Owensboro, KY
Yellow Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 200ft.   3 / 200ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 27 Great Holes

1    3/21/2010   3/22/2010
Review By: gkeberhart
Played: 36  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 27 Holes, and with the temp nine they had for the tournament it was great two rounds and never the same hole. The course used great elevation changes and the trees as well to build shots. The tee pads were plenty long enough for a run-up. Great use of water which can scare people out of Ace Runs on some of the shorter holes. The new baskets were great.
Cons: I believe the parks department removed a lot of trees on the back of the original 9 which is a shame, it made a lot of shots open and very easy from what I understand. some of the tee-pads were very very narrow. On a hole or two the route you had to take to get to the basket was literally right over the head of the people teeing off on the next hole.
Other Thoughts: Overall it was a well designed and maintained course. There was a lot of thought put into how to use what they had. lots of solid elevation changes. If you are nearby this is a course to stop by and throw a round of 27 at.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Always Fun!

5+    11/13/2009   11/17/2009
Review By: Mr Mirth
Played: 88  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 24.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Here is a fun to play, beginner friendly course set in a very nice park, with good tees, signs & baskets as well as stone blocks for benches. Mostly open with predominantly straight and hyzer shots, mild elevations, some trees/light woods and a few challenging pin placements add variety. Five holes around the pond, and perhaps two placements near the creek (#1, #10), provide good mental challenges; #18 being particularly exciting, every time.
The pondside shelters, facilities, nearby playground / mini water park and other activities, make this course not only family friendly but tournament friendly as well. Superbly maintained, the locals and Parks Dept. are clearly great advocates of the sport.
Cons: Not a lot can be considered a detriment.
While the addition of nine holes was good they strike me as contrived, offering little more challenge than distance and mild accuracy, over wide open gentle hills back and forth across a treeline / ditch. The layout works best if played 1-8, then holes A-I, and finally 9-18.
They recently removed what few unsightly trees added difficulty to holes 12 & 13!
Other Thoughts: I've been playing this course for ten years and always have fun, what with so plentiful birdie ops. This is a great course on which to develop and refine the fundamentals of the game.
It's also the course on which I scored my only ace (#9) as well as hit chains and basket twice in a round ...
Fun!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/2/2009   7/2/2009
Review By: kdos
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice course. a lot of open shots. it is maintained quite well. there are some shots that are up hills and down hills, some through small gaps in trees. long course but worth the drive for sure.
Cons: i did not see a course map anywhere nor scorecards. other than that just the large amount of bird poop around the lake area.
Other Thoughts: holes 19-27 are all very open, a good time to really test your distance driving. GREAT course. grab some friends and go check out this course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/23/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: bdamcat
Played: 24  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is well mainted with alot of friendly players. Nice concrete pads and tee signs on all 27 holes. This course provides a different shot on every hole. Holes 14-18 are located around a nice lake. Nice layout where the front 9 and back nine end up back at the parking lot. And you don't have to do alot of walking in between the holes.
Cons: Sometimes they have cross country meets and other events at this park that does cause some confusion during a round.
Other Thoughts: This is a course that is great for beginners (except hole 18). I've seen some of the local guys shoot like 12 under.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/2/2009   1/9/2009
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.6 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Disc Golf Course at Yellow Creek Park in Owensboro offers a nice 18-hole layout that is well maintained and a lot of fun to play. There is a new nine that has been installed at Yellow Creek making for 27 total baskets. I only played the original layout of the first 18, so my review will not cover the new holes.

The original 18-hole layout is comprised of two 9-hole loops, each returning to the parking area. Yellow Creek uses Chainstar baskets that are in good shape. There are nice, level concrete pads and accurate tee signs on each of the holes. The course flows well and is very easy to navigate. The fairways are well defined, and there are no crossing fairways on the course. The only potential interference issue that I noticed was No12 & No13. These holes parallel each other in opposite directions, so if there are others playing, keep this in mind.

From the appearance of the course, it seems as though it is kept up very well. There were trash receptacles and benches scatter throughout the course. The benches were carved out of large rocks, a nice, unique feature of the course.

Although the course is designed over a relatively small piece of land, the designer does a great job of utilizing the moderate elevation changes to provide a variety of uphill, downhill, and side hill shots. As the name indicates, there is a creek that runs along several of the holes throughout the course. Baskets and fairways are strategically located near the creek where possible to offer an increased challenge. An errant shot near the creek could cost you a disc, and a stroke. Holes 14-18 were built around a small lake that offers a great visual appeal. Hole No18 offers a shot directly over the lake of around 230ft or so. Not much room for bail-out on this hole except for long. The basket sits on somewhat of a peninsula, so anything short, right, or left will most like be swallowed by the lake.

Yellow Creek is not a long course, with the longest hole on the original 18 layout being just under 350ft, but there is a nice variety of distances and shot types required. There were no real tight, technical holes on the course, but almost every hole had some type of obstacle to clear, whether throwing around the creek or lake, or a basket guarded by a group of large, mature trees.
Cons: No real cons to speak of at Yellow Creek. The course is a little on the short side, but given the amount of space here, the land was utilized as well as it could be. There was quite a bit of duck droppings around the lake, not terrible, but if it is anything like my local course, probably really bad in the fall. You may watch when picking up your discs or carry bags.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a nice course with great visual appeal. Definitely a par54 course, more experience players will most like shoot some low scores here, but the course should offer an adequate challenge for the average player. If you are in the Owensboro area, definitely check this one out.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful!

1    3/23/2008   12/18/2008
Review By: discgolphinmafaukner
Played: 28  Reviewed: 13
This review was updated on 10/31/2009
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This park has mostly open holes although there are trees in just the right spots to make you think about your shot. Holes 14-18 are around the pond which will also make you think. All of the holes have signs. I believe some of the holes have trash cans next to them. Some of the baskets are guarded by trees and one basket goes up a steep cliff. The course loops back to the parking lot after hole 9 and again after hole 14. The new 9 holes really let you air it out. The course is well maintained.
Cons: The teepads are like landing strips. They get the job done, but I prefer wider teepads. This doesn't really take away from the course though.
Other Thoughts: Great course in Owensboro! I like to come here like voting in Chicago....early and often! The ducks around hole 16 and 17 can be vicious. Watch out for bird feces on holes 16 and 17.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    5/7/2009   12/11/2008
Review By: gusc2375
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 5/9/2009
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I have now played the new 9 holes so this is based on all 27.The new nine is a good fit for this course. The holes play longer than the signs say. the Second hole you throw between two mature trees into a field toward a ditch with a nice tree line, some players will clear the ditch others will face a tough up shot. Several Annies are needed to make birdies on a few holes A good use of the hills and ditch line on most of the holes. This is a triple loop that puts you back at the starting point. This is a well laid out course with lots shots required. Left turns hole 3 right turns hole 9,11 straights 1,2,5,6,several others uphill 4 downhills 5,8. Park is well maintained. The water shots 14-18 are great for the average rec player.
Cons: This course is not super long. 18 is scary when you are new to the sport I have given the lake several disc.The new nine are more open and easier for big arms.
Other Thoughts: This is where I learned the game, and that may skew me a bit. The Club does a great job with the course and tournaments.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Hometown bias

5+    11/17/2008   11/18/2008
Review By: CStaples
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course with a good flow. Every hole makes the best possible use of the land that is available. A wide variety of shots can be used with many holes offering several lines to the basket with and good risk/reward for each choice.
Cons: The new nine offer the opportunity to throw longer shots but there is little more to it than simply throwing far on some of the holes. The land on that side of the park really doesn't have much to offer.
Other Thoughts: It's hard to list too short as a con for the original 18 holes when they make such good use of the available land. I've been playing this course for 8+ years and I still have fun every time I go out. Though scores in the low 40's do happen on this course for pro and advanced players on a regular basis there is never a time when they do not enjoy the round!

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course if your in the area

1    11/15/2008   11/17/2008
Review By: jgentry
Played: 47  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 5.9 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has nice large teepads. There are some holes around a stream and a lake that will require you to place your drives accurately. The front nine has a nice flow of holes either throwing out of the woods to the open or from the open into the woods. The back nine has several holes around the lake that require some accuracy. I really likes holes 3-5 and 14, 15, 16, and 18
Cons: This course is pretty easy if you avoid the water. There are lots of chances for 2's and the original 18 is very short. A midrange can reach almost every hole. The new nine is basically wide open will very long holes. I didn't really enjoy the new nine at all. I like long courses but I just didn't find any holes on the new nine that offered much. The course also has several tee signs that seem to be backwards. When you are walking to them you cannot see a hole number.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course to play that is not very difficult. The original 18 is pretty well designed and would be fun for any skill level. If I'm ever up to play it again I'll probably skip the additional nine.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Variety is the spice of life

1    11/2/2008   11/3/2008
Review By: buzzinb
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/10/2010
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: No two holes are the same. On one hole you will be throwing down a steep hill towards a river guarded basket, on another you will be throwing a spike hyzer up a steep bluff...really keeps you on your toes! Very nicely laid out course that offers a decent level of challenge while maintaining the fun factor. Every disc golfer should be able to find a hole or two that will stick out in there mind after they play Yellow Creek for the first time. The Final nine holes (19-27) are a nice addition that provide an opportunity too air-it-out a little. If you find yourself in Owensboro, make sure you take time to play this course. It is truly a pleasure to play.
Cons: Yep, there's lots of duck poop. Creek will devour your discs if water is high. Not the most challenging course for highly skilled players.
Other Thoughts: I decided to make the 70+ mile drive to play this course at the reccomendation of my brother. It is totally worth the drive on its own merits. I played Panther Creek on the same trip and wish I had just played this course twice. Will definately be back.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.