Owensboro, KY 
Yellow Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
3 / 225ft.   3 / 225ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice park course

1    4/12/2009   7/22/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a pretty multi use park with some rolling hills and some cool water hazards. The lake and creek come into play on a handful of holes making for some nice risk/reward decisions, 18 is a fun shot across the lake. The elevation is used well to add variety and challenge, and makes the course more fun. There are lots of fun ace runs, and a couple longer holes to add some challenge.

There are nice concrete tees here that are plenty large for the length of the holes and are in good shape. The signage is basic but adequate to know where to throw. The park is nicely maintained and scenic, with some areas of woods that can come into play on errant shots for a little bit of punishment.
Cons: The park has a lot going on, and the course conflicts with other uses a lot. There are a ton of safety issues, and it's likely that some holes will be unplayable due to picnickers by the lake on a nice summer day. The course is pretty easy, and very biased toward rhbh hyzer shots, and could really use some more shot shape variety and balance. The added 9 is not as well maintained or as easy to follow as the rest of the course, and doesn't really add much in terms of variety or fun.
Other Thoughts: This is a typical park course in a pretty but crowded park with some major safety issues. If you can play early in the morning or on a day where there won't be as many people using the park, it's a fun round, but it can be frustrating when many of the fairways are covered in people. Beginners will enjoy the generally shorter lengths and open fairways, though the water holes can be daunting. More experienced players won't find too much real challenge here, and there isn't enough variety to make it a must play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the time to play

1    4/4/2010   4/4/2010
Review By: SpecialFX
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course makes good use of elevation changes and the layout is easy to follow even with some holes pretty close together. Also the course was pretty well maintained. Except hole 18, the course is pretty beginner friendly. None of the first 18 are very long so this is a good course for someone with shorter drives.
Cons: The hole maps at some of the tee boxes aren't very accurate. I had a few wholes where I had problems with a lot of people around the basket because the baskets are close to picnic shelters. The last 9 holes (A-I) would have been nearly impossible to navigate if it hadn't been for more experienced players letting me play with them, and these same holes needed mowed. Hole 18 (entirely across a pond) is very intimidating to a beginner, and it's easy to accidentally go for hole 13s basket when playing hole 11.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course that makes good use of a fairly small area. I like that there are 27 holes, but the last nine are hard to navigate and needed maintained a little better. I'll definitely go play again, but I may only play 1-18.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course if your in the area

1    11/15/2008   11/17/2008
Review By: jgentry
Played: 47  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 6.4 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has nice large teepads. There are some holes around a stream and a lake that will require you to place your drives accurately. The front nine has a nice flow of holes either throwing out of the woods to the open or from the open into the woods. The back nine has several holes around the lake that require some accuracy. I really likes holes 3-5 and 14, 15, 16, and 18
Cons: This course is pretty easy if you avoid the water. There are lots of chances for 2's and the original 18 is very short. A midrange can reach almost every hole. The new nine is basically wide open will very long holes. I didn't really enjoy the new nine at all. I like long courses but I just didn't find any holes on the new nine that offered much. The course also has several tee signs that seem to be backwards. When you are walking to them you cannot see a hole number.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course to play that is not very difficult. The original 18 is pretty well designed and would be fun for any skill level. If I'm ever up to play it again I'll probably skip the additional nine.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Par Three Course

2/26/2008   2/26/2008
Review By: tenWatts
Played: 50  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a GREAT pitch and putt course. There is a good combination of nearly EVERY type of shot you can think of. Up hill, down hill, left to right, right to left, water hazards, OB, it's all there at Yellow Creek. The park is always well maintained and the locals are terrific. Nine more holes will be added permenantly later this year.
Cons: It is a bit short by most Pros standards but if your looking for fun pitch and putt course this is a course for you. Goose and duck poop can really build up around the lake too.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center