely worth the 3 bucks to play all day.
Cons: 1 - 18 Very short course. Used putters and midranges 90 percent of time. Course was wooded most the the holes except a few and very swampy after rains the day before.
Other Thoughts: With the addition of the new 9 holes this course is a definite play. Also u can definitely tell the new 9 are not Steady Ed holes. They just can't be recreated.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/29/2008   12/31/2008
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/28/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Otter Creek DGC is truly a piece of disc golf history in the state of Kentucky. This course, established in the late 70's, is a short, technical style par54 course that was built in a small, but moderate-heavily wooded section of the park with slight to moderate elevations. The course uses a variety of baskets that have recently been updated and are in good shape. The course uses small, concrete tee pads that show signs of wear. There are tee signs on all the holes that provide an adequate description of the layout, but a lot of the signs are broken or laying on the ground beside the box.

The course is easy to follow, and flows great from start to finish. Otter Creek more or less makes one continuous loop, but provides easy access back to the parking area from Hole No5, No8, and No10. There are no crossing fairways on the course, but due to the small area in which the course is designed, several tees, fairways, and baskets are located in close proximity to other tees, fairways, or baskets at any point throughout the course. The fairways are well defined, and a lot of holes offer multiple routes to the basket. There is only a small amount of underbrush and foliage around the course, nothing to be concerned about. There is a small gap (shortcut) that you can throw through on No13 that does cross an area of tall, thick weeds and briar bushes, but this is an optional risk/reward shot, shouldn't come into play if you follow the fairway. There are benches and trash receptacles located throughout the course.

The course is very short (4384ft) with holes ranging from 156ft to right around 300ft, but there are plenty of obstacles to throw around, and plenty of trees to hit. Despite the short nature of the course, it does offer an adequate challenge and good variety of shot types, with a good mix of straight, right and left fairways. The course is masterfully designed through a small space, is easy to walk, and there is plenty of shade during the summer months. There is camping available in the park, but no running water or restrooms directly at the site of the course. There are always people at the course, but it isn't typically crowded.
Cons: No real cons to speak of. Otter Creek is an older course, the tee pads and signs could use some updates, and the course shows some wear, but other than that, a really great experience.
Other Thoughts: Otter Creek is a great little course, and tons of fun to play with plenty of Ace Runs. The course plays pretty quick, so you can squeeze in a lot of holes in a little amount of time. Great place to throw a variety of shots and work on your mid-range/putting game.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Oldie but a Goodie

1    12/21/2008   12/31/2008
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Please keep in mind that I played this course after its baskets were removed. We used two portable baskets on the spots where the permanent baskets had been.

My favorite parts of this course have to be the history behind it, as well as the fun and technical, but not overly difficult aspect of most of the holes. My reasoning is as follows:

Even though this course is laid out over probably the smallest plot of land I've seen an 18 hole course on, it plays like a larger course. Whoever planned it out did a great job of making sure they designed out monotony. No hole is all that long, but you feel like you've accomplished something at the end of most of them.

I really like moderately wooded courses, with a few open holes, and OCP delivers pretty well on this. I like to try to test my accuracy trying to hit a gap in the trees a good ways out.
-Hole 1 has two routes you can take, either a HUGE hyzer route, or you can try to shoot the gap in a small opening dead ahead, and then softly fade at the end.
-Hole 4 zigs around some well-placed trees, basket is on a built-up mound of dirt. Challenging to put that one, since if you go for it and miss you'll be about 30 feet long.
-Hole 7 is like looking at a hole with no fairway, but if you look closely, you can make out a couple paths. Unfortunately my disc was looking for a tree and not a path. Then the basket is down in a bowl surrounded by trees.
-Hole 8 I really like because it was blind, up over a hill, through the trees. It's neat to just launch the disc in the direction you hope will be best, then walk up to see how well you did. Almost like opening a present, could be really good, or could be really bad.
-Hole 10 is a cool downhill with slight curve left, and if you threw enough discs, you'd definitely leave with an ace.
-Hole 13 was my favorite, goes out 150 or so feet, then hard dogleg right into the trees where the basket hides. There is actually a diagonal path that cuts the corner, although it requires some accuracy. I was able to hit the gap and land right in the middle of the fairway on the other side of the dogleg.
-Hole 16 was pretty short and mostly open, but there were two trees just off the tee that you could split and do a nice anhyzer through, then the basket is in the middle of an old building foundation (who knows how long that has been there, nice history).

I wish the actual basket were still there, although I've heard they were old and a bit rough, they had to have been a little better than portables.

Otherwise, facilities are good, no overly treacherous terrain, benches signs, trash cans, port-o-lets, etc were available.

The course was also small enough to allow for very easy navigation to the next hole, even if you did not know the layout.

This course would also be a good one for someone just started out learning the sport.
Cons: The ground is well-worn due to the amount of traffic over they years, and since it is largely under tree cover, not much ground vegetation exists, so when it is wet, it is kind of nasty.

Between that and just the overall shortness of the course, are the only Cons I can really come up with for OCP.
Other Thoughts: Such a historic course (first in Kentucky and I think the 10th or so in the world), it's a shame they had to shut the park. Hopefully they will find a way to get it reopened soon.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Kentucky's First Course

7/19/2008   7/24/2008
Review By: kyflash
Played: 23  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very calm and tranquilic. Well defined fairways and signage. A good course for your short game.
Cons: Other than it being a short course not many cons at Otter Creek.
Other Thoughts: Very clean with trash cans and benches at most holes.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

3/7/2008   3/7/2008
Review By: Noah Karnes
Played: 39  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful wooded course. Great for beginners to work on accuracy. Lots of ace runs.
Cons: Maybe too easy for seasoned players. Wish it were a bit longer.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2/27/2008   2/27/2008
Review By: martinyoung
Played: 202  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: oldest course in kentucky, accurate short drives make it a birdie course, the fir trees give great cover,

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice short course!!

12/8/2007   12/27/2007
Review By: ambroze
Played: 129  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really liked this course when a friend and I went up to the Elizabethtown, KY area to play a few of the course along 31. It was one of my favorites, probably since I had my best score of the weekend here (-8 / 46). Okay to the
Pros: Very easy course and there is a stretch of holes called "birdie alley" in which you can just starting nailing birdies and have ace runs. The tall evergreen trees are very nice and it creates beautiful scenery while playing.
Cons: I cannot think of many Cons for this course except that I'll probably be just a bit too easy for some and probably get boring very quickly after playing it a lot. One last thing, the baskets are jinxed or something because I had at least 4 putts "pop out" when I hit the chains directly in the middle of the basket. I've never seen anything like it.
Other Thoughts: Great beginner course or for that person looking to have plenty of ace runs and birdies!! Beware of the chains!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.