Disc Golf Center
Brandenburg, KY
Otter Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: AdamH Hole #14
3 / 301ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee Sign



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Ole Otter Crick

5+    9/11/2008   9/28/2008
Review By: MulliganStew
Played: 26  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 25.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/7/2008
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The second coarse I ever played. Great fun learning on it. Many mid range holes. Many tree obstacles, love playing it when camping at the homebrewers campout. Lots and lots of great camping. Classic old coarse.
Cons: Part of the front nine is a little ho hum yawn, but the back really make up for it.
Other Thoughts: This park will be closed on January 1st 09' indefinitely.

Could use a little TLC. Couldn't Louisville just trade control of Otter Creek to the state for control of EP Tom Sawyer park?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyed

1    8/23/2008   9/4/2008
Review By: DitchBall
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: As someone who just picked up the sport this year, I enjoyed playing Otter Creek because of varying hills and wooded terrain. Course layout is simple to follow. Great for a newbie like myself.
Cons: It's a short course and some upkeep is needed, but don't let that keep you from playing this enjoyable course.
Other Thoughts: Otter Creek is a great place to camp as well.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The one that hooked me

5+    5/31/2008   9/3/2008
Review By: upfromtheashes
Played: 39  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 9.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Shady, peaceful, serene. It's cool to consider that you are playing disc golf on a piece of the sport's history.

Great course for beginners. This is the first course I ever played, and I was immediately hooked.
Cons: Normally I'd lament the length of a course like this, but considering the advances in disc technology since this course was designed, I'd say that the layout has held up quite well.

Unfortunately, the signs and teepads have not held up equally well. Otter Creek is in need of a little TLC. New signs and larger teepads, and possibly new baskets, would make a world of difference in preserving the legacy of this classic course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 It is what it is

1    7/20/2008   8/13/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 133  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 10.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Otter Creek has an old design that is still useful. There are uphill, downhill, hyzer, anhyzer, and even a hole where a thumber is a strong play from the tee. It is a short walk and easy to follow.
Cons: It is a shorter course as it was the first in the state (or so I am told). baskets and sign need some attention and repair.
Other Thoughts: When this course was built, most people were throwing whamos and such. I titled this review with the phrase "it is what it is". Sometimes we try to knock a course because it is not what we think it should be. Otter Creek is a great place to practice your mids. That doesn't make it a bad course. For what it is, I would say it is just about average...(I give it a half disc higher for being historically significant)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Kentucky's First Course

7/19/2008   7/24/2008
Review By: kyflash
Played: 23  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very calm and tranquilic. Well defined fairways and signage. A good course for your short game.
Cons: Other than it being a short course not many cons at Otter Creek.
Other Thoughts: Very clean with trash cans and benches at most holes.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Didn't Like It

5/4/2008   5/4/2008
Review By: WillA
Played: 28  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice variety of shot shapes
Cons: The baskets are hard to see if you have poor vision as they do not have the signature yellow band at the top. And the course is VERY short with a number oif holes under 200 feet. Some holes seem gimmicky and require trick shots. It feels almost like miniature golf.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty course but it's run down. The signs are old and rusted. At least one sign was missing and anotehr was unreadable.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

3/7/2008   3/7/2008
Review By: Russell Gore
Played: 56  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 20.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If your looking for a disc golf burnout day this is the place to go.You can very eaisily squeeze in 5 or 6 rounds in one day. Takes roughly 45 minutes to an Hour to play. Although it is a very easy course you can leave over Par without seconds thought. All but one basket is orginal and they will reject your putts if thrown too hard. Great place to learn the sport!!!! Also nice to know that some of disc golfs greatest stars have traveled the same trails you are walking on.
Cons: Very Short throws!
Other Thoughts: Always a good change to play here even if it is your thousandth time playing.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

3/7/2008   3/7/2008
Review By: Noah Karnes
Played: 39  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 10.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful wooded course. Great for beginners to work on accuracy. Lots of ace runs.
Cons: Maybe too easy for seasoned players. Wish it were a bit longer.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2/28/2008   2/28/2008
Review By: skottyb
Played: 47  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 15 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course for beginners and seasoned pros. A lot of ace runs available, and you must putt with some finesse. A hard putt may kick out of the basket.
Cons: I wish it were 27, or OC had another 18 holes.
Other Thoughts: Great camping at that Park!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2/27/2008   2/27/2008
Review By: martinyoung
Played: 199  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 10.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: oldest course in kentucky, accurate short drives make it a birdie course, the fir trees give great cover,

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.