Brandenburg, KY 
Otter Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: AdamE Hole #8
3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    11/29/2008   12/31/2008
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/28/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Otter Creek DGC is truly a piece of disc golf history in the state of Kentucky. This course, established in the late 70's, is a short, technical style par54 course that was built in a small, but moderate-heavily wooded section of the park with slight to moderate elevations. The course uses a variety of baskets that have recently been updated and are in good shape. The course uses small, concrete tee pads that show signs of wear. There are tee signs on all the holes that provide an adequate description of the layout, but a lot of the signs are broken or laying on the ground beside the box.

The course is easy to follow, and flows great from start to finish. Otter Creek more or less makes one continuous loop, but provides easy access back to the parking area from Hole No5, No8, and No10. There are no crossing fairways on the course, but due to the small area in which the course is designed, several tees, fairways, and baskets are located in close proximity to other tees, fairways, or baskets at any point throughout the course. The fairways are well defined, and a lot of holes offer multiple routes to the basket. There is only a small amount of underbrush and foliage around the course, nothing to be concerned about. There is a small gap (shortcut) that you can throw through on No13 that does cross an area of tall, thick weeds and briar bushes, but this is an optional risk/reward shot, shouldn't come into play if you follow the fairway. There are benches and trash receptacles located throughout the course.

The course is very short (4384ft) with holes ranging from 156ft to right around 300ft, but there are plenty of obstacles to throw around, and plenty of trees to hit. Despite the short nature of the course, it does offer an adequate challenge and good variety of shot types, with a good mix of straight, right and left fairways. The course is masterfully designed through a small space, is easy to walk, and there is plenty of shade during the summer months. There is camping available in the park, but no running water or restrooms directly at the site of the course. There are always people at the course, but it isn't typically crowded.
Cons: No real cons to speak of. Otter Creek is an older course, the tee pads and signs could use some updates, and the course shows some wear, but other than that, a really great experience.
Other Thoughts: Otter Creek is a great little course, and tons of fun to play with plenty of Ace Runs. The course plays pretty quick, so you can squeeze in a lot of holes in a little amount of time. Great place to throw a variety of shots and work on your mid-range/putting game.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Oldie but a Goodie

1    12/21/2008   12/31/2008
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Please keep in mind that I played this course after its baskets were removed. We used two portable baskets on the spots where the permanent baskets had been.

My favorite parts of this course have to be the history behind it, as well as the fun and technical, but not overly difficult aspect of most of the holes. My reasoning is as follows:

Even though this course is laid out over probably the smallest plot of land I've seen an 18 hole course on, it plays like a larger course. Whoever planned it out did a great job of making sure they designed out monotony. No hole is all that long, but you feel like you've accomplished something at the end of most of them.

I really like moderately wooded courses, with a few open holes, and OCP delivers pretty well on this. I like to try to test my accuracy trying to hit a gap in the trees a good ways out.
-Hole 1 has two routes you can take, either a HUGE hyzer route, or you can try to shoot the gap in a small opening dead ahead, and then softly fade at the end.
-Hole 4 zigs around some well-placed trees, basket is on a built-up mound of dirt. Challenging to put that one, since if you go for it and miss you'll be about 30 feet long.
-Hole 7 is like looking at a hole with no fairway, but if you look closely, you can make out a couple paths. Unfortunately my disc was looking for a tree and not a path. Then the basket is down in a bowl surrounded by trees.
-Hole 8 I really like because it was blind, up over a hill, through the trees. It's neat to just launch the disc in the direction you hope will be best, then walk up to see how well you did. Almost like opening a present, could be really good, or could be really bad.
-Hole 10 is a cool downhill with slight curve left, and if you threw enough discs, you'd definitely leave with an ace.
-Hole 13 was my favorite, goes out 150 or so feet, then hard dogleg right into the trees where the basket hides. There is actually a diagonal path that cuts the corner, although it requires some accuracy. I was able to hit the gap and land right in the middle of the fairway on the other side of the dogleg.
-Hole 16 was pretty short and mostly open, but there were two trees just off the tee that you could split and do a nice anhyzer through, then the basket is in the middle of an old building foundation (who knows how long that has been there, nice history).

I wish the actual basket were still there, although I've heard they were old and a bit rough, they had to have been a little better than portables.

Otherwise, facilities are good, no overly treacherous terrain, benches signs, trash cans, port-o-lets, etc were available.

The course was also small enough to allow for very easy navigation to the next hole, even if you did not know the layout.

This course would also be a good one for someone just started out learning the sport.
Cons: The ground is well-worn due to the amount of traffic over they years, and since it is largely under tree cover, not much ground vegetation exists, so when it is wet, it is kind of nasty.

Between that and just the overall shortness of the course, are the only Cons I can really come up with for OCP.
Other Thoughts: Such a historic course (first in Kentucky and I think the 10th or so in the world), it's a shame they had to shut the park. Hopefully they will find a way to get it reopened soon.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ole Otter Crick

5+    9/11/2008   9/28/2008
Review By: MulliganStew
Played: 26  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 25.8 Years
This review was updated on 12/7/2008
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The second coarse I ever played. Great fun learning on it. Many mid range holes. Many tree obstacles, love playing it when camping at the homebrewers campout. Lots and lots of great camping. Classic old coarse.
Cons: Part of the front nine is a little ho hum yawn, but the back really make up for it.
Other Thoughts: This park will be closed on January 1st 09' indefinitely.

Could use a little TLC. Couldn't Louisville just trade control of Otter Creek to the state for control of EP Tom Sawyer park?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyed

1    8/23/2008   9/4/2008
Review By: DitchBall
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: As someone who just picked up the sport this year, I enjoyed playing Otter Creek because of varying hills and wooded terrain. Course layout is simple to follow. Great for a newbie like myself.
Cons: It's a short course and some upkeep is needed, but don't let that keep you from playing this enjoyable course.
Other Thoughts: Otter Creek is a great place to camp as well.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The one that hooked me

5+    5/31/2008   9/3/2008
Review By: upfromtheashes
Played: 42  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 10.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Shady, peaceful, serene. It's cool to consider that you are playing disc golf on a piece of the sport's history.

Great course for beginners. This is the first course I ever played, and I was immediately hooked.
Cons: Normally I'd lament the length of a course like this, but considering the advances in disc technology since this course was designed, I'd say that the layout has held up quite well.

Unfortunately, the signs and teepads have not held up equally well. Otter Creek is in need of a little TLC. New signs and larger teepads, and possibly new baskets, would make a world of difference in preserving the legacy of this classic course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 It is what it is

1    7/20/2008   8/13/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Otter Creek has an old design that is still useful. There are uphill, downhill, hyzer, anhyzer, and even a hole where a thumber is a strong play from the tee. It is a short walk and easy to follow.
Cons: It is a shorter course as it was the first in the state (or so I am told). baskets and sign need some attention and repair.
Other Thoughts: When this course was built, most people were throwing whamos and such. I titled this review with the phrase "it is what it is". Sometimes we try to knock a course because it is not what we think it should be. Otter Creek is a great place to practice your mids. That doesn't make it a bad course. For what it is, I would say it is just about average...(I give it a half disc higher for being historically significant)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Kentucky's First Course

7/19/2008   7/24/2008
Review By: kyflash
Played: 23  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very calm and tranquilic. Well defined fairways and signage. A good course for your short game.
Cons: Other than it being a short course not many cons at Otter Creek.
Other Thoughts: Very clean with trash cans and benches at most holes.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Didn't Like It

5/4/2008   5/4/2008
Review By: WillA
Played: 28  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice variety of shot shapes
Cons: The baskets are hard to see if you have poor vision as they do not have the signature yellow band at the top. And the course is VERY short with a number oif holes under 200 feet. Some holes seem gimmicky and require trick shots. It feels almost like miniature golf.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty course but it's run down. The signs are old and rusted. At least one sign was missing and anotehr was unreadable.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

3/7/2008   3/7/2008
Review By: Russell Gore
Played: 61  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 21.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If your looking for a disc golf burnout day this is the place to go.You can very eaisily squeeze in 5 or 6 rounds in one day. Takes roughly 45 minutes to an Hour to play. Although it is a very easy course you can leave over Par without seconds thought. All but one basket is orginal and they will reject your putts if thrown too hard. Great place to learn the sport!!!! Also nice to know that some of disc golfs greatest stars have traveled the same trails you are walking on.
Cons: Very Short throws!
Other Thoughts: Always a good change to play here even if it is your thousandth time playing.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

3/7/2008   3/7/2008
Review By: Noah Karnes
Played: 39  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 11.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful wooded course. Great for beginners to work on accuracy. Lots of ace runs.
Cons: Maybe too easy for seasoned players. Wish it were a bit longer.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.